Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Occupied 6 counties"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

A good friend of mine, who is a loyal son of Ulster, jokingly refers to the Republic as the 'occupied 26 counties'. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

duchalla wrote: »
    But the man from Del Monte says YES!!!

And he's an orange man!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

How many notches have you got on your gun belt?

None whatsoever.

Which thankfully is completely congruent with my position on the matter at hand.

If I was, however, constantly getting into torturous hair-splitting justifications of it, whataboutery or thinking it's something to be celebrated - then I'd be at best a hypocrite and at worst, a voyeur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Im sad to say that few issues creates more apathy in me than anything relating to NI

Wish i cared more but so many eejits on both sides
    As long as Ulster rugby lads can play for Ireland i don't mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Rod Serling

wprathead wrote: »
    Im sad to say that few issues creates more apathy in me than anything relating to NI

100 times this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Occupied six counties and free state ate terms only used in Eire, not elsewhere in the British isles.

I'd never heard of these names until I moved to Dublin from the main land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,454 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Does it annoy anyone else when the North is referred to as such by armchair republican types? Was in a conversation with one the other day and he used the term repeatedly (and non-ironically). The funny thing is that this dude was only born in the late 80's (and so, I'd be surprised if he remembered anything about the troubles), came from the leafy suburbs of south Dublin and went to an expensive private school - just decided to take up "the cause" in the last few years.

The border is a fact, it will remain so until and unless the people of both jurisdictions decide to get rid of it - get over it and stop this childishness...

That and referring to this country as the "free state" - if we're going to talk about my country, at least have the bloody respect to call it by the name it actually has. I refuse to take anyone who does otherwise seriously in such discussions, if they are playing stupid games with even the name of the place then they are clearly clowns incapable of serious discussion.

What do ye reckon, is it acceptable in this day and age to refer to NI and here by terms such as "Occupied 6 Counties" or "Free State", or is it vaguely insulting?
    as far as i'm concerned they are the occupied 6 counties, whatever about the people up there having a say on changing the border us lot down here should have no say as many are to good at both not giving a dam about the republic never mind the north and good at letting our powers and freedom be outsourced to a beurocratic organisation that is known as the EU

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

wprathead wrote: »

Wish i cared more but so many eejits on both sides
    As long as Ulster rugby lads can play for Ireland i don't mind
    100 times this.

And yet, here you are.
    I dont care about tupperware. I'm forever in the tupperware thread informing them thusly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Occupied six counties and free state ate terms only used in Eire, not elsewhere in the British isles.

While we're on the subject of ridiculous names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

While we're on the subject of ridiculous names.

Sorry, I meant mainland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

And yet, here you are.
    I dont care about tupperware. I'm forever in the tupperware thread informing them thusly.

I'm not having a go Mr. Jack, Im fascinated by its history but contempory NI creates no feelin of patrionism for me

...and tupperware is amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Do people call Ireland Eire on 'the main land'? I only ever see it on stamps really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭TheHighest92

I'm no republican but I would never call the RoI 'Ireland', I couldn't care less if people didn't take me seriously for doing so, to me Ireland will always be an island and none of the states has the monopoly on 'Irishness'.
    Regarding your question, no it doesn't annoy me, simply because i have never heard anyone ever say it and i'm from northern ireland.

also what has the guys age got to do with his opinion on politics?

Dean0088 wrote: »

Whenever Northern Ireland comes up for discussion, I make a point of calling those who live there 'British'.

I really don't care whether they consider themselves British, Irish or whatever. But it winds the barstool generals up to no end! :P

you sound really mature Dean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The "republican" TDs in Dáil Eireann take the money, but always talk about the "six counties" and the "twenty six counties". They do not recognise Northern Ireland or Ireland, but take the money from both.

If by some incredible series of events the island was re-united politically will they insist on calling it the "thirty two counties"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I find that people who use the term "occupied 6 counties" tend not, themselves, to be occupied with anything other than drinking cans, wearing celtic shirts and protesting the queen.
    I find that people with your views generally don't have much knowledge of what it's actually like to grow up in the nationalist community in N.Ireland. I'm glad you don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

diomed wrote: »
    If by some incredible series of events the island was re-united politically will they insist on calling it the "thirty two counties"?

No. They would just go back to calling it the United Kingdom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭Manassas61

They are just in denial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I'd be pretty friendly with a well known republican family from the bandit county and when I was younger and in their house if I called the north, Northern Ireland and not the North OF Ireland I got a fair given out to from the granny right down to the grand kids! Sometimes the granny would even give me a wollop!

Stuff like that is taken pretty serious up north and in fairness a lot of them have reason to be like that.

I've zero time for morons who rabble on about it while playing The Wolfe Tones though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Ubiquitous "The UK are welcome to them...and Leitrim as well if they want it" post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Well-played Fred, well-played!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

But it is occupied. It's occupied by Loyalist & Republican nutters.

Great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

ah another thread as an excuse for nationalist bashing by people who claim to want nothing to do with the north, yet the same people cant stop obsessing about it and nationalism and commenting on it.

you do realise this attitude and the medias continued bias against anyone of a nationalist persuasion will only harden their attitude.

id refer to the north as the north and the odd time as the 6 counties, but never northern ireland. i would never refer to the southern 26 counties as the free state, nor would i ever refer to it as the republic or the south

ah another thread as an excuse for nationalist bashing by people claim to want nothing to do with the north, yet the same people cant stop obsessing about it and nationalism and commenting on it.

you do realise this attitude and the medias continued bias against anyone of a nationalist persuasion will only harden their attitude.

id refer to the north as the north and the odd time as the 6 counties, but never northern ireland. i would never refer to the southern 26 counties as the free state, nor would i ever refer to it as the republic or the south

I refer to it as the North part of the Irish Republic as the Irish Republic never formally dissolved.

tdv123 wrote: »
    I refer to it as the North part of the Irish Republic as the Irish Republic never formally dissolved.

well good for you

Thanks.

I'm curious as to what people in the ROI who bash Republicans in the North refer to themselves as. They live in a country that has the word Republic in it's tittle. Are they not by definition Republicans? If not why do they keep voting for Republican type parties?

Thanks.

I'm curious as to what people in the ROI who bash Republicans in the North refer to themselves as. They live in a country that has the word Republic in it's tittle. Are they not by definition Republicans? If not why do they keep voting for Republican type parties?

i dont really care. irish i would assume. its called the republic now? last i checked, the southern state was just called ireland

Well parties that are influenced by some sort of Republican ideology.

That's fair enough, what type of system do you think would work best for Ireland?

i wouldnt waste too much time on him fred. he's not even aware of the name of the state he's living in

i dont really care. irish i would assume. its called the republic now? last i checked, the southern state was just called ireland

It can be refereed to as Ireland or the Republic of Ireland. Strangely most British media refer to it as the Irish Republic.

i wouldnt waste too much time on him fred. he's not even aware of the name of the state he's living in

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Ireland

And leave Fred alone.

It can be refereed to as Ireland or the Republic of Ireland. Strangely most British media refer to it as the Irish Republic.

yes it is refered to as either by many, but its title is only ireland. you state they live in a country with the word republic in it, which simply isnt true.

ah wikipedia. it must be a fact now

yes it is refered to as either by many, but its title is only ireland. you state they live in a country with the word republic in it, which simply isnt true.

Well the names irrelevant imo, we live in a State that has a parliamentary republic as a form of government. Therefore we live in a Republican State.

ah wikipedia. it must be a fact now

Ah yes because wikipedia is famous for it's false statements about Ireland.

Well the names irrelevant imo, we live in a State that has a parliamentary republic as a form of government. Therefore we live in a Republican State.

so you then accept that no on is republican by definition, as the state isnt called the republic of ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ah, now we reach the scintillating stage of the debate about what the name of the state is, grammar nazi politics.

What's the point of calling it the occupied 6 counties? Everybody knows it's British controlled so barring a few Republicans down with the lingo in An Phoblacht, does it really matter?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Ah yes because wikipedia is famous for it's false statements about Ireland.

nope i havnt ever known it to be famous for its false statements of ireland. still doesnt mean its officially correct here though.

K-9 wrote: »
    Ah, now we reach the scintillating stage of the debate about what the name of the state is, grammar nazi politics.

What's the point of calling it the occupied 6 counties? Everybody knows it's British controlled so barring a few Republicans down with the lingo in An Phoblacht, does it really matter?

well he brought the name into it, so ask him

so you then accept that no on is republican by definition, as the state isnt called the republic of ireland?

Lol, your really hung up the name of the State. We live in a state that has a Republic system of Government the name is irrelevant to me. Or was the Republic of Ireland act of 1949 just a big lie that never happened?

What type of State would you like to run the country? A communist one? Or a military dictatorship perhaps?

the state was born out of republicanism or am i wrong?

That's correct, even what people refer to as "Free Staters" wanted to achieve a Republic eventually by democratic means.

Lol, your really hung up the name of the State. We live in a state that has a Republic system of Government the name is irrelevant to me. Or was the Republic of Ireland act of 1949 just a big lie that never happened?

What type of State would you like to run the country? A communist one? Or a military dictatorship perhaps?

if its irrelevant, why state we are all republican by definition of the name then? your sneering belittling sarcastic attitude towards my opinion due to its nationalist nature backfired quite nicely.

i think you'll find the second bit of your post is irrelevant as it has nothing to do with anything. i have no problem living in a country run as a republic. i just pointed out we are not republicans by definition of the country's name after you seemed to take point with my posts. keep digging

yes but thats not the point of why i posted that tedious piece of information. if your not going to read all the posts and look at the context in which it was posted in why bother responding to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭McP2011

Ive never heard the north been called the occupied 6 counties until now and i live on the southern side of the border. Tbh i dont really care what either the south or the north is referred to what does it really matter. Just causes pointless arguments. Just glad that it was never all united and that it remains that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

"Eire" isn't a British isle.

But more interestingly, what 'mainland' did you move to Dublin from:confused:

I can understand someone from Inishboffin, or The Aran isles for example describing Dublin as part of the mainland, but I'm at a loss as to what you're referring to?

(Wait. Are you German?)