Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Irish Water Protest videos. Sick to the fooking teeth of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Missing the deadline for the Dublin Marathon:mad:

Oh wait thats tomorrows rant:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

walshb wrote: »
    The acceptance and almost nonchalant attitude to swearing. People have an issue with it are the ones who need to change! :confused:

I don't know, it seems that people today and recently can't tell a simple story or finish a couple of sentences without swearing. It's everywhere.
    Irish Water Protest videos. Sick to the fooking teeth of them!

Double standards ???? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Missing the deadline for the Dublin Marathon:mad:

Oh wait thats tomorrows rant:D

You owe me new pants

kit3 wrote: »
    Double standards ???? ;)

I was careful.

But seriously, the odd swear word in context I have no issue with. It can enhance a tale or story, or make a joke that bit funnier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Yasso 800s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

People giving out about water charges annoy the hell out of me, I spent about €4,500 to drill a well and buy the equipment to have my own supply as there's no public supply in our area. Why the hell should a service like getting potable water to your kitchen be free when it costs so much to supply? I actually am delighted people have to pay for something that I'll spend the next 25 years paying for on my mortgage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭dukeraoul

People giving out about water charges annoy the hell out of me, I spent about €4,500 to drill a well and buy the equipment to have my own supply as there's no public supply in our area. Why the hell should a service like getting potable water to your kitchen be free when it costs so much to supply? I actually am delighted people have to pay for something that I'll spend the next 25 years paying for on my mortgage.

No issue with paying for water but have a big issue with paying some ****ty semi private corrupt body like Irish Water... They can **** off w/ their application pack. Bring control of our water back to the people and they can charge what they like- I'll pay no problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

dukeraoul wrote: »
    No issue with paying for water but have a big issue with paying some ****ty semi private corrupt body like Irish Water... They can **** off w/ their application pack. Bring control of our water back to the people and they can charge what they like- I'll pay no problem.

You said it man, Jobs for the boys. This company is without doubt the biggest monster ever created by the state. Meetings about meetings about meetings.........top heavy with "leads" and "managers" who dont actually seem to do work, just dole it out. Some of the job descriptions -alarm events analyst, work flow progression specialist. Waste of tax payers money. If the public only knew half the sh*t thats going on. But how will they when half of the media is owned by denis o'brien who happens to be a major stakeholder in IW.
    Separate yet related rant - why the f@ck did I look at the rant thread?

Shower of fe(kin ranters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

"Well I'm not filling in the form". Fine, you'll lose your allowance, have your water pressure turned down and taken to court. Eventually you will pay a lot more. Like it or not they have you by the short and curlys.

gerard_65 wrote: »
    "Well I'm not filling in the form". Fine, you'll lose your allowance, have your water pressure turned down and taken to court. Eventually you will pay a lot more. Like it or not they have you by the short and curlys.

Don't care. There is no need for these ****heads to have my daughter's PPS numbers. Youll see there will be a climb down here.

Would love to see them turn down the water pressure on families with children and the elderly. European court of human rights here we come

(Oh wait the Irish gov tends to ignore those rulings)

dukeraoul wrote: »
    Would love to see them turn down the water pressure on families with children and the elderly. European court of human rights here we come

(Oh wait the Irish gov tends to ignore those rulings)
    It was done before. As long as its a trickle its not illegal. They have every angle covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

The costs involved in you drilling a once-off well, purifying equipment, drainage, and whatever else are enormous, its true.
    The costs of connecting you to gas and electricity and phone lines are massive too.

That's why its a bad idea to have isolated houses. (one of the reasons)

The costs of connecting my house to water, gas, electricity, phones - considering I am on a street full of other houses, in an estate full of other houses, in a suburb full of other houses, in a city full of other houses - are minimal.

If you choose to live off the grid, you pay the costs.

Windows 10, eh, its windows 7 and 8 just put together. And the award for originality does not go to microsoft... again.

Fair enough RayCun, I accept that, as I did completely at the time when I was building. I didn't expect to be, or grumble that I didn't get a subsidised free water supply and waste management. However, it serves to remind how much water services cost.

I worked in an office in Dundalk for a few years and my boss delayed forking out the €50 odd to fix a leaking tap for about 2 years, a steady stream of drinkable, treated water wasted for a couple of years. How many thousand others had zero regard for an expensive service that was provided free if charge? People only properly appreciate the value of something when they've to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I don't mind paying for water in principle. But I think the free allowances are too small, and the charges too high. And since water is something that has been paid for out of central funds so far, we are paying for it twice now. (not that I'm calling for tax cuts -- I'd rather taxes were kept at the same level and services improved)

So I do object to water charges the way they are being implemented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I'm changing my water supplier to Trocaire, apparently they can supply me, my family and small village with fresh water for only €2 per month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I'm changing my water supplier to Trocaire, apparently they can supply me, my family and small village with fresh water for only €2 per month.

Surely that should be in the rave thread:D:D:D:D

FB videos claiming Gardia are brutally assaulting IW peaceful protesters. I have yet to see one incident. Since when is holding off and moving people who are technically breaking the law, brutally assaulting? Any videos I have seen show aggressive protesters blocking and harassing and intimidating IW meter installers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Shame on you walshb ya big blueshirt gubberment stooge, Shame on you, shame on you, repeat ad nauseam.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Shame on you walshb ya big blueshirt gubberment stooge, Shame on you, shame on you, repeat ad nauseam.

Calm down, calm down!:)

There's some mad wet stuff falling from the sky - what is it? Is it safe to run in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

There's some mad wet stuff falling from the sky - what is it? Is it safe to run in?

Jose Mourinho style tactics from Donore to take out us road runners come Novices on Sunday ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Is it a clear non-alcholic liquid? If it is it's probably just water so run away Dom....run away.....

I've about that many times Bazza, but I'm still feckin' here!

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

So called 'peaceful protestors'. A bunch of obese freeloaders who most likely never had a job in their life. I'm fcuking sick of these water charge protesters who haven't a clue what their sh1tting about. Screaming at the police about brutality, for fcuk sake, if they lived in any other country in Europe the police wouldn't take a fraction of the crap they do in this country. Our police act with a lot of restraint, in most other European countries they would soon know what a baton feels like across the head, or worse. And many other countries in the world the police force make Nazi SS look like boy scouts.
    Getting really tired of these videos popping up on facebook as tributes to the 'wurking class heros'. If they 'wurked' they wouldn't have time to protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭Red Belly

Taxes.

And half the country goin' ape**** about a new "tax" that'll cost them a couple of hundred yoyos per annum when the real problem is getting screwed and taxed as a "High earner" when you haven't even reached the average industrial AND you get crap services!

I actually got a pay rise this year after a promotion and just over 70% of it "disappeared" before it got to my arse pocket: :mad:

So called 'peaceful protestors'. A bunch of obese freeloaders who most likely never had a job in their life. I'm fcuking sick of these water charge protesters who haven't a clue what their sh1tting about. Screaming at the police about brutality, for fcuk sake, if they lived in any other country in Europe the police wouldn't take a fraction of the crap they do in this country. Our police act with a lot of restraint, in most other European countries they would soon know what a baton feels like across the head, or worse. And many other countries in the world the police force make Nazi SS look like boy scouts.
    Getting really tired of these videos popping up on facebook as tributes to the 'wurking class heros'. If they 'wurked' they wouldn't have time to protest.

Yet to see one video of police brutality. Arresting people now for breaking the law is being spouted as police brutality. Bonkers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Leinster tonight. Dreadful.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

FB videos claiming Gardia are brutally assaulting IW peaceful protesters. I have yet to see one incident. Since when is holding off and moving people who are technically breaking the law, brutally assaulting? Any videos I have seen show aggressive protesters blocking and harassing and intimidating IW meter installers.

I was going to rant about this yesterday. Videos popping up all over facebook about this (and one about them helping some horse santuary take horses from some estate in Finglas) trying to make the guards look bad.

It it not a 'peaceful protest' if you are causing an obstruction, a guard pushing you lightly along is not assault...there was one yesterday where some guy tripped and all you hear is ''CALL AN AMBULANCE CALL AN AMBULANCE''

Ambulance wouldn't get in anyway because you're all STANDING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

davedanon wrote: »
    Leinster tonight. Dreadful.

Beaten by half a team too, what a fantastic result. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Good Channel 4 documentary (although not very original) - "The Pedophile Hunter"

Not too sure whether to put this guy in the rant thread or rave thread.
    There's great things about what he does but also some worrying things.

It's worth a watch anyhow

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-paedophile-hunter/4od

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

People posting on facebook about finishing 'tough mudder' Like it was some sort of amazingly difficult turmoil.:rolleyes: Cop on it's a mass participation event with a close to 100% finish rate designed to fleece you of all your money in entry fees.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

I'm a jinks on every team I want to
    win. County finals today both junior team and intermediate team
    I wanted to win lost!!!! My poor children come home from every match disappointed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

I was going to rant about this yesterday. Videos popping up all over facebook about this (and one about them helping some horse santuary take horses from some estate in Finglas) trying to make the guards look bad.

It it not a 'peaceful protest' if you are causing an obstruction, a guard pushing you lightly along is not assault...there was one yesterday where some guy tripped and all you hear is ''CALL AN AMBULANCE CALL AN AMBULANCE''

Ambulance wouldn't get in anyway because you're all STANDING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

I'm used to it, same carry on down here for years with protests over Shell. I'm not saying they did nt originally have a valid reason to protest but it ended up with a lot of headers from outside the locality taking it over and looking for publicity.

The Tri forum. One wind up post about Kona and IM tats that stayed up for all of 5 minutes and I get hit with a week. Lame. Tools.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

A rant it may be, but if you have an issue with a mod then take it to Feedback.

1. Waiting more than 24 hours for race results..
    2. Garmin Connect changing their layout AGAIN.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭GoTheDistance

When you think you've put your Garmin on charge over night only to wake up the following morning to find it didn't charge - run delayed for a while! Feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    1. Waiting more than 24 hours for race results..

Judging by the state of information on the race website I'd say your in for a long wait :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

When you think you've put your Garmin on charge over night only to wake up the following morning to find it didn't charge - run delayed for a while! Feck

...discovering that the battery is flat when on the start line of a race, after it decided to turn itself on in your bag during the day and despite being fully charged that morning. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭GoTheDistance

or managing to get to the start line with full battery but you've turned the darn thing on too late and can't get any satellite signal as the race countdown begins - Remedy: stick hand high in the air to try to get that bit closer to the satellites overhead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Race organisers removing criticism of the race from their Facebook page.

They've already Pee'd off runners if they have criticised the event. Then they go and delete the runners comments instead of facing them. Real smart PR for a company that will need backing from clubs to get a permit for a city marathon next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Race organisers removing criticism of the race from their Facebook page.

They've already Pee'd off runners if they have criticised the event. Then they go and delete the runners comments instead of facing them. Real smart PR for a company that will need backing from clubs to get a permit for a city marathon next year.
    Rant# People being more cryptic than me
    ..who d f was it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Rant# People being more cryptic than me
    ..who d f was it

The human race in Limerick. Good route and support. Horrible organisation.

I think the great Limerick run could be in big trouble next year as it's run by the same event management company and they have got on the wrong side of all the clubs in Limerick.

I would hate to see the GLR been cancelled as it's a great weekend and has come on leaps and bounds over the last few years but the organisers have made some terrible decisions and will find it very difficult to find a club to back it for an AAI permit. Pretty disappointing but that's what happens when you choose to ignore the participants and FOCUS on profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Derailing the rant thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

Leaving 20 points sitting on your bench in fantasy football... Grr.... Damn you Henderson and Naismith!!!