Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 12/10/13 to 06/01/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

"sh!t"

Lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

baldbear wrote: »
    He did say the kids allowance is only a "subsidy for people to have sex" and its the governments fault that they won't means test it.

How would you means-test sex.....quantity or quality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

He did say the kids allowance is only a "subsidy for people to have sex" and its the governments fault that they won't means test it.

You have to apply for children's allowance though and I remember him saying in an interview that he's never applied for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Good woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

You have to feel out the proof of residence form or something don't you before you get the allowance though, it doesn't magically appear in your bank account everytime you pop out a rugrat. He's talking out of both sides of his mouth, he did not need to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,535 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"sh!t"

Lol!

It was a sinking ship :D

Not enough roughage in her diet.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

"Teresa Brennan, 84."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Roger_007 wrote: »

An official from the revenue would call around with an egg timer and a note pad.......

I'd apply for that job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Meathlass wrote: »
    Any child who is ill should have a gp card. Instead of children, of whatever background, who are healthy getting them. Everything should be means tested including cards for OAPs and we all know how that turned out :(
    And there shouldn't be a capitation grant, the fee paid to GPs should be based on how many times you visit the doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

SCAM alert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

"When she saw that a landlord was willing to rent to a Student, she realised it was a scam."

This scam has been discussed on the property pages here on boards before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

This was like a rash all over Boards.ie last year! It's a perennial one. Usually involved a four-bedroom penthouse in somewhere like Capel Street :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Low rent and nice pictures? In my experience, that should make you suspicious straight away.

No you eejit, they don't want personal info, they want the deposit(s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Marty Morrissey :eek:

I'm out.

On a slightly related note.... does anyone actually present their own show on RTE these days? Mooney with Marty, John Murray with Miriam, Sean O'R with Keelin Shanley.... da Lahv Line with any amount of random others (thank God!) (except for Damo - sorry, Damo....)......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

Meathlass wrote: »
    I'd apply for that job!

You're assuming there will be quantity and quality!!

You might get stuck with just a lot of quantity! :D

Mooney must be fuming, a young lad like Donal Skeehan in the studio and him on holliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭joi99

Is Marty croaking again.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Gilligan out tomorrow :mad:

Most teenage girls give more personal information out on facebook everyday than any scammer can get through daft.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

sudzs wrote: »

Probably not best choice of word in this situation:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

James Reilly calls around to the house with a clipboard and marks the quailty. Its a new ploy to reduce children numbers.

sudzs wrote: »

Typical bloke :D

Free med cards for under 5`s tomorrow but cutting the mickey money should balance the books ;)

If I was driving down the road and saw Marty crossing it with a white stick, my first thoughts would be - what in the name of fuk is that fella up to now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Just heard Joe's ad,its like something from North Korea

Well balanced soundbites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Think we should be expecting a grumpy joe today. 30 minutes knocked off his personal soapbox for the budget wont be able to drive his full personal agenda on medical cards, death, suicide and ryanair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

He really does pander to his OAP target audience doesn't he ? Ironically most of these don't even contribute to his wages with their free tv licence, one paper is even anticipating the telephone allowance will be removed, what will he do then ?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    He really does pander to his OAP target audience doesn't he ? Ironically most of these don't even contribute to his wages with their free tv licence, one paper is even anticipating the telephone allowance will be removed, what will he do then ?

The outrage will be on tomorrow`s show then, over 70`s getting last out of their free telephone allowance to tell us how they already said to the researcher what a disgrace the cuts are, all ably spurred on by the Joe. The days of the Fine Gael/Lab government are numbered and pensioners will flock back to vote for FF to the delight of LL presenter.

Actually, what are we talking about, sure doesn't Joe ring the 'callers' so it'll have no affect on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

He'll only have 45 minutes to air his views today, there's shortened show due to the budget (with the added bonus of no Mooney show).

Edit : Neris beat me to it on the previous page, oops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Hey lads, I have a copy of that Joe Duffy ad.. I'm gonna try to put together my own parody ... Any ideas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Kim Il Sung meeting his adoring fans on walkabout?
    Maggie Thatcher visiting a coal mining town?
    George Bush on an aircraft carrier/visiting a village in Iraq?

The bereavement grant is going to get an airing for the rest of the week. How very dare they abolish the guaranteed subsidy to the poor funeral service provider!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Hey lads, I have a copy of that Joe Duffy ad.. I'm gonna try to put together my own parody ... Any ideas?

You could mix it in with radio news reports of the Waco siege in Texas

instead of their leader David Koresh you could have Joe

Tomorrow his pet topics will be the phone allowance been cut (as mentioned in other posts) and the funneral grant being cut. Can see him blowing his lid tomorrow

Just wonder what other "bend over and take it" pain noonan has up his sleeve for average income mortgage paying, tax paying families without an under 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

The budget seems like small fry, compared to Thursdays US debt ceiling deadline!! A US default would be a shltstorm, so to speak.

Listening to the lads on the news sounds like gloom coming for the average citizen from noonan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

'old people are afraid'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Larry is playing a bit of Iron Maiden:D

10cent on a pint. Off to tesco it,ll be to get pissed so you can blank out the publican whinging on the radio. How long can they keep going after booze in the budget

"amputation is for life'

Lol!

I'm sure you can Hitler in there somewhere......

And Bertie.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Joe & a leg
    What could go wrong?

Caller: "Ah jaysus Joe its terrible!"
    Joe:"How hard hit are you?"
    Caller:"I'll be going into the dole office and I'll have to give them money! Its a disgrace Joe!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

neris wrote: »
    10cent on a pint. Off to tesco it,ll be to get pissed so you can blank out the publican whinging on the radio. How long can they keep going after booze in the budget

Hopefully people will start going to the North again to get their booze. Teach Noonan and the rest of the fcukers a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,535 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Axolotls manage it.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Im sorry she is an amputee, but I wonder what her income and her partners income is.

That'll be the cut off point. And Joe speaking to an amputee.