Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Womens' rugby Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Subscribers Posts: 41,790 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

That's a fantastic try by France... Four phases from a line out and in in the corner with offloads and draw n pass

Anyone who says theres no skill in womens rugby should just be forced to watch that try over and over and appreciate everything that went into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭robbiezero

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Anyone who says theres no skill in womens rugby should just be forced to watch that try over and over and appreciate everything that went into it.

That French team are incredibly skilful and brilliant runners with ball in hand.

As watchable as any rugby team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,720 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

This could be a yellow, low force but just really poor body positioning

Hugh cahill loves a good whinge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Insufferable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭KaneToad

The Irish backs don't commit the defenders when attacking. We've butchered a few half chances because of it. We can't compete on strength/power but we could on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Good god this is pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

99nsr125 wrote: »
    Good god this is pathetic

That's very harsh. They are trying their best God love them against a much better side. Fair play to them for giving it a go..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

There offloading at times can be so much better than the men and its also case with girls rugby at age grade from reffing games at 16s etc
    ]
    Insufferable

would love someone new commentating instead of him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭Garda Kenny

3-0 to France in 30 mins of the second half. If they could have contained the athleticism and brute force in the first half we might have seen a game.

KaneToad wrote: »
    The Irish backs don't commit the defenders when attacking. We've butchered a few half chances because of it. We can't compete on strength/power but we could on that.

Its the basic skills of catching and passing. Because so many of our women take up the sport later on their teens, the speed at performing the basic skills is just that little bit slower which leads to being under so much pressure in attack. That leads to mistakes and poor decision making.

True.

It's clear they are all good athletes. But doing the right thing at the right time is an innate skill that we don't seem to have. The fact that so few Irish players started at the minis level is quite evident.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭selassie

So will Ireland never win the women's six nations again now that France/England are so strong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭mun1

Don’t particularly like Fiona coughlan as a commentator but she is making good points about what needs to be done to close the gap between eng/fra and Ireland :

Great try !

What disappoints me is that there's not much focus in a tight attacking game. Battles in the tight is a great leveler so I'd love to see us focusing much more of attacking in tight areas, pick and goes, popping off the shoulder etc.

I'm not sure mcginnis is getting everything he can from his forwards / attack outside of the set piece

Super conversion!!

Flood has a serious range of passes and again the attacking ideas are good, just the execution sometimes letting them down

selassie wrote: »
    So will Ireland never win the women's six nations again now that France/England are so strong?

More chance of Italy winning the men's 6 N

Based on today, I'd be starting Flood ahead of Tyrell at 10... I thought our bench performers have all surpassed the starters today.

They would have been better to forfeit because of Covid it would be less pathetic

I disagree. I think Ireland are performing at 80% of their capabilities. It would be nice if it was a 100% performance - but it doesn't always happen.

Either way, France were going to win this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Fair play girls...tried their best God love them. France just that bit better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

And yet here we are.

Get to watch a rugby game this weekend. Looking forward to it

Did you enjoy today's game?

I thought Ireland really showed their elite level with the 41 point loss.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Fair play girls...tried their best God love them. France just that bit better

More than a bit better. France are significantly better than Ireland. Ireland on their best day would still not have beaten that French team on a bad day. All we can do is learn from this and try to improve.

No lack of effort. Just lack of ability.

Don’t think the result was ever really in doubt even before kickoff , but they will be disappointed with their performance and so they should be as they are a better side than they showed today.

Flood was very good as was Naoupu, especially in midfield defence.

Fair dues to France for dictating the tight game in the first half and not allowing Ireland any front foot ball.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭Garda Kenny

They would have been better to forfeit because of Covid it would be less pathetic

Go back to your studying. The Leaving Cert starts in 2 months

• Registered Users Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

Did you enjoy today's game?

I thought Ireland really showed their elite level with the 41 point loss.

Oh this cheeky rascal again :D

Following up their astute observations with some very clever use of sarcasm. Gold star for you! Well done!

On another note, it's a shame when people feel such a lack of attention in their physical lives that they are compelled to seek whatever cheap substitute they find can online to try and fill the void.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

It appears that they have taken up a hobby later on in their life and aren't anywhere near the level of professional atheletes that have played the sport from a young age. One could almost say that they're not at an elite level.
    Oh this cheeky rascal again :D

Following up their astute observations with some very clever use of sarcasm. Gold star for you! Well done!

On another note, it's a shame when people feel such a lack of attention in their physical lives that they are compelled to seek whatever cheap substitute they find can online to try and fill the void.

I'm sure you'll find something to fill that void.

• Registered Users Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Denny61

An absolute embarrassment....cannon fodder ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,328 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The Wales game flattered. Today's game probably did them a slight disservice.

Regardless, this is a very young team at the beginning of their journey and this is invaluable experience. I think they'll beat Scotland handy and come third and then the biggest thing these girls need is games. A club, provincial or international match every weekend, because honestly they've done great for a squad that up to last week played once in almost a year.