Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - 2013/14 Mod warning post #718

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,661 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Good to have Mikey back

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Have you not been around the last few years. We have been riddled with injuries long before Moyes came. I think the backroom staff should be looked at really.

I was talking about a specific type of injury in relation to a specific grievence which has been aired in recent times.

You are speaking in general terms.

I would be very surprised if our injury record as a club as a whole is any worse than any other top club. Maybe you could pull out a few facts that say otherwise?

In terms of players being unavailable due to injury/illness, there are a couple of persistant ones alright but I'm not sure the staff can be blamed, Rio and Vidic are suffering from a combination of old age, their build style of play and miles on the clock, Anderson has a bad knee and Fletcher has a chronic illness, maybe these are clouding your opinion but I wouldn't say these in particular are reason to criticize the staff.

Edit:The fact 2 pf these players consistantly unavailable are in our weakest area of the pitch is bound to cloud judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭paulbok

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Have you not been around the last few years. We have been riddled with injuries long before Moyes came. I think the backroom staff should be looked at really.

Giggs will have to start giving yoga lessons.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

• Registered Users Posts: 33,756 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Man Utd shares fell a bit in the past week, from near $17 to currently $15.26, I decided to buy a few shares since the fall, I know I have no rights given the Glazers own most of the club, but I feel I can now truly say 'my club', I feel confident about the club so decided why not...waits for shares to tank...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

RobertKK wrote: »
    Man Utd shares fell a bit in the past week, from near $17 to currently $15.26, I decided to buy a few shares since the fall, I know I have no rights given the Glazers own most of the club, but I feel I can now truly say 'my club', I feel confident about the club so decided why not...waits for shares to tank...

Are you a billionaire? Ill take Messi and Ronaldo please :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Is anyone keeping track of a "United transfer rumour" list? We had one floating around during the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

MD1990 wrote: »

Smell of failure off this attempt

Are you a billionaire? Ill take Messi and Ronaldo please :P

Working hard on it, will have to wait both, will ask for these transfers at AGM if anyone is willing to sponsor my attendance....not quite the billionaire yet :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Working hard on it, will have to wait both, will ask for these transfers at AGM if anyone is willing to sponsor my attendance....not quite the billionaire yet :P

Not good enough RobertKK out, Board out, Glazers out, everyone out!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Raymond Verheijen is very knowledgeable tho. Bellamy did hire him as a personal trainer during the time he had a great spell at city without injuries. He is very patronizing tbf which puts alot of people of. His knowledge of fitness for football is very good. If you read Bellamys book he trusts his knowledge and it worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Go to his twitter page.

He writes like a 10yo spolit kid who hates certain clubs and people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

wadacrack wrote: »
    Raymond Verheijen is very knowledgeable tho. Bellamy did hire him as a personal trainer during the time he had a great spell at city without injuries. He is very patronizing tbf which puts alot of people of. His knowledge of fitness for football is very good. If you read Bellamys book he trusts his knowledge and it worked

Your love of Ray is well documented at this stage (though I don't think you ever answered the question as to how you became so infatuated with him in the first place)

He is not the only fitness coach in football, he is not the only one with theories and ideas. He is hardly a prophet who is always correct and must be followed. All players are slightly different, in terms of optimum performance they should all have specific features of their fitness regime.

Bellamy uses him? Great! How come Giggs doesn't though? Does Giggs not using his methods mean that his methods don't work? No, does Bellamy using them mean that he is always right? No. Should every player in the sport use whatever fitness specialist Giggs uses? No.

There are plenty of fitness coaches in the sport, United have had injury problems for a long time now, recurring ones, every season with strains and muscle injuries. It is hardly possible to blame Moyes for the defensive injury crisis that was a common occurrence every year is it?

Players like RVP who have long histories of injury problems would already have personal fitness guys who have tailored their programme to suit them.

The fact that the guy comes across so badly doesn't help his cause either. That you do acknowledge at least

The Prophet Verheijen who was visited by the fitness angel
    Dumb dumb dumb dumb dumb
    found the stones and golden plates theory of fitness
    Dumb dumb dumb dumb dumb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭fish fingers

Headshot wrote: »
    The Prophet Verheijen who was visited by the fitness angel
    Dumb dumb dumb dumb dumb
    found the stones and golden plates theory of fitness
    Dumb dumb dumb dumb dumb

Headshot smart smart smart.

Not good enough RobertKK out, Board out, Glazers out, everyone out!!!!

Wait, I am applying for a bank loan to buy the club, damn Anglo had to go broke... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Wait, I am applying for a bank loan to buy the club, damn Anglo had to go broke... :P

speaking of buying clubs....

a couple of years back, i set the wheels in motion to look into the possibility of running a non league club in england, with the backing of a few lads on here and other places financially.

the club was recommended to me by two business men in the locality and when it came to actually talking about money, the club didnt want to know. sadly, they went bust a few weeks later and i gave up on the idea.

would be something interesting to do, perhaps in ireland though.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,501 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Welbeck questioning Moyes calls for extra training. Interesting
    Danny Welbeck has denied David Moyes's claims that he needs to do extra training sessions at Manchester United.

Moyes saying he spoke to Welbeck around a month ago, informing him he should follow the example of Wayne Rooney, who stays on for extra finishing practice at United's Carrington training base.

But Welbeck said: "I have been doing that ever since I have been at United. Obviously I have been injured this season so maybe the manager has not seen me on the training pitch as much. Maybe, I haven't seen what he has said. Obviously, at Manchester United, I want to be working hard and I have been doing that ever since I was a young kid. I just want to keep on getting better and improving. Those extra hours on the training pitch, whether it be with the boys or individually, I am just looking to improve.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/dec/20/manchester-united-danny-welbeck-extra-training

Edit: On re-reading the article I realise its an over dramatic title

Ebbsfleet United remember them?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,501 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

a couple of years back, i set the wheels in motion to look into the possibility of running a non league club in england, with the backing of a few lads on here and other places financially.

the club was recommended to me by two business men in the locality and when it came to actually talking about money, the club didnt want to know. sadly, they went bust a few weeks later and i gave up on the idea.

If you ever need a chief exec to jet around the world and look after the transfer dealings I'm your man.

Ebbsfleet United remember them?

once you let a bunch of people on the internet have control of the team, you are on a hiding to nothing. them lads made a great concept, absolutely awful.

they are still around though and not doing too bad and Liam Daish is their manager still id say.

ah feck it anyway, im not going to that one...sold my tickets for it :(

I always thought that if I won the Euromillions or something I'd invest in the local soccer club and see how far we could go.

Would you have been in singing section?

Always liked the idea. When Ireland started doing it in Croker it made atmosphere much better even for couple of the ordinary games.

ericzeking wrote: »
    I always thought that if I won the Euromillions or something I'd invest in the local soccer club and see how far we could go.

I would buy Cork City and invest in United and Hibs.

It would be 1 of my dreams.

Its on tonight ya never know:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Plastic?

I would buy Cork City and invest in United and Hibs.

It would be 1 of my dreams.

Its on tonight ya never know:P

I was thinking more the local district league junior team, bringing them up to LoI and on to Europe would be a right bit of craic!!

That now and a few racehorses...people say you'd have to work to pass the time even if you won big money, you would in your eye!!

The Dream, ha!

I was thinking more the local district league junior team, bringing them up to LoI and on to Europe would be a right bit of craic!!

That now and a few racehorses...people say you'd have to work to pass the time even if you won big money, you would in your eye!!

The Dream, ha!

Ya thats another. Love to have a few horse win at Cheltenham.

Maybe even buy a Golf course.

We can dream:)

Sold em to a non-singing, day tripping, tourist with a big bag of merchandise at the game no doubt!!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The Dream, ha!

That's the thing, you'd have to 'work', only it's not work if you enjoy it. Working on your football club that you bought for shits and giggles is a long, long way from sitting in an office bored to tears every day.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Sold em to a non-singing, day tripping, tourist with a big bag of merchandise at the game no doubt!!! :cool:

this sort of stuff annoys me :mad:

everyone starts somewhere when they support a team.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

Agueroooo wrote: »

with a name like that i think your in the wrong thread :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

magnumbud wrote: »

Wait until you figure out who he actually supports! It's a mind mess, I tell ya.

Flew straight over your head buddy...........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

magnumbud wrote: »

You would be even more surprised.

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Wait until you figure out who he actually supports! It's a mind mess, I tell ya.
    RasTa wrote: »
    You would be even more surprised.

Its not really that bizarre and I have explained it already :confused:

My sarcasm detector seems to be faulty and I seemed to have taken up the post wrong, so I am guessing the OP feels the same as myself when it comes to other fans slagging off so called 'day trippers' etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Nani out for a few weeks as his hamstring injury is worse than feared.

Some good news is that Inter have said that they could be willing to sell us Mateo Kovacic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

zerks wrote: »
    Nani out for a few weeks as his hamstring injury is worse than feared.

Some good news is that Inter have said that they could be willing to sell us Mateo Kovacic.

Italian manager, Giovanni Trapattoni, described him as "a mixture of Kaká and Clarence Seedorf", because of his style of play and technical characteristics
    His compatriot, Zvonimir Boban, who played for Milan for over a decade, in an interview with Sky Italia said, "He has talents that could make him even better than me, he is an incredibly serious professional for someone his age. Kovačić is a complete player. He is not a born regista but he is playing there now. He is a complete talent that can still grow — he has incredible potential."

Nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

My sarcasm detector seems to be faulty and I seemed to have taken up the post wrong, so I am guessing the OP feels the same as myself when it comes to other fans slagging off so called 'day trippers' etc

What's the reasoning then?

RasTa wrote: »
    What's the reasoning then?

His real name?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Yeah, I'm gonna change my User Name to MThomas89 some day.

Just what we need,a midfielder who can actually carry the ball instead of standing still waiting for it & then offloading it as if the thing was on fire.

I remember telling my Liverpool supporting mates about him when he was still playing in Spain before he was even linked with an EPL club.......the answer I got was,"never heard of him".

Has he been linked with us?

Yep,I'll try to find the link. (if my keyboard doesn't fall to bits,the little one tried to redesign it for me :o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Inter... This better not be the new Sneijder.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

zerks wrote: »

Just what we need,a midfielder who can actually carry the ball instead of standing still waiting for it & then offloading it as if the thing was on fire.

Reminds me of a young Anderson. What a waste of immense talent.