Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are my options.... where do I stand?

Options
  • 09-11-2013 10:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭

Have been long term unemployed
    Spent last 2 yrs doing scambridge schemes...

Went for an interview there about 6 weeks ago, got called for 2nd interview and was offered the job (maternity leave cover).

The salary on the job spec said "negotiable"

I have 3 yrs relevent experience not considering 12 months of jobbridge schemes.

The typical salary for a similar position would range from around €28k to around €40,000 depending on experience, the company, etc.

I was modest in my expectations and expected anything over €23k-24k

Then they dropped the bombshell.... They were offering €19k....

I was shocked. I didn't know what to say!

I told them that I thought that figure was way short off what I was expecting considering recession and all.
    I asked them if they would budge on this and if it was even negotiable!

They replied €20,000 max! Then they went onto say that they would review it after 3 or 4 months and that I would be kept at the end of the contract if I proved myself... usual craic! Told them I would need to consider it, thanked them and left.

Accepted the job anyways! (they had me by the balls.... I needed the job)

Anyways, 3 days into it, the manager who interviewed me asked me exactly how long I was unemployed because there was this Jobs plus scheme that the government launched and I may be eligible to benefit from it!