Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Making every mile count

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

All the best Sunday A, can’t wait to see how you go. Have a great race & run well!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Monday 26/3

10 Miles Easy @7.11p/m

Tuesday 27/3

8.10 Miles Easy @7.25p/m

Wednesday 28/3

10.60+ Miles

Session: 4x(400m @5km), 1mile @MP, 4x(400m @5km), 2miles @MP, 3x(400m @5km), 1mile @MP ~1min rec b/t 400, 3min jog between sets

Needless to say but all too fast. I headed down to Irishtown, subsequently finding out the window of availability was rapidly diminishing with a group arriving soon after my arrival. Time to motor! Conditions were decent for once so I stepped onto the track and quickly realised I had underestimated this session. With enough doubt clouding my running brain, I hit the start button and headed off on one of the many laps to come. That felt tough I thought but seeing 72 flash up on the watch meant I was moving well and almost immediately the pressure of the session dissipated into the crisp cool air. With the first set of 400s under the belt the MP section felt like a crawl! The change in pace was very hard to control, continuing on for the remainder of the session. I slightly went with the flow, choosing not to slam on the brakes to hit real MP.

72, 72, 72, 72
    73, watch mishap, 73, 74
    5.35 (2mile avg.)
    77 (lane 4 - ran too long), 72, 72,

Nice to have unexpected company on the track to distract the mind, including the coach.

Thursday 29/3

AM: 4.50 Miles Recovery @7.56p/m
    PM: 1.50 Miles Very Easy @7.41p/m

Two run to drop off and collect the car. Needless to say I was somewhat lighter collecting the car after seeing the bill!

Friday 30/3

4+ Miles

I think I ran 4 miles. I think. Why isn't it on the watch? Why isn't it on strava?!

Saturday 31/3

10.50+ Miles

K Club 10km

I must have conservatively attended 45+ races over the past 12 months, in various roles and capacities. The single most annoying thing, I find, is the constant questioning of course length. It boils my blood. Short or long courses are of course very frustrating but everyone should run the same course so it largely doesn't matter to any great degree. If you run to a objective strapped to your wrist you are, in my opinion, in the wrong sport. Just run!

With all that said.........:pac:

5th - 33.40

I will start by openly saying that I feel I am in 32.4x 10km shape. With a PB of 33.30 next to my name I also know running the aforementioned time signals a very ambitious finishing time. I went into the race today feeling I could dip under 33min, without fully killing myself - maybe a 95% effort. The course looked flat, resembling a spoon shape; out and back, with two loops to make up the 10,000m. The race got under way and after 400m I found myself in 12th position. Now, I set off fast but why do so many go out full throttle? If you seriously overcook the first 400m it's pretty much game over right there and then.

The first kilometre meant a testing enough small climb to bring out to the main road. I could see the lead pack ahead and where I needed to be. There was one runner bridging the gap but after 800m I was somehow running solo. Typical! I really tried to make up the ground too the lead pack but they were moving well. I knew if I didn't catch the lads I was in for a long day in the noticeable wind. I was making small inroads over the next kilometre of two but they began to pull away again after 4km. Part of me threw in the towel somewhat. I let them get away over the first 800m, I told myself. Mistake.

I passed the bridging runner and could see an old clubmate come back to me, as expected. I soon passed him, without trying too hard. On the second loop the group had now disappeared into the abyss. The head dropped somewhat and all thoughts screamed: MARATHON, ROTTERDAM, MARATHON! (x100) The head was protecting legs, even if they felt in good nick. The toughness left me this morning. I was working hard but dialed it in over the next couple of kilometres. I was now in 5th - nowhere. I had reached my limit in this race ability wise and went through the high effort motions. The 8km meant a right turn and straight into a strong headwind. The road never ended but guess what? It did. A left turn, a nice bit of downhill and for some reason directed right on a detour. I wasn't expecting that. I went around the roundabout like an elephant before making the climb for home.

I could now see the clock. Sh1te. It felt faster than that.

A poor time but I reached the highest place possible today. I don't know if that is a good or bad thing though.

Sunday 1/4

Long Easy Run
    -10.50 Miles @7.15p/m

Sligo - attacked by the same two dogs. Twice!

WEEK TOTAL: 60+ MILES

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

So, basically what you are saying is, you'd have PB'd if the course wasn't long :)

A 10k race the week before a Marathon - is this something you've done before?

So, basically what you are saying is, you'd have PB'd if the course wasn't long :)

A 10k race the week before a Marathon - is this something you've done before?

My PB still stands at 33.30, for the next month or two at least!

Yeah, last year I raced the Simon 5, again 8 days out from the marathon. It's not something I would recommend to all. It really depends what type of runner and trainer you are, I think. It wasn't a full out race effort in truth. I think it's almost impossible to empty yourself when in taper. It's more of a sharpener in essence, helping to get rid of those pre-race marathon nerves. Part of me is happy I wasn't clock watching as I would have upped the pace to grab a PB. That PB can wait until after. It wasn't like I was anywhere 4th place either; a real case of 'us' and 'them'. Great see my clubmate get his first ever win.

The lead pack went through 5km in 15.54, which would have been a PB for me. I think I could have latched on if I was a bit smarter at the start but in hindsight, I think it wouldn't have ended well! Lucky escape me thinks.

On futher reflection, the Simon 5 was a near exact replica. I came 3rd that time, again a case of being totally outclassed by the Top 2. I ran the entire distance solo in that race as well (can you spot the trend?!)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Just out of interest a lad I know running Boston in a couple of weeks has been on a plan which involved the following races (in the last four weeks);

A sub 1:14 half
    A sub 2:40 full
    A sub 56 Ten miler
    A sub 1:15 half

Not sure what his Boston target is - sub 2:35 maybe but not sure. Seems mad to me!

Best of luck in Rotterdam. You're in great shape. Looking forward to seeing how you get on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Best of luck at the weekend A, hope it all comes together for you - you're in tip top shape

The Preamble.

The build-up for Rotterdam was as relaxed as it could have been. Maybe some would call the benefits of years of experience but I don't think it's that simple. Running is clearly very important to me. It's a hobby that for long protracted periods dominates a lot of my life. I don't make one sacrifice in order to train or race, it's is something I happily do. It's a choice, not a sacrifice! I do think that running doesn't mean as much as it used to if I had to be honest. Perhaps that is a poor choice of words and phrasing but I am now able to pigeon-hole running, it doesn't dominate the consciousness like it did in the past. Put simply - I am a lot more relaxed about the whole thing. I train hard and that is it. I used to think that the planned marathon was it, the end of the line. I put way too much pressure on myself. Now? I see the helicopter view; progression, the bigger picture.

My relaxed state did mean me making one big mistake. I chose to work on Friday night, arriving home at 1.30am. With a flight the following day at 11am it meant a truncated sleep. Sure, my work is far from labour intensive but coming home at such a late hour was just not good enough. Then again, being largely self-employed makes things a bit less 'black and white'. I may be a hobby-jogger but that doesn't mean I shouldn't approach the week like a professional. A mistake but not an excuse. Asides from that, the travel over was as stress-free as could have been hoped for. I was checked into the excellently located hotel by 3.30pm. After picking up my bib, we took it easy heading to our usual restaurant (good to see some familiar faces!) The only thing that went wrong was falling getting in the shower. Ouch! A bruised rib for my troubles.

I got an unbroken 8 hours sleep, waking at 6.50am for the usual 5-minute jog around the block. Somehow that marathon crept up on me; was it really marathon day?! The marathon never scares me. I know the distance ain't a problem, it's the speed! I felt good and got back for the usual breakfast of porridge bread and Weetabix. A double espresso before that glorious 45-minute sleep before I needed to depart for the call room. Glorious!

After a 3 minute walk, we arrived at the call room. Here I had a massage before the 9.15am departure time for the start. I never had a pre-race massage before - the luxury! I was nice and relaxed. The 'escorted' walk to the start quickly descended into an 'every man for himself' situation! I was all ready to go at 9.30am. Jesus, this new and improved Anthony, I thought! Normally Anthony would be rustling together an espresso, before hurdling the barrier, making it with 11 seconds to spare! I never told anyone but I nearly very missed Amsterdam last year. I only disembarked the train 10 minutes before the gun. I needed to put in a 6-minute mile to make the gun. I swore from that moment things had to change. You live, make the same mistake 4 or 5 times, and learn. I had a number of minutes to out my extra layer over my head and contemplate the challenge ahead. I had no target time mind, no race day tactics. I know how to run marathons and I let the race develop organically. However, I did need to go out at a good pace, no slow start. That I did know for definite.

As many of you know, I don't get too tied down by arbitrary numbers. In writing that, I am fully aware that I am currently in the 'Bermuda Triangle' of marathon distance running. I guess the question I get asked most about is about running sub 2.30. When answering that I respond with contraction; part of me thinking it's ambitious, part of me knowing I 100% will run under at some stage. If it never happens, so be it. It's just a number. I said to one or two that if I ran 10 marathons, 10 marathons targeting 2.2x, I would back myself to complete 3 at the desired time. So, a 30% success rate. Not great! The only problem would be the remaining 7 races. I could run 2.31 or I could equally run 2.50! It is the old risk vs. reward conundrum.

I think you have to prepare yourself for the distance. You have to convince yourself that no matter what you be 'a finisher'. I think if you toe the line with any doubt over that fact you will look that bit easier to the sideline and not finish. I am not the most confident person in general, in fact, lacking a fair degree of self-esteem when it comes to competing (and life in general). I have gone through marathon hell a number of years ago and it still stands to me this day. It may have been a woeful time but I look back at that race as a key moment. I lie to myself to cement in the fact that, barring an injury, I will be running up Coolsingel a finisher. The time on the clock is second. A very distant second.

I took 30 minutes on Saturday afternoon to make and deliver my drinks. The drinks were required to be handed in before the close of business Saturday, meaning one less thing to worry about on race day. Every drink contained dioralyte, with the 10km/15km/20km drinks containing electrolytes and an attached gel. From here, the 25km/30km/35km drinks containing a strong caffeine electrolyte solution, alongside caffeine gels. I didn't worry too much about the 40km station! This all meant me carrying far less on race day than usual, which was fantastic. It all resembled a military operation. What's the hardest thing about marathon training? Packing for the airport. Cross-check, after cross-check, after cross-check!

After a meandering, crowd congested walk to the startline completed, it was now time to get prepared. I had 30 minutes to kill.....no panic stations today! This meant I could fully embrace and enjoy the start. As Lee Towers (yes, his actual name!) was raised up to sing the atmosphere grew. The whole experience was as odd as it was just plainly bewildering! Here was this old fella, who I can only describe as David Dickinson's long lost brother, being hoisted up to sing 'You'll Never Walk Alone'. This time I had ringside seats for what was the oddest thing in marathon running. I loved it!

After a brief buildup the canon, yes the canon, signaled the start of the race.

Time to rock.

Some Photos: The 24 Hours of a Hobby Jogger
    Linky: https://www.flickr.com/photos/141206368@N05/

Well done Sunday A, I know your not a man for excuses but the weather wasn’t ideal for an Irish man. Congratulations also on other news!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Normally Anthony would be rustling together an espresso, before hurdling the barrier, making it with 11 seconds to spare!

I thought I saw you going into the pen with 5-10 minutes to spare and thought, "nah, that can't be him, your man hasn't even started singing yet"

then I saw you running out a couple of minutes later, and decided it must have been you, running back to the hotel for your watch :D:pac:

Epic preamble. Looking forward to the amble

The Amble.

Rotterdam Marathon 2018

51st - 2.33:20

I will backtrack somewhat and write that taper went exceedingly well, including an ad-hoc approach to carb-depletion. I had not intended to go full throttle on it but after only one slice of bread on the both the Monday and Tuesday, I went full on. I think that was the sensible approach judging by how I was feeling and the general energy levels. The Thursday night meal flipped the diet, resorting to as many carbs as I could handle. Well, this all meant losing 2kg without trying, meaning that I was as light as I ever have been come Thursday

I felt fresh starting the race, immediately settling into a decent pace. By design, I positioned myself right next to the right barrier. I firmly believe that, even in the top pen behind the real runners, the truly insane start in the middle. You know the sort. The sort that goes out at 3km pace, despite it being a marathon! I was expecting a crazy start but what unfolded was pretty horrific. If you watch the start video you can see what I am referring to! One trip meant one faller which meant carnage. I was very happy to steer clear of all that. I could see Gary just ahead but asides from that I could see nobody I knew. The new start meant an immediate climb over the bridge. After this, the race settled and I found a nice groove. What was immediately apparent was the heat. It was already very hot but really hoped it wasn't an omen for what was to come. I put that to one side and soon after JD appear on my shoulder. The first 5km was completely unremarkable, just how you want it.

5km – 3.33min/km – 00.17:43

I knew it was a confident start pace-wise but I felt in a good place. JD left me for the warmth of Gary's company and I was left running with a good mix of fellow likeminded athletes. Truthfully, I cannot remember much here at all. My drink was easily located on the table at the 5km station, which helped to settle any doubts over the drinks stations to come! I really do not enjoy the opening stages of any marathon, only really ever settling after 10miles. The biggest doubts are usually found here, thinking of what is yet to come. I find it hard to overcome but instead of rebelling against it, I chose to embrace it and work with it. One you choose to embrace the nerves and anxiousness you somehow can have power over it – you take control. That, of course, can be a difficult balancing act; keeping the doubts at bay, being confident. I think this may also down to using the opening few miles as an extended warm-up. I do think it's largely the body adapting to the task at hand, especially after the reduction in miles during taper.

What I did notice was the legs being somewhat uncoordinated, clashing at several points. On reflection, I think that was a sign of what was to come. Around this point, I was joined by Alan, with the two other Irish lads a number of seconds ahead.

I popped my first get at 8km, as per usual. I made a mess of holding onto my other gel, dropping it at some point.

10km - 3.34min/km - 00.35:22

The right turn meant the briefest of respite from the sun, negotiating the lovely shade of the underpass. We then entered the canal section and from poor memory, a nice headwind. I like this bit of road; long, straight, with plenty of support. Alan pushed on here, with Gary and JD slightly extending their lead. No need to panic though, plenty of road left. The dropped gel meant I stretched out the plan, choosing 15km instead of 13km for the next injection of sugar. I was feeling the heat but after running Rotterdam so often, I was conditioned for that particular nagging feeling.

15km - 3.38min/km – 00.53:42

I knew the pace would naturally settle and so it did. There were a number of runners to work with but none stuck around. I was happy to do my own thing for the time being. The crowd support leaving the canal was simply immense. It was, however, a mental relief to get off the canal. Before long we encountered the elongated (2018 edition) U-turn, getting a chance to see the runners ahead. I was back in a good place physiologically, really looking forward to halfway.

The plan was to hold it steady and work off other runners. The lads ahead could do their own thing, I thought to myself. I really tried to switch off and continue the decent clip.

20km - 3.36min/km - 01.11:42

A problem. Well, two problems:

1) I needed the toilet
    2) The right quad was starting to give trouble

I knew how to deal with Problem 1 :D but Problem 2? Well, that was a new one for me. I chose to ride out the stomach issue and motor on. It wasn’t costing me time but it is was only a matter of time before it eventually would. I tried my best to subdue the pain of the quad, both physically and mentally. I tried to pour cold water over it. I never had any issue in that area so I was firefighting.

Get to halfway.

Halfway came and went in 01.15:42. The pace was fine and I thought I could hold it and push on over the last number of kilometres.

I caught Gary and Alan (I think) soon after. I was in a good place energy-wise, feeling very fresh, even in the heat. I am sure I looked awful but I felt ok. Gary said some nice words. My response? ‘I need the toilet so you’ll probably catch me!’ We were very much now it the death zone of the marathon; just over halfway but far from home and a beer! The quad began to seriously aggravate me here and I became definitely concerned. While the pain wasn’t very bad, it was very significant. I had no option but to ease off naturally. The legs were operating at 85-90% but still operational.

25km – 3.40min/km – 01.30.01

The toilet issue sorted itself out (no questions, please!) with a 30-40 second pitstop, making it a slow 5km. The lads had indeed passed me, with me entering just as Gary passed. I caught Alan and we shared the road for a brief moment. It was now 10 miles to the finish and it became every man for himself!

I was very content to compartmentalise the distance. 10 miles? Less than an hour. We retraced our step over the Erasmus, taking it carefully. Bloody quad. The parts of my legs I concentrated on during the week - hamstrings and quads – felt great. I was hurting. Literally hurting. The pace was fine. I just had reduced power. Suck it up, Anthony. Suck it up.

It amazing how much the on-course support can help in times like these. I negotiated the net underpass, again carefully, without incident. I was relishing the prospect of passing the 30km mark – another milestone. The watch confirmed I was over pace. I really didn’t need to look. The legs were pretty bad now, with every stride delivering a sharp stab of pain. I let it get to me mentally which was disappointing. I lost trust in the body. I lost time. I knew I would still PB but I resigned myself somewhat. I became afraid to push on, despite the great energy levels.

30km – 3.45min/km - 01.48:48

It became a question of ticking off the kilometres. 30km came and went. Here I started to lose myself. Maybe it was the heat, maybe it was the pain but I thought the marathon was 41km! I usually love the forest section but I was hurting. The leg got quite bad here but it thankfully leveled off. Unfortunately, it leveled off at a significantly high level. My high pain threshold was being pushed. The pace? The pace hovered in the mid 5.5x. I was too concerned to push on. I was dreaming of the right turn. Dreaming of the next milestone.

I had nothing to prove to anyone. In truth, I just wanted a good time so I could continue my running love affair with Rotterdam. I know it may sound stupid, but I didn’t want to leave the course never wanting to come back. Here I thought of my Emma and our weekend plans (some she knew, some she didn’t!) There was no pressure. No pressure from family, friends, coach……anyone. Racing was my choice, my decision. I guess I need to push myself to enjoy myself. I don’t enjoy taking it easy. I needed to prove to myself that I could apply myself and do something worthwhile.

I was in pain.

I was still passing people. With 33km gone, I told myself I only had 8km remaining. Jesus, I must have been out of it. I pushed myself as much as I thought I could. The next right turn - the next milestone. The sole focus was on the immediate. The stretch here was long and straight. It became like the walking dead. Everyone around me was dying a death, with many shuffling or walking. The sun was beating down. The pain leveled. I thought about injecting a bit of pace – too concerned I declined. I grabbed my last drink, my last gel, my last throw of water over the Irish head and convinced myself I had a mere 6km to go. Then, well then I realised my accounting error. I didn’t like the sound of 7; it wasn’t a round number. Also, I couldn’t work out how many miles it was to the finish!

35km - 3.42min/km - 02.07:17

The next right turn.

Now began the long stretch to home. I was still passing but this wasn’t even Bucks Fizz running, never mind Champagne running! I did what I do best. I was in the trenches, just battling. I can be a right stubborn f!cker at times.

I liked the sound of 36km - it was digestible. Just 3 sets of 2km to go. I tried to rally, I tried to move the legs. They were though stuck on cruise control, albeit at a painful and testing set speed. *Looking back on the paces and splits I was surprised. I thought I died a lot more. I have to be happy with that.

''GO ANTHONY.......GO DONORE HARRIERS.........''

The support again was breathtakingly positive. Somehow the support felt heartfelt and genuine. The left turn just after the 38km meant we could finally smell the finish. I upped the effort somewhat. I knew I had leaked time but I knew I was going to PB. Any day you PB is a good day.

Here, I made the mistake of not going for it. Actually, I should have thrown caution to the wind at 35km and just went for it. That is obviously very easy to write now but the energy levels were really good, just the quads. Oh, the quads!

40km - 3.41min/km - 2.25:42

I saw the clock at 40km and got a shock. 2.32:xx was going out the window. I pushed but I pushed too late, leaving it to the last 1km.

The last 2km (avg. 5.36p/m) showed I had plenty left. You live and learn.

42km - 3.36min/km - 02.33:20

The Aftermath

I crossed the line in one piece. I was fatigued but I was not in a bad way. I think the body ran within itself but the quads finally said no. For that, there is only myself to blame. I knew I had an issue regarding strength imbalance and did Sweet FA about it. I concentrated on the wrong areas. I went for the post-race massage and the physio spotted the issues straight off the bat. She asked did I do exercises: lunges, squats etc. I just laughed! That is not good enough, I knew about this since the Tullamore Half. There a physio took me in after the race and did a few basic tests. Fail! In fact, he told me he knew my issues from my walk in alone.

I did a mile or two warm-down before eating leftover cold pizza, having a hot bath and a beer.

Rotterdam 2018 was one of the best weekends of my life. I had an important duty to perform (a right leg lunge of sorts :D) before again going to our usual restaurant.

After a long chat with the coach, I think the 1000s of miles and raced marathons finally caught up with me. The day after the marathon was horrific! I honestly could barely look at the stairs. It felt as if the legs were going to buckle even walking down the road! As uncomfortable as I can ever recall.

Time to recover. Time to eat some bad food and drink some good beer.

Rotterdam, I will be back.

I always am.

qxq7nn.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,129 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Well done A, and congrats!

Sounds like a tough race experience but serious for not even contemplating dropping out despite the injury.

Superb amble Anthony, stubborn fcuker is right, some going dogging out the pain described. Huge well done on another marathon PB!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Congratulations!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Great report and running DR. It is truly a privilege reading your reports! Sounds like you had a memorable weekend for more than just the decent PB, congrats on that too :)

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭paddybarry

Many congrats DR.
    PB

• Registered Users Posts: 19,523 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Great stuff Anthony and a well-deserved PB. No doubt there was more for you there on a cooler day. At the start I was way behind you (a recognition of your right-hand-side strategy!). I got caught behind the falls, and ended up with a slow first mile. It took me 5kms to catch Zico (and his wonderful new tattoo), then yourself and JD shortly afterwards. The rest is history!

Can you sort me out with the massages and drink table treatment for Tokyo? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Have only had a chance to read the Preamble, I've book marked the following as it sums up what I lately realised I need to remember-

The build-up for Rotterdam was as relaxed as it could have been. Maybe some would call the benefits of years of experience but I don't think it's that simple. Running is clearly very important to me. It's a hobby that for long protracted periods dominates a lot of my life. I don't make one sacrifice in order to train or race, it's is something I happily do. It's a choice, not a sacrifice! I do think that running doesn't mean as much as it used to if I had to be honest. Perhaps that is a poor choice of words and phrasing but I am now able to pigeon-hole running, it doesn't dominate the consciousness like it did in the past. Put simply - I am a lot more relaxed about the whole thing. I train hard and that is it. I used to think that the planned marathon was it, the end of the line. I put way too much pressure on myself. Now? I see the helicopter view; progression, the bigger picture.

Looking forward to reading the report later!!

Edit: just read the amble- awesome race and report.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Ah amazing, were you actually able to get down on one knee?

Massive congratulations to you both.

Marathon PB too. How's the leg now?

Your log is always such a great read with incredible training, well done.

I see you made the top four Irish finishers in Rotterdam! Saw it on the cork running blogspot. Fantastic achievement!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Well done and congrats! I love that report - a great description of the obstacles that can come up during a marathon and how to overcome them.

Amazing performance & a quality read. Approaching Krusty levels in both :)

Unfortunate about the Quad - with hindsight, how much do you think this cost you?
    So more S&C on weak areas and you should have went for it at 35km - any more things you'd of done differently?

BTW - The only Lunge you done was the important one.

Thanks all. You are all far too kind!

After a good few beers and a Subway for breakfast this morning, I have had time to reflect. I will try and answer a few questions and outline a few general thoughts.

Looking back there were warning signals regarding imbalances and weaknesses. I think the first one being the XC race late last year. Sure, I wasn't in good shape but the race showed up every inadequacy. I just could not handle the turns (mobility) and more importantly, sharp rolling hills. Perhaps the bigger red flag was the Trim 10, some 30 seconds off a PB. I don't think it was a particularly poor run, just sub par. What did happen was a tight right hamstring meaning running most of the race below expectations.

I do firmly believe that all the miles, all the races finally told of race day. I cannot pin the issue down to anything else - I did nothing different. In doing 'nothing different', that meant I was overloading the same muscle groups, small tendons, same everything! I ran 4 marathons last year: 2 race, 1 training (2.4x) and 1 pace (3.10). When you add in all the long 24 milers, all the 20 milers it does add up. That was probably all too much and while I never got injured, the body perhaps was more on the redline than I had thought.

Asides from that, my 10km PB never fell after Enniscorthy. My 5km PB never fell from Kilcock in June. Having a PB of 15.56 (5km) next to my just will never cut it. People constantly mention sub 2.30 to me but in my head, the target is far below that. I think you have to think that way otherwise that particular arbitrary time could prove a burden on the shoulders. I may never run that fast but I firmly believe I can. 100%. I was confident I was in 2.30ish shape last week but was targeting 2.31. I hate making excuses but needless to say, the heat and leg cost me a lot of time. I can no longer give the excuse of I am a 'marathon runner'; the shorter stuff has to be tackled.

The legs were very bad Monday and Tuesday. Horrific! The quads were so weak I had to stop and correct myself otherwise they would have completely buckled. Luckily today they feel a lot better and the jogging since Thursday has definitely helped.

I am a 2.33 runner and until I go faster, that is all I am!

'You are only as good as your last performance.'

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great report, A, thanks for taking the time to put it all together. Super racing too, must be very satisfying to be able to grind out that result under the circumstances. Congrats on all fronts!

It has been a while!

Yes, I have been running! While I would still class it as 'training' it lacked focus and dedication. I signed up for an autumn marathon but still could not get the mojo back. After a truncated long run in Sligo two weeks ago, I finally realised I was chasing something I didn't really want to do. You have to be 100% dedicated heading into marathon training and well, I wasn't! I knew I could have gone through a cycle and PB'd and knocked a minute or two off my time, the time I really wanted was just a step too far. Basically training my ar$e off to run a good time like 2.31 wasn't enough to make me fully engaged heading into a marathon training block. I need to fully believe in myself (and time target) to do the training - whatever happened on race day, so be it.

It is time to run some decent 10km times. I will throw myself into a 12-week block and see where it takes me. My 10km PB is soft enough at.......well it was on a long course so probably no point comparing! I'll put it at 33.10 or so unofficially, of course! I am at least a minute off that at the moment though.

Monday - 17+ Miles (longest run since April) ~ watch mishap
    Tuesday - 8.5 Miles Easy
    Wednesday - Irishtown Track: 5x400m - 5min jog - 4x400m - 4min jog - 3x400m ~ all @5km, 40sec between reps

Welcome back to track running! Unbelievably uncoordinated, with a dodgy rhythm. All 75sec, with the last 3 in 75, 74, 72. Slow and fairly ugly but it is a start! I am very fit, just as sharp as a rusty nail :D Just under 13 miles for the day.

Time waits for no man!

After a protracted period in the running wilderness, I have returned to attempt a comeback of sorts. While the motivation to actually run has always remained high, racing and general coherent training fell by the wayside. In truth, I lacked the sheer motivation to race and target races. Quite simply - I was running out of habit, not out of any particular love or passion. There have been many excuses for this - many completely valid - but the real reason was me. No excuses!

While the mileage remained high for the past few years, it lacked structure. So, here I am, targeting a marathon. I am fully invested in returning to racing, achieving the times I know are in me (somewhere!) I can only control the controllables and in writing that, can in no way imagine any reason I won’t be running in an industrial estate in Wrexham in 13 weeks' time!

Regarding structured training, I am following a plan and coaching approach. I will not be going into the plan or the rationale behind the sessions. I trust in the process and approach and am again, fully invested. I don’t question, choosing to follow and outsource the responsibility for devising and implementing a marathon training schedule. Now living in Celbridge, I am surrounded by some of the best running routes in Ireland. The group of runners following the same plan can only inspire the work rate required. I am the slowest in the group, no question. I am comfortable writing that, using it as a motivational tool. The other motivational tool is that the Wrexham Marathon will be fast - very fast! It will be a case of being fit and ready to go or prepare to be exposed on one of the 7 loops.

13 Weeks......here it goes!

Wrexham Marathon Training

Week 3: 18/01-24/01

Monday

AM 7 Miles Easy @ 7’24p/m
    PM 6 Miles Easy @ 7’17p/m

Tuesday

10.10 Miles Easy @7’;26p/m

Wednesday

AM

Session: Monaghetti Fartlek, 2min Easy, 3 Miles @Marathon Effort (5’37pm avg.)
    Total: 12 Miles

PM

4.10 Miles Very Easy @7’;44p/m

Thursday

AM 6 Miles Easy @ 7’29p/m
    PM 6.15 Miles Easy @ 7’17p/m

Friday

10 Miles Easy @7’;16p/m

Saturday

AM

Session: 5x(7min, 90sec easy)
    Pace: Between 10km-HM effort (5’29p/m avg.)
    Total: 11 Miles

PM

4 Miles Very Easy @7’;43p/m

Sunday

Long Easy Run: 20 Miles @6’;57p/m

Total: 96+ Miles

A really solid week.

I will discuss more the details of training in future posts. Running is a simple sport. I think nothing beats consistent well-structured training. There is no magic secret, no 'key' session.  I am just going to do the right things most of the time. If I do that, I believe things will naturally fall in place. Simple! 

I am getting fitter every week that passes. Let us keep that going.

Hard work is good work.

Super to see this back up and running A.

Delighted to see this.

great to see this - long may it last!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Welcome back. Wrexham?