Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Skin In The Game

• 08-11-2013 1:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭

Just seen a trailer for this GAA documentary on next Wednesday night on RTE 2 at 9.55.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Is Anglo-Irish Bank terminology creeping into the GAA ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I'm thoroughly looking forward to this after I saw the ad yesterday. There will be a beer cracked open, feet up and the wife sent elsewhere. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

SeaFields wrote: »
    I'm thoroughly looking forward to this after I saw the ad yesterday. There will be a beer cracked open, feet up and the wife sent elsewhere. :cool:

Good to see Anna Geary and the women's side of things is included,I suppose there is no hope Katrina Parrock of Wexford is in it as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Good to see Anna Geary and the women's side of things is included,I suppose there is no hope Katrina Parrock of Wexford is in it as well :)

Jesus RTE wheel out Anna Geary for everything camogie related. Trailer looks good

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

The one I'd like to see is Briege Corkery, given that she is one of a handful of duel players in the country, and to see behind her life given that she is playing both camogie and ladies football at the highest level, senior club who won their first county title ever this year, and she is some craic!

Watching her play,id say she would go through a wall for the team.

The Tomas O Se of ladies football all action wing back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Watching her play,id say she would go through a wall for the team.

The Tomas O Se of ladies football all action wing back.

A superp player and tough as nails.Would be tougher than some male half backs.

Used to work as a stone mason years ago and a very good one at that.
    I think she is still very young.She has years left you would imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭slingerz

Breige is around 27 i'd say.

it helps that she's mental, i'd imagine a documentary following her would be epic viewing especially the uncut version!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Stone mason by day, stone mad by night! Cork captain next year!

Ha ha:-o
    I presume u were at awards sat night,you should tell us how they were,on cork thread.

Ha ha:-o
    I presume u were at awards sat night,you should tell us how they were,on cork thread.

I'm still trying to recover!! What a night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Quixoticelixer

Hopefully Jerry Kiernan will watch this and revise his ignorant anti-GAA views.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Hope its not gaa players moaning about tough lifes

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

sasta le wrote: »
    Hope its not gaa players moaning about tough lifes

Why, do you think they don't put in a LOT for their counties?

They do but they are not forced and alot of them get looked after for it

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

They do but they are not forced and alot of them get looked after for it

And rightly so, the GAA get millions off their backs each year. They deserve to be "looked after" and a hell of a lot more.
    Nothing to do with forced, they want to do it and it would be a privilege to wear your counties colors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Grats

"looked after"! Not a day passes in recent weeks but we hear of an addition to a county backroom team. None of these come free of charge. The players must begin to wonder why the finance is so readily available to pay these "professionals" and they, the players, are the ones going through all the pain.

This backroom thing is gone to hell recently.

Just got told it won't be on RTE Player international :(

Thats a pity, few of my mates were looking forward to watching it in Oz.

Some turn around for Lar Corbett on the was it the Late late or Saturday night show bout being unemployed to having a pub,sports company and a restaurant I didn't know about that

Well what did ye think of it ?

I thought it was good enough.

Maybe the next Skin in the Game should follow four random club players.

Thought it was funny at the end "providing entertainment for a price of a dinner"

Or as some of the lads at the All Stars found out for all the entertainment they provide all of us they don't even get a dinner.

Some turn around for Lar Corbett on the was it the Late late or Saturday night show bout being unemployed to having a pub,sports company and a restaurant I didn't know about that
    Late late with maher also ,and he couldnt find work at the time either.I hope he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Enjoyed this.

Anna Geary is a dote :)

Loved Eoin Cadogan's observation about playing dual inter-county
    lads saying you can't play both because of the chance of injuries and then you pick to play one and you get injury after injury

Michael Carton seemed very down to earth too

Enjoyed this.

Anna Geary is a dote :)

Loved Eoin Cadogan's observation about playing dual inter-county
    lads saying you can't play both because of the chance of injuries and then you pick to play one and you get injury after injury

Michael Carton seemed very down to earth too
    Very good and carton seems like a sound down to earth guy.p
    Cadogan mentioned injury that haunted him all year.
    Great to see colin lane,physio shown,has done tremendous work with cork players and he has been busy the last few years.

Good to see alan cadogan their,he will be a big player for cork hurling in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭sasol

Interesting that 90% of Lars airtime was about his businesses - no choice really , given that Tipp rolled over in both their championship games.

Geary, Carton and Cadogan were interesting.

And one of those players on that show talking about unemployment got plenty of jobs but didn't keep them too long

Liked seeing a camogien player on it but maybe for a future do club players or less known intercounty lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Didn't think it was great to be honest. Actually kinda dull in parts.

Anna Geary made up for it though.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Didn't think it was great to be honest. Actually kinda dull in parts.

Anna Geary made up for it though.:D

Agree with this but would even be harsher, really disliked it despite thinking the idea had a lot of potential. Any of the Laochra Gael episodes were much better I felt, albeit not directly comparable. Jump boys was a documentary which followed a similar pattern and was much better imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

That was fairly enjoyable.

Cads and the Dublin hurler were very good to listen to.

The Lar Corbett angle was strange tho. Very little on hurling for obvious reasons but still.

Anna Geary - i will divorce for her. :D Seriously tho, nice they got the camogie side of things into it and lovely to see how much the club and captaincy meant to her at the end.

As others have said, it would be great if they did another one, maybe with clubs. BUT like the Tommy Bowe Body Check program (which was fantastic and should have went on to do other sports) RTE seem not to know when they got a good thing.

Wasn't too bad. Anna Geary is a fine example of a GAA player :D Them shorts don't do them justice :D

Gives a good insight to their lives outside the game and the work to get back from recovery.

It was good and showing Cadogan with Colin lane showed it not is just a case of running on to the field, it showed the dark side of it.

What it should have focoused on also was an interview with one of their partners,which it didn't as they play a huge,unseen role also.
    I am a big fan of Amanda Geary hurling wise,the only down side is ,as even seen here, in the thread,is a lot and understandably so were taken by our glamour ,she is easy on the eye.
    I would think the next time,to try and go away from glamourising it ,and players like briege corkery,juliet murphy,(they wouldn't be percieved as glamourous by some )should be in such programmes as it would bring the attention on soley their Gaa etc,which is what it is and should be.

And thats not to say they aren't glamourous or by any means,just the perception some may have in comparisons to others.

There are a lot of male gaa stars also like Cadogan that would have that glamour factor from ,that would be seen as a hit for these shows,when there are many others who give the same commitment.
    Also it could have left cusack out of it (i am a fan of cusack)but he is gone from the game now and this was about current stars,we all know what cusack has brought and sacirficed for the game.

What was good and nice to see it went down to Fermoy ,and showed a club game ,where is the heart of every player,and that once intercounty is over that they still are committed to the game as they have to play with club,and also it was good that it was presented by Jackie cahill,who actually played the game,and is a good presenter.

I wonder would the program makers be happy or not that they followed losers? While it was interesting to see the hurt of losing, it may have been as interesting to witness the winning side of things. Following Corbett is becoming a just a PR exercise for his business interests at this stage. Surely there are many others who could do with a similar boost. As was mentioned above, why Cusack was invilved is baffling. Both he and Corbett get more than their fair share of publicity. I'm sure they'd fully support sharing out the spoils in future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Pandiani

This show had great potential but didn't delivier for me, was really disappointed with it. All 4 players came across very well on it though. Not sure I'll be trying Lars restaurant anytime soon though "I don't know anything about food"!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Two things I learned from this show.....Lar Corbett needs his own reality TV show on RTE, and he needs a weeks holiday to Alicante.... he was priceless!:D

Piplin banned for trolling

I haven't watched it yet, but I would have thought there would have been enough content to do a mini series on this, an episode on each player. I'll be watching it when I get home, got someone to record it for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Why did it only focus on hurling/camogie players ?

Football is the more popular sport, why were no top level footballers part of the program ?

Why did it only focus on hurling/camogie players ?

Football is the more popular sport, why were no top level footballers part of the program ?
    Eoin Cadogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Eoin Cadogan

I just saw a few mins of the show, and that few mins was the Cork County Hurling Championship game, thus I reckoned that Cadogan was just playing hurling in 2013

I was incorrect obviously, but the show was still very weighed towards hurling for some reason

I just saw a few mins of the show, and that few mins was the Cork County Hurling Championship game, thus I reckoned that Cadogan was just playing hurling in 2013

I was incorrect obviously, but the show was still very weighed towards hurling for some reason
    Its a fair point you have made.
    The presenter is from cork,ballinsasig,and like the club,hurling is her main sport over football ,she played camoige for cork.

It would have been good to have a ladies footballer even ,and from kerry for example.

Their was two cork people already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Late late with maher also ,and he couldnt find work at the time either.I hope he did.

Yeah Lar is like IDA in thurles now and he has a few more irons in the fire than was mentioned on the programme!

Paraic Maher was working for Coillte in the aftermath of that show not too sure if he is still with them or not, I know he was in the states for the Summer but he is back.
    sasol wrote: »
    Interesting that 90% of Lars airtime was about his businesses - no choice really , given that Tipp rolled over in both their championship games.

Aren't you the same guy that accused Tipp supporters of being bitter towards Clare lol I really hope you appreciate the irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

I only came across the programme late but did Anna Geary's Milltown team win the club All Ireland?

Was expecting some text before the credits about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Pandiani

tonc76 wrote: »
    I only came across the programme late but did Anna Geary's Milltown team win the club All Ireland?

Was expecting some text before the credits about it

Milford is her club, they are the current All Ireland champions. They retained Munster a couple of weeks ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 bigcat13

Lar should stay off the telly cos everytime he opens his mouth he comes across as a gormless, humourless twit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

bigcat13 wrote: »
    Lar should stay off the telly cos everytime he opens his mouth he comes across as a gormless, humourless twit.

In fairness to Lar, he might not come across great but at least he's trying to create employment in his home town.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭sasol

In fairness to Lar, he might not come across great but at least he's trying to create employment in his home town.

Fair point. He even has his mammy employed to do his washing still.

sasol wrote: »
    Fair point. He even has his mammy employed to do his washing still.
    To be fair to Lar,he is not unique in that regard,paudie o sullivans mother on up for the final,had said she has done it for all her lads through the years.

I would not slag the man for that when many gaa players are exactly the same.
    And its only for Lar she does it.

There is many clubs ,all around the country,where mothers of even coaches and not just a player,are washing gear for not one but a whole team,and on top of that making sandwiches for after matches etc.

That has always been part and parcel of the gaa,its in cork,tipp,clare you name it,this has always been done.
    Hence,the family element in the Gaa.

Many players are working all day ,and don't have time to get their own gear ready.

And as pointed out ,the mother did not mind doing it.

They a credit to the gaa,the "true backroom team,"all do it cause they want to and support their own.

To single out corbett as just one that does it is a bit harsh.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 bigcat13

To be fair to Lar,he is not unique in that regard,paudie o sullivans mother on up for the final,had said she has done it for all her lads through the years.

There is many clubs ,all around the country,where mothers of even coaches and not just a player,are washing gear for not one but a whole team,and on top of that making sandwiches for after matches etc.

That has always been part and parcel of the gaa,its in cork,tipp,clare you name it,this has always been done.

Many players are working all day ,and don't have time to get their own gear ready.

They a credit to the gaa,the "true backroom team,"all do it cause they want to and support their own.

She probably wouldn't let him near the washing machine for fear of what he might do!!

Lighten up there for gods sake! The more Corbett courts the media the more slagging he'll get. He doesn't se to mind.

Grats wrote: »
    Lighten up there for gods sake! The more Corbett courts the media the more slagging he'll get. He doesn't se to mind.

You seem the only one getting flustered.
    My point was simple,that their is nothing unique about he's case.
    If someone said the same about a man from your own county,ye would be not shy in giving out.
    Lar has he's faults but to make jibes about that,the fact that nearly ever player has or will do the same as him, in the future is a bit much.