Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metal Gear Solid V

• Registered Users Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Grand. I don't think I'd enjoy the game if I couldn't have a bit of fun with the grenade launcher and sniper rifle every once in a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Battleflag

Grayditch wrote: »
    I'm doing the main missions as stealthily as possible, extracting as many people as I can and getting A/B ratings, but then for the side op missions, I'm doing a bit more gung go and killing lads if need be and scouring the area for every material

What are the cons/negatives of doing it that way? I just can't bring myself to spend 40 mins doing things the right way on a base, only to repeat that same formal on a side mission.

That's how I play it too. Don't think it has any effect as you aren't ranked on the side ops

• Registered Users Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Why not just fulton everything/everyone and let the game auto dismiss the lower soldiers?

I suppose at least this way you dont have to bother stunning and then fultoning them. But then if you do take them down the reveal the location of loads of blueprints etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Sometimes I have to kill the enemy..blah blah.....airstrike.

Other times if im revisiting somewhere after taking out the radar previously, I will get the chopper to land on the zone just so I can use the minigun with Fortunate Son playing on the speaker.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

I find doing Side-Ops is a good opportunity to play as someone in your combat unit other than Big Boss to get their stats up. It's especially fun after
    you beat the game and you can finally choose to play as your own avatar

• Registered Users Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Why not just fulton everything/everyone and let the game auto dismiss the lower soldiers?

I think I'd get bored of the game fairly quickly if I played full stealth. I wanna use the cool guns I've spent money developing :)

• Really want to recruit quite but not sure how, its definitely close as Miller mentioned it on the radio.

At least I managed to get the dog with me, very handy that he spots enemies / prisoners automatically

• Grayditch wrote: »
    I think I'd get bored of the game fairly quickly if I played full stealth. I wanna use the cool guns I've spent money developing :)

That's one of the problems with the game. I can't go gun ho because in the back of mind I could kill some really good soldier I should be fultoning. I know you can use the analyzer but sometimes I just to go in and blow people away with an rpg without having to scan every single soldier beforehand.

Best fun I had was going stealth for half of a mission then I said **** this so I called in a support chopper and started sniping guys as they attempted to man an aa gun.

Just hate being punished for killing soldiers.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,842 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Really want to recruit quite but not sure how, its definitely close as Miller mentioned it on the radio.

At least I managed to get the dog with me, very handy that he spots enemies / prisoners automatically

Will spoiler in case you want to find it on your own (I'd say you're very close if you got the dog to come along with you, I got Quiet the very mission after that.
    I had a Side Op to find Huey north of the map. No helicopter zones so it's a long enough trek up. You come across Quiet along the way and Episode 11 automatically kicks in. You can deal wit hher then or come back for her.

In other Quiet news, looks like a fix was released for PC and PS4 for the Quiet wrecking save files on certain missions.

• Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Will spoiler in case you want to find it on your own (I'd say you're very close if you got the dog to come along with you, I got Quiet the very mission after that.
    I had a Side Op to find Huey north of the map. No helicopter zones so it's a long enough trek up. You come across Quiet along the way and Episode 11 automatically kicks in. You can deal wit hher then or come back for her.

In other Quiet news, looks like a fix was released for PC and PS4 for the Quiet wrecking save files on certain missions.

Yep that side op just unlocked thanks il head there next.

No word of the X1 patch? Is it a game breaking bug?

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Yep that side op just unlocked thanks il head there next.

No word of the X1 patch? Is it a game breaking bug?

She can corrupt your save file if you bring her on missions 29 or 42. No xbox patch news yet but must be soon. Just don't here on those missions to be safe,
    Konami has issued a warning to Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain players regarding a bug that could corrupt save files. As explained on the company's website, this bug can be triggered if you have Quiet as a buddy character while playing Mission 29 or Mission 42.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Evade

I get that the yellow mark is the goal, but I can't see how Im supposed to get to it.
    Is it on the main R&D platform? If so use the north west stairs on the inside of the platform.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,961 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I'm noticing more and more that some of the enemy soldiers have the red marker triangles filled in. Does anyone know what that means?

Jordan 191 wrote: »
    I'm noticing more and more that some of the enemy soldiers have the red marker triangles filled in. Does anyone know what that means?

Filled in means you have scanned them, partial means the dog or quiet has spotted them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Just got a
    call over the radio for an emergency mission
    . Didn't go well. Failed it and ended back in my original mission. This was mostly down to me tinkering with my weapons and ended up putting a different suppressor on my Wu Pistol. Couldn't line up the sights at all since it blocked my vision.

Just got a
    call over the radio for an emergency mission
    . Didn't go well. Failed it and ended back in my original mission. This was mostly down to me tinkering with my weapons and ended up putting a different suppressor on my Wu Pistol. Couldn't line up the sights at all since it blocked my vision.

Is that
    if so you get another crack at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,307 ✭✭✭weiland79

I can't help but be reminded of the Socom games when i play this.
    Would love to see a squad based game in similar environments.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,307 ✭✭✭weiland79

Actually after a quick youtube refresher, This is Socom rebooted!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,408 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

The PS4 just downloaded a few hundred megs of a patch - wonder was there anything interesting in it.

Andrew76 wrote: »
    The PS4 just downloaded a few hundred megs of a patch - wonder was there anything interesting in it.

The fix for the Quiet bug that wrecked save files on certain missions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Mission 17 (I think):
    The one where you have to escort the kids away from the mine. Jaysus....that was a pain in the ass. I just don't play the game all rambo style....and I was forced to with that mission and was really out of my comfort zone. It was TOUGH....having to load all the kids into the chopper one by one while being shot at from all angles....died loads of times. Still managed to get an A.....no idea why. The 80's music blaring from the chopper made it all the more surreal

I must say I do love going back to Afghanistan after doing missions in Africa....just prefer it visually I think.

Really loving the game. For me it is a great example of a game where the individual mechanics are so polished and fun that you are willing to do them over and over again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭biggebruv

finished it well chapter 1

MINOR SPOILERS FOR REST OF MY POST

wtf is this sh!t replaying old missions on hard difficulty in chapter 2 its abit messy i have to say

SPOILERS

even the last mission with skull was like wtf when they were in the car it was so cheese lo
    SPOILERS

l

i really dont know if i wanna trade this in for mad max or keep it i cannot make my mind up

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Randall Floyd

biggebruv wrote: »
    i really dont know if i wanna trade this in for mad max or keep it i cannot make my mind up

Finish it first anyhoo.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

biggebruv wrote: »

If you've no interest in MGO I suppose so... I reckon that's going to be great.

Also to spoiler a post you just put the text within the following without the spaces
    [/ SPOILER]

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

After putting this game aside the last while, I finally decided to play it seriously last night. Mission 6 was great!
    I was waiting for something big to happen story wise and mission 6 again was a giant tease. Skullface on some kind of metal gear? I don't remember it having hands :eek: And Psycho Mantis showing up again, interesting

Flying through missions now, not really fussed on my first playthrough getting 100% on every mission so once I do the main objectives I get the **** outta there :P Getting the hang of the game much better now, I used to be getting caught loads, so that's good

Also, thank god for the sneaking suit. I literally don't use any other camo. Is there any reason to? This thing is great, silent footsteps and looks beast. Upgraded it and now it looks like Solid's suit from MGS1, or is that just me seeing that?

Also, regarding side ops, I keep doing the target practice ones and they don't disappear even though I complete them? Any ideas? Actually, this happens with a lot of side ops, some stay even though I've completed them.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Ramza wrote: »
    After putting this game aside the last while, I finally decided to play it seriously last night. Mission 6 was great!
    I was waiting for something big to happen story wise and mission 6 again was a giant tease. Skullface on some kind of metal gear? I don't remember it having hands :eek: And Psycho Mantis showing up again, interesting

Flying through missions now, not really fussed on my first playthrough getting 100% on every mission so once I do the main objectives I get the **** outta there :P Getting the hang of the game much better now, I used to be getting caught loads, so that's good

Also, thank god for the sneaking suit. I literally don't use any other camo. Is there any reason to? This thing is great, silent footsteps and looks beast. Upgraded it and now it looks like Solid's suit from MGS1, or is that just me seeing that?

Also, regarding side ops, I keep doing the target practice ones and they don't disappear even though I complete them? Any ideas? Actually, this happens with a lot of side ops, some stay even though I've completed them.

Haven't used it but do you not stand out more amongst the desert terrain when using it?

J. Marston wrote: »
    Gameplay-wise, this is fantastic but it all feels a bit hollow to me. Lack of cutscenes, respawning bases, "go here fulton/kill him" missions. I'm hoping it picks it but I'm little disappointed so far.

yeah i was alittle put off by that they had years dev time on this and its a big enough map but i been to the same bases about 4-5 times now for sode missions and main missions

other games get burned at the stake for this in reviews but somehow mgsv got away with it in reviews

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

J. Marston wrote: »
    Haven't used it but do you not stand out more amongst the desert terrain when using it?

Not that I've noticed. I've went into loads of bases during the daytime with it on and was fine. Once you stay low and stick to shadows you're fine, same rule of thumb for any camo I suppose :)

Yeah I've stick to the sneaking suit since the start. I'd like to change up camo now and again but the silent footsteps are too handy.

Just unlocked FOB's, said I'd go full whack at em built 4 extra platforms straight away. Gonna sort out security tonight. Will have to look up where to get security features for the fob.