Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete newbie to Masters and being a mature student.

Options
  • 09-11-2013 12:00pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭

I've been away for a while in Asia teaching English, but I want to do a Masters now and I figure it's best to go back to Ireland to do it. I want to do a Masters in something relating to Education but not a Masters in English as a Second Language specifically, because I want to keep my options open and might want to teach art one day, which is what my degree is in. It would also be a requirement for the Masters to be recognizable internationally in order to get a job abroad (I plan to come back out here to Asia, but might want to teach in Canada etc. one day).

I'm completely new to the Masters field though. How long do they take usually? Is one year the average, or are they typically two years? How much do they cost? I'm 29, do I even count as a mature student? Does my absence from the country for 18 months affect things? If I do count as a mature student, what grants can I get? Could I still work part-time if I get a grant? Is it much cheaper to do a Masters by getting mature student benefits or would doing one while working full time also be a decent option?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

Hi Wright,