Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The main thing is keeping the main thing, the main thing

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Monday: I'm working US hours this week - so can get out in daylight hours.

Lovely 7m down to the canal, back into the park and home. Nice.

7m/8.10 pace

Tuesday: A few laps in Porterstown listening to the interviews from Eurocross on Runnerbeans.

7.2m / 8.15

Wednesday: Tempted to do a session - but was online til 2am last night and also have a creak in my neck so didn't want to push it. Also due down week soon anyway.

Decided to see how disciplined I could be with a longer easier run (an MLR) - lovely route down the canal to Phibsboro, War Memorial Gardens, Back into the PP and home. The pace was the pace - happy that it stayed around 7.30's for the majority without too much forcing it.

Wore my new pair of NB TC's - My other 2 pair have over 300+ miles on both.

15.4m / 7.30 pace - a disciplined performance :)

Thursday 16th: Legs were in surprisingly good nick - Happy with how things are going. Day off work - into town afterwards for shopping & pints.

6.3m / 8.02 pace

Friday: Busy day in work - US hours again - but managed to get out for 30-40 mins and do some strides. Need to do more strides!

4.2 miles total.

Saturday: Session - 5m E / 4x2m off 3min float / 5m Easy

I had originally planned a different session but had this in the back of my mind as a back up based on how I felt on the WU - I do find that on weeks were you dont have any sessions - the body doesn't respond to how you want it to.

5m Warm up and at that stage I felt that I'd need to curtail my endeavours a bit - maybe due to the booster still, maybe due to Wednesdays 15 still in the legs, maybe working US hours - maybe all the above!

I said I'd do 4x2m with a float in between at a decent pace. - the session was completed on Fure/OS raod - then the 2m loop of C'Field-North Road. The intention was to do the reps at faster than MP - so about 6.15'ish - I reckoned this was AT pace.

The 1st rep was the hardest - the legs just were not cooperating. (6.20/6.31) - but the effort was honest and probably higher than AT. (float at 7.20's)

2nd rep was a bit more on the money - felt a bit better in this - (6.14/6.11) - 3 min float was 7.30's

3rd rep was 6.04 / 6.16 - felt a bit tired on the last mile or so of this so took a slower recovery (8.30)

4th Rep - was a tiring 6.23/6.24 - probably 10 secs too slow - but maybe the correct effort.

Next 5+ miles home were uphill into a breeze that was stronger than I envisaged - happy enough with the cooldown miles being all under 8 min/miles - this showed no real slog despite me getting a blister on my left foot while wearing the New Balance TC's that I just bought - so disappointed with that.

Overall - a good run - a run I can build on in the coming few weeks.

20m / 7.10 average.

Sunday: Was out in the Anglers Rest on Sat night - so went out on Sunday to pick up the car - legs felt ok actually.

4.34/8.20 pace

64 miles for the week - highest mileage week in about a year / longest run (Sat) in close to 2 years.

Next few weeks are important - I feel that Jingle bells took more out of me mentally than I had envisaged - I felt a bit mentally depleted afterwards and this impacted on my sessions or lack there of.

This makes me question Raheny - I felt in super shape prior to Jinglebells - afterwards, I feel that I'm chasing where I was.

But thats ok - a couple of sessions in the coming few weeks will reset me and maybe even bump me up a bit. - but I dont want a mental bump after Raheny as its too close to race day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Wottle

I'm doing Seville too, 9 weeks to go and having just caught up on your log, I literally feel miles behind :-)

Loving the detail and great to see you going so well.

9 weeks is a long time - be no bother to you!!

I got ahead of myself thinking I'd have some long haul trips (that were then cancelled - giving me 2 additional weeks.)

Monday: A few miles down to the PP and back up to a small park beside Castleknock Train Station - 6x20sec strides and then home the long way.

7.3miles.

Tuesday: Session day - Planned session was 3x15min progressive - actual session was 5x1m at 10k pace.

This may sound weird to some but I was lacking a little confidence going into this as I hadn't done long Tempo reps since prior to Jinglebells. The booster impacted long run, a down week, working US hours all providing very valid excuses as to not have effective training at 'real' tempo' pace.

So I changed the session from 3x15 mins (plan was to run them at 6:20 / 6:10 / 6.00) to 5x1m at a slightly faster pace (10k pace). I had a plan B that if I was suffering after 3 reps - I'd do either a MP run or some 3 mins Reps.

In hindsight - I needn't have worried and would have been more than capable for the original session.

I ran 5m Easy to CK gate (ave 7.40 which was nice) - then started into the 5 reps (4 around the 2m loop / last one down to the Zoo).

My target was 5.50 pace but knew that anything under 6 would be acceptable as well - based on effort.

Session went as follows;

5.53 pace (1 min rec) / 5.51 (1 min rec) / 5.49 (2min rec)/ 5.51 (2min rec) / 5.49 (Note - there was a headwind on the North Road, so no real benefit going downhill :) )

Was delighted with that and it gave me a good confidence boost - normally with 10k paced reps I'd give 2-3 mins recovery - so happy with how it went.

I felt fantastic after the mile reps - my 'cool down' from the Zoo to home is 5 miles - all uphill - all my paces were under 7.30/mile and got a bit carried away at one stage with a 6.40 mile.

Happy with how I felt - fitness is definitely there, I just need the head to believe it (which it does now)

15miles (ave 7.09)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Seville is a fantastic city and marathon

Best of luck

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

You’re a very experienced marathoner so you know the score, but I sometimes wonder about this quite regular habit of changing the session on the fly. On the one hand, you could say it's an astute runner listening to the body and calling the right shots on the day, but on the other, you could say you are changing one session for another and therefore not necessarily getting the exact stimulus/adaptation that was called for in the schedule (if there is a specific schedule, and maybe there isn't).

I think the post JB feeling is normal - you ran a PB so that's a 'capstone' effort that tends to reset the clocks. I know anytime I do a good race (which isn't very often), all paces except very easy can feel way more difficult than they used to for quite a while. I'm reminded of the Lydiard distinction between 'development' races and 'goal' races, and the idea that you should include additional races in the buildup to the goal race, but only if you're prepared to treat them as a step to where you're heading, and not an all out effort that depletes the work done to date. I don't think that's necessarily the case with JB, but could be an issue as you get closer to the goal, so you're right to be wary about Raheny, maybe asking what you can get out of that event that helps towards rather than takes away from the M goal.

But you know all this already - I just wanted to comment, as much because your reflections on those recent sessions, and Raheny, give me thoughts about how to approach my own training in the coming year.

Strawberry Hall, eh? Lovely spot. Haven't been there in a long time, hopefully will return before too long.

Thanks Murph - a Sage as always.

I think in the past I was guilty of changing sessions and making them distinctly different workouts - I'm a bit more aware of that and try to get the right stimulus that was planned for that day - that being said - I think pre jingle bells I hit every session.

I'm actually pretty happy having back up plans as it helps with my own psychology - (this is why I'm self coached) - I haven't felt like I've had a bad run in a long time as opposed to thinking "I haven't hit the planned work out - oh no, I'm such a failure!" - which was a common feeling some months back.

I'm quite sure that my body is highly trained - I just need to get my head to be as well trained.

And it was the Anglers Rest - The Straw Hall were only taking Bookings (actually they've closed today until after Christmas)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ah yes, am always mixing up those two venerable establishments!

Dec 22nd: Easy paced recovery.

5.5m/8.20 pace

Dec 23rd: WU/8x20 sec Strides / CD.

4.6miles

Dec 24th: 10miles easy - 8.12 pace

Dec 25th: Cooking for 10 (& drinking for 10!!) No run.

Dec 26th: Meant to do a long run/session today - but had a dodgy stomach all night. Was about 3miles from the house and the tummy started rumbling again - I was running, walking, clenching (& repeat) all the way home.

7.6m / 7.45 pace

50m for the week (as no session on Sunday)

Monday 27th: Session in lieu of missed session yesterday. I was going away on the Tuesday with Wifey, so I knew I'd not get a session in with all the festivities, travel, more festivities and the festivities. Lets not forget the festivities.

I 'emboldened' my session a bit and decided to do 5/4/3/2/1m at MP'ish with 5/4/3/2/1 mins recovery.

I done 1 mile warm up and let the pace happen naturally - I'd be happy with 6.40's in this session today - given the time of year.

1st 5miles around Carpenterstown; 7.00/6.38/6.32/6.27/6.23

5min Float at 7.30 pace.

next 4 miles along the canal into a tough wind: 6.32/6.40/6.34/6.38/ - this brought me to Phibsboro.

I considered turning back on myself to get the tail wind - but didn't - Next 3 miles went along NCR and Stonybatter - a pause along Park Gate street to get across the multiple roads and finish off along the Chapelizod Road. (6.37/6.31/6.34).

A bad decision to go up by Donore Harriers and into the War Memorial Gardens for the remaining miles as it left me too long of an uphill cool down.

2mile reps 6.28/6.45 - tiring here.

Last mile up Chapelizod Road again (6.37).

I finished the meat of the session with 17.5miles at 6.48 pace.

At that stage I realised I'd have a 3+ miles uphill cooldown - I walked for a few mins - which was a mistake as it was difficult getting going again.

3m slog home - 8.40 pace.

21 miles for the day.

Tues 28th: Away with Wifey - more festivities.

Wed 29th: 9 miles easy - 8.10 pace.

Thursday 30th: Back in work today, cooking for 11 people again today - went out for a few easy miles.

5m - 8.11 pace.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭MY BAD

Super session

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I still feel sick looking at that session....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Jesus Christ that is some running!! Fantastic grit. I’m curious to know what your hydration/fueling is for a monster session like that is? I’ve just skimmed a few pages of this log as I’m (very) late knowing how to access them!

2 pieces of toast before hand with a coffee. No gels and Water during - thats how the nest couple will go and then I'll add in some gels.

This is a tough run BUT the way the session 'should' be ran is to run each step progressive - say 5 secs faster for each rep.

So its 'only' 15 miles at MP broken into manageable chunks - which should be achievable 8 weeks out from race day. I'd consider this a tough session but a manageable one.

I'll need to start bringing gels with me to practice them soon enough - I need to get my stomach used to gels and fueling running at pace - I bought some of the SIS Beta fuels but find them too sickly. Need to do a Maurten run to the Run Hub soon.

Friday 31st: Met some running buddies in Howth for a run around the block. I considered not going and doing a session, but when do I get the opportunity for such a scenic run with good friends!

1st part up through the houses is a tough one and you really get the heart going! I wore the trail shoes, thankfully, as parts were really wet and mucky.

The uphill after the lighthouse was another toughie and really tired the legs even more.

Overall a great run - really enjoyed the company.

8miles.

Sat Jan 1st: Had a fresh head this morning as I was well behaved on NYE - Board Games with 2 19 yr olds and 2 21 yr olds are so much fun - seriously.

Although my daughter does make a mean Pornstar Martini.

Ran down to the PP to watch some of the Tom Brennan 5k - legs were a bit tired after the Howth run yesterday.

7m / 8.10 pace

Sunday 2nd Jan: Session:

Planned session was 2WU / 2x2m Tempo / 10 Easy/ 2x2 Tempo / 2 Easy - but the windy morning changed it a bit.

I had planned to meet some lads for the 10m Easy bit at 9am - so was up at 7. Coffee and toast - a few leg swings etc - took care of the stomach :) and drove to the PP.

2.3m WU with strides and I could tell the gusts would be troubling. Decided to run the tempos as 4x1m as opposed to 2x2. Even at this is was tough - I was conscious that I had another 16 miles after the tempos - so didn't want to leave myself too cooked.

4x1m Tempos were: 6.04/6.02/6.03/6.15 and I made it back to CK gate to meet the 2 lads.

10 miles were at a decent clip - the 2 boys are sub 2.50 guys (1 just getting back from injury) - but they kept the pace honest - the parts into the breeze were terrible - couldn't hear ourselves talk at times. I made it back to CK gate knowing that my legs were in no fit state to run tempos.

I changed it to a straight MP run - I tried to run at slightly faster than MP - but I guess you can say it was probably faster than MP effort. The important thing was that I ran at a harder effort than the 10 miles - and it is quite difficult to get the legs moving at a faster pace when they've become accustomed to a set pace for 75 mins.

The 3 miles were 6.25/6.29/6.38 - the last one into that fcuking wind.

2 miles back to the car and felt in great nick actually - the hammy twinged a bit on the cool down but didn't cramp.

21.2 miles (7.20 ave pace) - 2 hr 35mins time on feet.

More numbers:

71 miles for the week.

Finished December with 250 miles.

Finished 2021 with 2743 miles (4414km).

3x20 milers done - 7 weeks to go.

One of my presents from my girls.

A whiskey glass with AMK inscribed inside 😍

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Ah that's only one of the best ever. The girls must really love you 😄

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Fantastic few weeks running in December, well done. Hope January goes smoothly for you. Seville is a great race, very good field. Happy new year to you.

Monday 3rd: 6 miles around the locality - I was out on Sun evening and was a very bold boy (the 'boldest' I've been over the holidays) - but felt great today.

I recall after 4 miles making a decision to either turn for home (2 miles) or run an additional bit (4 miles) - I probably should have ran the additional as I felt great and knew I'd be 'tireder' on Tuesday.

That said - I made the decision based on the big session looming on Wednesday - no point getting fatigued on easy runs.

6m / 8.20 pace.

Tuesday 4th: 4m warm up / 6x30 secs strides / CD.

Done what it said on the tin - was tired today - the strides were progressive.

6.5m total.

Wednesday 5th: Session: 2E/8m MP/1E/2x2mTempo / 2E (See Swashbucklers log for explanations :) )

I got nutrition/Hydration bang on - decent 2 breakfasts (double porridge 7am / 2 boiled eggs 10am / Pasta & chicken 1pm).

For the session I decided to wear the AlphaFlys - really to test them out and see where they'd fit and if I'd consider them my Marathon shoe.

Set off at 4.30pm on a 2m WU before getting into the MP stuff. My MP should be around 6.30's - so that was my guideline.

After about 2m of MP I was considering changing the AF's as I was passing my house. Didn't like them - they felt terrible - I wasn't confident cornering in them, they felt very unstable.

But I kept them on and kept going - recalling my 1st time wearing the original 4%'s - I hated them too but now they are possibly my all time favourite shoe.

The 1st mile or so at MP was difficult - but I knew once I settled and found the rhythm that it would be grand - and thats what happened.

The 1st 4 miles brought me to Laurel Lodge - - I was a bit worried about the later part of the session given the quicker paces - but was starting to warm to the shoes.

The mile to the park was dodging people and traffic and then I knew the next 3 miles were on a downhill, so I let the pace creep up a bit. Felt great on finishing and felt I didn't need the 1m recovery prior to the tempos. But still took it.

(6.34 / 6.19/6.19/6.14/6.28/6.14/6.17/6.18) - a solid 8 miles.

1 mile easy was a 7.42 and then onto the tempo on the usual 2m loop.

The tempo went fantastic - I felt very strong on them (5.57/6.07) & (6.01/6.03) - for the 2nd one I looped away from the 2m loop and kept going straight up Chesterfield and finished up on Whites road.

At this stage I checked my watch and was gobsmacked to see 15.25m at 6.34 pace - I immediately saved that as its something I'll look back on prior to the race as a confidence builder.

1.75 miles home - felt grand on the jog home.

17 miles total - not bad for a cold Wednesday night with a headlamp in the PP. (& a pair of noisy AF's that act as a beacon to sound my arrival - Jaysus those yokes would wake the dead)

Regarding the shoes - I now have a decision to make on the marathon - I know the Next % will work - but I really did feel great in the AF's once I got used to them. Maybe I'll do a session in the AF's soon just to get a comparison.

I just re-read the book for last nights session (2E/8m MP/1E/2x2mTempo / 2E)

The 1 mile Easy after the MP should not have been included! (Note to self to double check the book - my excel spreadsheet was incorrect)

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

That's a monster session. To hit the MP miles alone was an excellent session in its own right but the tempo miles on top makes it even more impressive.

So no recovery atall after the 8MP?

It reads like you go straight into in - in fairness - I felt like I could go right into it.

Massive session again you’re in some shape! Those tempo mile paces are eye watering. If I may press you, the tempo bit is 2x2 how long a recovery do you get between the two reps?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Beast of a session for a Wednesday, that was epic......I need to steal some of those when I get into marathon mode......proof if can be done on a cold dark night in the Phoeno.

A very long 2 mins!!

With Jack Daniel's, it's 1min per mile recovery on Tempos.

That’s painful! I ordered the book and I see it’s arrived at my parents’ house… I’m half thinking of leaving it where it is!

Thursday: 5m recovery - all local - 8.40 pace.

Friday: Down to the PP after work - 2 sets of strides - 2x5x20 secs with a few mins in between the 2 sets.

Strides/200's/30 sec strides are all an anti cramp strategy from here on in. Hoping to get the right balance in Slow/Fast twitch and toughen up the neuro muscular system.

7.5m total

Sat: Went out with the thought process of doing a vanilla 20 mile but knowing that my hammys felt like they were attached to my glutes by rusty cables - I was also prepared to just run easy and put off the long run til Sunday.

Thats exactly what happened. Got to 4 miles and knew it would be a slog if I continued.

6.5m / 7.58

Sunday: Vanilla Long Run - 2.5 hours

Didn't set out til after 10 on this one - but the body felt a 100% better - I done a small amount or foam rolling and self massage on the hammys and felt super when I woke up.

The pace very quickly dropped to 7.30's and I was able to maintain this for the duration. Last 8 miles or so into the breeze and mainly uphill from the Quays onwards.

Only had 1 piece of toast for breakfast prior and no gels/water during - Gels are ordered so my next long run will contain gels and appropriate prep before hand.

I dont really like these runs and found it a bit tough mentally - I was meant to meet someone for 10-12 miles but it didn't happen for a variety of reasons.

Thankfully - this will be my only long vanilla run prior to Seville.

20.25miles / 7.29 pace / 2hr31mins.

So - doing this long run on Sunday throws my next week into a bit of a mess.

I have a hospital appointment on Monday where I'll be knocked out, so that means I cant run Monday - I have Donadea HM next Saturday (13m at MP session) - so I need to be careful what session I do on Wednesday.

I also need to decide if I do Raheny 5m - I could do my weekend session midweek and the race will act as my 2nd session - I just cant let it impact my sessions.

69 miles total for the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭E.coli

Solid work A

On the anti cramp strategy. Might be worth mixing this up every few weeks with 6 sec maximal hill sprints with full recovery (IIRC J used to be a fan of these “hill blasts”)

The can be a great neuromuscular primer (along with heavy weight squats if wanted to go down that route)

Can I ask (either AMK or E.coli) whats the thinking behind the fibre recruitment helping mitigate against cramp? Is it a case that with "limited" fibre recruitment the muscle needs to overwork and therefore more prone to cramp and adding more short , sharp strides and hill blasts increases the number of fibres recruited - distributes the workload?