Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playstation 4 Or Xbox One? (See mod warning in the first post)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

inFamous.
    Uncharted 2
    MAG
    Heavy Rain
    Demon's Souls.

Though GT5 would have been another big seller for others.

MAG was 2010(January), but that was pure class.

128 v 128 was brilliant. Lots of little wars going on all over the place.
    Really loved that game.

To me Demon's Souls was the best game of last gen.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I could talk about my love for MAG all day, its one of my fondest gaming memories. Cannot get near the enjoyment of that game with Battlefield.

Restarted Demon's Souls today. Forgot just how tough it is at the start.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

I can't see this posted anywhere...

Sony giving PS4 owners the tools needed to launch their own digital talk show
    Called "Set Maker," the update adds a bunch of functionality to aid in the production of hosted shows. Using a tablet as a production suite, players will be able to add all sorts of effects and virtual objects to their sets. Where previously there was just a couch and some hand-made banners, players will be able to create digital banners with both text and images. They can also drop in things like spotlights or make their PS4 controllers spew laser lights.

Neat idea, borne out of The Playroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Grayditch wrote: »
    I could talk about my love for MAG all day, its one of my fondest gaming memories. Cannot get near the enjoyment of that game with Battlefield.

Restarted Demon's Souls today. Forgot just how tough it is at the start.

I suppose PS2 will be up your street then. It's 2,000 players I think.

The Last of Us, the Uncharteds and Journey were my favourites.

Can't wait for the remaster and U4

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Otacon wrote: »

It is a neat idea. It would be better if it didn't need the tablet.

I wonder will it fly. Will it be popular. I think things like this and Twitch broadcasting tend to be popular and new for a few weeks and then its forgotten about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

Going by the screen grab looks tacky and gimmicky as hell. But with overtime that should probably improve and make streams interesting on Twitch.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭nix

miju wrote: »
    May I nominate this post for worst attempt at a troll in this thread thus far or most delusional :P:P:P:P:P

Anyone to second ?????

Sorry if i hurted your feelings with my opinion xbox fanboy :(
    Unfortunately many people don't see the big picture. If there was no Xbox and XB live for instance there would be no free games with PSN plus. If there was no Xbox One Sony may have launched the PS4 at a higher price point. Competition is incredibly needed and benefits us all.

Without a doubt I am getting huge value from my XB1 because Sony are way ahead on sales. For the first time in years we are seeing an Xbox gaming division that are listening to what its customers are saying and are implementing requested features every month. I would like this gen of consoles to be incredibly competitive so we has gamers can reap the rewards.

Please do tell me of the great "value" you're experiencing with your Xbox1.

Free games on PSN? would you be referring to crappy indy games? or games i have already bought and paid for on psx/ps2? (no interest, sorry) ;D Feeding these psn's/xboxlives whatevs just hampers the need/resources for them to focus on giving you new games. If they want to give you games for free fair enough, if they are using it as a platform to sell you digital copies of games they cant be arsed to make hard copies of because they are way too short/**** then no thanks.

I like my consoles offline (online only to PLAY against other players), if i wanted good online gaming downloads id just go on the steam sales, but thats just me, i have always snubbed my nose towards the PSN as its just to me, a way for them to spin more money out of you on impulse.

And i do see the biggest picture i think IMO, with how my choices are going, i refuse to buy a PS4 as the console is pointless to purchase at this stage in time as you can get all the games coming out for it on PS3 :) 60 fps rabble rabble waa waa, gameplay dictates the games i get, not the technical jargon i can hardly see the difference in on a game ive already played.

You speak of the PS being over priced if the xbox went under? i bet it would cost less than buying a PS and xbox (which is what alot of people do), and tbh i dont think it would be drastically over priced, it wasnt before the xbox came along ;)

But playstation/xbox games have been declining in gaming quality (not graphical) since the ps3/360 was released. seriously the only games worthy of note are the GTA's, red dead and TLOU. Everything else is just meh, regurgitated sequels, the only difference being the story, but again thats just my opinion.

I could count my PS3 gaming purchases on one hand (xbox would be just as bad as it offers the same ****ing games) Heck the best game out on the PS4 at the moment is a ****ing remake of a game that was recently released, that you have all played and finished within the last 2 years.

And i just know thats gonna do really well in sales and guess what you're gonna see more of? more remasters and less new games, sequels offering pretty much the same game and remasters. You speak of the developers finally listening to the fans? The masses aren't fit to dictate how their games should be made, it should be a small team gamers creating the games, not board members and surveys warranting what goes in a game (this is why you have countless Assassins creed and CODs) They have been taking advantage of you all last generation and looks like they are gonna take advantage of you even more this time around :) PS/Xbox are just diluting gaming, forgive me if i couldnt give a **** if one of them goes under. :rolleyes:

Now excuse me while i go play my Wii-U, the only console getting it right atm, ive bought more games in the last 2 months on it than i have on all consoles in the last 8 years combined. ;)

</rant>

• Registered Users Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    I suppose PS2 will be up your street then. It's 2,000 players I think.

I'm becoming impatient waiting for it.

Didn't it get a huge, well received update on the PC? Maybe its best they get it all sorted before it arrives on PS4, but I'm really looking forward to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,577 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Going by the screen grab looks tacky and gimmicky as hell. But with overtime that should probably improve and make streams interesting on Twitch.

The live from PlayStation section thingy is only in its infancy, and is where I spend my time on PS4 when I'm not gaming!

It's brilliant that Sony are giving more tools for it as its fairly limited at the moment - its like a window into retards' lives... (in a Truman show type way)

I have seen everything and all sorts on it at this stage!

Who ever thought watching other people could be so much fun....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

The screengrab isn't from Set Maker - that is The Playroom.

Grayditch wrote: »
    I'm becoming impatient waiting for it.

Didn't it get a huge, well received update on the PC? Maybe its best they get it all sorted before it arrives on PS4, but I'm really looking forward to it.

I think that's what they're doing. AFAIK it was going to be a port to PS4, but they've gone around and built it from the ground up for it, so it's on ultra settings or something.

Was hoping it's be out by summer time, it looks great.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,597 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

1: Its far from dead still under a year since launch

2: If you think the demise of a console is a good thing for gamers, well says alot really ;)

3: I like honey roasted ham :pac::pac::pac:

Smoked Ham is better, larger install base than honey roasted and there are better exclusive smoked Ham sandwiches as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭nix

Lol just been looking at the difference in games offered in depth, the games are being released on all platforms, its pretty frightening how mindless gamers are buying things, they literally dont have much to seperate them, now if one of them went under, you literally wouldnt be missing out on anything..

PS4+PS3 comparison
    http://www.metacritic.com/browse/games/release-date/coming-soon/ps4/metascore
    http://www.metacritic.com/browse/games/release-date/coming-soon/ps3/date

Xbox's
    http://www.metacritic.com/browse/games/release-date/coming-soon/xboxone/metascore
    http://www.metacritic.com/browse/games/release-date/coming-soon/xbox360/date

These are just the up coming releases, the same trend is followed with games in the past.

They literally are releasing the same games on all platforms, i cant see any missing really worth of note, xbox360 offers same games (more even) than its "enhanced" counterpart xb1, same with PS3 and PS4. and they both offer the same games pretty much.. So my point being, the only difference is the name. atleast when Nintendo, sega and PSX were bumping heads they actually offered different games, thats what competition is IMO :)

So PS and Xbox, if the just came together yis could save alot of €€€/space ;)..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

So, I picked up a PS4 on Monday, just couldnt wait any longer lol.

So besides TLoU in August, what other upcoming games (indie & aaa) should I keep an eye out for over the next 6 months that have confirmed release dates?

I do have PS+, played a few of the games I added since January, Outlast is pretty cool, and Resogun too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Just more tools for making porn ;)

So, I picked up a PS4 on Monday, just couldnt wait any longer lol.

So besides TLoU in August, what other upcoming games (indie & aaa) should I keep an eye out for over the next 6 months that have confirmed release dates?

I do have PS+, played a few of the games I added since January, Outlast is pretty cool, and Resogun too.

DriveClub, CounterSpy, Guilty Gear Xrd, Hotline Miami 2, N++, Deep Down, Natural Doctrine, Dynasty Warriors 8, Galak-Z: The Dimensional, Escape Plan, OlliOlli are all console exclusives, also Soul Saga: Episode 1 is coming out on the PS4, Vita and Wii U.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Cool, thanks, I'll look into them see what they like

Fieldog wrote: »
    The live from PlayStation section thingy is only in its infancy, and is where I spend my time on PS4 when I'm not gaming!

It's brilliant that Sony are giving more tools for it as its fairly limited at the moment - its like a window into retards' lives... (in a Truman show type way)

100% agree with ya man think it's a great tool and I always say the XB1 twitch app as good as it is needs to be able to do some sort of overlays as streaming is really turning into this gens "thing" it just needs a bit more work and less tacky looking (though I can see the decks appealing to ya alright :D ).

Both are still in their infancy and no way near mature yet on console platforms

Xenji wrote: »
    Just more tools for making porn ;)

Never heard about this, was it actually a full on porn they were making or was it more just a basic wardrobe malfunction ?

Full on porn, they even let the robots and sackboy watch if you wanted :pac:

http://kotaku.com/hey-sony-people-are-having-sex-live-on-the-ps4-1561594024

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

There was also an hilarious article a few years back about a young lad exposing himself when playing Uno on xbox, can't seen to find it now.

Well I'm off to skulk live from playstation for a while >_>

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

calex71 wrote: »
    There was also an hilarious article a few years back about a young lad exposing himself when playing Uno on xbox, can't seen to find it now.

http://www.destructoid.com/mother-finds-out-why-son-was-banned-from-uno-until-9999-171421.phtml

That is actually hilarious , especially the robot :p:p:p:p:p:p
    calex71 wrote: »

TBH I'm surpised there hasn't been an incident of something streaming on Twitch not realising their kinect is on while cracking one off yet

F1ngers wrote: »

Internet is a weird place but doing while playing UNO and having your mammy post on the forum is classic stuff

171421-lol.jpg

Internet is a weird place but doing while playing UNO and having your mammy post on the forum is classic stuff

171421-lol.jpg

There's a couple who engage in full on riding on it, they have a reddit where they tell everyone what username they will be going under as they get banned every time, it only lasts so long until the pull is plugged... So to speak :P

My epic trolling one night nearly caused a Clondalkin family to smash the PS4 up, I was winding them up til they couldn't be wound up anymore...

I told them their daughter was missing a few chromosomes and I even made the mother change out of her PJs into something a bit sexier, the less said about that the better... :P

• Registered Users Posts: 10,212 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Seeing the playroom antics has me considerin keeping the ps4 :D

• Seeing the playroom antics has me considerin keeping the ps4 :D
    U better! Your Console bipolar :pac::pac:

Seeing the playroom antics has me considerin keeping the ps4 :D

I have seen lads rapping, bands playing, people having acid sessions, girls getting cut off after flashing nipple's, and even lads showing off different types of weed at the camera - you name it, chances are I've watched it...

lol

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭WeHaveToGoBack

Fieldog wrote: »

John De Mol