Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The UTV Ireland Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Dymo

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    You'd really have to wonder what the point of this channel is as it seems like it's going to be a stripped-out version of the existing UTV NI and ITV 1

Are the 2 soaps that big a draw/revenue stream to warrant it? I can't see too many sticking around for the news coverage or Pat Kenny

6 mins to launch and a silent channel with spinning logo and clock.. inspiring!

I can't see any huge benefit in UTV Ireland, their going to have, on the most part totally different schedules, I liked watching a bit of the uk TV but that is now being replaced with Pat Kenny and a news effort.

Soaps will be the bulk of their viewing, and if TV3 has the rights for the rugby world cup can UTV Ireland even show any of the games as ITV will?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,003 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Spoiled already for me with that gormless eejit Enda Kenny featured in the promo video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭lukin

Christ, Hozier's hair is frightening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

claire brock and the other one from tv3 have joined the ship

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

And starts with Emerdale:pac:

Most underwhelming "launch" ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

That was an amazing introduction. They also cut the coronas song and left out the lyrics "yah I've seen a reaction, yeh I've watched us improve".

Funny that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 otoolepw

I thought that gombeen was put to grass.... how do I switch over to UTV NI? This rubbish has taken over UPC 110

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I've never been so excited about the launch of a new home for Emmerdale Farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,981 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Jaysus launching a new channel used to be a big event, not so much as a Dia Duit and straight into Emmerdale. RIP to TV3.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

The launch people wont be getting a job at Nasa anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

otoolepw wrote: »
    I thought that gombeen was put to grass.... how do I switch over to UTV NI? This rubbish has taken over UPC 110

you cant we are stuck with it now

I'm depressed with that effort - here was the launch of EPL soccer on Sky back in 1992. Far better! Still love that music :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

it'll be closed in a year ala sky news ireland

mark my words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

This was very... "Hey oop, Yore all watchin' us channel!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,822 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Dymo wrote: »
    Soaps will be the bulk of their viewing, and if TV3 has the rights for the rugby world cup can UTV Ireland even show any of the games as ITV will?

Of course not. UTV Ireland has absolutely no link with ITV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

fryup wrote: »
    it'll be closed in a year ala sky news ireland

mark my words

Coronation Street still commands a large audience, so UTV Ireland is here to stay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,981 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

The player on UTV Ireland is just a holding page with coming soon so no catching up with soaps online for people for a while...

Thargor wrote: »
    The player on UTV Ireland is just a holding page with coming soon so no catching up with soaps online for people for a while...

We should give them a chance to show some first before they can be put on a catch up service.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

To be honest after memories of the 30 minute cringefest TV3 inflicted on us a three minute short film is grand. Most channel launches these days are an ident and straight into the first programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭deeks

Is the old UTV gone altogether? What about programmes like Broadchurch / Benidorm etc that would have been on UTV - Will these now be on UTV Ireland or are they gone altogether for Irish viewers?

Broadchurch is on TV3. The old UTV is still freely available on satellite.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Broadchurch is on TV3 (it's not made by ITV), Benidorm on UTV Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Dymo wrote: »
    I can't see any huge benefit in UTV Ireland, their going to have, on the most part totally different schedules, I liked watching a bit of the uk TV but that is now being replaced with Pat Kenny and a news effort.

The new channel has a listing on the Sky EPG, which the old one didn't (in the Republic). It is also on Saorview. That gives it a significantly larger potential audience.

I would much rather have the old UTV but they might be able to grab a lot of the TV3 audience with cheap local programming.

just another glorified video recorder....

churning soap after soap, with the odd movie thrown in

its just commercial revenue these channels exist for, not the content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭lukin

Jumping on the Hozier bandwagon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

lukin wrote: »
    Jumping on the Hozier bandwagon

An Irish global music star, why wouldn't he be interviewed?

sugarman wrote: »
    Probably already asked somewhere but can't find it..

Can this be tuned in on "other channels" on sky HD box? Using it as a freesat.

If so, what frequency? Thanks

It is encrypted on satellite. You will need a Sky subscription.

• Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭internet_user

for some reason the auld fella has been looking forward to this channel launch for days, 10 mins in looking at hozier, "well this is a load of shyte!":pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,856 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

When Liveline is back I can see the loss of UTV from UPC as a good day or two worth of calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

You'd think the opening of a new channel would be a big song and dance sort of experience instead its incredibly dull and "worthy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

You'd think the opening of a new channel would be a big song and dance sort of experience instead its incredibly dull and "worthy".

Watching paint dry comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

That was a pitiful launch :( RTE's launch 50 years ago was far better, even with their limited technology at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Great film on now :rolleyes:

Who ever picked this one for the schedule should be shown the door :pac:

Edit: 15 minutes of watching this and we are still wetting ourselves laughing at this film :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,523 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

How does the market research work I wonder. I can only assume they ask 'would you like more programmes that showcase Irish talent and the Irish film industry?' because realistically you can only answer Yes to that without feeling like a heathen. And they head off back to their lattes and lentil sandwiches thinking they've now got the mood of the nation and their new station is going to work.
    But if they'd asked 'would you prefer a badly written tax writeoff Irish flop or the likes of Heath Motherfcking Ledger against Batman?' then the answer would have been different.

How does the market research work I wonder. I can only assume they ask 'would you like more programmes that showcase Irish talent and the Irish film industry?' because realistically you can only answer Yes to that without feeling like a heathen. And they head off back to their lattes and lentil sandwiches thinking they've now got the mood of the nation and their new station is going to work.
    But if they'd asked 'would you prefer a badly written tax writeoff Irish flop or the likes of Heath Motherfcking Ledger against Batman?' then the answer would have been different.

I've seen better written and acted episodes of fair city than this film :D

whats the film??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The Pat Kenny programme was terrible.

whats the film??

When the sky falls, it's a veronica guerin knock off where she's called Sinéad and after a crook called the runner :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

whats the film??

"When The Sky Falls".....when I was on it as an extra it was "Through The Sky Falls". The poorest by far of the Veronica Guerin exploitation movies.
    I thought Joan Allen had bought the rights and burnt the piece of rubbish. The sad reality is that this was shot in and around Dublin and not on some Hollywood sound stage. A piss poor choice for a channel with no future.
    If you must watch it, download it and don't give them the ratings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,856 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

What a terrible launch night setup for something costing millions, I've seen better opening parties when the local newsagents opened and invited the locals in for a few fizzy lemonades.

The Pat Kenny slot should have been before Coronation Street with a live booze/celebratory session from the studios. I remember when T Na G launched on Halloween 1996, there were bonfires and general festive feeling to it and excitement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Some of the pre-launch test videos they showed before the station started were far better than what was broadcast after it launched.

Emmerdale, Pat's People and a rotten film is not a good start.

Hopefully UPC will be replacing it or at least supplementing it with UTV within a month or two. Its a pity Pat Kenny will have to crawl back to RTE a la Marty Whelan but he shouldn't have put his name to this. He could have always jumped on board later if it took flight.

what time is the topless darts??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

All jokes aside if they showed porn late at night it would draw some viewers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

Now on it's 'A Night In With Olly Murs' :( Such a bad opening night.

It looks like from the epg that there is nothing on from 01.00 - 06.30. I wonder will this be a regular thing.

like the bravo channel :)

those were the days

what time is the topless darts??

Now there is an example of someone who should be controlling a TV channel like this. If you're going downmarket, go to the sewers in glory.

....and Naked News (...have it in Irish to keep the Gaelgoirs happy, rest of us have mute buttons).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

like the bravo channel :)

those were the days

That channel was class. Being a teen at the time the porn was obviously mighty stuff but they showed great horror and anime too. Used look forward to all the crazy horrors and anime that you couldn't get on the other channels.

* i kid you not

there was a uk channel back in the 90s called live TV

and it had topless darts, a news bunny and a dwarf on a trampoline doing the weather

it was so bad it was good