Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

dgt wrote: »
    Woke up to find half a tooth missing. I'm so distraught thats happened, I hope the dentist can do something :(:(:(

Drunken barfight? I've been that soldier :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Drunken barfight? I've been that soldier :P

As in I went to bed with my teeth intact and when I woke up it was missing :(

OSI wrote: »
    Must be a grinder.

Can't be as I usually wake up in drool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Lol @ stalling bosses keyless e90 320d on a hill took me 5 minutes to start the feckin thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

dgt wrote: »
    Woke up to find half a tooth missing. I'm so distraught thats happened, I hope the dentist can do something :(:(:(

did the very same last year. Went to dentist and was going to pay 700 for root canal but my tooth was too far gone, had to get it removed, my first and only tooth missing

was grinding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Fuel level: Student

97541ACDC0E5410C8928DB2D6E081521-0000363222-0003437380-01024L-429EABC56CB94AB89A516359794E5086.jpg

THat still has to make it to a petrol station :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

Stick a tenner in her, she'll be grand. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Your not low and student level until your stealing Kerosene from the tank and mixing it with two stroke. Then bleeding injectors because you had so little in it!

Trust me :o

pajor wrote: »
    Stick a tenner in her, she'll be grand. :pac:

LOL. I'll fill it on friday (I have no more driving to do until then) It's only a small tank, about 45l so it'll probably be about 65 quid.

YbFocus wrote: »
    Your not low and student level until your stealing Kerosene from the tank and mixing it with two stroke. Then bleeding injectors because you had so little in it!

Sounds like the voice of experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I don't have to worry about the light coming on in the focus as it will break down well before that :pac: It's the last thing that's wrong with it and I'm not that bothered to fix it. I assume it's just a crack in the fuel sender so it's sucking in air when it gets low. I just fill it when it gets to 1/4 of a tank and never have any problem. My dad drove from cork to clonmel on the light this year a good 100km plus.

YbFocus wrote: »

Well I don't drive a Durrrty oil burner so that's not an option for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

pajor wrote: »
    Sounds like the voice of experience.

Back in the old student days just trying to get down and back! Not much better now but the car wouldn't accept Kerosene like my passat did :)

did the very same last year. Went to dentist and was going to pay 700 for root canal but my tooth was too far gone, had to get it removed, my first and only tooth missing

was grinding

Cheers, I have a few root canals anyway and a tooth missing. I hope this one can have something put into it.

Now reduced to eating all soft food till Monday! :(

LOL. I'll fill it on friday (I have no more driving to do until then) It's only a small tank, about 45l so it'll probably be about 65 quid.

That is well above "expert level" which is -below the E, so that when you start the car the needle doesn't move!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,499 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

colm_mcm wrote: »

Three cylinder turbo?
    Lol... is it for a lawnmower :P I can just see someone cutting the lawn and saying "vtec just kicked in yo"

The 280hp one is the one that got my attention.

They just have to put them in cars that people want now. IMO They've lost their way styling wise, Newest Accord isn't a patch on the previous one for example.

The 1.0 might be a little gem in a micro hot hatch (a fast twingo competitor) :cool::cool:

A 1.0 turbo would be a good replacement for the 1.4 petrol in the Civic.

I was thinking that the 1.0 is probably a middle finger to Ford and their EcoBoost. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Got a text from fella I bought car from saying I was clocked speeding after I bought the car last week, he asked me if I could pass on my details, anyone here know what happens and if they can put points on my licence or not. Wouldn't be the end of the world if I had to pay a fine but I don't want points. Have 4 with two going off next September.

Dave147 wrote: »
    Got a text from fella I bought car from saying I was clocked speeding after I bought the car last week, he asked me if I could pass on my details, anyone here know what happens and if they can put points on my licence or not. Wouldn't be the end of the world if I had to pay a fine but I don't want points. Have 4 with two going off next September.

I'd be hesitant to give details to anyone like that
    He has your number, surely he could just supply that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Well it seems you earned them..........

Could be from 2 months ago!

Lads, do yourselves a favor and google search "buy felt spec number plates"

Look what the first result is :D:D:D:D:D

Here's a screengrab

http://searchengineland.com/google-now-personalizes-everyones-search-results-31195
    Lads, do yourselves a favor and google search "buy felt spec number plates"

Look what the first result is :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Here's a screengrab

Near 16k unread mails!?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Well it seems you earned them..........

Really...? You're one of those?

Wow, did not know that. Ya learn something new every day!
    Big Nasty wrote: »
    Near 16k unread mails!?! :eek:

Mostly spam!

Mostley spam!

Mostly boards notifications I would say! ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Mostly boards notifications I would say! ;)

Says the man with 10 times my posts!
    But yeah, there is a (spam) email for that!

The listing is actually in German (even though the URL is .nl)
    It is unpainted (don't know if that is good or bad news!)

Bah :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

97541ACDC0E5410C8928DB2D6E081521-0000363222-0003437380-01024L-429EABC56CB94AB89A516359794E5086.jpg

Take a few litres out of some car that's parked up for a while! :pac:

Scortho wrote: »
    Take a few litres out of some car that's parked up for a while! :pac:

Hahahaha

Especially if it's a silver almera with no fuel cap lock :p

Says the man with 10 times my posts!
    But yeah, there is a (spam) email for that!
    ,oo

Yeah, bit you're a re-reg. ;)

Used to get cq. 1,000 email notifications from boards a week until I turned it off. :eek: ;)

mazdas-folding-suitcase-car-photo-gallery-57203-7.jpg

I remember seeing that on a Tomorrow's World about 25 years ago :D

I only remember two things from that show - that car and some new system in a Bluebird that Nissan were gonna put in their cars that had a speaker under the seat that was supposed to put out a noise that would cancel out the noise the car made. Some sort of acoustic noise cancelling stuff. Don't think they ever did anything with it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I only remember two things from that show - that car and some new system in a Bluebird that Nissan were gonna put in their cars that had a speaker under the seat that was supposed to put out a noise that would cancel out the noise the car made. Some sort of acoustic noise cancelling stuff. Don't think they ever did anything with it :D

We're not all old fogies. :pac::pac:

What's the car?

Mazda Samsonite

9ljc.jpg

I just thought I'd throw up the image and see if people remembered it. I love it. I remember they had a experimental Volvo from about 1981 that could do over 90mpg on diesel or something like that. I also remember the folding Renault small car, how Renault were using a Jeep Cherokee to make a video in which they could green screen in a 4x4 they were working on to see what it would look like in the real world and finally infared headlights that allowed you to see people in the dark (I think Merc use these now). I also remember them showing an early sat nav in a Renault 25 being used in Paris.

Sadly no show like it now

I give you, The Renault Zoom

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renault_Zoom

Renault_Zoom_lang_1992.JPG

Now that I think of it, I think they had an electric Renault 5 too or was it a Fiat Uno?

Look what I found, Tomorrows World mobile phones from 1979

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vix6TMnj9vY

Self parking VW from 1990. We've come a long way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tVQsVkYbpuw

Even better, I've found BEYOND 2000.

From 1993 an early form of Sat Nav, start at around 6:30

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCGmxk3H44g

A feature on the Vector, America's fighter jet inspired super car

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AUJqy5qorw

Got to 6:50 for a look at the Buick WILDCAT which reckons by 1995 car doors will be a thing of the past

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDmcO_dofZg

It was actually beyond 2000 I was thinking of all along.