Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheep Photo Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Ram lamb from yesterday, ewe has loads of milk, very good mother.

My sophisticated water heating technology.

Here's the formerly hypothermic lamb.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I love to see them bouncing around like that

Same as that, have seen one lamb race so far, but when a few more get together with a bit of sun on their back the races will begin proper.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Same as that, have seen one lamb race so far, but when a few more get together with a bit of sun on their back the races will begin proper.

I put the first few ewes and lambs out in the field today.its meant to be sunny tomorrow so they'll like that

Have singles out since they were born and twins out by day for a while and 24/7 since space got tight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Cran

Some action from lambing, Jacob is old mans he has 4 as grand kids love them. Lamb on his own. Mule x Lleyn ewe lb

What do you make of the Jacobs Cran?

It's tiring work having a 4.9kg lamb before breakfast.

What do you make of the Jacobs Cran?

Stone mad and bad feet, but besides that great mothers and seem to milk well. Their defo not a commercial breed though

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭glenkeo

2014-03-30 10.42.10.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

glenkeo wrote: »
    2014-03-30 10.42.10.jpg

Linky not worky?

Couple of pics from today. First quads ever born on farm outside one pedigree ewe last year and some of da pets

• Registered Users Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭arctictree

Cran wrote: »
    Couple of pics from today. First quads ever born on farm outside one pedigree ewe last year and some of da pets

Will you be fostering some of the quads?

arctictree wrote: »
    Will you be fostering some of the quads?

Ye took two off, one gone onto a ewe and other in with the pets for the moment

Twins this morning, need to go back to school, cursory look said two ram lambs early on but it's a ram (3.12kg) and a ewe (4.155kg).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Twins this morning, need to go back to school, cursory look said two ram lambs early on but it's a ram (3.12kg) and a ewe (4.155kg).

Big difference from this time last year:D
    150 ewes and 268 lambs moved on to a 5 acre paddock,
    according to the platemeter it's supposed to last 4 days......we'll see
    2014-04-07 09.57.01.jpg

2014-04-07 09.55.51.jpg

Not as much grass here but it's coming along.

Made my first inroad into these feckers this morning, about time too, they have been watching newborns in the mornings.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭Lano Lynn

a fabulous sight rancher they are a credit to you fine stock,
    as mr shakespeare put it,
    "I am a true laborer. I earn that I eat, get that I wear, owe no man hate, envy no man’s happiness, glad of other men’s good, content with my farm, and the greatest of my pride is to see my ewes graze and my lambs suck."

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭mikefoxo

What exactly are you doing there Con with the crow? Hope you're not keeping him for a pet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Lovely looking stock rancher. Lovely sight to see nice uniform flock like that. Lambs seem to be doing well.

Lano Lynn wrote: »
    a fabulous sight rancher they are a credit to you fine stock,
    as mr shakespeare put it,
    "I am a true laborer. I earn that I eat, get that I wear, owe no man hate, envy no man’s happiness, glad of other men’s good, content with my farm, and the greatest of my pride is to see my ewes graze and my lambs suck."

My favourite time of year, (if grass is growing)

sea12 wrote: »
    Lovely looking stock rancher. Lovely sight to see nice uniform flock like that. Lambs seem to be doing well.

Gerry Scully, who was teagasc sheep specialist, use to always praise early grass.
    He'd say '' 80% dmd....maybe 16% protein....sure you wouldn't get it in a bag of meal''
    Ewes are milking well alright, but it's the first time in three years I've got a proper response to early nitrogen

gerry was a wonderful practical gentleman he always amazed me with his intellect and mastery of the whole sheep industry coupled with his superb ability to comunicate.sadly missed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭razor8

rancher wrote: »
    Big difference from this time last year:D
    150 ewes and 268 lambs moved on to a 5 acre paddock,
    according to the platemeter it's supposed to last 4 days......we'll see
    2014-04-07 09.57.01.jpg

2014-04-07 09.55.51.jpg

Lambs look to be powering on rancher, what age are they now?

mikefoxo wrote: »
    What exactly are you doing there Con with the crow? Hope you're not keeping him for a pet :D

That's the call bird, there to catch more crows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

gerry was a wonderful practical gentleman he always amazed me with his intellect and mastery of the whole sheep industry coupled with his superb ability to comunicate.sadly missed.

+100

true gentleman ,

his knowledge of sheep and as you say his ability (& willingness) to pass it on will never be repeated

razor8 wrote: »
    Lambs look to be powering on rancher, what age are they now?

4 weeks average

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭eire23

rancher wrote: »
    Gerry Scully, who was teagasc sheep specialist, use to always praise early grass.
    He'd say '' 80% dmd....maybe 16% protein....sure you wouldn't get it in a bag of meal''
    Ewes are milking well alright, but it's the first time in three years I've got a proper response to early nitrogen
    jt65 wrote: »
    +100

true gentleman ,

his knowledge of sheep and as you say his ability (& willingness) to pass it on will never be repeated

Didnt know the man myself buy my father did and like ye all he speaks very highly of him. Must have had a great knowledge of sheep by all accounts.

That's the call bird, there to catch more crows.

KFC,konamara fecked crow:D

KFC,konamara fecked crowS:D

Started a trend today, another one in the Larsen :D Time to start populating traps in other areas now :)