Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheep Photo Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Was down at Clonmany Agri Show on Tuesday and took some pics.

28720983785_6a12d2ee96.jpg

28615073462_eb2969b6ed.jpg

28615033292_93863811d8.jpg

28105110323_f9c0706b53.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

397178.jpg
    397179.jpg
    The new arrival

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Nice ram. Must admit I've a soft spot for the Texels.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Cran

As getting near mating season thought post some ram pics. First couple new Lleyn ram and Rams bought to bred replacements, last couple of hoggets I bred

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭Lano Lynn

what kind of sheep are these?
    Sheep.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭tom_k

Galway sheep?

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭geros29

Lano Lynn wrote: »
    Sheep.jpg

Look a bit like romney?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭razor8

Sheep.jpg

There Romney's. Bought a ram lamb last year to breed replacements and very happy with purchase so far

See add for rams below

https://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/new-zealand-romney-rams/13469974

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭Lano Lynn

I think the are romneys and NZ romneys at that.... would think that the IFA could get a picture more representitive of their members for use on the website It is better than the merinos the have used in the past :mad:

Sheep.jpg

Romneys

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

Nice ram. Must admit I've a soft spot for the Texels.

Me too, someone once said they aren't as "nice to look at" as other breeds, I think they are a great looking breed! Love the charollais colouring too though

-First one is the ram just after we got him, he's a good bit bigger now
    -One of this years lambs the week they were brought out of the shed,
    -You can see the difference in an early lamb and a later one, the bunch from our own ram put on weight quicker than the second ram we got it (to cover just in case as our fella was unproven)
    -Last one is one of the better ones a while before she went for the chop.. loved the look of her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

mcgiggles wrote: »
    -You can see the difference in an early lamb and a later one, the bunch from our own ram put on weight quicker than the second ram we got it (to cover just in case as our fella was unproven)
    -Last one is one of the better ones a while before she went for the chop.. loved the look of her
    Last one out of a Dorset?

IH784man wrote: »
    Last one out of a Dorset?

That's what we were wondering too, we got 2 that looked like that! Gorgeous looking lambs! We have texel, suffolk, and then some crosses so there must be some dorset somewhere in one of the crosses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

That's what we were wondering too, we got 2 that looked like that! Gorgeous looking lambs! We have texel, suffolk, and then some crosses so there must be some dorset somewhere in one of the crosses

The Dorset ewes will lamb 3 times in 2 years if you look after them well enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Pic taken yesterday, I assume bringing in ewes for milking? Not sure what they eat here tho...

They have dogs with em all the time as well it seems...
    These lads - https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maremma_Sheepdog

• Registered Users Posts: 4,130 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Shore the ewe lambs today. In good condition and will make lambing easier

Released the charley and llyen today. Texel will go in later as the lads are getting tired.

Nice to see them ready to go, another year
    New boys added to the crew here this year to go out next week

Cran wrote: »
    Nice to see them ready to go, another year
    New boys added to the crew here this year to go out next week

I wouldn't mind that last fella, lovely length to him.

Yep very happy with him, he s the new great hope for the pedigree flock

Is the last one a charollais? Lovely looking. Must get a photo of our fella, he looks quite similar. Gave us lovely hardy lambs last year (his first year). Have more ewes this year and only himself out with them (33 ewes). We borrowed a ram last year off a friend to hedge our bets and he was supposed to be a great ram, and our fellas lambs came out stronger and faster growing so I think we're onto a winner.

Yes Charollais, only terminal sire used here. Other single ram is new lleyn and two together are lleyn based hybrids to breed replacements.

Lleyn look a nice ram too, smaller heads than the last fella. Would they cross well with a texel? we will be looking to buy another ram next year I'd say

• Registered Users Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭arctictree

A still from one of my field cameras:

Hard to see much but the camera has pan and tilt so its good crack sitting in work and having a look!

Lleyn look a nice ram too, smaller heads than the last fella. Would they cross well with a texel? we will be looking to buy another ram next year I'd say

Ye really like him, went way over budget for him but find it hard to get lleyn I like.
    If your looking to keep ewe lambs lleyn be good job, if not Char on Texel works very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Not mine.....but I presume a Romney??

I would think some sort of down x merino tbh, popular in oz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Cran wrote: »
    I would think some sort of down x merino tbh, popular in oz

It's in the heart of the nz north island

Tbf there's no comparison of mountains here and there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1