Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin man takes swing at Bertie.... with his crutch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Has anyone else seen this article from the Sindo? Diligently written by 3 of the Journalism's finest no less.
    The Rag wrote:
    The sinister hate mail was sent to his Dublin home in what close friends of the retired politician have described as a relentless campaign of vilification and intimidation against him.

Today's revelation comes hot on the heels of an incident in a pub last Friday night that saw Mr Ahern narrowly avoiding serious injury when a man in his 40s attacked him with a crutch.

The assault at the Sean O'Casey pub in Dublin city centre is, however, just one of a number of incidents in recent weeks in which Mr Ahern has been either physically or at least verbally threatened by members of the public seeking to exact their own perverse form of justice in response to what they see as his role in the country's economic collapse.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-spate-of-hate-attacks-on-bertie-29741074.html

HOW DARE YOU ALL, BERTIE AHERN HAS DONE NOTHING WRONG, YOU'RE ALL MONSTERS...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,135 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Augmerson wrote: »
    Has anyone else seen this article from the Sindo? Diligently written by 3 of the Journalism's finest no less.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-spate-of-hate-attacks-on-bertie-29741074.html

HOW DARE YOU ALL, BERTIE AHERN HAS DONE NOTHING WRONG, YOU'RE ALL MONSTERS...

Beat you too this about three pages back, my question was do the sunday independent belong to Fianna Fail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Beat you too this about three pages back, my question was do the sunday independent belong to Fianna Fail.

Ah sorry man.

Anne Harris will always look out for her own.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

The Sindo has been a FF mouthpiece for eons. Look at the class of sh1tebag they have writing for them.. Eoghan Harris (and about 5 members of his family), Brendan O'Connor, John Drennan. For crying out loud, Willie O'Dea and Berties ex have been columnists there in the last few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,135 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Jebus After Hours and Irony are just not in synch tonight, I think this is enough Bertie Bashing for one night too, if we are not careful we will be outside his house tarring and lynching Mr Tayto,good night all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

The Sindo has been a FF mouthpiece for eons. Look at the class of sh1tebag they have writing for them.. Eoghan Harris (and about 5 members of his family), Brendan O'Connor, John Drennan. For crying out loud, Willie O'Dea and Berties ex have been columnists there in the last few years.

The stench in that office must be overwhelming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

I wonder will nidge have a job for Bertie in the next series.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    It's Sad the people have this opinion.

Would he be allowed to buy it in the off-licence himself?

But please continue to sit behind your computer and have this opinion - if you really felt this much anger you would have been down in Fagan's with your mates showing him exactly how you feel.

We have thousands of youth leaving the country, we have cuts and more cuts, we have taxes and more taxes since FG/labour came to power. But who cares - NO ONE, likewise when Bertie was in power - no one cared what he did. People just moan and moan and sit on their ass instead of doing something about it.

What's sad is the fact that your hero Bertie washed his hands, accepted no responsibility for the monumental mess he left in his wake and blamed everything on everyone but himself. What is sadder is the fact that he still has dim wits believing that his contrived 'one of the lads' persona is the real him. Acting like he is hard done by when people scald him with the scorn that he fully deserves. The usual hacks up to their usual tricks, boo hoo hoo, he only wanted a quite pint boo hoo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

God I can't believe people are still licking the ring of Bertie Ahern. There's loads of them about.

FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

God I can't believe people are still licking the ring of Bertie Ahern. There's loads of them about.

FFS

Ah sure he gets an awful doing
    I think he did a lot of good for this country thats why he still has a lot of supporters
    If he was running president he'd get my vote

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I think he did a lot of good for this country thats why he still has a lot of supporters

Sad part is, I really wouldn't be surprised if he won.

His supporters wouldn't be the sharpest tools in the shed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

I want him democratically tarred and feathered and banned from living on the island!

I like your thinking.

But unfortunately it would be descending into the type of country people like him would take advantage of.

I would rather see legal justice.

Also I would like to see him socially boycotted.

I would like also to see him serve a sentence.

And return all illegal money he received. And pay more in compensation.

I just don't approve violence. It is gombeen politics itself.

What I find most disturbing about this story, is that people are hailing as a hero, someone who commits an act of violence in a public place. What Bertie did is well known. Celebrating an act of thuggery shows the depts we have sunk to. Stop looking back, look forward and show the shaggers that we've got the backbone and moral fiber that Bertie and his gang were so lacking.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

pity it was not an iron bar

• Registered Users Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

pity it was not an iron bar

Why don't you go and use the iron bar - being the hard man behind the computer, there has being nothing stopping you for the last few years to have a pop at him.

I love people coming on here saying the guy should have hit him harder or with metal bar, but these same people would do nothing in they saw Bertie on the street.

I'm not defending what Bertie did or did not do - but he has as much right as anyone has of living his life.

Was he not involved in the peace process and power sharing in NI. Or do people even care about that.

Listening to him on Joe Duffy's Liveline today. He's got problems and is to be pitied.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Was he not involved in the peace process and power sharing in NI. Or do people even care about that.

He came on the scene towards the end of over 10 years of negotiations and rode the wave, it would have happened regardless of who was Taoiseach. It doesn't redeem him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Yeah, fair play to the guy who vents his anger with his trusty crutch. More of that please. A fine way of solving problems.

• Site Banned Posts: 23 Black cat banger

Hope this does not mean that they go back to the cars and security for ex taoisigh days !

This guy and his like have plenty of money to pay for security if required.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

He came on the scene towards the end of over 10 years of negotiations and rode the wave, it would have happened regardless of who was Taoiseach. It doesn't redeem him.

O right just like it doesn't matter who was Taoiseach, the world recession was going to occur and it was going to affect Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Listening to him on Joe Duffy's Liveline today. He's got problems and is to be pitied.

What was he saying? I don't listen to whine line.

His comment about his accident was a bit odd. Hinted that it may not have been an accident. Also, he called the cops himself after being escorted from the bar!

What the hell happened to the other Bertie Ahern thread? The "What did Bertie do" one. Seems to have disappeared, no lock, no nothin'

• Registered Users Posts: 14,294 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

bumper234 wrote: »
    How? How did Ahern ruin the country? You are blaming one man for the actions of MANY, Did he do a bad job? Yes....Does he deserve to be attacked by a knob head wielding a crutch? No.
    Henlars67 wrote: »
    That's bull. He was returned 3 times despite stories of dig-outs and corruption.

Those who voted for FF during those times have to be prepared to shoulder some of the blame.

Can't stand Aherne but he is entitled to go for a pint without being assaulted or verbally abuse.

Couldn't disagree more. Bertie ran this country into the ground. OK, he was voted in, but it was built on lies. Bertie, (along with plenty of others) are the reason so many peoples lives are a misery. He's the main reason so many families are split up because of emigration. The reason people are struggling to find work, or are just stuck in one of the hundreds of thousands of poxy situations.
    And people are worried that this piece of shíte can't enjoy a pint in the pub? Jesus wept. The guy shouldn't have a seconds peace when he goes out in public.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Totally unacceptable thing to do. Regardless of who he attacked, which many seem hung up about, nothing gives him the right to assault a member of the public. If it wasn't Bertie would posters hear be cheering him on for attacking someone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Jester252 wrote: »
    Totally unacceptable thing to do. Regardless of who he attacked, which many seem hung up about, nothing gives him the right to assault a member of the public. If it wasn't Bertie would posters hear be cheering him on for attacking someone else?

If they'd done something similar to what he had then yeah, I'm pretty sure people would still be cheering him on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

He claimed the North Dublin former politician was "laughing all night long" but Mr Connolly became extremely annoyed when he heard Mr Ahern say: "That was in the good old days," before bursting out laughing again.
    "The good old days" could refer to any period in Bertie Aherns lifetime. He could have been reminiscing about his childhood for all anyone knows.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I am glad that you posted that because I really didn't believe Bill Clinton, Tony Blair, Ian Paisley, Edward Kennedy, George Mitchell when they said he played a very significant part in the Peace Process.
    It didn't really happen when Bruton was Taoiseach did it?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

SV wrote: »
    If they'd done something similar to what he had then yeah, I'm pretty sure people would still be cheering him on.

Good to see you victim blaming