Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

thursday
    5m,8:07 pace

After an enforced rest on Wednesday got some more physio work done on the hamstring Thursday afternoon. After getting a few more needles the results were positive and I was given permission to try a few miles. Headed out about 9pm for my normal 5m loop at what felt like a comfortable pace (turned out it be 8:07) and there wasn't a whisper from the hamstring. Good news. In fact the only issue I had was some stomach cramps but that was from running on a full stomach. At least I'm back in the saddle.

Friday
    5m, 8:37 pace

Friday is normally a rest day for me but as I didn't run Wednesday I ran 5m recovery. It always seems to feel sluggish at recovery pace but I resisted the temptation to pick up the speed.

Saturday
    25m, 8:46 ave

Right from about mile 1, I found most of this this run very tough, both physically and mentally. My route was to the P park via the canal, a bit of meandering in the park and back home the same way. Admittedly I had a headwind wind for the first 6m and a niggly left hip annoying me throughout but I was surprised how hard I found this. Normally I'll tip along at 8:30/8:40 pace on an lsr but much of this was run at 8:45+ and I couldn't summon the energy to go much quicker. It actually felt like running the last 6 of a marathon 4 times over. Evil thoughts even entered my head once or twice about cutting the run short but the heart told the head to 'F off' and I kept going. At least for the return journey, once I 'd left the park i had the wind in my back for 6miles so I was able to pick up the pace ever so slightly.

Not sure as to why I felt as I did. I did have the minor injury during the week which may have played a part although in fact that meant less mileage was run so I should have been more rested. I realise the mileage is near marathon and I was on my own for the duration which should be taken into account but I wasn't great from early on. Anyway, job done, move on. Taper starts...

A tough day at the office. Things perked up though when I sat down for the rugby. What an intense game and what an outcome.:D Nearly shed a tear....

Sunday
    12m, 8:03 ave

What a difference a day makes. After yesterdays confidence shaking run I really didn't know what to expect today. Legs were a bit achy too when I set out but after the first 0.5 mile I really got into a nice rhythm. Plan was to keep the pace 8 - 8:30 depending on how I felt. I was with the wind for the outward journey along the seafront to sutton and expected a slower pace on the return leg. Surprisingly the pace for the 2nd 6, into a stiff breeze was quicker (hovering around 8:0) even though the effort felt the same and I loved it. A good re-ignition of confidence for mind and body.:)

Foul language warning...
    Had strange experience just before I turned in Sutton. Some a$$hole (the size of Devin Toner) was walking towards me when suddenly and very deliberately he stepped across the path in front of me causing me to do an emergency side step. WTF! I then thought just maybe he was crossing the road and didn't see me, being so fcuking tall, but I turned round to see him revert back to his original line of walking on the path. What an absolute d!ckhead. :mad: Of course i had just reached the turning point of my out and back run so I had to run by him again. Anyway a few seconds after I pass him he comes sprinting past me at full speed, cuts me off before vaulting over a hedge into the church grounds.:mad::mad: I look over and see him looking at me from behind his dark glasses with a fcekin' weird look about him.:mad::mad::mad: This guy was no teenager messing but a reasonably well dressed thirtysomething pr!ck. I can only think drugs were involved as it certainly wasn't normal behaviour. Anyway, rant over, I had just had to vent my anger..

Hmmm may'be there is an explanation for my faster pace on the way back into a headwind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Ferris B wrote: »
    Sunday
    12m, 8:03 ave

What a difference a day makes. After yesterdays confidence shaking run I really didn't know what to expect today. Legs were a bit achy too when I set out but after the first 0.5 mile I really got into a nice rhythm. Plan was to keep the pace 8 - 8:30 depending on how I felt. I was with the wind for the outward journey along the seafront to sutton and expected a slower pace on the return leg. Surprisingly the pace for the 2nd 6, into a stiff breeze was quicker (hovering around 8:0) even though the effort felt the same and I loved it. A good re-ignition of confidence for mind and body.:)

Foul language warning...
    Had strange experience just before I turned in Sutton. Some a$$hole (the size of Devin Toner) was walking towards me when suddenly and very deliberately he stepped across the path in front of me causing me to do an emergency side step. WTF! I then thought just maybe he was crossing the road and didn't see me, being so fcuking tall, but I turned round to see him revert back to his original line of walking on the path. What an absolute d!ckhead. :mad: Of course i had just reached the turning point of my out and back run so I had to run by him again. Anyway a few seconds after I pass him he comes sprinting past me at full speed, cuts me off before vaulting over a hedge into the church grounds.:mad::mad: I look over and see him looking at me from behind his dark glasses with a fcekin' weird look about him.:mad::mad::mad: This guy was no teenager messing but a reasonably well dressed thirtysomething pr!ck. I can only think drugs were involved as it certainly wasn't normal behaviour. Anyway, rant over, I had just had to vent my anger..

Hmmm may'be there is an explanation for my faster pace on the way back into a headwind!

Sorry about that Ferris, I was doing some new stride session incorporating hedge steeple chasing and didn't see you with my new shades on :)

TbL

Ah so you're not just a talented runner, you can bilocate too!!

I'm still freaked out by the whole incident. Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I'm more shocked at you doing a 12m run the day after a 25m run

and I'd love to see TbL vaulting over a hedge..........

I'm more shocked at you doing a 12m run the day after a 25m run

Just sticking to the programme.:)

It's the last of the b2b sessions.

Was hoping that FBOT had updated his log so I could just cut 'n paste the last three days as we ran all three together and his spelling is much better than mine. But no, so here's my version.

Tuesday
    10m, Ave 8:16

Med - long run. FBOT was nursing a hamstring and I had a pain in my ass a touch of piriformis syndrome so neither of us were pushing the pace too much. A bit of chat though distracted us from our respective niggles which always helps.

Wednesday
    6m, Ave 8:52

Recovery run that felt quite tough considering the slow pace.

Thursday
    10m w/ 6m tempo, (tempo pace 6:45)

Headed out on our very familiar coastal flat route clontarf - sutton and back. Tempo run was bookended with 2m wu and 2m cd. Tempo pace was to be 6:50 ish but < 7:00. Got blown out to sutton so run was relaxed with plenty of chat. On the return into a reasonable headwind all we managed was a few grunts to each other. Maybe we'd just used up all our words;). Anyway with the lack of chat we obviously concentrated harder as the return 3 miles of the tempo were a steady 6:43, 6:43, 6:43.

A good satisfying run.

Saturday
    20m, Ave 8.34

Headed out pre breakfast for one final lsr out to howth and back. Had the company of FBOT01 for 16 of the miles. The same wind that has been there all week escorted us out along the coast and all felt good in the world. After a summit of howth we hit the coast on the return trip and the wind let us know who was boss. It got cold too but I luckily had a windsheater in my back pack which I was very glad of. FBOT01 was on RD duty in the parkrun so miles 16-18 were spent putting out the direction markers along the parkrun route before I headed for home. Last long run before conn...:eek:

Later that day I allowed myself a few beers at the Inaugural St Annes Run Directors Beer Swilling Brainstorming Evening.

Sunday
    5m, Ave 8.00

Just a paltry 5m to do. I actually double checked the programme to make sure that was all. Tapering is really starting. Managed a steady 8min pace. Lots of thoughts floating around my head about drop bags, pace, what to wear, have I done enough etc etc the usual madness that tapering brings.

Also came across Mick Rices blog. Some good inspirational reading there.

Monday

No running. Spent an hour in the gym trying to stretch my inflexible limbs.

Tuesday
    8m w/6 strides. 8.01 ave.

Ran about 5 miles before starting my customary tues eve hill strides. Not sure whether it was mental or physical but I had no motivation to put any effort into the strides. Had planned to do 8 but gave up after 6 very poor efforts and ran the two miles home.

Wednesday
    5m, 8.35 ave

Early 5m recovery run followed by massage a bit later. She found all those sore bits I didn't know I had.

Thursday
    8m w/ 4 tempo. Ave 7.19

Still feeling a bit unmotivated this week running wise( think it's just taper madness) but at least I managed to hit the numbers. In between 2wu and 2 cd I ran 6:50, 6:59, 6:43, 6:49. Cold wind was back, hat and gloves required. While the mind may not be too motivated at least the body is still in working order. Just hope it stays that way for another 9 days.

Saturday
    10m, 8.11 ave

Another pre breakfast run in the company of FBOT01. A steady 8:20ish pace for 7 before we picked it up for the last 3 to just under 8:00 min pace. My last double digit run before Conn

Sunday

I've a few niggles concerning me and am trying to figure out are they phantom taper pains or proper niggles. My left glute has been annoying me for a few weeks on and off so I was thinking that it wasn't taper related. As a result I took the cautious approach and didn't do the 5m per the programme, thinking I'd benefit more by resting than by running. Felt guilty about though and nearly went out at 10pm sun night as a result.

Monday
    30 mins - treadmill

I was heading to gym anyway for some core/stretching stuff but decided to spend half the time on the treadmill, kind of making up for yesterday and also as reassurance to myself that all is ok. Felt good after, physically and mentally. The glute issue is more annoying when sitting and lying down than running so maybe I need to get off my ass and run more.:)

Got a nice boost of confidence today when picking up some salt tabs in Amphib King. I was told by Gary Crossan (previous conn ultra winner) that I looked lean and ready for sunday. Some might say that was a sales pitch but I'm taking it as a compliment. He did also give some words of advice that I should not get too caught up with times and pace but to go and enjoy it. So maybe that's what I'll try and do...at the right pace of course.;)

Saturday
    10m, 8.11 ave

Another pre breakfast run in the company of FBOT01. A steady 8:20ish pace for 7 before we picked it up for the last 3 to just under 8:00 min pace. My last double digit run before Conn

Sunday

I've a few niggles concerning me and am trying to figure out are they phantom taper pains or proper niggles. My left glute has been annoying me for a few weeks on and off so I was thinking that it wasn't taper related. As a result I took the cautious approach and didn't do the 5m per the programme, thinking I'd benefit more by resting than by running. Felt guilty about though and nearly went out at 10pm sun night as a result.

Monday
    30 mins - treadmill

I was heading to gym anyway for some core/stretching stuff but decided to spend half the time on the treadmill, kind of making up for yesterday and also as reassurance to myself that all is ok. Felt good after, physically and mentally. The glute issue is more annoying when sitting and lying down than running so maybe I need to get off my ass and run more.:)

Got a nice boost of confidence today when picking up some salt tabs in Amphib King. I was told by Gary Crossan (previous conn ultra winner) that I looked lean and ready for sunday. Some might say that was a sales pitch but I'm taking it as a compliment. He did also give some words of advice that I should not get too caught up with times and pace but to go and enjoy it. So maybe that's what I'll try and do...at the right pace of course.;)

I was in just after you, told him I was doing Connemara, he said I looked lean and ready for Sunday. I told him I wasn't in great shape and mightn't finish it as I was using it as a training run, he said I'd be grand that I should have seen the state of the lad that had just left :)

TbL

I was in just after you, told him I was doing Connemara, he said I looked lean and ready for Sunday. I told him I wasn't in great shape and mightn't finish it as I was using it as a training run, he said I'd be grand that I should have seen the state of the lad that had just left :)

TbL

Are you Jimmy Carr in disguise

Tuesday
    5m, 7:48 ave

Took a trip to the physio in the morning for a last look at left hamstring/glute/lowerback and brain. A bit more dry needling to the leg and some psychiatric work on the brain.

Tested out the legs on a 5 mile lunchtime run with FBOT01. Felt great and zipped around at a comfortable sub 8 pace.

While at the physio, I made sure to check that the patient before and after me wasn't my stalking friend...The bitter Lemon. Think I'm in the clear.... Mind you I was face down for a good while with needles stuck in my ass...:eek::eek::eek:

Didn't see TbL during the run either but I'd like to think, like a proper stalker that he was lurking on a boat in the bay with his long range lens.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

While at the physio, I made sure to check that the patient before and after me wasn't my stalking friend...The bitter Lemon. Think I'm in the clear.... Mind you I was face down for a good while with needles stuck in my ass...:eek::eek::eek:

Didn't see TbL during the run either but I'd like to think, like a proper stalker that he was lurking on a boat in the bay with his long range lens.:)

Did you check who they guy sticking the needles in your ass was though?
    TbL is a master of disguise......:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

sub 8 pace.)
    Seen a bit of sandbagin on d race thread....ways d real target ...

ultraman1 wrote: »

Wish I knew.:) I'll tell you on Sunday around Keanes pub..might stop for a scoop... should have an idea by then.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Ultraman, I'm looking at running a book on what the sandbagger actually has in mind for Sunday.....you want to hazard a guess:)

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Ultraman, I'm looking at running a book on what the sandbagger actually has in mind for Sunday.....you want to hazard a guess:)
    Shud be sub 5:30 anyway.....I'd say 3:20 Mara split anyway,based on his training numbers.....off his Donadea 50k time(4:15 I tink),will/shud give him at least 5:20 ..add in couple of toilet stops..5:23. I'll bang in a €5 into d book.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Shud be sub 5:30 anyway.....I'd say 3:20 Mara split anyway,based on his training numbers.....off his Donadea 50k time(4:15 I tink),will/shud give him at least 5:20 ..add in couple of toilet stops..5:23. I'll bang in a €5 into d book.

Your €5 is on but just some inside information...he is part mountain goat;)

Saturday
    10m, 8.11 ave

Sunday

Monday
    30 mins - treadmill

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Did you check who they guy sticking the needles in your ass was though?
    TbL is a master of disguise......:D

If it was me he would have thought the needling was done with a javelin!!

TbL

And there was me about to sit down and work out a plan and you've done it all for me. Thanks. Just hope your plan works.

Thanks. Just hope your plan works.
    It better ...I got 25/1 on it...

Thanks. Just hope your plan works.
    It better ...I got 25/1 on it...

thursday
    5m, 8.27ave

Nice gentle leg loosener in st annes at lunchtime with FBOT with a few easy strides just because yer man was doing them. Quite warm, wouldn't mind a couple degrees cooler come Sunday.

No running planned for tomorrow and just a 2 mile jog due on Saturday after the drive to clifden.

The body is feeling quite good, a few small niggles but nothing serious. I'm really looking forward to the challenge on Sunday. It's a bit like doing a marathon for the first time not really knowing what's coming other than plenty of pain and angst but hopefully a bit of craic along the way.

I have a plan that gets me as far as 26m. After that the approach is to go easy up the hills, try to keep a steady rhythm on the flat and basically hang on for dear life till the top of THOTW. From memory the last mile seems to go on for ever I just hope I'm still upright at that stage.

Ferris B signing out...I'll see you on the flip side...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Best of luck this weekend C!
    Just beware of the downhill leading into Leenane...go too aggressively here and the legs will be at you over the closing 13 miles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Best of luck at the weekend Ferris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Best of luck on Sunday. Really looking forward to reading about it.
    Conn is not just another Marathon, it's a "Marathon with stuff" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

Best of luck this weekend! Your training has been great, especially those back to back runs have been very impressive.

Thanks for the good wishes guys. Am looking forward to those start line feelings.