Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Womans face slashed on OCS

• 11-11-2013 1:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/woman-in-serious-condition-after-she-was-stabbed-in-the-face-29743469.html
    A WOMAN in her 20s was stabbed in the face in O'Connell Street last night.

Witnesses said the victim was singled out in the assault and kicked and beaten to the ground then slashed in the face just after 8pm.
    The woman was rushed to the Mater Hospital where her condition was said to be not life-threatening.

<Sherlock Snip>
    When will we clean up this street? The cities(and countries?) main street! :mad:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

I thought I missed the Ocean Colour Scene gig there for moment.

Deep breaths

• Registered Users Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

According to the Irish Times - the guards have taken back the the thing about the poor girls face being slashed.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/woman-24-hospitalised-after-dublin-assault-1.1590942

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

So was this just a bunch of junkies fighting or what? Either way, awful stuff, we really need to do something to clean up the streets around that area. Sad when people are afraid to walk down the countries main street.

Zascar wrote: »
    So was this just a bunch of junkies fighting or what? Either way, awful stuff, we really need to do something to clean up the streets around that area. Sad when people are afraid to walk down the countries main street.

Considering where it happened I wouldn't be surprised. My brother used to work in the Sony Center there and they had them hanging around all day. A blight on the street and Abbey Street around the corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

I find the various groups of religious lads who set up camp outside the GPO and at the top of Henry Street a lot more irritating then the addicts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

O Connell st has improved a lot in recent years. We are shocked at this, but horrific stuff like this was common 10 years ago. The drug treatment centres need to be moved out of the city. Do thousands of heroin addicts really need to go to town to get treatment? No, they should have the services in their suburb.

I think grafton street has gone down hill. There is a lot of addicts there that you would have never seen before. That's more shocking than o Connell street

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

hfallada wrote: »
    O Connell st has improved a lot in recent years. We are shocked at this, but horrific stuff like this was common 10 years ago. The drug treatment centres need to be moved out of the city. Do thousands of heroin addicts really need to go to town to get treatment? No, they should have the services in their suburb.

I think grafton street has gone down hill. There is a lot of addicts there that you would have never seen before. That's more shocking than o Connell street

I was shocked when they reported it as a stabbing.
    An assault isn't shocking to me there

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

To any politician that doesn't like their job very much, follow this advice.

I'm saying that in a fairly lighthearted manner. I'd like drug rehab facilities to be provided at local clinics around the city too, but any move supporting this would be political suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Considering a lot of addicts live in town then I'd say yes. Also, they have treatment centres in the suburbs as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,309 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I recently watched 'The Purge'....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

Which suburb is that? Should there a clinic at each town centre? I find when people say things like this, they mean places where they do not live.

They had the clinics out in the suburbs about 10 years ago, possibly a bit more. Most build up areas had one, not just the crappy places. The problem was that crime in the areas that had them increased dramatically so they moved the centres to the city instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

The drug treatment centres need to be moved out of the city. Do thousands of heroin addicts really need to go to town to get treatment? No, they should have the services in their suburb.
    Most of them live in the city thus the services are provided in the city.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭Totally Tropical

EyeSight wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/woman-in-serious-condition-after-she-was-stabbed-in-the-face-29743469.html

When will we clean up this street? The cities(and countries?) main street! :mad:

You are coward and a poster with anti Dublin agenda!The O'Connell Street area is very safe!Shure thugs scumbags and junkies running riot on a city's main street is perfectly normal!:D

Sarcasm aside it's time to cut the bull**** and call a spade.We can't keep ignoring this quite enormous elephant in the room.That area is a dangerous kip morning noon and night.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Was it drug addicts that did this? How do you know? Or are you just making a massive sweeping generalisation because - well, fnck it - they are an easy target to blame this on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

O Connell st has improved a lot in receent years

I would strongly disagree with this. I worked on Parnell Street 10 years ago and waited for the bus on O'Connell Street every day and was never hassled once. I recently found myself using that bus stop again daily and the antics happening around there are on a different planet to anything I've seen before. Seriously aggressive begging and a constant game of cat and mouse going on with the Gards. Miles worse than it used to be.

It's plain as day to me who the main guy is and he has several runners dealing drugs quite blatantly while he hangs around the same spot. It's amazing to me that they can't shut his operation down.

Uaru wrote: »
    I would strongly disagree with this. I worked on Parnell Street 10 years ago and waited for the bus on O'Connell Street every day and was never hassled once. I recently found myself using that bus stop again daily and the antics happening around there are on a different planet to anything I've seen before. Seriously aggressive begging and a constant game of cat and mouse going on with the Gards. Miles worse than it used to be.

It's plain as day to me who the main guy is and he has several runners dealing drugs quite blatantly while he hangs around the same spot. It's amazing to me that they can't shut his operation down.

That might have had something to do with the economy being far healthier back then in fairness,less people resorting to begging etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

That might have had something to do with the economy being far healthier back then in fairness,less people resorting to begging etc.

Yeah I'm sure all those salt-of-the-earth junkies were working 9-5 back in the day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

a massive sweeping generalisation

The chances of a particular group of people having a row at that particular spot at that particular time being junkies are probably about 98%. You don't even live in Dublin if memory serves.
    as two groups of people became embroiled in a "loud row" at the junction of O'Connell Street and Sackville Place,

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Uaru wrote: »

I think I know who you mean, he often has a child in a buggy with him. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭DuckHook

Was it drug addicts that did this? How do you know? Or are you just making a massive sweeping generalisation because - well, fnck it - they are an easy target to blame this on?

An easy target to blame for crime levels in the areas they congregate in because it's a fact. Obviously in your opinion they are some misunderstood subculture and need extra vital services and tax money allocated to help their plight?

I for one am sick to the back teeth of having to walk around zombie like creatures in the city centre that give not one **** for the help they get or the city around them.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭Totally Tropical

I suppose drug addicts are an easy target because when a heroin addict is desperate for a fix then they will do anything to get the money to pay for it.When you are a drug addict you turn to things like crime to pay for your habbit and drug addicts would be responsible for quite a substantial proportion of crime in Dublin city centre and also in more recent years Cork and Limerick.So it's understandable if drug addicts are as you put it an easy target for the blame.If the cap fits wear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

With all due respects I think you're way out of touch with the conditions in Dublin city center these days.

From the junction of North Earl Street/Henry St (GPO) to O'Connell Bridge is a cesspit of junkies, dealers, beggars, pickpockets/snatchers inter mingling with tourists and locals a like.. The place is crawling with filth.

Yeah I'm sure all those salt-of-the-earth junkies were working 9-5 back in the day.

I was thinking more of things like less demand on services addicts use/more well resourced services because the country wasn't broke yet.Less homeless folk in general, and fewer people being housed in B+B's in the inner city also.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

I've lived in the Bronx, hung out in Brixton, been in the wrong parts of Paris, Berlin, Rome and Istanbul.

Only place I've ever been jumped is O'Connell Street.

The area is a kip, and until we admit this and pressure the politicos, nothing will get done.

Enough of this "Ah sure every city has its rough areas"!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

sabat wrote: »
    The chances of a particular group of people having a row at that particular spot at that particular time being junkies are probably about 98%. You don't even live in Dublin if memory serves.
    You are right - I live in Switzerland now. But I've worked & socialised in Dublin for over 25 years. I know exactly what its like.
    DuckHook wrote: »
    An easy target to blame for crime levels in the areas they congregate in because it's a fact. Obviously in your opinion they are some misunderstood subculture and need extra vital services and tax money allocated to help their plight?
    I'm not some bleeding-heart liberal - far from it. But there are plenty of scumbags up to no good in that area. You don't need to take drugs to be a prick & kick the shit out of a girl.
    With all due respects I think you're way out of touch with the conditions in Dublin city center these days.

From the junction of North Earl Street/Henry St (GPO) to O'Connell Bridge is a cesspit of junkies, dealers, beggars, pickpockets/snatchers inter mingling with tourists and locals a like.. The place is crawling with filth.
    I'm not out of touch. I agree - 'cesspit' is a great description. And I think you've proved my point - it is not just drug addicts causing the problem, it is also "dealers, beggars, pickpockets/snatchers".
    And with all due respect also, but you've changed your tune. If memory serves me correct it was not too long ago that you were calling people out over gross generalisations about drug addicts in the area.

@All: Don't get me wrong - I think that O'Connell Street is in dire need of cleaning up. But it is not just the junkies that are the problem. There are all manner & class of assholes that have dragged the area down to the state that it is currently in. I just thought it unfair to blame the whole sorry lot on one particular group & especially finger-point at them for this specific incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Maysa07

markesmith wrote: »
    I've lived in the Bronx, hung out in Brixton, been in the wrong parts of Paris, Berlin, Rome and Istanbul.

Only place I've ever been jumped is O'Connell Street.

The area is a kip, and until we admit this and pressure the politicos, nothing will get done.

Enough of this "Ah sure every city has its rough areas"!

100% agree. I was in O'Connell street a few weeks back with my wife and 6 yo.We where heading for Clerys but was closed so decided to walk up towards parnell street. We then saw one guy resisting arrest shouting all sorts of names at two female garda trying to put handcuffs on him while the rest of his scumbags mate looked on. It wasn't a pleasant experience for my daughter to witness. Can't help but feel on edge when in that area, Dublin City is a kip.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Addictstown

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Ideally your treatment should be in your area , but the vast amount of services provided for people in addiction are in the city.

Think of the broader picture , an addict just doesnt need his drug treatment ... if he's homeless his hostel is in the city along with his methadone clinic aswell as needle exchanges.His psychiatric care is in the city too along with specialised medical and dental care and respite services.

This is all without thinking about drop in centres , food services and a myriad of other services including counselling drug CE schemes etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Most of them live in the city thus the services are provided in the city.

Not so sure about that, at least a Dublin Bus driver before told me that the 78a route is nicknamed 'The Junkie Express' because it serves areas with chronic heroine problems and ferries them into town every morning to get their methadone fix. That was a few years ago now but the way he told it was that a majority of people on the bus were junkies travelling on a free travel pass. He said they were grand in the mornings, all polite and everything but pure grief going back home in the evenings.

Anyway regardless of where they lived city centre methadone clinics are not a good idea. I work right beside the Pearse St one and in the last 6 months alone have witnessed several on street brawls.. One fight happened right in front of a bus load of 50 tourists who were waiting to get their bags and check into the Trinity Capital Hotel. Junkies were knocking lumps out of each other right there on the pavement whilst tourists scrambled back onto the bus and into the hotel for safety. The fact that all this occurred less than 30 metres from Pearse St Garda station showed me that they really couldn't give a toss. 50 tourists all gone back home telling their friends and family that Dublin is a dangerous place and that the fighting Irish stereotype is true. I felt embarrassed to be a local that day, the authorities really need to get a grip on this problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

mattjack wrote: »
    Ideally your treatment should be in your area , but the vast amount of services provided for people in addiction are in the city.

Think of the broader picture , an addict just doesnt need his drug treatment ... if he's homeless his hostel is in the city along with his methadone clinic aswell as needle exchanges.His psychiatric care is in the city too along with specialised medical and dental care and respite services.

This is all without thinking about drop in centres , food services and a myriad of other services including counselling drug CE schemes etc..

I see your point. But they can be located in the outskirts of the city. Not the main street! They all get free travel for them(and a friend :confused: ). Why not at least spread them out in the city so that there wouldn't be much of a concentration? God forbid they need to walk there. *Not an attack on your post but the planners*

I wouldn't mind the treatment centers as much if there was a zero tolerance attitude to crime by the police in the area. Right now it's 99% tolerance...

I am including the scumbags who aren't junkies and see this lawless place as a hang out zone