Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I drove to the pub last nite for a skip of pints and got a taxi home. I decided to do the 15 minute walk now to take it home and guess what the battery was stone dead.

I have jump leads but they only started to melt when I tried jumping it, I think this is a good omen to go in a soak up that lovely open fire and fcuk the car...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Truckermal wrote: »
    I drove to the pub last nite for a skip of pints and got a taxi home. I decided to do the 15 minute walk now to take it home and guess what the battery was stone dead.

I have jump leads but they only started to melt when I tried jumping it, I think this is a good omen to go in a soak up that lovely open fire and fcuk the car...:cool:

It's bloody cold out. I'm home an hour. The wipers froze solid when I tried to clear the windscreeen with washer fluid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

ba_barabus wrote: »
    It's bloody cold out. I'm home an hour. The wipers froze solid when I tried to clear the windscreeen with washer fluid

Tea. Fire. Armchair. :pac:

Feck going outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I've to go out in a few mins and take a rack assembly, subframe and loom out from a 156, then grind in 2 more valves.

You're all wimps :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

dgt wrote: »
    I've to go out in a few mins and take a rack assembly, subframe and loom out from a 156, then grind in 2 more valves.

You're all wimps :pac:

No your just ****ing mad :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Ive work at 6am in the morning, gonna be a fun one in the BM!

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Tea. Fire. Armchair. :pac:
    All just done.

Bottle of red wine has also been arranged for later :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

It's on days like these I miss the heated screen my focus had they are the business!! Messing with pots of water some balls and it froze again when got back out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Why do the cars I want, cost so little. I'll actually have to live like a student for the next few weeks!:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Gavman84 wrote: »
    It's on days like these I miss the heated screen my focus had they are the business!! Messing with pots of water some balls and it froze again when got back out..

That heated front screen is dead handy went to town about 2 hours ago car all frosted up flick on the heated screen wait a few seconds and off you go. Its probably the best feature that ford ever came up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Yea heated screens heh heh

(Glares at blank button)

Scortho wrote: »
    Why do the cars I want, cost so little. I'll actually have to live like a student for the next few weeks!:(

The cheaper the better :D:D:D

Some pictures of today's incident
    image_zps50117703.jpg

image_zpsb912cdd9.jpg
    I don't think a patch will work :pac:
    image_zpsbf68738f.jpg
    Lucky we had the spare steelies
    image_zpsdc65cf1b.jpg

Still doesn't seem to take much to make sh!t of the sidewalls.

Yea heated screens heh heh

(Glares at blank button)

Almost as bad as the pussy city button on mk2 Puntos :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Did she hit a kerb or something ?

Double sidewall failure is extremely rare

Did she hit a kerb or something ?

Double sidewall failure is extremely rare

Yep she seem to have hit the kind of edge of a kerb which just jots out on the road and both the tyres were damaged. Luckily she was going slow and didn't do any damage to the cars only really the tyres. We were getting new tyre for it anyway although the turanzas on the front was good. But being down one tyre isn't to bad. And then off course whoever last put on the nuts over tightened them all so struggled but eventually got them all of. She was lucky I was home from college as it was the first time I was back from college so early and my dad is working up the country. Got it sorted anyway. She did get a slight shock alright both tyres going instantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well, looks like I will have to go to my buddy mechanic tomorrow. First Issue ( I dont really count break pad rattle be a big issue :pac: ) appeared after year of ownership - Power steering very twitchy and hard to move when it is cold and car not moving. No effects while driving and it gets better when car warms up.
    Looks like need to check Steering fluid or belt might be a bit lose. Damn, I just hope its not something big. I dont drive too much lately, so I cant even put my finger when that started. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Best selling point ever- "it was originally owned by a German" :D:D:D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-318-touring/5622416

cantdecide wrote: »
    Best selling point ever- "it was originally owned by a German" :D:D:D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-318-touring/5622416

So the owner was good at doing Porn, hows that a good point with a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

So the owner was good at doing Porn, hows that a good point with a car?

Safety due to extra sticky seats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Enough room to fit a Tridog in the back... Creepy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Well, looks like I will have to go to my buddy mechanic tomorrow. First Issue ( I dont really count break pad rattle be a big issue :pac: ) appeared after year of ownership - Power steering very twitchy and hard to move when it is cold and car not moving. No effects while driving and it gets better when car warms up.
    Looks like need to check Steering fluid or belt might be a bit lose. Damn, I just hope its not something big. I dont drive too much lately, so I cant even put my finger when that started. :(

My car has this too. Steering can be intermittently heavy when the car is cold. Definitely not the belt slipping on mine though and the fluid has been changed recently.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    My car has this too. Steering can be intermittently heavy when the car is cold. Definitely not the belt slipping on mine though and the fluid has been changed recently.

It does make a belt squicking Noise though. Already called buddy and he will have a look. Hopefully nothing too serious.

Belts can get squeaky when they're cold, mine did... Then it snapped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

No I have no noise, just heavy steering :P

-2 outside.... Que the differs on the main crossroads going ape :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

dgt wrote: »
    -2 outside.... Que the differs on the main crossroads going ape :pac::pac::pac:

If the junction's wide, let her slide. ;)

So got my Scooby look at it was a belt. My buddy sow it in seconds. Local motor factors had in stock too, which is shocking. There were almost two belts when we took it out. Looks like o got to him in time.

So 20eu damage and my baby is grand again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

my baby is grand again.

*Obligatory spoiler joke*

Totes LOL!

Nobody puts baby in the scrapyard

In other news I test drove a high mileage Volvo. It was every bit as clean and well cared for as described. Sadly it went into limp home mode on test drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

In other news I test drove a high mileage Volvo. It was every bit as clean and well cared for as described. Sadly it went into limp home mode on test drive.

That the 2.4 (?) auto that was on here somewhere recently?

*Obligatory spoiler joke*

Totes LOL!

Some Paddies never change! :pac:

pajor wrote: »
    That the 2.4 (?) auto that was on here somewhere recently?

Yep. Engine light came on and no power. Was nice up until then

Where it became a big Swedish pile of meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,499 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You're the automotive grim reaper.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You're the automotive grim reaper.

I've just parked on a NO PARKING CONE.

Literally everything I touch falls to pieces of late. I found myself test driving a 2010 Avensis 1.6 petrol after the Volvo.

The Vectra however seems to be immune to my effects and just keep running better and better.

Rarer than a M5? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Drool, that is all.

Ultimate Q car. Slightly less power than an m5 but still a v8 and none of the m5 garish branding.

Nice yoke but jaysus, you could buy an M5 for that money.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Nice yoke but jaysus, you could buy an M5 for that money.

No doubt you could. I'm just liking the exclusivity and that's it a V8 with a manual box.

The manual is a huge plus, there should always be a manual option.

Cleveland, buy it!
    See if they'll take the 535 or it, they're worth more outside of our mental country. :D

CianRyan wrote: »
    The manual is a huge plus, there should always be a manual option.

Cleveland, buy it!
    See if they'll take the 535 or it, they're worth more outside of our mental country. :D

Arah no, feckin manual. I have one manual and that's enough!
    I do want to sell the 535d to the UK though.

Arah no, feckin manual. I have one manual and that's enough!
    I do want to sell the 535d to the UK though.

Your 535 an auto?

OSI wrote: »
    535d only came in auto. Didn't trust mere mortals not to fry the clutch with all that torque :p

Understandable. :pac:

Your 535 an auto?

More torque than an e60 m5, don't you know :P

Seriously, BMW said they couldn't fit a manual 'box to handle all the torque. Although I have heard of manual 530ds being remapped up to and past the 535d torque figures with no issue.

More torque than an e60 m5, don't you know :P

Seriously, BMW said they couldn't fit a manual 'box to handle all the torque. Although I have heard of manual 530ds being remapped up to and past the 535d torque figures with no issue.

Sounds like sucking up to the yanky doodle market to me. :P

In a daysul? Them yanks prefer their 88 octane version of petril shur!

Quick question. Does this sound normal ? It was cold this morning 0 degree c. So I went in to town came home 10km each way. Car warmed up as usual temperature gauge sat just under 90 as they do on all focuses. But when I got home I knew I had to bring my mother back into town in a few minutes so I left the car running outside with the hot air heater blowing on 2. Came back out 10-15 mins later temperature outside was still 0 degree.

Got into car it was warm and all that but I looked at the temperature guage and it read approx 70 degree c. Is that normal that it would drop. I always assume that once a car got upto operating temperature it would stay at it. When I started driving it it quickly returned to the usual operating temp.

In a daysul? Them yanks prefer their 88 octane version of petril shur!

Neverrr mind.. I'm just confusing myself. There's too many variations to the E60 all together. :P