Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teacher arrested for having sex with a 17 year old student

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Whether he enjoyed it or not is besides the point. A child that age humping a woman in her 30s could skew their view of women and sex and relationships in the future. It's a delicate age and she should be punished accordingly.

Totally ... he could end up going out to bars using alcohol as a social crutch to pick up girls for sexual relations.

Oh wait ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Here are some facts.
    Utah is among the few U.S. states which have set separate ages of consent for men and women. For women, the age of consent in Utah is 16. For men, it is 18. However, for women between the ages of 16 and 18, there are some restrictions. No person under the age of 18, male or female, can legally consent to sex with a person who is more than 10 years older than the minor.

More available at this link.

http://www.legalmatch.com/law-library/article/utah-age-of-consent-lawyers.html

He was a minor in the eyes of the law and she is a law breaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Billy86 wrote: »
    Obviously the law will apply different because the other example I gave was in England while this is in Utah, but what is the difference between this female teacher having sex with a 15 year old student and the male teacher having sex with his 14 year old female student?

It is generally assumed that

1. a man cannot be powerless
    2. a woman cannot be aggressive

thus -

1.1 men always enjoy sex with anyone, under any circumstances
    2.1 women are always victims in any power struggle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Wait what? Utah's age of consent is higher for boys than girls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

No way does she look 34. Looks younger.

What a lucky guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I realise it's not PC but I still think it's unlikely he didn't enjoy it.

I understand the reaction would be different if the genders were reversed, but I would posit that if it's consensual and repeated, then both parties are enjoying the experience, regardless of the law.

I'm not condoning it.

How is this relevant? His perception would have been skewed due to his youth and being in a relationship with someone in a position of power over him.
    Lots of teenage boys would doubtless enjoy a similar experience, but it's still statutory rape to have sex with a minor, and still a gross abuse of her power on behalf of the teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

There's an episode on South Park that is perfect for this. I think one of the kids makes out with the teacjhers and when they tell the police they are all saying things like nice...and he's a lucky guy...very funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Muise... wrote: »
    It is generally assumed that

1. a man cannot be powerless
    2. a woman cannot be aggressive

thus -

1.1 men always enjoy sex with anyone, under any circumstances
    2.1 women are always victims in any power struggle
    It's funny isn't it? Like I showed earlier how the wording in this article was "The 17-year-old boy admitted to investigators on Monday that he had had sex with Altice at least seven times between January of 2012 and October of 2013" - HE had sex with HER. And HE admitted it. SHE did not have sex/take advantage of/do anything bad to HIM. It also never mentions that he would have been 15 when the whole thing started.

Yet when it is a male teacher the wording is "He began taking her to a room at the school, where he physically abused her. He began to touch her all round and began to kiss her on the mouth." and it explicitly goes out of the way to mention that the girl was 13 when everything started (though that escalated slower so we have no idea if she was 13 or 14 when 'it' occurred). Again, HE did it to HER. HE took HER to a room (implying he did it forcefully) and, in a 'let's be perfectly clear here' tone they use the words "PHYSICALLY ABUSED".
    *Article: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2413626/Paedophile-P-E-teacher-Glyn-Thompson-Burnley-sex-14-year-old-pupil-school.html

Even just look at the headlines - with the female teacher it is "English teacher, 34, arrested for having sex with 17-year-old student who was able to accurately describe her tattoos to police" ... for the male teacher is it "Paedophile P.E. teacher, 31, had sex with 14-year-old pupil in school during 18 months of abuse". Not the words 'paedophile' and 'abuse' both appear in one, and neither in the other.

Both are even by the same publication, publishing what would appear to be very similar underage student/older teacher relationships, and it couldn't be from a better example of typifying double standards - the Daily Mail :D! But it's not just the Mail in this instance it's one that really goes through huge chunks of society. It's all kind of disturbing, really.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    There's an episode on South Park that is perfect for this. I think one of the kids makes out with the teacjhers and when they tell the police they are all saying things like nice...and he's a lucky guy...very funny

must... resist... urge... to post... Nicolas Cage "oh really!?" picture!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Totally ... he could end up going out to bars using alcohol as a social crutch to pick up girls for sexual relations.

Oh wait ....

I don't get it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

............................................________
    ....................................,.-'"...................``~.,
    .............................,.-"..................................."-.,
    .........................,/...............................................":,
    .....................,?......................................................,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:"........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(....."~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_...."~,_........"~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......"=,_......."-,_.......,.-~-,},.~";/....}
    ...........((.....*~_......."=-._......";,,./`..../"............../
    ...,,,___.`~,......"~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-"
    ............/.`~,......`-...................................../
    .............`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,__......`,.................................
    ...................`=~-,,.,...............................
    ................................`:,,...........................`..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_..........._,-%.......`

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Hmmmm, he is seventeen and if it was consensual i don't believe the teacher should be charged as a sex offender. Mind you she should be fired.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Can we ban the South Park 'nice' video from threads like this.

It's so obvious. Come on people!

Use your imaginations!

I mean - first post? FIRST POST?

*sigh*

Particularly because the episode it's from is itself satirising the double standards about such stories as this one, an irony that seems lost on those who post it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Hmmmm, he is seventeen and if it was consensual i don't believe the teacher should be charged as a sex offender. Mind you she should be fired.

Have you even read the article?

He was 15 when it happened

It's like my point keeps getting proven over and over again, every 10 posts or so without fail! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

But even at the age of 17 he cannot legally consent to this woman under the laws of that state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice

*races to type "niiiiiice!"*

Man, I hope I get a lot of thanks for being the first person to reference that episode of South Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Oh wow page two of the thread and I can't believe nobody has presented the south park reference... score!

:rolleyes: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Jeez, victims have it good now a days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Lots of teenage boys would doubtless enjoy a similar experience, but it's still statutory rape to have sex with a minor, and still a gross abuse of her power on behalf of the teacher.

You're right. She's a trollop and a harpie. The poor guy must be traumatised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

His hands must be red raw from all the high fives he is getting :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

He was 15 actually, when it began. That has been mentioned multiple times on this thread already.

There is no evidence I have seen that he wasn't blackmailed or anything to do so (for example the grades your teachers give you over the year mean a lot more to your college hopes in the US than they do here), or even just manipulated - both of which would be perfect reason for him to go back. Not saying it happened like that, but not saying it didn't either... but how come when it's a woman everyone is so quick to jump to their defence?

And why was he so willing to implicate her to the police if everything was so innocent and consensual?

Obviously the law will apply different because the other example I gave was in England while this is in Utah, but what is the difference between this female teacher having sex with a 15 year old student and the male teacher having sex with his 14 year old female student?

There is a difference. A male teacher would be seen to prey on a young girl.
    Even if he was being blackmailed, shes not exactly a minger is she? I just dont think it worked out the way he wanted, she blew him out, he called her bluff and went to the cops.

Just my 2 cents as I was 15 once and I like many lads at my school would've have given there righ... left arm to have a go with the business studies teacher...mmmmmmm ms flemming.

(or anything else with a pulse) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I wish my French teacher would have had sex with me.

blaze1 wrote: »
    There is a difference. A male teacher would be seen to prey on a young girl.
    Even if he was being blackmailed, shes not exactly a minger is she? I just dont think it worked out the way he wanted, she blew him out, he called her bluff and went to the cops.

Just my 2 cents as I was 15 once and I like many lads at my school would've have given there righ... left arm to have a go with the business studies teacher...mmmmmmm ms flemming.

(or anything else with a pulse) :D
    But "being seen" to do something is exactly my point... where does this concept that teenage girls don't want to have sex come fro? Iin the story I linked to the male teacher -seems- like he might be attractive, (but a female poster might be better qualified to weigh in on that than me ;) so why is it 'seen to be' different for when the only difference is their gender?

The only I can think of is gender bias.

I mean I know what you are getting at - there were had two very sexy teachers I remember from school. But there was also a PE teacher and one of those 'does a bit of every subject' type teachers that a number of the girls were pretty mad about. It's not like teenage girls are innocent little flowers being defiled from all angles. Not AT ALL to blame them, but it is the same with teenage boys - again in the story I linked to earlier, the girl had been sending dirty pics of herself to the male PE teacher over her phone for a while.

Basically, men and women can prey on teenage boys and girls sexually just as much as each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

I would love to see an equivalent sentence as if the genders were reversed. I have a funny feeling it won't though. What an utter slut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I don't see where there is any indication she abused her authority?
    Her being a teacher having sex with her under-age student (15/16 when it started, and 18 is the age of consent in that state).
    The fact that she has been arrested for it.

What's this stuff about "A man doing it would be seen as predatory"? Why wouldn't a woman doing so also be predatory?

The people who are saying he probably enjoyed it, "she wasn't exactly a minger" (because it would be assault if she wasn't hot of course), that he is hardly gonna be traumatised (who knows?) etc, therefore it's ok... are you really not aware of how much you're missing the point? Even if he did enjoy it, she committed a crime which is no different to a male teacher in his 30s doing the same with a schoolgirl, yet he would be absolutely pilloried - even if the girl enjoyed it (and she very well could - it shouldn't be assumed that every girl this happens to hasn't given her consent, just because she's a girl and he's a man).

This lad may have given consent but Candie is right that all the "Lucky him" comments from guys don't help in situations where men/boys are sexually assaulted by women, nor do they help the double standards in terms of the attitudes towards a woman having sex (even consensual) with an under-age boy, and a man having sex (even consensual) with an under-age girl.

If he was my kid I think I'd be absolutely livid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

But "being seen" to do something is exactly my point... where does this concept that teenage girls don't want to have sex come fro? Iin the story I linked to the male teacher -seems- like he might be attractive, (but a female poster might be better qualified to weigh in on that than me ;) so why is it 'seen to be' different for when the only difference is their gender?

The only I can think of is gender bias.

I mean I know what you are getting at - there were had two very sexy teachers I remember from school. But there was also a PE teacher and one of those 'does a bit of every subject' type teachers that a number of the girls were pretty mad about. It's not like teenage girls are innocent little flowers being defiled from all angles. Not AT ALL to blame them, but it is the same with teenage boys - again in the story I linked to earlier, the girl had been sending dirty pics of herself to the male PE teacher over her phone for a while.

Basically, men and women can prey on teenage boys and girls sexually just as much as each other.

I definitely would have bonked a few of my teachers. One was in his 50's, still would have let him bend me over his desk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

I definitely would have bonked a few of my teachers. One was in his 50's, still would have let him bend me over his desk.

In fairness, it is the adults responsibility to give an emphatic rejection to that kind of advance.

I just found out he was 15. Hmmm, I'm not calling her a pedophile, but don't boys look quite young at 15?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

OK, that made me laugh.

Never a bad time for Jasper! :D

You're right. She's a trollop and a harpie. The poor guy must be traumatised.

I still don't get your point.

She is a trollop: don't you see the problem in the betrayal of the trust of the student and his parents, and the complete lack of professionalism of her actions?

And how is his enjoyment of it relevant?

An adult performed illegal sexual acts with a minor, for whom she has a duty towards.
    In addition, due to his youth, the skewed perception inherent in how we look at figures of authority when in adolescence, and the perceived "coolness" of the situation (riding the hot teacher!), he couldn't really give informed consent.
    He might think it's cool now, but what about a few years down the line when he feels he was taken advantage of?
    When he, and perhaps even his children, can't forget all the embarrassing media attention the case garnered?
    And, perish the thought, what if he didn't enjoy it? Is it still "niiiiiice" then? I find it bizarre that you can't seem to fathom that this might not be a wholly positive experience for him.

And even if he did enjoy it, look at the bigger picture: those who are traumatised or upset by such encounters find it hard to come forward in a culture which doesn't take their situation seriously.

Finally, is it also acceptable for a male teacher to have sex with a 15-year old student if she enjoys it?

My cousin who's 30 now used to get groped ta fuk by his mother's friend when he was in his early-to-mid teens. She preyed upon his pals also.

He and all but one of his pals look back on it now as weird and messed up and rather it didn't happen, but they're probably not too affected by it. One of the lads though is messed up by it.

But she was milfy... so it was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Hmmmm, he is seventeen and if it was consensual i don't believe the teacher should be charged as a sex offender. Mind you she should be firedhired.

change of plan..

How about you hire Rolf Harris as well? Sure the girls he is in court over were 14-16 just as this teenage kid was 15, so it's all good right?

Ah no, Rolf wasn't hot, so it was definitely abuse.

Ah, but he was rich and famous.

Now I ain't saying she a gold digger, but she ain't messing with no broke...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Hmmm.... So this happened outside school hours, when they were both on their own time?

Isn't this murica, where the legal age of consent is 15 in places?

Open to erections corrections....

Feck I even had a French teacher that looked like her, albeit a bit older....

It has been mentioned on a few occasions that the age of consent in Utah is 18. A few 'ifs and buts' but if one party is 34 as the teacher was, it is open-and-shut 18 as consent.

Also there is not one state in the US where it is legal for a 15 year old to have sex with a 34 year old as best I can see - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ages_of_consent_in_North_America#Alabama

It has been mentioned on a few occasions that the age of consent in Utah is 18. A few 'ifs and buts' but if one party is 34 as the teacher was, it is open-and-shut 18 as consent.

Also there is not one state in the US where it is legal for a 15 year old to have sex with a 34 year old as best I can see - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ages_of_consent_in_North_America#Alabama

Whoops slip of the finger (giggity) meant 16 not 15 :o

dgt wrote: »
    Whoops slip of the finger (giggity) meant 16 not 15 :o
    But he was 15 when it began?

EDIT: Not having a go at you by the way, just genuinely wound up by the sh!te like the Daily Hate Mail giving an exact case of double standards. One is no better than the other, but if this were a male teacher (Ryan Gosling resemblance or not) and a female student, they would have mentioned that. But instead because the roles are reversed they plant in a "hot for teacher" subtext throughout the article - and just read this thread in full to see how 'nnniiiicccceeeellllyyy' that worked for them. Point being, if the article talked about "sexual assault" from a "paedophile teacher" on a "15 year old child" the tone of this whole thread would be very different.

EDIT: Not having a go at you by the way, just genuinely wound up by the sh!te like the Daily Hate Mail giving an exact case of double standards. One is no better than the other, but if this were a male teacher (Ryan Gosling resemblance or not) and a female student, they would have mentioned that. But instead because the roles are reversed they plant in a "hot for teacher" subtext throughout the article - and just read this thread in full to see how 'nnniiiicccceeeellllyyy' that worked for them.

Didn't see that part! I'm afraid that's tabloids for you.... Genders reversed it's a different story... Remember those 2 who fled to France? Look at the light he was painted in for comparison.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Yeah, Rolf always had a sketchy vibe about him.

dgt wrote: »
    Didn't see that part! I'm afraid that's tabloids for you.... Genders reversed it's a different story... Remember those 2 who fled to France? Look at the light he was painted in for comparison.....
    Exactly. For my money 15+ isn't actually THAT bad (comparatively speaking, anyway), but it is still very wrong (and for protective reasons, legally speaking probably should be black and white - underage = no consent, end of). What really pi sses me off no end though is how up in arms and 'outraged'

Here's another article from the Daily Mail (the same publication quoted in the OP in this thread) which uses those "sexual assault, paedophile, etc" tag I used earlier - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2413626/Paedophile-P-E-teacher-Glyn-Thompson-Burnley-sex-14-year-old-pupil-school.html

And as for their headline with Jeremy Forrest and the 15 year old girl - "Schoolgirl, 15, abducted by pervert teacher Jeremy Forrest was ARRESTED after refusing to give evidence against him". Says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

yeah, yeah, yeah, imagine is the genders were reversed.

Imagine if this was a 34 year old male teacher and a 15 year old male student. ****storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭SeventySix

EDIT: Not having a go at you by the way, just genuinely wound up by the sh!te like the Daily Hate Mail giving an exact case of double standards. One is no better than the other, but if this were a male teacher (Ryan Gosling resemblance or not) and a female student, they would have mentioned that. But instead because the roles are reversed they plant in a "hot for teacher" subtext throughout the article - and just read this thread in full to see how 'nnniiiicccceeeellllyyy' that worked for them. Point being, if the article talked about "sexual assault" from a "paedophile teacher" on a "15 year old child" the tone of this whole thread would be very different.

Unless you have more information than was posted in the original article on the US case you cannot say they are an 'exact' case of double standards. In the UK case the girl was 13 when the teacher started pestering her for naked pictures. She claims to have been scared and uncomfortable with all the physical stuff. In the US case he was 15 (still a child not disputing that at all) and there is no indication given that he was uncomfortable with the physical side. Again I am not saying he wasn't, just that that detail is not given.

To me, at the moment, the UK case is worse than the US case, not because of the genders of the children, but because of their ages and because in the UK case is the are claims by the child that it wasnt consentual. If more detail emerges in the US case it might then be possible to say its a double standard, but as it stands I dont think they are exactly comparable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Uriel. wrote: »
    Oh wow page two of the thread and I can't believe nobody has presented the south park reference... score!

:rolleyes: :p

I did earlier actually but it didn't go down well....think it may have been mentioned before I replied but i hadn't looked at earlier posts...some funny people out there in internet land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I did earlier actually but it didn't go down well....think it may have been mentioned before I replied but i hadn't looked at earlier posts...some funny people out there in internet land

Some funny people out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Some kids have a ll the luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Some kids have a ll the luck!

Being a victim of a sexual predator, how lucky can you get.........

Jesus wept.