Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Wk 16/18 London 2017

Mon 3/04
    Plan 6m easy
    Actual: 6.2m (8:05)

Easy miles along the seafront with a few 4 hill strides inland to work on leg turnover.

Tues 4/04
    Plan: WU, 4 x 1.5m (6:40 pace) w/800m rec, CD
    Actual: 2 m WU, 4 x 1.5m w/800m rec, 2.5m CD. (Total 12.2m)

Can’t remember much about this session. The numbers suggest it went ok though

Splits: (Target 10:00mins / 6:40 pace)
    Splits 9:54 9:55 9:57 9:55

Wed 5/04
    Plan : Rest
    Actual: Rest

My left calf which is my usual problem area was quite tight for a lot of today. Foam rolled it a good bit and worried about it a good bit more. Had already booked a trip to the physio on Friday for some pre race management, just as well.

Thurs 6/04
    Plan: WU, 10m @ pmp , CD
    Actual: 2.6 WU, 10m @ 6:46 , 2.8m CD

I considered postponing this till Friday with calf still quite tight. Made a decision to try it though and if it started acting up I’d pull up. I was actually quite nervous heading into the session. The thoughts of another injury so close to race day had me concerned. I needn’t have worried though. I came through unscathed although my hamstrings gave me the only concern as they tightened up a bit. I think the body is just feeling the effects of 16 weeks of hard training.

As usual I ran loops of Duanington Park and even met Lord Duanington himself out wandering through his pastures and we passed each other a few times. Normally when he runs it looks effortless but I took pleasure in seeing him grimace on one of his reps. Just gave me comfort I wasn’t the only eejit out there busting a lung. It’s the little things...

Miles went ok but as per other Thursday mp sessions, I was fairly wiped afterwards. As I noted on Strava at the time, the program is relentless.

Splits were a bit faster than MP, though not intentionally.

Mile Split
    1 06:45.3
    2 06:52.3
    3 06:42.3
    4 06:42.4
    5 06:45.6
    6 06:43.7
    7 06:50.1
    8 06:42.0
    9 06:51.3
    10 06:41.4

Average 06:45.6

My HR monitor is acting up again even when worn on the fatter right wrist so readings were meaningless and not worth showing here. A possible reason is I’m losing more body fat which is ok as race day approaches I guess. I’m down about 6 lbs on normal weight which I’ll take. I reckon I’m eating more these days but the weight loss is purely a result of the mileage, a better diet and cutting down (nearly cutting out) on the booze.

Fri 7/04
    Plan: 6m easy
    Actual: 5.3m easy (8:00)

An early morning runmute to the prearranged appointment with the physio. Got some much needed dry needling on left calf and both hamstrings which there was build up of spasm. As per usual after needling, there was a bit of hobbling on the way home but managed to run this off.

Sat 8/04
    Plan: 10m Easy
    Actual: 7.2m (7:47) + 3.1 (7:00)

A bit of parkrun tourism took me to Malahide. A few loops of the park on my own before the parkrun which I ran at a comfortable fastish past pace which turned out to be 7:00 min/mile. Dropped into St Annes on the way back to view the BHAA race and spotted Bungy Girl doing well to claim a cat prize.
    Later on did 2 sets of the S&C exercises rather than the usual three.

Sun 2/03
    Plan: 10m Easy
    Actual: 10m (8:20)

Nice easy run in the sunshine. Legs felt great.
    Got back and followed some amazing performances in Rotterdam on the tracker. Definitely worth noting how the heat can become a factor and that targets may need to be adjusted. Will be another week though before I’ll start any sneak peaks at YR.

Mileage summary: Actual (Plan)
    Week 16 : 59 (56)
    Total program : 847 (814)

Wk 17/18 London 2017

Mon 10/04
    Plan 8m easy
    Actual: 8m (8:13)

What a difference a day makes. This was a horrible run. Felt like I’d hit the preverbial wall after 3 miles and really wanted to curl up and sleep under a tree. Struggled through the last 5 miles. Aside from normal tapering madness I think a bit of dehydration may have contributed. I’m not a great water drinker so will need to be on ‘pee watch’ over the next 2 weeks to make sure the colours are correct!

Tues 11/04
    Plan: WU, 6 x 1m (6:40 pace) w/800m rec, CD
    Actual: 2.1 m WU, 6 x 1m w/800m rec, 1.8m CD. (Total 11.2m)

I had a nice tailwind for the first three miles out along the coast. I knew the return miles into a nasty headwind would be a challenge and I certainly wasn’t disappointed. I’d say my hardest effort went into the 4th rep which turned out to be the slowest mile.

Splits: (Target 6:40)
    6:36 6:37 6:39 6:45 6:41 6:39

One final session of MP miles to be done on Thursday. After that, other than easy miles, I just need to pack up the body in bubble wrap and avoid all contact with animals and humans till Sunday week.

Thurs 13/04

Plan: WU, 10m@MP, CD
    Actual: 1.6m wu, 10m @6:46, 1.8 CD

And so I completed my last fast session of the program, 10 @ MP. Not to spoil a habit, I used my now well worn 2.X m loop in St Annes. If the London marathon route proves to be littered with kids, buggies, roaming dogs, frisbees, trucks, invisible dog leads, scooters, tricycles and Easter egg hunters I'll be well set. I really just wanted to get this one done and finish injury free which thankfully I managed.

By my calculations I've now run 98m at MP on these thursday sessions. That's over 3.5 marathons. Sure the real thing should be piece of cake ...yeah right!

Todays numbers ( used old garmin+strap for HR):

Split Avg Hr
    1 06:45.3 147
    2 06:46.3 149
    3 06:43.5 152
    4 06:43.4 151
    5 06:50.3 153
    6 06:44.6 150
    7 06:48.4 156
    8 06:41.4 150
    9 06:49.8 154
    10 06:42.7 152

Avg 06:45.6 151.4

Taper madness now officially commences...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Very impressive stuff C, you've also been very consistent.

Looks like there'll be another auld ****er going sub 3 before me :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Great stuff C the hay is in the barn great cycle of training ..... here's hoping for a great day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Ferris B wrote: »
    Avg 06:45.6 151.4

That's a sub-3 pace if I ever saw one, and I reckon you've done the training to go for it. Enjoy the taper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Only a week to go, C! Looking good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,481 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice one, C. The plan really seems to suit you. Will be fascinating to see the result.

Wk 17/18 London 2017

For the last week it’s all been miles at easy pace and trying not to do anything stupid that might cause injury.

Fri 14/04
    Plan: 7m easy
    Actual: 7m easy (8:31)

Joined FBOT, Duanington and fellow London bound marathoner, Yaboya for some easy miles, coffees and banter in St Annes.

Sat 15/04
    Plan: 8m Easy
    Actual: 5.4m (8:18) + 3.1 (7:20)Parkrun

My usual Saturday run again took in the Local parkrun. I was escorted through most of these miles by FBOT and in part by Duanington, just to make sure I stuck to the plan. This was my last Parkrun before the marathon and also my 50th which kind of bookended the training nicely.

Sun 16/04
    Plan: 8m Easy
    Actual: 8m (8:10)

More easy miles. No issues.

Mileage summary: Actual (Plan)
    Week 17 : 56 (55)
    Total program : 903 (869)

Wk 18/18 London 2017

Mon 17/04
    Plan 6m easy
    Actual: 6.2m (8:17)

As the inevitable pre race worries start to creep in, it was good to have FBOT for company to keep everything positive. Nice ‘n easy.

Tues 19/04
    Plan: 5m easy
    Actual: 5m easy

My shrink for today’s therapy miles was Duanington. Ran at easy pace mostly on grass in St Annes. D sensibly suggested I read back over my training as a reminder of the work that has been put in and the paces achieved. It’s weird, but the 17 weeks of hard training are easily forgotten when all you’re focussed on is race day. Later on, I did my homework as prescribed and even impressed myself!

Wed 19/04
    Plan: Rest
    Actual: Rest

No running but managed a gentle s&c session or was that yesterday? Forgotten! Taper whah?

Thurs 20/04
    Plan: 6 easy
    Actual: 6 easy (8:04)

Easy miles along the seafront. My psychiatrists are obviously keeping a close eye on me as I bumped into Duanington mid run again who joined me for a few miles.

Some more easy miles due tomorrow before I fly out on Saturday morning. There are 3 easy miles programmed for Saturday but I’ll only run them if it suits.

And so after 17.5 weeks of training I’ve got this far injury free which is great. The mood is currently good with the odd obligatory pre race mini panic. The training has gone really well, probably my most complete marathon program to date. However I hate going into races over confident, particularly with something like the marathon which needs to be treated with care and respect. That’s not to say I won’t give it a lash, I will. However, I don’t have a ‘Sub 3’ as some bucket list thing I must tick off. Yeah of course I’d like to break 3 hrs ( like I wanted to with 3:15 and 3:30) but it’s not the be all and end all.

I’m actually quite intrigued as what sort of a result the Hanson program delivers. Let’s just wait and see...

Btw If you’re tracking on Sunday, my number is 28130.

Give it bata auld lad!

Best of luck

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Btw If you’re tracking on Sunday, my number is 28130.

Don't forget to moon wave to the cameras as promised :p. The very best of luck C, I hope you're happy with your race and the result on the day, whatever that brings.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Best luck C, hope you have great race and all the uncontrollables line up, I know you've taken care of the rest.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Have a great race! Fantastic prep done and miles are in the legs - it's payback time

Good Luck

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

All the very best C. Absolutely intrigued with how you feel the Hanson Plan has served you. Very satisfying, I am sure, to have worked so assiduously with the plan which is an achievement in itself. Hope you reap your rewards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Have a great trip, and enjoy the big day. Will be following the tracker and telly, so no skipping over mats and remember to smile to the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Best of luck on Sunday. Have a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

That's some psycho support crew you've got there C... very best of luck in London, hope it all goes well for you... we will be tracking!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Btw when he targeted 3:30 he went 3:28 and when he targeted 3:15 he went 3:12.....just saying ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

All the best for Sunday!

So much quality work done, and great that you got through the plan with nary a niggle. You're in great shape, no reason not to be optimistic! All the best.

3:01:18 unofficial. 11min PB.

A very tough last few miles but what an experience. Gave it everything.

While a bit disappointed to fall off pace in last 7k, absolutely delighted with the end result.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Absolutely fantastic C. Really brilliant. 11min PB is incredible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Great return from a great cycle, how's the body and the head :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭aero2k

Well done, fantastic running C.

If I wasn't retired I'd be wondering if Hanson could help me take 11 min off my PB.......

Savage going C, superb effort.

TbL

3:01:18 unofficial. 11min PB.

A very tough last few miles but what an experience. Gave it everything.

While a bit disappointed to fall off pace in last 7k, absolutely delighted with the end result.

Brilliant! That's more important than finish time - 11 min PB is pretty damn awesome! Massive congrats, a very well deserved result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Super run. Very consistent splits. I'm sure you're delighted with that.
    What's next? 2:59 in Cork :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Super stuff :)

What's next?

A report I hope!

I am sure Ferris is flexing his fingers, oiling the keys, checking the ribbon, and inserting a sheet of parchment into his Remington as we speak.

415753.jpg

LONDON MARATHON 2017

Previous PB: 3:12:XX (DCM 2012)
    Last marathon:3:14:54 (Cork 2016)

This was personal. My previous and only attempt at a marathon major was a DNS in Berlin in 2014 which was cancelled 6 weeks out when a blockage was discovered on a main artery. One stent and a year and half later I got back on the marathon saddle in Cork in June ‘16 to finish 3:14:53 which got me a GFA (by a whisker) for London. My plan was then to give Dublin a reasonable rattle in the autumn of 2016 as a kind of warmer upper in advance of London. Unfortunately those plans also became unstuck when a calf injury struck during training which meant no DCM. So as this was to be my last chance at a raced marathon (doctors orders), I firstly wanted to make it to the startline in good shape and second give the race my best effort possible.

As I had a real concern of developing more injuries I started a S&C program in conjunction with a Physio practice in town. My instruction to them was get me through marathon program uninjured. They analysed me, determined my weak areas (there were many) and I was given specific workouts. I think this S&C work was one of the major factors in getting me through the program uninjured. It’s only a pity I didn’t start them 6 months earlier as I am pretty sure I could have achieved a better time. Another lesson learned.

The other area was the program itself. Previous programs I have used were quite traditional and involved typical mid week sessions with weekend long runs. They are excellent programs but for me, it seemed however that the long 20 mile+ runs was where I started developing calf issues. With this in mind I decided to try the Hanson program where the longest run was 16 miles. It sounds like an easy program, it’s not. It’s relentless and challenging but well balanced where efforts are spread equally throughout the week. Word was, it’s good for the older runner with some marathon experience. It suited me perfectly. Plus it was something new. Although it was quite a different approach, it’s been used by others around here to good effect. Didn’t stop me having a few doubts about it along the way.

My training of 18 weeks went really well. I ran every single session with the exception of two of the tempo sessions which were replaced by races ( 5m and 10m) so nothing was really missed. I struggled a bit with some of the paces in the earlier speedwork sessions as that would be my weakest area. These were based on a 5k time of 19:00 min although I hadn’t raced a recent 5k but I guesstimated I was near that zone if pushed. The rest of the paces including MP runs and ‘long runs’ were all achieved.

Early on, the question was what time to target. I didn’t have DCM as a stepping stone so my only guide was Cork where I ran just under 3:15. Without wanting to attempt too much of a ‘post stent’ PB leap, I was initially thinking 3:03 – 3:05 as a target and my early MP runs were 7:00 min/mile. My HR for these runs was comfortable and under the guide marathon HR for me of 156-161 (based on LT testing last year) so I felt safe in pushing pace a bit. After 5 or 6 weeks I had settled on 6:50 as my target MP. This in theory gives a finish time of 2:59 but taking into account the Garmin factor I knew it realistically meant closer to 3:00 hrs. I wasn’t targeting ‘THE SUB 3’ but that’s kind of where the figures were landing. However I didn’t want the pressure of attaining a sub 3 to be the focus of my training and race. I wanted to give my best performance, whatever that maybe.

And so the race weekend came. I was quite tired heading over to London on the Saturday morning. The travelling across London to the Expo and back to the hotel wasn’t too bad but it still takes a bit out of you. Lisa had come over for the weekend and she went straight to the hotel from the tube and lucky for me took my case with her. I went on to the expo on my own. It was mobbed and not too pleasant. Didn’t spend more time at the expo than I needed. Just got my number, bought a jacket, got some shot bloks and got out.

While Lisa went shopping I rested in the hotel room before heading out for light 3m jog to shake out the legs on a loop of St James park. I also got to familiarise myself with the last 0.5 km of the route and the famous ‘385 yards to go’ overhead sign. Wondered what time I’d see that sign again. Tried unsuccessfully to sleep when I got back but just felt over tired so I just chilled out and got my stuff ready for race day. Lisa also kindly gave my left calf a rub as it had been quite tight all week. We met up with Yaboya and his better half ,E that evening for dinner. Some nice chats and discussions about where the ladies would be during the race. Enjoyed a glass of red each which helped soothe any nerves.

After restless night I was up at 5:30. The bed wasn’t comfortable which generated a pain in my lower back so tiger balm was applied to give some relief. Had breakfast at about 6:30 and the place was buzzing. A real sense of excitement about the place. I tried to stay calm though and so headed to a quiet corner for my hotel porridge ( never as good as your own) and contemplated what lay ahead. Loads of runners of all nationalities were already in the lobby preparing to leave even this earl . I guess tour buses were leaving ? I was entertained though by a rendition of the great sound of the South African Anthem by a crowd of SA runners which reminded me of the Comrades start I’d viewed on youtube many times. It gave a nice warm feeling. Back upstairs, a few final ablutions , a goodbye to Lisa, got my things and headed off. I’d given Lisa a schedule of my predicted times with an arrangement to hopefully see me with a carb drink at 14.5 and 20.5 miles.

Bumped into Neilc by pure fluke in the Lobby and travelled with him and his brother in law. This was great and set me at ease. Neil had run London before and we were both in the green start so was able to share experiences and give a few tips en route to Greenwich.

The start area was fantastic and well organised. Everything you could want was laid on, water, teas , coffees, first aid. Saw some crazy fancy dress costumes looking for world records including a flip flop wearer, a snowboarder and a toilet roll! Got my bag on the truck and after a few light stretches headed for corrals 1&2 with about 20 mins to go. It was starting to get busy.

Forecast for the morning was 10 deg at the start and rising to 13 deg by 1 o’ clock. This gave me some comfort and I decided no adjustment would be needed to my target pace. The actual temp on the day though would feel a lot warmer than those numbers suggested.

The solo 3 hr pacer for the green zone was lined up way behind me but I reckoned he was in the wrong place and comments from those around me confirmed this. I wasn’t bothered by this as hadn’t intended relying on any pacers. I had my own pace bands for both 5k splits and mile splits to guide me. A few more light stretches a few deep breaths and a quite whisper to myself ‘lets do this’ and we were off .

0-5k
    Plan: 21:15
    Actual: 21:15

I saw 20 seconds on the clock as I approached the start line. I was immediately surprised by how congested it was. There was a bit of pushing and shoving as runners struggled for position. A sharp right turn, not unlike Dublin caused the whole race to temporarily stall before releasing itself. I could hear 1 or 2 fallers early on behind me but I didn’t dare turn my head as this was all about staying upright. Traffic islands had to be negotiated as we weaved our way around the leafy Blackheath suburbs . The was no way I could choose my own racing line at this stage and was just sheperded by the mobs of runners. We merged with the blue group before the first mile marker and had to carefully mesh in with them in zip like fashion. 1st mile completed in 7:10ish. A bit slow but I wasn’t bothered. Started to relax . Plenty of time. Soon I found the Blue painted racing line and stayed with it where possible. I used the downhill in miles 2 and 3 to claw back some time and it felt effortless. We merged with the red group and then through the first 5 k in 21:15. Bang on target!

Took on a gel shot blok. I’d calculated my carb intake in advance to take 1 shot blok at every 5, 15, 25k’s etc and 2 at 10,20 30k’s etc . Made it easy to remember.

5-10k
    Plan 42:30
    Actual 42:16
    5 K Split: 21:01

Started to flatten out here. I can recall my average pace was reading 6:48 so I could afford to slow a tad but actually found it difficult to do so. I passed a Celbridge singlet and wished him well. I found myself behind a tall guy and girl wearing what I thought was Trim AC colours. Suddenly the guy trips on someone in front of him and he falls across my path in this fast moving throng. While falling he pushed me sideways and a runner to my left ends up ramming his knee ( not his fault) into my left calf into the very spot I always have trouble with. After a brief stumble I steadied myself but find I’m limping with the pain. I managed to run it off over the next km. Taking a positive view I managed to convince myself that the kick was a form of physio treatment which would only make me better. I;m not sure if this had a physical effect on me for the remainder of the race but I blanked it out of my mind and forgot about it.

Somewhere in these later kms I saw a Crusaders singlet ahead and pulled up beside. Didn’t know him but we introduced ourselves and found we’d similar targets although B had started from a different group and later than me. We would work together on and off for the next 15k or so, passing each other water and having a few brief chats. It was reassuring now to be running as a ‘group’. I got a nasty, unfamiliar pain in my left knee. It last about a km and mysteriously went away like it arrived. Hmmm.

The temperature by now felt quite warm and seemed a lot warmer than the predicted 10/11 degrees. I checked others around me and they were all sweating quite a bit. Started to pour water on my head and back of neck and made decision to take a salt tablet before I got to 10 miles. Through the 10k mark in 42:16. 14 seconds early. Felt comfortable but was conscious of not going too fast. Took my 2 shot bloks as planned

10-15k
    Plan 1:03:45
    Actual 1:03:36
    5K Split 21:20

Up to now I wasn’t really paying attention to the crowd as was focussing on staying upright and getting the pace right. But coming through Rotherhithe the roar of the crowd really got my attention and I soaked it in. It was great feeling. Tried to feed off it. Myself and B got a few Cru shouts from Irish accents from the depths of the crowds. Took a salt tablet here and would take another one later. The heat was very noticeable when the sun was out. I recall commenting to B my wish for some cloud cover to bring some relief. Dialed the pace back a notch to try to get back on target and crossed the 15k mat 9 seconds under target in 1:03:36.

15 – 20k
    Plan 1:25:00
    Actual 1:25:04
    5k Split 21:29

When I crossed the 10 mile mat I thought of the Hanson program and that this was now further than I’d run at MP. Reassuringly it felt ok though and while I was working it wasn’t a struggle. Worryingly though I started to get some cramps nipping at my calves. Each time it happened I had to pull back a bit and re group. I purposely shortened the strides for hills ( up and down) to prevent any overstretching and I found left turns were more hazardous than right and was cautious with my foot alignment . Still though, I managed to stay on pace and cross the 20k mat 4 seconds over target. That’s ok. I moved slightly ahead of B around here. I only know that from the results where his splits start to drift from mine.

20 – 25k
    Plan: 1:46:15
    Actual: 1:46:19
    5K split: 21:17

Throughout much of the mid part of the race I was playing leap frog with 3 person team all tied together carrying what can only be described as inflatable dinghy with no base. Were they supposed to be a swimming pool? Not sure and didn’t care. While I was full of admiration for them to be in a position to sail (ahem!) along at 3hr pace with the crowd giving them loads, they caused havoc for those around them. I witnessed at least one faller hit my them and made it my business to be n the far side of the road when they were about.

I’d heard so much about Tower bridge I took a rare moment to have a look round and savour the experience. This wasn’t any rest though, halfway was approaching and the real work hadn’t even started. Approaching the halfway point I knew I’d be close to my pre race target of between 1:29:30 & 1:30:00 and I allowed myself a smile for a job well done when I crossed in 1:29:41. I still felt in control and very much like I was in the right place. On the far side of the road, running in the opposite direction were some of the unsighted runners who started early, led by their guides. I could see pain etched on their faces and it was a warning sign for me of what lay ahead. I had hoped to see some of the main race leaders but they hadn’t reached that point yet.

I was due to meet Lisa at 14.5m ( I had showed her the place earlier on Google street view) and had hoped to collect a carb drink. This became my focus for the next while and a nice distraction from the task of actually racing. Approaching the meet point the crowd was busy. I hogged the left side and for the first time stared at all the faces lining the kerb. Great! She’s there and with bottle in her left hand just as instructed. We exchanged a quick word without slowing and I moved back into the crowds. The bottle contained a carb drink which gave a welcome relief from the gel bloks. Crossed the 25k mat within 4 seconds of my planned target. Happy days.

25 - 30k
    Plan 2:07:30
    Actual 2:07:26
    5k Split: 21:07

These miles took us around Canary Wharf and the Isle of Dogs. Course was a bit twisty in places which didn’t suit me. Somewhere here I tried to get between two runners and I turned my shoulders to squeeze through. Immediately my right calf cramped with the change in gait and I had to re adjust quickly and luckily the cramp dissipated. It was a warning though, not to change the run pattern. There was a large underpass here which had a slightly eerie feeling as it was crowd free and completely silent but for the sound of tired feet. There was no shouts of oggy oggy oggy here and if there was, I wouldn’t be answering. I was starting to tire and was having to work to maintain the pace. The figures on the pace band were starting to blur due to a combination of running ink and failing eyesight. Still though I hit the 30k mat 4 seconds early at 2:07:26

30 – 35k
    Plan: 2:28:45
    Actual: 2:29:02
    5k Split: 21:37

This is the real business part of the race and for the first time I was slowing. I was due to meet Lisa at around 20.5m and that was my focus. Again, I moved to the left side until I spotted her in the crowds and gratefully accepted the next bottle. Excellent crewing on her part. She told me later I wasn’t quite so chirpy as at the first meeting. No surprises there it is a marathon! She also let me knwo later that her tracker on her phone had crashed and she was being fed info from a guy she met on the course. He turned out to be teh coach of Laura Graham, first Irish lady home and winner of last years DCM. He kindly fed her info about me for the rest of the race including sending photos. Think they' re BFF's now!!

It was in this section that the green 3 hr pacer caught me and went through with a group of about 20 I think. I guessed he started about 20 seconds behind me but would probably have banked some time so reckoned if I could hang on to him I might manage to come in under 3 hrs. Plus I couldn’t make out my pace band anymore and it was easier to see a big green flag. It was touch and now. In my stupor I could actually visualise FBOT whatsapping the lads ...’squeaky bum time’. I believe he did too. It was a strange feeling, both my head and everything below waist level legs were drained but the lungs and heart felt fine. As I posted earlier, it was like my fuel tank had punctured and I was losing power. 35k mat was met at 2:29:02 17 seconds late but I had 20 ish the bag from the start.

35 – 40k
    Plan: 2:50:00
    Actual: 2:51:15
    5k Split: 21:20

I tried so hard to stop losing pace and somehow maintain what was now becoming a marathon shuffle. I went to a dark place and it wasn’t pleasant. Ironically there was another dark under pass around here which was so quiet and peaceful I thought if I could just stop here and curl up by one of the concrete columns , all my pain would go away. I was having an internal battle with myself to keep up the effort. I knew the crowds were roaring but found it difficult to hear them. Come on! Dig in. My other marathons were all negative splits. I didn’t want to be just fading away at the end. I stopped the rot a little with a 17 second improvement on the previous 5k when I crossed in 2:51:15, still over a minute outside the plan though.

40 – 42k

Oh but this was tough. I felt like I was getting swallowed up by the whole course. The data from the results though would show that in the last 7.2k, while I was passed by 95 people, I actually passed 159 others. Others were obviously hurting too. It was only from the photos that I noticed that I was running alongside another Cru runner here who passed me. I never saw him and have no idea if he said anything as he passed . Pity I didn’t notice as I could possibly have hung on although unlikely. My focus here was to get to that 385 yard sign I saw yesterday. Then it would be one last right hand turn before the final run up the mall and sanctuary. One or two runners did offer encouragement as they passed me and I strained to keep up. The clock showed 3:01:3X as I approached the line. There’d be 20 seconds or so to come off that . I crossed the line and punched the air. Initial reaction was one of delight. A few years ago, there was a possibility I'd never run a marathon again and I certainly never dreamed I could reach this level, yet here I was finishing a marathon in 3:01:18.

I was a bit wobbly on finishing and the marshals checked with me and encouraged me to keep moving slowly and I soon improved. Collected my bags, met up with Lisa and headed to the pub to meet the others for some well earned beers.

Stats
    Chip Time: 3:01:18
    Place: 2063 5%
    M45: 227 7%