Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You know you're a culchie when...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

If your name's not PJ it's Seanie.

The whole family gather around the radio to listen to the death notices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

When you describe somewhere as "Hole" without sh*t before it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Breakfast rolls count as three of your five a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭seanie_c

el diablo wrote: »
    Where are you from, Seanie?

Let me guess, you loved Dublin so much you moved to North America?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

seanie_c wrote: »
    Let me guess, you loved Dublin so much you moved to North America?

Time to lose the chip on your shoulder, sean.

Orange pilled.

Time to lose the chip on your shoulder, sean.

The reality is, there's nothing all that great about Dublin.

But If you feel it's such a great place, why not move back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

He lives in a house, he lives in a very bif house, in the country.. do do do, doo doo do...

seanie_c wrote: »

The reality is, there's nothing all that great about Dublin.

But If you feel it's such a great place, why not move back...

You won't tell us where you're from. Ashamed, I guess.

Orange pilled.

You won't tell us where you're from. Ashamed, I guess.

I could tell you I'm from New York, London, Hong Kong...what difference would it make where I'm from?

It doesn't change Dublin, unfortunately.

You obviously had to leave it...I doubt that's because it's such a great place to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

You don't have a methadone clinic in your area and the alleyways near where you live do not smell of urine.

Your local waterways can actually support non toxic wildlife, do not contain loads of shopping trollys, and if your'e calling a local landmark a mountain, chances are it actually is one.

The county you live in does not contain a number of structures celebrating british imperialism.

You cannot be rendered bankrupt by having your social welfare card hidden under your work-boots.

Big shout out to Dano, Miko, Steo, Jono, Anto, Deco, Alco, Damo, and Chriso, from Rialto, headin up to monto, for some blow, in the Polo, eating sambos, and crips, even though they should be in skeuw-ell...
    or perhaps in the eZoo....
    such lingo..
    morto... :-) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_RlXJCwSjwg

Me... I'm a citizen of the world.
    When you think Mayo is the world, and that every Damo is from Doublin.

[Pee]That's wimmen for ya![/Pee]

You know you're a culchie when the Ploughing Championship is your big day out, and you know how to get free tickets.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

When someone from Dublin says you are, and then it leaves your mind in an instant...... Then two years later another Dubliner tells you, and then it leaves your mind in an instant, then maybe a year later another Dubliner tells you yor're a culchie and again it leaves your mind in a nano second..... And so it goes on and on and on and on and on blah blah blah :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

You know you're a culchie when what Dubs think of is not important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Smidge wrote: »
    When your porn is the new John Deere catalogue.

Have to say I laughed at that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

When you have framed portraits of the Pope, JFK and Marty Morrisey hanging on your wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Lapin wrote: »
    Its actually Dubliners that think Dublin is a big city.

By world standards the place is actually quite small.

Bloody nightmare to drive through though. I'd sooner drive through Calcutta. Dublin just confuses me.

<<<<culchie :o :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭cornholiooo

Some of these posts are real funny... and some are just plainly weak. (you know who you are)

So many keyboard warriors on both sides, predominantly male I surmise.

People getting so excited and angry over a thread which was engineered specifically to do just that.

This is getting boring now though, I'm off to bring the dog for a walk ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You're used to get slagged and called various names by jackeens that in turn get offended when you call them jackeens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭usersame

You're not addicted to heroin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

You refer to any vehicle with 4WD or AWD capability as a "Jape", except of course for any real Jeep which you call a "4be4".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

biko wrote: »
    You're used to get slagged and called various names by jackeens that in turn get offended when you call them jackeens.

I don't think Any dub has ever gotten offended by the term jackeen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

This is getting boring now though, I'm off to bring the dog for a walk ;)
    I bet you have a bit of balin' twine for a lead, go on, don't ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

oldyouth wrote: »
    I bet you have a bit of balin' twine for a lead, go on, don't ya?

Probably not even a dog, probably a goat or something. He's going to walk the goat down the land with balin twine for a lead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

I dont get how its culchie vs dub. There's more townies in the country than just dubs yanno. I'm a culchie btw, not a dub or townie or any other type of street bred rat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Your weeks off from work are to go baling hay and cutting turf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

I've definitely seen people get offended by it on the internet. I don't know about the real world, I've never used it, and rarely hear it used.

Anyway, the use of the J-word by non-Dubliners, and culchie by Dubliners says a lot more about the idiots who use them than the people at whom they are directed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Mollyd90

darlett wrote: »
    when...you park the car, go inside your home and relax without locking either and your possessions are still yours the next day.

HAHAHA-****ing culchies won't like reading that :pac:

No actually, when you are a cluhie you have to lock your car and house in fear of the scummy dub knackers coming down the motorway to take your possessions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I find it so ridiculous that someone from outside Dublin would even think we would. It's so completely outdated that it's not applicable anymore.

Probably the one thing I would find offensive is the snobbery directed at North Dubs from some people from the country but I find snobbery offensive anyway no matter who it's directed at. Says more about the person doing the insulting than their "target" tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

When you don't live in a boxroom

• Site Banned Posts: 4 sky_boat

you use the word " fierce " to describe everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

You call someone who'd put years on you a character....

You also use phrases like "he'd put years on you.."

Oh ffs, I feel like Harrison Ford at the end of BladeRunner...

• Site Banned Posts: 4 sky_boat

you refer to someone who thinks its funny to thump people for a laugh as " a sound cnut " )

usersame wrote: »
    You're not addicted to heroin

Yes, you have it all figured out.
    All Dubs are heroin addicted scumbags and all culchies are inbred, toothless, illiterate simpletons. :-*

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Dublin winning the all ireland is the worst day of your life .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Instead of hello you say 'well'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

You know you're a Dub when you constantly refer to your bleedin arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

joe stodge wrote: »
    You think toblerone is exotic...

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/exotic
    exotic
    ex·ot·ic [ig-zot-ik]
    adjective
    of foreign origin or character; not native; introduced from abroad

http://www.toblerone.co.uk/faqs
    Where is Toblerone made?
    Toblerone is made in Bern, Switzerland.

WHERE THE FUNK DID YOU THINK TOBLERONE IS MADE? SWORDS?

sky_boat wrote: »
    you refer to someone who thinks its funny to thump people for a laugh as " a sound cnut " )

No we don't, it's used to refer to someone we do think is sound.

I find it so ridiculous that someone from outside Dublin would even think we would. It's so completely outdated that it's not applicable anymore.

Probably the one thing I would find offensive is the snobbery directed at North Dubs from some people from the country but I find snobbery offensive anyway no matter who it's directed at. Says more about the person doing the insulting than their "target" tbh.

Would it not be rich southsiders that would be directing snobbery at their northside cousins rather than anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

There's always at least three three litre bottles of country spring bought for Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

No we don't, it's used to refer to someone we do think is sound.

Who's we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Would it not be rich southsiders that would be directing snobbery at their northside cousins rather than anyone else?

Not in my experience, funnily enough. Most of the venom on Boards is not from rich Southsiders, it's people from outside of Dublin calling Dubs "skangers". I doubt Southsiders would be labelling Dubs "Skangers" or "Scumbags" now, would they? Don't tell me you don't see it.

Edit: No doubt there's snobbery there too but it's a bit of a fallacy to say it only comes from there. Anyway, this thread is not about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

When local pubs have 3 times as many Guinness taps than another other drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Yer ma goes powerwalking with yer missus on the bypass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

When a SUV isn't fashion accessory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

biko wrote: »
    When a SUV isn't fashion accessory.

And gets dirty the odd time

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

You go to Dublin for your education and slag the shit out of it when you go home at the weekend.

I'm in dublin studying at the minute.
    I lived here for a year about 8 years ago as well.

It's a f*cking dump.

Absolute ****hole of a city, full of zombies and the smell of ****e off the river on a warm day is horrendous.

I'm out of here the day after my exams end and going back to civilisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

bonfire night isn't the end of October

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

bonfire night isn't the end of October

Sure how else could you get rid of the wrap off the silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

The smell of slurry ain't all that either
    Seaneh wrote: »
    I'm in dublin studying at the minute.
    I loved here for a year about 8 years ago as well.

It's a f*cking dump.

Absolute ****hole of a city, full of zombies and the smell of ****e off the river on a warm day is horrendous.

I'm out of here the day after my exams end and going back to civilisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Yes, you have it all figured out.
    All Dubs are heroin addicted scumbags and all culchies are inbred, toothless, illiterate simpletons. :-*

There's also the fantastically charming and intelligent people of Cork.

And we have Nordies who are all terrorists.

Now we have 100% of the island stereotyped into their proper roles.