Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Eddie Van Halen wrote this outstanding bit of music in Back To The Future ... but for legal reasons he had to deny it was him (until years later) ... that's why the tape says Edward Van Halen

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Wow, rare for CountyHurler to visit these pages!

:-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Skid X wrote: »
    Eddie Van Halen wrote this outstanding bit of music in Back To The Future ... but for legal reasons he had to deny it was him (until years later) ... that's why the tape says Edward Van Halen

Benjamin: I did not know that. Russell, did you know that?

Russell: I did not know that.

Sorry, Wayne's World was my twice a week student film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

People actually fainted at MBV gigs because of the extremity :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

If I was cynical, I would say that section about 'wimmin can rock as well as men' was thrown in as a sop to the BBC's liberal right on pinko overlords.

I'm going to think about that when I have stopped taking flu tablets and my head clears.....:(

I mean, I like a bit of Joan Jett as much as the next man. But we had 20 minutes of guitar riffs, then a bizarre interlude where oestroegen gets mentioned a lot, then back to men playing guitars.

It was clunky and patronising to the female guitar players being discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Off to watch the Foos!

Nos da :)

I mean, I like a bit of Joan Jett as much as the next man. But we had 20 minutes of guitar riffs, then a bizarre interlude where oestroegen gets mentioned a lot, then back to men playing guitars.

It was clunky and patronising to the female guitar players being discussed.

Phew, thanks for that Skid, my head is not half clear enough to work that out!!!....:)

"I'll be so much better tomorrow" said the little red hen....:rolleyes:

How have ye all been?? :)

Ah, here comes the darts.....:D

I love the way Rumble was banned in America - no lyrics but the tune itself was seen as subversive and dangerous. That's impressive.

I'm very well, thank you. Sorry to hear about the old flu. Horrible.

I'm so happy to be back in Beebrock land!

Woo!!

I'm glad I didn't have to press those trousers....

The creases would cut you in two!!

I'm surely not alone in not loving The Shadows?

Not the dancing, I give high marks for that.

Just the melodies suck.

Much more like it!

Not the same without DLR, this tune! :-D

I'm surely not alone in not loving The Shadows?

Not the dancing, I give high marks for that.

Just the melodies suck.

Ah, The Shadows were great!

I'm "Hank Marvin"......was the first slang learned by a "green" grey many years ago.....:D

Jam Jars, Trouble and Strife etc all my many happy memories of Liverpool!!:)

Ah, The Shadows were great!

I'm "Hank Marvin"......was the first slang learned by a "green" grey many years ago.....:D

Jam Jars, Trouble and Strife etc all my many happy memories of Liverpool!!:)

You learned cockney rhyming slang in Liverpool? :-D

Never heard it in the Mammy's house!!......I have some gems but not for Skid's lovely thread!!.....:D:D:D

This was a great song!!

Yeah it is!

Do do do do
    Do do do
    do dooo do

Thank Christ Hendrix came along when he did.

Every one of my favourite guitarists were hugely influenced by this sort of thing.

Thank Christ Hendrix came along when he did.

Every one of my favourite guitarists were hugely influenced by this sort of thing.

Ah, Donie.....I loved Hendrix.......

"In an interview with Rolling Stone, Hendrix was asked 'How does it feel to be the greatest guitarist in the world?' He answered, 'I don’t know, go ask Rory Gallagher."

I should be on a motorcycle in America now.....

Imagine getting a time machine, finding the man or woman who invented guitars, and then bringing her or him to a Jimi Hendrix concert.

Minds would be blown.

Wellll, that's an outfit and a half!

To busy being wild to find something that doesn't looklike a schoolkids space project, i guess.

Imagine getting a time machine, finding the man or woman who invented guitars, and then bringing her or him to a Jimi Hendrix concert.

Minds would be blown.

I taped the Time Machine today Skid......:D:D:D

We are on the same wavelength.....of sorts.....:p

Ah, Donie.....I loved Hendrix.......

"In an interview with Rolling Stone, Hendrix was asked 'How does it feel to be the greatest guitarist in the world?' He answered, 'I don’t know, go ask Rory Gallagher."

Is that true?

Oh, i remember this acoustic feller from before. Absolutely rules.

I remember this lad...He is sublime....

Lol, how often have we seen this program?? :)

I remember this lad...He is sublime....

Lol, how often have we seen this program?? :)

Oh, god, it's been weeks by now.

Oh my Teenage Would-be Lover.....

Who is now bald........

Oh, god, it's been weeks by now.

So, weeks since I've said the talkbox sucks.

You should see this live video in front of a crowd Donie.....sublime!!

That was 1975.............AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH

You should see this live video in front of a crowd Donie.....sublime!!

Don't know Grey. Doesn't look all that amazing.

I'd still go, though, probably.

Really, AC/DC looked as Punk as my Granny did in that clip.....

Never really got the hype about Morrissey....Great voice though...That is just not a good look....

Meh. Needs more distortion.

Really, AC/DC looked as Punk as my Granny did in that clip.....

Rock and roll damnation, in a nice red sweater.

Never really got the hype about Morrissey....Great voice though...That is just not a good look....

Not even a great voice, for me.

Edit: and put on a vest, you whiney bollix!

Let there be Roses !!

Great memories of the DJ playing this and other Indie classics in Whelan's in Dublin every night

The cat here mimes better.....

Night night Lads....stay safe, hugs, GSW xxx :)

Party on Grey.

Not sticking round for totp?

Reckon these lads have calmed down at all in the years since?

Must be weird playing this live if you've just had a great day.

Oh dear. A bullet in your f***in head.

Sounds serious.

It's all gone a bit heavy the last few songs.

Yeah. And not really in the good way.

I don't deny Radiohead were good, but I can't think of any situation where i would actually want to listen to them.

Unless I wanted everyone to go home from a party in the house.

Yeah. And not really in the good way.

I don't deny Radiohead were good, but I can't think of any situation where i would actually want to listen to them.

I thought The Bends was a very good album. They went a bit left field for me after that.

Where the riffs at??

Yeah, it's just showboating. The boy's got talent but it's like beating the full back again and again to show off, when you just want him to ping in a decent cross. Bill.

God i hate those see through guitars.

This show needs more Country.

And Western.