Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Arsenal Match Thread 10/11/13 K/O 16.00 Sky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

RasTa wrote: »
    So, what part of the match were you discussing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ah this is going to be fun for the rest of us at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

mike65 wrote: »
    Ah this is going to be fun for the rest of us at least.

Good fun already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Good fun already.

True if you enjoy school yard level taunts :pac: Happily I'll be able to see this round me sisters on Sunday - a proper, well UPC picture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Gonna enjoy this one (not the thread, the match obv)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,389 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Raf32 wrote: »
    No Arsenal fans think this is a formality, away to the champions, best two strikers in the league, would be delighted with a point

Jaysis, you'll have the Liverpool fans here with talk like that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Liam O wrote: »

Anything but that please :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

bad2dabone wrote: »
    You're Ozil.
    Wenger rings you up and says he wants to build the future of his team around you. 2 of your international mates are already loving the club.
    Or.
    Moyes rings you and you say "who??"

Ozil jumped at the Arsenal move in a heartbeat.
    Then Wenger drank his concoction of unicorn dust and leprechaun sperm and fought a minotaur!

5 months ago, one of these teams gave the other a guard of honor. You'll not guess by identifying which fan posted what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

If he hasn't learned after getting 1 point from City, Chelsea and Liverpool, I give up.

It's suicide setting up like he did in those games against the inform confident team.

What else can he do though, he hasn't got the midfield to actually try play the ball, also keeping it tight is a tactic that does work against arsenal.

I reckon:

Raf…vi…rio…evra
    …felaini…jones…
    Valencia …roo…nani
    …………rvp

Arsenal

…Arteta…flamini
    Ozil…ramsey…Santi
    ………GIRoud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Oranage2 wrote: »
    What else can he do though, he hasn't got the midfield to actually try play the ball, also keeping it tight is a tactic that does work against arsenal.

I reckon:

Raf…vi…rio…evra
    …felaini…jones…
    Valencia …roo…nani
    …………rvp

Arsenal

…Arteta…flamini
    Ozil…ramsey…Santi
    ………GIRoud

A midfield with Valencia Fel and Jones... and not a forward pass was attempted that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

n32 wrote: »
    Heres 2 blasts from the past to bring them back to reality

Past ... Reality

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

If Carrick is out I will fancy Arsenal. United have no one else who can do what he does at the moment. A Carrick-Fellaini axis would probably work well against our midfield.

I can see this match being fairly cagey. Im gonna go for a 1-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Fancy a 2-2 thriller or maybe Utd to edge it 2-1. Looking forward to it 2mo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Liam O wrote: »

*waves*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

May as well chip in with this since everyone else is doing it!

And my personal favourite!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

I'm hoping for

DDG
    Rafael Smalling Vidic Evra
    Fellani Jones
    Nani. Rooney Januzaj
    RVP

I'm fearing :

DDG
    Rafael Evans Vidic Evra
    Valencia Jones Cleverly Giggs
    Rooney RVP

How we line out tomorrow is so so important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I would be chuffed if Giggs and Cleverly start tomorrow for Utd. Although I dont think Moyes is that tactically naive. I would take a draw in a heart beat and go into the international break sitting cosily on top of the table.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

I can see Rooney being deployed to stick to Arteta when Arsenal are in possession. Worked well for United last year although Arsenal obviously have more options this year.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

zerks wrote: »
    JmeFFBE.gif
    Man he looks young there.
    Haven't seen it said in as many words but it's just the general feeling I'm getting from some.
    That's probably more to do with you than the posters in the thread though.

I can't really see Arsenal winning here. I didn't see us winning in Dortmund either mind you but that was a different sort of challenge; United will be more like Liverpool in the threat they pose, but they'll be more dangerous. More talent and with the home crowd, not to mention we likely won't get favourable calls at OT like the ones we got against Liverpool.

A draw would be a great result but I wouldn't be surprised by a United win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Think this thread is the biggest indicator that Arsenal are back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

So are we really supposed to believe that Moyes reckons he couldn't have found room for Ozil in his team. That's either shocking mis-judgement or an outright lie

I'm fearing a Utd win too.

We've enough quality to do well but if the Utd defence and keeper play to their potential, it could all be a bit too narrow for us. Then they've obviously got good wingers and two excellent strikers to hit us on the counter with.

But hey, we'd still be 2 points clear at the top and I'm not so worried about this Arsenal team in terms of confidence. The quality we have in midfield will see us bounce back quickly enough.

If we do win I think it'll be a case of someone in the Utd defence slipping up and us getting the opening goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

shano_88 wrote: »
    If Carrick is out I will fancy Arsenal. United have no one else who can do what he does at the moment. A Carrick-Fellaini axis would probably work well against our midfield.

I can see this match being fairly cagey. Im gonna go for a 1-1

Is Carrick out? Thats a massive loss to UTD if he is. He's prob the only player they cant replace

jonny666 wrote: »
    Is Carrick out? Thats a massive loss to UTD if he is. He's prob the only player they cant replace

I think Welbeck is out too. The less insanely fast players they have the better tbh

jonny666 wrote: »

True. I can see Moyes starting with a midfield trio of Anderson, Cleverly and Kagawa with Rooney deployed on the wing and Valencia on the right. I really don't want to see Nani start, I think he is one of Utds best players and always seems to play well against us. I think we should start with both Arteta and Flamini to nullify any threat posed by Rooney or Kagawa, keep it tight in the first half and then really go for it in the second half. Delighted this is at Old Trafford as well.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    True. I can see Moyes starting with a midfield trio of Anderson, Cleverly and Kagawa with Rooney deployed on the wing and Valencia on the right. I really don't want to see Nani start, I think he is one of Utds best players and always seems to play well against us. I think we should start with both Arteta and Flamini to nullify any threat posed by Rooney or Kagawa, keep it tight in the first half and then really go for it in the second half. Delighted this is at Old Trafford as well.

So you haven't watched any of Moyes United teams then...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................cool...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

kryogen wrote: »
    So you haven't watched any of Moyes United teams then...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................cool...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Well he is going to have to try something different isn't he as performances haven't been anywhere near Man Utd standard lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Well he is going to have to try something different isn't he as performances haven't been anywhere near Man Utd standard lately.
    Well he's not going to start a midfield you would prefer to come up against :pac:

Thats not a midfield I would like to come up against, put Giggs and Fellaini in there instead of Anderson and Kagawa and ill be delighted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

Thats not a midfield I would like to come up against, put Giggs and Fellaini in there instead of Anderson and Kagawa and ill be delighted.

I'd be delighted with Anderson and Kagawa instead of Giggs and Fellaini.

Fellaini brings some sort of defensive stability. Always been a rock against Arsenal.

But with Anderson and Kagawa, we could get at least 2 goals.

There isn't even the slightest chance of what you posted happening.

In many ways this a reversal of the same fixture over the last few years.

One team flying high at the top of the league looking to keep the momentum going and deliver a huge blow to their opponent's title hopes.

The other recovering from losing a lot over the summer and under pressure to get a result that would really accelerate their season.

There isn't even the slightest chance of what you posted happening.

Okay Nostradamus.

Hes right though, there is not a chance in hell what you posted will happen. None, zero, zilch.

As I said, it is pretty clear you have not watched United at all this season........

I would expect Jones and Fellaini in midfield with Valencia and Kagawa on either side, Rooney up top with RVP, hopefully dropping back to help out. Could see Clev instead of Jones perhaps, depends on Carrick really how the team will line out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

I'd agree kryo, it'll be an interesting clash anyway. Obviously hoping for an arsenal win but United are capable of anything with Rooney and van persie. I won't be able to watch the game as I've family stuff on. :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

My new Hero.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Stolen from Arsenal thread

tedstee0042.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

So Utd fans....ya Arsenal fans feck off back to yere own thread:),what Team would ye like to see start game????.
    .......Personally for some reason I think Utd will raise their game from the dross they produced midweek.
    Heres my team to try and get back into league race in some way...ie actually go out and play attacking football.
    De Gea
    Smalling Vidic Evans Evra
    Jones
    Nani Cleverly Rooney
    Kags
    RVP
    Rafael meant to be touch and go......I think we need to be able to pass it ala Arsenal so pointless been negative and starting Feillaini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

"Which club would you like to play for most lads?"

arsenal-spl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,389 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Moyes is too afraid to move Rooney in case he goes off in a huff again. Rooney still gets chances from out wide and his general play has been suspect at times this season. Still produces the moments of magic but I'd like to see a 4-3-3 tried sometime based on the Barca model with Carrick or Fellaini deep, Clev just ahead and kags at the head and then have RvP false 9 flanked by Rooney and Kags/Nani as wing forwards rather than traditional wingers with huge defensive responsibility which allows them to be pushed back too far.

"Which club would you like to play for most lads?"

arsenal-spl.jpg

Thats a fake by the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

All the Arsenal fans are coming out now after Ji Sung Park is sold. Typical.

"I'll see you there".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,375 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

It's nice to see the Arsenal fans so confident and happy. They've been frustrated and downbeat for too long :)

I think the last EPL game I got excited about watching was the Manchester derby two seasons ago that City won, Kompany scored a header IIRC. I think (hope) Arsenal will win tomorrow, but what do I know..

Hopefully it will be an entertaining game anyway.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Today's ref Micheal Oliver.

BYswjiXCQAA3sEE.jpg

is it normal for refs to have a couple of beers with the manager after a game?

Edit:this photo was taken at Fergusons last game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I think it's crazy to see, I know one or two referees train at arsenal. I don't think it should be allowed full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Agueroooo wrote: »

BYswjiXCQAA3sEE.jpg

Conspiracy theory forum is that way
    >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Agueroooo wrote: »

BYswjiXCQAA3sEE.jpg

To be fair, if I was reffing Fergie's last game I'd want a photo too.

Red Crow wrote: »
    Conspiracy theory forum is that way
    >

No conspiracy needed.Its a photo that clearly shows match referees having a beer with a manager.
    Former, retiring it doesn't matter as refs should always be seen as 100% independent.

He's not even managing anymore and they're still at it...

Nope.

The point is not about Ferguson but the refs and particularly Micheal Oliver who refs todays game.

he is being scrutinised for socialising/posing in that photo and rightly so.