Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman breastfeeding on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭duckman!!

for some reason this came to mind!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Yeah I was surprised alright, as i mentioned, it's not something i've seen before.

If I had seen If I had seen an orangutan playing the trombone I would have also been surprised as I wouldn't have seen that on the bus before either!

Nah I meant that your kinda contradicting yourself by saying you think it's "Perfectly natural and all that." and then later saying you were surprised by this odd occurrence and even went so far as to question "is this normal?"

An orangutan playing the trombone on a bus wouldn't be "Perfectly natural and all that." or normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...so, in closing, we can say that women are indeed evil, bosoms the tool of the devil, and Dublin Bus responsible for the crash.

Nah I meant that your kinda contradicting yourself by saying you think it's "Perfectly natural and all that." and then later saying you were surprised by this odd occurrence and even went so far as to question "is this normal?"

An orangutan playing the trombone on a bus wouldn't be "Perfectly natural and all that."

On the 56A it would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Just there in the first row of seats on the outside was a woman breastfeeding a child.

I tried to keep my expression blank, despite my surprise, and made my way back further

Now I don't personally have any sort of problem with public breastfeeding.

But it did kind of strike me as odd that the woman was feeding the child on a really packed bus in rush hour traffic.

Also the kid was definitely older than a year old, maybe even as old as two.

Is this normal do you think?

I mean, if there are any mothers out there, would you do the same?
    I know you don't have a problem with public breastfeeding but why do you think it's unusual for a woman to do it specifically on a packed bus? It's no different to any other public place and once she is discreet about it, it's nothing out of the ordinary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Nodin wrote: »
    On the 56A it would.

Only if he was smoking too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Afroshack wrote: »
    I can understand why it might make some people uncomfortable, but I'd much prefer someone breastfeeding on the bus than a hungry, crying baby on the bus.
    But the op mentioned he was 2 years old :eek: surely she should have him weaned off milk long before then ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

An orangutan playing the trombone on a bus wouldn't be "Perfectly natural and all that." or normal.

True enough!

I guess it was surprising more so because it was a packed bus with people jostling around and such.

If I saw a woman sitting in a park or in a restaurant/ cafe I wouldn't have batted an eye.

The is it normal comment was more about "is it normal to do it without any regard to where you happen to be at the time" as opposed to just "is it normal to breast feed in public at all".

It's not something I had ever in my life considered before now so I thought I'd ask you guys!

I would be too embarrassed to ask me mam... ;)

I know you don't have a problem with public breastfeeding but why do you think it's unusual for a woman to do it specifically on a packed bus? It's no different to any other public place and once she is discreet about it, it's nothing out of the ordinary.

I don't really know to be honest!

I just kind of thought to myself that hey if it were me i would probably get somewhere comfy to do it, but I accept that the child's need basically overrides that kind of concern.

It's not every day (or any day except today tbh!) I think about what my stance on ideal breastfeeding locations is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Nodin wrote: »
    ...so, in closing, we can say that women are indeed evil, bosoms the tool of the devil, and Dublin Bus responsible for the crash.

Yes, but you forgot the bit about boob fondling and nipple tweaking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I find not looking at things I don't want to look at tends helps these matters.

I don't really know to be honest!

I just kind of thought to myself that hey if it were me i would probably get somewhere comfy to do it, but I accept that the child's need basically overrides that kind of concern.

It's not every day (or any day except today tbh!) I think about what my stance on ideal breastfeeding locations is!
    Anywhere it's necessary it's done. :)
    My friend does it at mass. I don't think I'd feel comfortable enough to do that though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

I think breastfeeding mothers should feed everywhere, and anywhere, to change this attitude. Breastfeeding is normal and natural and protected under law. If women were breastfeeding everywhere you went you wouldn't think twice about it. I don't understand why people are surprised now, (and in some cases disgusted - I used to work in a hotel and someone complained to management, expecting them to remove a breastfeeding woman from a public area!). The "worst" that can happen is an exposed nipple 100% of people have nipples so what's the problem??

Yes, but you forgot the bit about boob
    fondling and nipple tweaking?

....that's obviously some kinky sex the foriegners do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

What annoys me about this (Not you OP, just breastfeeding in general) is that people don't even notice when mammies shove a bottle into their baby's mouth, but its a talking point and a big deal if the baby is breastfed.

Its completely natural and unfortunately baby's don't have the mental capacity to understand to wait until they are home to be fed. When they are hungry, they're hungry.

In African countries children are breastfed until they are 4 or so, sometimes even older. I know that this is because of poverty reasons etc. but its completely normal there. There is powdered formula milk manufactured for babies aged 12m+, so it doesn't strike me as unusual to see that mothers breastfeed into toddlerhood. In my opinion, the longer the child is breastfed, the better.

Ireland has one of the lowest international breastfeeding rates. Its only in the last 10 years or so that breastfeeding has been coming back into fashion here, which is really sad. The colostrum in breast milk is the equivalent of liquid gold, and has many many benefits for the mum too.

Its sad that current attitudes might sway an under-confident mother not to breastfeed when more often than not, they are met positive reactions in public.

Again, none of this is directed at OP, its directed at Irish attitudes in general. :pac:

I actually knew a guy that claimed he was breastfed until he was 4 or 5. Dunno if true or even possible. Could a mother express milk that long?

/pages Wibbs and Seamus

Now that would be admittedly a little disconcerting to see.

Anywhere it's necessary it's done. :)
    My friend does it at mass. I don't think I'd feel comfortable enough to do that though!

This is what I was getting at really! Is there anywhere where people who are/were breastfeeding would feel strange about doing it themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

I would liked to have asked for a taste, but im not sure it would have been appropriate.

anncoates wrote: »
    I actually knew a guy that claims he was breastfed until he was 4 or 5. Dunno if true or even possible. Could a mother express milk that long?

/pages Wibbs and Seamus

Yes, a mother will keep a milk supply for as long as a child is feeding from her.

Say she wanted to wean the child off the breast, she'd also have to work to dry up her own supply.

So say, a child fed 5 times a day, she'd cut it down to four feeds, then three etc, her body would gradually start producing less milk until she stopped altogether.

Or, she could just let the child go cold turkey and use an expressing machine and dump the milk.

Either way she'd have to decrease her supply, but it is possible to breastfeed for that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

"Breast is best!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

In fairness I think we are all arguing the same point. It is a good and natural thing to do and none of us understands the attitude problem that some have with breastfeeding in public.
    But who are the 'some'? Die hard conservatives who do not frequent AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

In before the "so can I start pissing in public, it's natural!" brigade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

My brothers friend and his missus came over to the brothers house one day, the bro went into make a pot of tea, when he came back to the living room, herself decided to start breast feeding, the brother was taken by surprise he says, last thing he expected when walking back into the living room.
    wouldn't be any 'issue' if she had asked could she use a separate room or anything, it seemed quite inappropriate when a social visit was what was initially planned.

krudler wrote: »
    In before the "so can I start pissing in public, it's natural!" brigade.

Ah now..

Come on now...

That's crazy talk that is! ;)

Everyone hates seeing someone slashing in the streets!

My brothers friend and his missus came over to the brothers house one day, the bro went into make a pot of tea, when he came back to the living room, herself decided to start breast feeding, the brother was taken by surprise he says, last thing he expected when walking back into the living room.
    wouldn't be any 'issue' if she had asked could she use a separate room or anything, it seemed quite inappropriate when a social visit was what was initially planned.

Inappropriate to feed a hungry baby? Would you have been as offended if she had whipped out a bottle of formula? Or would she have been allowed to stay in the room to feed the baby?

The primary function of the breast is to feed a child. Breasts are not just sexual, and if people stopped viewing them as so, they would not be uncomfortable in the company of a breastfeeding woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

....and we're off.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭SmilingLurker

My wife has breastfed my children on the DART, on seats in shopping centres and wherever they got hungry. I cannot see any issue. If someone is uncomfortable with the most natural way of feeding an infant, the problem is not with the breastfeeder.

Good on that woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

No big deal - lived in Germany for a while and this is pretty normal and regular, as it should be. People need to chill.

the brother was taken by surprise he says, last thing he expected when walking back into the living room.

I admit I would have surprised as I'm not used to being around people with babies. I mean I can probably count on one hand the number of times i've seen anyone at all breast feed in the last 25 years since my little brother but I wouldn't have considered it inappropriate at all.

I mean if you are in a friend's house why would you feel that that would be inappropriate?

Friend being the operative word!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Why can't they bottle it before they go on one of their trips with baby. No, instead baby must be fed direct from bosom to baby on bus. Baby bus bosom. Must drop the when speaking about baby also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

A lot of people who are supportive if breast feeding (myself included) hadn't any experience of being around a breast feeding mother before being one!

I didn't know anything about it until I started asking questions when I was pregnant.

I know that when I was around breast feeding mothers before I was maternal I did think it was "odd". Not that the feeding is odd - but it was unusual for me to see.

I wouldn't breastfed at a funeral, simply cos I wouldn't bring a baby to a funeral.

I've fed in shopping centres, city centre cafés, restaurants, pubs, hospital, friends houses.

When I see a breast feeding mother, particularly in the early stages, I give her what I think is a "knowing smile" but probably makes her think that there's a weirdo having a gawk at her!

I miss a poster called Starbelgrade on these threads (don't know what led to his site-banning). He'd just keep piping up to the question "When is it too late to breastfeed?": "Depends on how hot your mam is."
    anncoates wrote: »
    I actually knew a guy that claimed he was breastfed until he was 4 or 5. Dunno if true or even possible. Could a mother express milk that long?

/pages Wibbs and Seamus

NSFW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

I miss a poster called Starbelgrade on these threads (don't know what led to his site-banning). He'd just keep piping up to the question "When is it too late to breastfeed?": "Depends on how hot your mam is."

NSFW

Am i only only one who wishes he was that kid?

NSFW

Ha ha! Forgot all about the furore that cover caused!

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Why can't they bottle it before they go on one of their trips with baby. No, instead baby must be fed direct from bosom to baby on bus. Baby bus bosom. Must drop the when speaking about baby also.

Am i only only one who wishes he was that kid?

Well maybe that I was in that kid's place... ;)

NSFW

Nearly Sure to Fuel ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

All these people giving out about women breastfeeding their babies, its not the women who have the problem, its you. They are feeding their babies, if they let them go hungry you'd have every right to complain about them. Unfortunately babies can't understand that the circumstances might not be ideal to be fed.

As for using a bottle you might not be able to use breast milk and formula, some babies won't take a different milk, some refuse to use a bottle. Even if you are lucky enough to be a breast feeding mother whose child will use a bottle it takes forever to express the milk your child will need during a feed. Its not practical for a lot of women.

Besides why should they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Rumple Fugly

What a moral bunch of contributors there are on this subject "its the most natural thing in the world, bla bla bla" I agree with the op, he was taken aback because, even though it a normal thing to do in private (like alot of other things), seeing it on a packed bus is not commomplace so naturally it will draw some funny looks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Engine No.9

Certainly natural in foreign cultures. My brother is engaged to a Romanian girl and they have s 2 yr old sprog. He's still breastfed.

pajopearl wrote: »
    Certainly natural in foreign cultures. My brother is engaged to a Romanian girl and they have s 2 yr old sprog. He's still breastfed.

In fairness I think the mother was foreign now that I think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

What a moral bunch of contributors there are on this subject "its the most natural thing in the world, bla bla bla" I agree with the op, he was taken aback because, even though it a normal thing to do in private (like alot of other things), seeing it on a packed bus is not commomplace so naturally it will draw some funny looks

Would you prefer if the mother stayed at home until the baby is weaned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

What's the politically correct answer? That's what I'm saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Thread title is a misleading. Big difference between a woman subtly breastfeeding and a woman sitting there with her left boob exposed whilst she plays angry birds on her phone or chats to her friend.

There shouldn't be. Feeding kids is what they're for. What's the problem with women feeding their kids however or wherever they want to? I any think of a single time or place where I'd have a problem with it, save somewhere that would be incredibly unhygienic for the child like a filthy public toilet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    Inappropriate to feed a hungry baby? Would you have been as offended if she had whipped out a bottle of formula? Or would she have been allowed to stay in the room to feed the baby?

The primary function of the breast is to feed a child. Breasts are not just sexual, and if people stopped viewing them as so, they would not be uncomfortable in the company of a breastfeeding woman.

Nothing inappropriate about feeding a hungry baby, I don't have any problems with it nor my brother, but it made for a uncomfortable atmosphere for a short time maybe because we have little experience with toddlers.
    Yes it's natural and ya grand job if it's on a bus or out in public but for men I think witnessing it in public or in your own house might be memorable and it might be questioned basically and I'm It trying to be funny here but basically because we don't have breasts, so it will be highlighted from time to time, just like the first post in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

The point is it shouldn't be uncommon. It's the fact that it's kept hidden away for no good reason that makes it such a strange sight, and that's wrong

COYVB wrote: »
    There shouldn't be. Feeding kids is what they're for. What's the problem with women feeding their kids however or wherever they want to? I any think of a single time or place where I'd have a problem with it, save somewhere that would be incredibly unhygienic for the child like a filthy public toilet

This is probably about the title before I edited it.

I had a slightly more provocative title before now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Rumple Fugly

Chucken wrote: »
    Would you prefer if the mother stayed at home until the baby is weaned?

No but a bottle of expressed milk would do the trick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭redarmy

pajopearl wrote: »

is ur brother not a bit old for that??