Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2013 Graduates - The Journey Continues!

• Registered Users Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Fantastic work there Bulmers. I think you'll really enjoy the sessions in meno's plan

Dead jealous of all your racing.

Cheers c m - hope you're not out for too much longer. All the core, cross & aqua stuff you're doing will stand to you when you're back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Have thought about it alright - we'll see!

You really should. And marty too. It'd be great to be able to follow your training and progress in more detail.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Ososlo wrote: »
    You really should. And marty too. It'd be great to be able to follow your training and progress in more detail.

Have thought about the log thing alright but it would be a bit embarrassing with my varying paces as bad as it gets :D Will reconsider it though, would be more like a diary/journal thing :)

Anyway, I don't want to give up on the 2013 thread, I'm hanging onto all the happy memories.... We were an excellent group, weren't we :) sniff sniff :)

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Have thought about the log thing alright but it would be a bit embarrassing with my varying paces as bad as it gets :D Will reconsider it though, would be more like a diary/journal thing :)

Anyway, I don't want to give up on the 2013 thread, I'm hanging onto all the happy memories.... We were an excellent group, weren't we :) sniff sniff :)

martyboy, it would be a darn good read! You're a funny guy! Go for it!!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,129 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

martyboy, it would be a darn good read! You're a funny guy! Go for it!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭donnacha

Looking for some advice ... I didn't do my LSR yesterday. Feeling very guilty as I was out on the beer the night before and gave up yesterday after 2.5 miles.

Do I put it aside and just move on this week with my normal programme - I'm midway into a 8 wk stint ... or do I do make up for it by doing my LSR this evening???

donnacha wrote: »
    Looking for some advice ... I didn't do my LSR yesterday. Feeling very guilty as I was out on the beer the night before and gave up yesterday after 2.5 miles.

Do I put it aside and just move on this week with my normal programme - I'm midway into a 8 wk stint ... or do I do make up for it by doing my LSR this evening???

What's the goal at the end of the 8 weeks? What distance should've done? Any step back week in the plan?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭donnacha

What's the goal at the end of the 8 weeks? What distance should've done? Any step back week in the plan?

Current goal is the 10k DLR Bay. Have a log on the go over here but thought it wiser to ask here for the advice. Ultimately DCM 2014 is the main event so I'm thinking advice would be to move on and forget about the missed LSR. It was a 14m LSR but this week I have a 16m LSR on the cards. Last week had been the official step back week but I was on holidays so not sure running in higher temps albeit shorter distances can be considered a step back.

donnacha wrote: »
    Current goal is the 10k DLR Bay. Have a log on the go over here but thought it wiser to ask here for the advice. Ultimately DCM 2014 is the main event so I'm thinking advice would be to move on and forget about the missed LSR. It was a 14m LSR but this week I have a 16m LSR on the cards. Last week had been the official step back week but I was on holidays so not sure running in higher temps albeit shorter distances can be considered a step back.

Maybe best to forget about it if you feel you didn't get the benefit of the 'step back' week.

So in Galway for few days with the extended family & gave Martyboy a shout to see if he was about for a bit of a run. He said sound & he was on for an 'easy run'. Now I know I might be slightly addicted to easy miles but 7.69 miles @ 7.40 pace ain't easy in my book! In saying that loved the company & thoroughly enjoyed the catch up. Shooting the breeze was the business & didn't feel the hour slip by. Cheers Marty

Aye, it was good to catch up with you again. I think we could call it a progressive run by looking at the splits :D:D I'm blaming gravity and the downhill section :D

Was a nice day out there, good to get a different route in.

Great to meet you again, and no doubt i'll see you over the coming months. I look forward to reading your log to by the way :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

JP Morgan Corporate Challenge for me this evening in Battersea Park. 5.6k distance. Finished in 23:21 - 4:09/k. Time for a parkrun soon!

Great going Woden :)
    Just had a quick look at the race website , http://www.jpmorganchasecc.com/events.php?city_id=10&page=events071014

It looks like a HUGE event with big no's???

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Cheers Marty! Yeah its crazy about 30k registered and it runs over two days. Think we got the better conditions last night. A bit cooler. Managed to sneak myself up a bin also which helped!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭ooter

Looking for a bit of advice from the good folk on here if possible.
    So I'm 5 weeks in to the p+d 55 mile plan,to be honest I thought from the start I'd struggle with it cos i just don't think the higher mileage suits me but I said I'd stick with it for as long as possible and see how I get on.
    Today was 16 miles with 10 @ MP,now I knew it was going to be tough but Jesus it was TOUGH,the horrible wind around the lap of the 15 acres in the phoenix park didnt help matters but it's the first time I had to cut a run short.I did a 3 mile warm up and managed to do the 10 miles @ MP but I was totally spent after it and had to walk home,I'd nothing left in the tank to run the last 3 miles.due to do strides in my 8 mile run on Tuesday,honestly can't see myself getting them in.the rest of the week is certainly do-able and it's down on the programme as a recovery week but it's only going to get tougher from next week on.
    I suppose my question is at what point should I have a decision to make and if that point arrives is there any drop back programme that anyone could recommend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

ooter wrote: »
    So I'm 5 weeks in to the p+d 55 mile plan,to be honest I thought from the start I'd struggle with it cos i just don't think the higher mileage suits me but I said I'd stick with it for as long as possible and see how I get on.
    Today was 16 miles with 10 @ MP,now I knew it was going to be tough but Jesus it was TOUGH,the horrible wind around the lap of the 15 acres in the phoenix park didnt help matters but it's the first time I had to cut a run short.I did a 3 mile warm up and managed to do the 10 miles @ MP but I was totally spent after it and had to walk home,I'd nothing left in the tank to run the last 3 miles.due to do strides in my 8 mile run on Tuesday,honestly can't see myself getting them in.the rest of the week is certainly do-able and it's down on the programme as a recovery week but it's only going to get tougher from next week on.
    I suppose my question is at what point should I have a decision to make and if that point arrives is there any drop back programme that anyone could recommend?

Just out of interest your MP, is this based on your target time, based on current results, or general by feel?

• Registered Users Posts: 34 lbucko

I'm at the same stage on the same plan. Did my 16 today no prob but was a different story last week. I threw in some MP miles last week too but a combination of the heat and not being properly fuelled last week meant the exact same thing happened me, practically walked the last mile. Found this week much easier. So I wouldn't let one bad run put you off, stick with it a bit longer and if you still find it too much then ease back a bit then.

ecoli wrote: »
    Just out of interest your MP, is this based on your target time, based on current results, or general by feel?
    this is only my 2nd marathon so i haven't got much to go on but plan A would be to go comfortably under 3:15 with plan B being sub 3:15.the plan for today's run was to go sub 7:25 per mile for the 10 miles @ MP,nailed it for 7 of the 10 but for the other 3 i was slightly over but the wind was horrific so i'm not too bothered about that.the only other MP long run in the plan so far was 13 miles with 8 @ MP on week 2 and it wasn't a problem,i actually went sub 7 mins for all 8 miles.for my LT runs so far i've been averaging 6:40 miles.
    the only thing i did differently today was that i did my long run this afternoon where i normally do them first thing in the morning,it just wasn't possible for me to do that this morning.i just think that as the weeks go on the higher mileage is taking its toll,hopefully i'm wrong.
    lbucko wrote: »
    So I wouldn't let one bad run put you off, stick with it a bit longer and if you still find it too much then ease back a bit then.

yeah thanks bucko,hopefully you're right.
    the only thing i did differently today was i did the run this afternoon where i always do my long runs first thing in the morning,that just wasn't possible today but i still fully expected to nail it comfortably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

this is only my 2nd marathon so i haven't got much to go on but plan A would be to go comfortably under 3:15 with plan B being sub 3:15.the plan for today's run was to go sub 7:25 per mile for the 10 miles @ MP,nailed it for 7 of the 10 but for the other 3 i was slightly over but the wind was horrific so i'm not too bothered about that.the only other MP long run in the plan so far was 13 miles with 8 @ MP on week 2 and it wasn't a problem,i actually went sub 7 mins for all 8 miles.for my LT runs so far i've been averaging 6:40 miles.
    the only thing i did differently today was that i did my long run this afternoon where i normally do them first thing in the morning,it just wasn't possible for me to do that this morning.i just think that as the weeks go on the higher mileage is taking its toll,hopefully i'm wrong.

yeah thanks bucko,hopefully you're right.
    the only thing i did differently today was i did the run this afternoon where i always do my long runs first thing in the morning,that just wasn't possible today but i still fully expected to nail it comfortably.

You will find that as your body adapts you will get used to the mileage, if not don't be afraid to slow down you easy days if needs be, mileage on its own shouldn't be the killer usually its the pace the easy days are done at is where the damage is done. Was down at the acres myself today and the wind was pretty bad alright so I reckon that despite the paces slowing a bit you were still probably working a little harder than MP effort.

Personally I would say stick with it and adjust your easy day paces accordingly if needed, the mileage will help.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

@Marty Boy
    Best of luck in the Streets of Galway, enjoy! I will have no internet for next 10 days could you have your time announced on Mid West radio for me?!

Cheers SfM, I'll give it a lash anyways :D There's a couple others doing it to I think, Seanpuddin and TbL I think are doing it too so divert some pressure onto them :D

Legs a bit stiff, but I'll try to loosen them out tomorrow.

No internet and ye'll have no trophy in sept either :D:D

Anything in the pipeline yourself coming up??

Feck off you with your football stirring:rolleyes: I'm holidaying for the next while but there is a 10 km on August 16th which I might do if I'm not out the night before. I will have plenty time and place for running but there will be a lot of socialising in the next while:p

SamforMayo wrote: »
    @Marty Boy
    Best of luck in the Streets of Galway, enjoy! I will have no internet for next 10 days could you have your time announced on Mid West radio for me?!

G'luck Marty. You should really get that log up and running. Looking forward to the report!

Yes so we wouldn't have to go rummaging for this thread when we need to put a bit of pressure on you.

There's plenty of miles left in this 2013 thread :)

Anyway, Bulmers74 said he is going to fire up a log of his own VERY soon... So be patient women, we can be the first to hijack it for our own amusement :D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    There's plenty of miles left in this 2013 thread :)

Anyway, Bulmers74 said he is going to fire up a log of his own VERY soon... So be patient women, we can be the first to hijack it for our own amusement :D

Not so sure how many miles are left in this thread Marty - it's been limping along for a while as most who contributed have their own logs. The writing may well be on the wall for us!! As for any log hijacking which may occur in the future - it will be dealt with accordingly :D

Enjoy the race tonight!

What a super thread this is :D

Gonna keep this short... Hopefully...

Pre race, got back to sisters place near start line around 7.20. Dumped some stuff there and went out for a quick warm up and a nosey to see who was about. Met a few mates around warm up area and exchanged well wishes ect.
    By God I found it warm though, I mean a light jog had me out in a sweat :D
    Headed over to starting area and the familiar face of Seanpuddin came over to say hello and wish me well, was nice to see someone from these parts as well as workmates ect, we both agreed it was "a grand warm day" :D

Lined up behind the 30min board, a few rows back from it, but as the time approached, the place packed out fairly lively.... With "an assortment" of running abilities and musical listening devices, oh well, still not to bad, fairly well positioned and the few ahead of my could be used to ease me into the race.

First km took me along by jurys,up merchant road and into eyre square. AS suspected, a bit of congestion with runners, and it was tight along the bridge to jurys. Still not to bad, finding a bit of a rhythm as I entered eyre square, plenty of support around the place which was nice.

2nd&3rd km brought us out by the cathedral, left at UCHG and along newcastle road. Trying to keep in control of myself and maintain a reasonable pace. I'm thinking there's a little headwind here, or maybe thats just me. Still going ok bit feeling the heat a bit now :D

4th&5th kms brought us out St Marys road and lower salthill road, turning right at devon park and out Dr Mannix road. Few little drags here to keep you honest and keep those knees lifted :D A combination of this and I'm sure I'm into a bit of a headwind leaves my a bit breathless :D Not to bad but knew pace had dropped a little. Mind starts to look towards the finish and I start wondering if I can keep it going.
    I'm targetting a few people ahead of me and picking most of them of eventually. I've stayed ahead or passed most of my running mates now, the ones I've passed I've done stealthily, and shielded myself from their sight by other runners. I don't want to get caught up in chats or dogged retaliations like before and end up speeding up to much.

6th&7th kms brought us by Pearse stadium, the home of Connacht football, and back in along the prom. Water station here and just cooler the head with a drop and wet the lips with a spoonful I'd say. Legs a bit weary at this stage but seem to still be moving at a reasonable pace.
    Coming along the prom and I pass my two remaining mates. The last one I stayed behind until the end of the 7th and could see he was struggling a bit as I was and went for it. Just a little increase of pace and sustained it seemed to do it.
    Good crowds out along here and lots of cheering and piss pulling as well. Spotted a couple of workmates out drinking and they went to town on me calling me Slo Mo, all in jest of course :D

8th km The final km and I'm fairly empty as it is. I remember last year,this is where I absolutely flew to a sprint finish. Looking back I should never have been able to hit that pace for the last km but it wont be happening today :D I do increase the pace alright, just another slight increase and it helps me to pick off another few runners. There's a lad in front in a tight black top who I've been chasing down but every little extra I give was equally or bettered by him, so he got away.... Bugger......

Splits 4:03, 4:05, 4:03, 3:57: 4:07, 4:02, 3:55, 3:49

Chip time PB 32:06 (previous PB34:58)

Happy enough although a little pissed about the 6 seconds wondering if I could have knocked that off, but then again I'm always wondering about those things. Still, heading in right direction and when I look back as I am now, I'm pleased with my progress.

Legs a bit tired tonight, but sure thats a good sign :D

Oh, before I go, I played a little bubble football with work yesterday. Straps have my shoulders a bit sore, but if ye ever get the chance, it's mighty craic. Plenty of milling into the bosses and it's all guilt free :D Not much soccer skill required as theres a lot of luck and tactics in it :D

Tally-ho :)

Super run Marty - closing in fast on a sub 40 10k

Not sure about that but I might give it a go for my next 10k (St Stephens day :D ) Those extra 2k could be the breaking of me though but ya never know :)

ecoli wrote: »
    You will find that as your body adapts you will get used to the mileage, if not don't be afraid to slow down you easy days if needs be, mileage on its own shouldn't be the killer usually its the pace the easy days are done at is where the damage is done. Was down at the acres myself today and the wind was pretty bad alright so I reckon that despite the paces slowing a bit you were still probably working a little harder than MP effort.

Personally I would say stick with it and adjust your easy day paces accordingly if needed, the mileage will help.

7 miles general aerobic with strides yesterday and 18 miles long run today was always going to be tough so pacing was going to make or break the 2 sessions.
    p+d describes general aerobic as 15-25% of MP and long runs as 10-20% of MP so went with 15% yesterday and 20% today.
    first time i ever did a long run at 20% of MP but i'm so glad i did cos i don't think i would've completed today's session if i'd gone out any quicker.
    last few miles were tough but physically,not mentally which i was really pleased with.if i can get through my 20 miler in similar fashion next sunday i'll be delighted