Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

They don't even pay road tax Joe. **Off topic thread**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Babies are hard work, especially sleepy ones that do not want to wake up to feed. I should have kept to bikes, with some oil they re happy :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

colm18 wrote: »
    :pac: Ah here- take a listen to the 11 minute version of heard it through the Grapevine and come back to me!

One of the greatest albums ever. Every song is amazing. Have had it on vinyl since I was a kid and tbh, vinyl is the only way to listen to it. Every crackle adds character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Babies are hard work, especially sleepy ones that do not want to wake up to feed. I should have kept to bikes, with some oil they re happy :p

It gets easier... Then it gets tough again... The it gets easy again... ad nauseum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,459 ✭✭✭lennymc

Ill be picking your brains come October astra...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,317 ✭✭✭✭Raam

lennymc wrote: »
    Ill be picking your brains come October astra...

In October go for the wet lube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

i came within a hair's breadth of high fiving a woman who had her hand up to hail a bus as i was cycling past the bus stop a few hours ago. i chickened out though.
    A kid (mid teens) requested a high five from me recently as I approached him, and cheered when I obliged :pac: Not as funny as an unexpected bus stop one would be though!
    My parents were laughed at by the hospital sister for setting their alarm for 2AM to wake me up to feed me. Apparently babies have some method of alerting parents (and others in earshot) when they're hungry ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

rubadub wrote: »
    I saw a near miss with a child & a car after he stepped out on the road to avoid a low Eamon Ryan poster (in viloation of safety guidelines, both ESBs and the county council.) I reported this to the gardai and county council and it was taken down, I didn't hear if he was fined/charged for this, the council are now supposed to be charging to take them down.

Not just the Greens; in my local area a couple of people who wanted to represent us had pointy diamond-shaped posters with sharp edges. Either they deliberately put them low or they didn't tighten the fastenings enough and they slid down, but several were sticking out into the road or path at exactly the right height to take out the eye of a cyclist or a pedestrian.

Why we need these pointless posters I don't know. Surely no one votes for a politician because of seeing his or her face on a lamppost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Not just the Greens; in my local area a couple of people who wanted to represent us had pointy diamond-shaped posters with sharp edges. Either they deliberately put them low or they didn't tighten the fastenings enough and they slid down, but several were sticking out into the road or path at exactly the right height to take out the eye of a cyclist or a pedestrian.
    The instructions from Councils say that posters should be over 2.2m high, for the reasons you outline. Low posters create a particular hazard for people with vision impairments.
    Why we need these pointless posters I don't know. Surely no one votes for a politician because of seeing his or her face on a lamppost?

In elections where no posters are allowed, incumbent candidates have a particular advantage over existing candidates. For the record, politicians and political campaigners hate posters and postering - it's a messy and dangerous job, and it's a wonder that there haven't been more serious injuries involved.

My parents were laughed at by the hospital sister for setting their alarm for 2AM to wake me up to feed me. Apparently babies have some method of alerting parents (and others in earshot) when they're hungry ;)

I wish it was that simple :D

Useful quiz on decoding baby cries:

http://www.babycenter.com/5_cry-decoder-whats-your-baby-trying-to-tell-you_10356086.bc

They've left out "I'm thirsty" and "I'm too hot", which are ones you constantly hear and see people piling on more clothes and shoving food instead of cool boiled water into their baby's mouth!

Edit: this YouTube video (ignore the cutesy beginning)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IRQc2hOiKE

actually tells you how to tell what each of the common cries mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,166 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

That's exactly how many people vote. There are worse strategies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

From ylyl

314327.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Don't wont to clog up the gaf with a thread on this Question..

Heading to Lanzarote next week and hiring a bike, bringing my own pedals and shoes, thinking of bringing them in my carry on bag and wondering if I'll get any hassle going through security. Anyone able to shed any light on this..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Sarz91

not yet wrote: »

Heading to Lanzarote next week and hiring a bike, bringing my own pedals and shoes, thinking of bringing them in my carry on bag and wondering if I'll get any hassle going through security. Anyone able to shed any light on this..

Ive brought pumps, tyre levers, multi-tools and tubes with me through security. I've only ever had my bag re scanned once. You should be fine.

Pedals and shoes are fine. I have had a multi tool taken from me by security.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,283 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Tools tend to be a problem - I've had a spanner removed at Dublin Airport and we've had reports of allen keys being confiscated, so unless you've got some tools lined up at the other end you may as well put it all in the hold

Also you need to get them both ways, and I've no idea as to what the attitude of Security in Lanzarote may be

Cheers Lads thanks for the info.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,293 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Are you high off your ass?!? You never wake a baby to feed it, no matter what the books say, if it's asleep, leave it sleep, when they wake for food, you'll know, hell, when they wake for the craic you will also know,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,027 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Cheers Lads thanks for the info.
    Attach the pedals to the shoes- saves trying to explain what the pedals are to security staff. (The total ignorance of airport staff to cycling related materials never ceases to amaze me).

Cheers,

I'm starting to think just putting them in the suitcase might be handier. While I'm at it anyone got any tips for cycling in Peurto del carmen ? Guessing the mornings are best and the wind could be a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭carthoris

If it is a reputable bike hire place then they will probably have pedals to suit your shoes, particularly if they are Look Keos as they are very common. It will save you some space, weight and worry.

Tools, as others have mentioned can be a problem. Again most rental places will have the minimum that you need (replacement tube, tyre levers, pump) so you will probably get away with leaving the toolkit at home.

That leaves you with shoes which shouldn't be a problem with security. The only problems I have seen are with tool kits so you probably would get through with pedals if you wanted to try it.

Why don't you just turn the pedals inwards on the bike? Is that a bad thing to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

CramCycle wrote: »
    Are you high off your ass?!? You never wake a baby to feed it, no matter what the books say, if it's asleep, leave it sleep, when they wake for food, you'll know, hell, when they wake for the craic you will also know,
    This :(
    We learned this the hard way. After 4 weeks with our eyes falling out of our heads, we were at an appointment with a paed specialist for something minor. Doing smalltalk about how things are going we mentioned how completely fncked we were because she only seemed to want to go asleep about 30 minutes before she was due to feed, so we had to keep waking her. There was a doctor and a sonographer there who both looked at us aghast, and said, "Oh Jesus, don't wake her up, just let her sleep, if she's hungry she'll wake up. Who told you to wake her?". "Eh, the midwives, and the books". "No, god no, just let her sleep".

We slept well (probably about 6 hours) for the first time that night. :D

We've come to realise that when it comes to babies, experience trumps books and nurses every time. If you find a routine/method that works for you guys, then stick with it. If you don't know what to do in a certain situation, ask a parent. Fcuk the books and the HSE for advice, other parents will tell what actually works.
    Nurses and midwives do their best, but the information they give you has to be in-line with HSE guidelines, which work for the optimally average child. Which no child is. The public health nurses in particular, will tell you that everything you're doing is wrong.
    Smile, nod, wait for them to leave and then proceed to do things as you have been doing them.

seamus wrote: »
    experience trumps books
    Everything trumps those stupid books. Babies are as unique as the people they become, some will sleep 6 hours from the first night, others will only do an hour tops, some will change patterns once or twice over the first 3 years, others will never have a pattern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Why don't you just turn the pedals inwards on the bike? Is that a bad thing to do?

Because they can damage the frame. Following aerlingus instructions I have left both wheels on and somebody apparetly tried to move the bike backwards... inversed pedals damaged the mudguard and scratched the frame on my touring bike :cool:

Alek wrote: »
    Because they can damage the frame. Following aerlingus instructions I have left both wheels on and somebody apparetly tried to move the bike backwards... inversed pedals damaged the mudguard and scratched the frame on my touring bike :cool:

Oooch!

My bikes tend to be the "Give ya a tenner for that for scrap, Miss" type, but I've travelled with one or two and turned the pedals in, duct-taping the - whatever you call the yokey the pedals are attached to - to the frame. But yes, your idea of taking the pedals off seems best. Maybe, as someone suggested, attach them to the shoes, or wrap them in tissue and put them inside the shoes.

Everything trumps those stupid books. Babies are as unique as the people they become, some will sleep 6 hours from the first night, others will only do an hour tops, some will change patterns once or twice over the first 3 years, others will never have a pattern.

I hear what you guys are saying but they were worried about her sugar levels falling too much making it impossible for her to wake up. She was born lightweight so they were extra careful on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,166 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I hear what you guys are saying but they were worried about her sugar levels falling too much making it impossible for her to wake up. She was born lightweight so they were extra careful on that.
    Pah, you don't need doctors! We have all the answers you need to maintain your weightweenie daughter.

Can't argue with that, as a Diabetic I can relate to that fear. Can you do a blood glucose test* on her or is that just mean on a small baby? it will wake her up though, two birds, one stone.

* don't do this, i give terrible advice
    Lumen wrote: »
    Pah, you don't need doctors! We have all the answers you need to maintain your weightweenie daughter.
    I really should not have laughed, but I did, terrible people,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭furiousox

Cheers,
    I'm starting to think just putting them in the suitcase might be handier. Guessing the mornings are best and the wind could be a factor.

Are we still talking about babies here??

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

New bike delivered and awaiting assembly in hallway. Kids need to be put to bed and then dinner 1st.
    This is torture! :)

New bike delivered and awaiting assembly in hallway. Kids need to be put to bed and then dinner 1st.

Skip the dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Skip the kids.

Skipping...

How young are these children? Can they not help? Surely at two and three they should already be fairly practised mechanics?

Good point...
    Dan get up Daddy has a job for you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

One of the worst things I ever heard was my 3 year old walking in with a pedal spanner saying "Daddy, I fixed your bike".......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,838 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

New York Times correction:

314579.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Peter T

Got a puncture today...boooooo . Luckily close to home so rang the broom wagon (yes im one of those that never carries tubes or a pump but I'm off to get some tomorrow). Bit of glass caused it, usually I always replace the tube once its been punctured but I'm wondering would I get away with a patch ? (700x25 always running 100 psi)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Cav doing an informal Q&A on twitter at the moment #askcav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Peter T wrote: »
    Got a puncture today...boooooo . Luckily close to home so rang the broom wagon (yes im one of those that never carries tubes or a pump but I'm off to get some tomorrow). Bit of glass caused it, usually I always replace the tube once its been punctured but I'm wondering would I get away with a patch ? (700x25 always running 100 psi)

I carry spare tubes, but I bring the damaged tube home and repair it, then it goes into the saddle bag, many here would find that offensive, but I like having a saddle bag whereas some prefer a mini pump sticking into their back, who am I to judge. I tend to run 140 on a road bike, 100 seems a little low, almost inviting punctures...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭carthoris

Peter T wrote: »
    usually I always replace the tube once its been punctured but I'm wondering would I get away with a patch ? (700x25 always running 100 psi)

As long as they are patched correctly it should be good as new if not better. Use good quality patches however, I have found that some of the cheap toolkits you get have very poor patches.

Nice Irish Times piece getting all nostalgic about when bicycles were made on Hanover Quay in Dublin, in the 1980s

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/five-go-on-a-treasure-hunt-triumph-by-name-please-be-triumphant-by-nature-1.1862203

I carry spare tubes, but I bring the damaged tube home and repair it, then it goes into the saddle bag, many here would find that offensive, but I like having a saddle bag whereas some prefer a mini pump sticking into their back, who am I to judge. I tend to run 140 on a road bike, 100 seems a little low, almost inviting punctures...
    140 would be risky to me, asking for a blowout if you hit a pothole or ridge but maybe I am wrong.
    carthoris wrote: »
    As long as they are patched correctly it should be good as new if not better. Use good quality patches however, I have found that some of the cheap toolkits you get have very poor patches.
    Most definitely, sand it down first to get rid of the anti sticking skin on the tube (its from the manufacturing process). Do not however use those Park tools self adhesive ones, I have never had a patch fail till I got those, they always seem to fail on one side with a slow leak. NOt worth the perceived convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Some people may find this useful, it’s a quick overview of some nutrition options on the bike and afterwards. It’s from someone who is a strong advocate of a LCHF diet but he isn’t emphasising that approach here, most of what he says here is general enough that it is relevant regardless of your dietary preference: Link

140 would be risky to me, asking for a blowout if you hit a pothole or ridge but maybe I am wrong.

Depends on the tire rating I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Depends on the tire rating I guess.

It also depends a lot on your weight. I'm light, and if I use more than 100psi in a tyre I'll be thrown around a lot on rough roads (which also equates to poorer contact with the road so more likelihood of the tyre slipping, and reduced speed too as the tyre spends as much time in the air as on the road surface).

doozerie wrote: »
    It also depends a lot on your weight. I'm light, and if I use more than 100psi in a tyre I'll be thrown around a lot on rough roads (which also equates to poorer contact with the road so more likelihood of the tyre slipping, and reduced speed too as the tyre spends as much time in the air as on the road surface).

Are you calling me fat? I resent that vile accuracy

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Peter T

Sound for the advice guys, I always run my tires at 100 and never have trouble. Last night was a piece of glass (I was passing a pub) and the other time was in a hotel carpark (glass again). So I'll patch this one and keep it as a spare (and make sure its holding air).

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

I purchased a road bike last year and so far i love it. I really want to get more involved in cycling and i have a goal of completing in a triathlon some time in the near future. I am a complete beginner still and have a few questions, i don't really know who to ask.

1. I do not have any proper cycling gear bar a helmet - should i purchase cycling clothing, shoes etc and if so is there any recommended outlets?

2. I've been looking at getting a bicycle computer to track my rides - from what I've read the Garmin 500 is great but i don't really think i can afford it at this time. Are the cheaper (<40 euro) ones worth getting or should i just user a cycling app on my phone?

3. I don't really have enough cash for a proper bike fit and the moment (i purchased my bike second hand) but the local bike shop said they could do one for around 20 euro - although they don't use and equipment/computers it's done the 'old way' as they said. Would it be worth it?