Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Job prospects ...

Options
  • 12-10-2013 5:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭

Just wondering what the jobs situation is like out in Canada at the moment? I am thinking of heading out late 2014. I have a masters, work in banking and have over a years experience. Are the Canadians willing to take people on in bank jobs that are on a WHV.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

They will, but you might get in through employment agencies instead of through the banks directly. I would recommend you go to Toronto if you are in banking. Had you planned to go somewhere in particular?
    I have been here 6 years and work for one of the major banks. Send me a PM with your cv/resume.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

I'm thinking on heading over to vancouver in January. Qualified solicitor here but I'd be open to any decent job To support myself. I also have Canadian citizenship as I was born there and only got the passport sorted recently. I'd hope this would be quite useful in when it comes to securing work etc

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

What about someone who has a couple of years of administration work on their C.V. is it easy to find work?

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭fergusb

I'm thinking on heading over to vancouver in January. Qualified solicitor here but I'd be open to any decent job To support myself. I also have Canadian citizenship as I was born there and only got the passport sorted recently. I'd hope this would be quite useful in when it comes to securing work etc