Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

To afford tax on a 2.4 you would need to be getting classic insurance and maybe converting a 300zx to commercial to make it affordable

Comfortwagon alfa diesel and a pure japanese 90's top tier sportscar

The 2.3 bucket its in isnt that much! Also the car is dirt cheap. Not sure on the Classic tax.. that clearly isn't going to happen on a 2.4JTD 156? But its not in any sort of extreme insurance band or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Matt Simis wrote: »
    The 2.3 bucket its in isnt that much! Also the car is dirt cheap. Not sure on the Classic tax.. that clearly isn't going to happen on a 2.4JTD 156? But its not in any sort of extreme insurance band or anything.

Classic for the old Japanese cars, I presumed. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

coolisin wrote: »
    Black 02 5 series was trying to make out the reg, but the fog lights were blinding me!!

Wasn't me but I'm not too far from there at all. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Can anyone suggest a good set of wipers? Need to get a new set for the front of the Yaris for the Winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Matt Simis wrote: »

Meant more along the lines of classic insurance on the 300 as you don't get to use your no claims bonus on a 2nd car and convert to commercial to kill the 1800 quid tax (lol the look on peoples faces as you pull into a doe centre) so the main cost would be the tax on the alfa really.

Tempting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Can anyone suggest a good set of wipers? Need to get a new set for the front of the Yaris for the Winter.

I have Bosch aero twins and find them good. I also heard trico are supposed to be good but I've never actually used them myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I like Trico, they're good.

Right, anyone want to guess my new temporary wheels? It has an engine design older than most people here...

Mycroft H wrote: »

Right, anyone want to guess my new temporary wheels? It has an engine design older than most people here...

Merc diesel?

CianRyan wrote: »
    Merc diesel?

Nope! Right continent though.

Well that's some help. :p

You driving a Lada? :pac:

Well that's some help. :p

You driving a Lada? :pac:

hahaha, go west! Hmmm. I could give another clue :pac:

It's not french!

hahaha, go west! Hmmm. I could give another clue :pac:

West? Ah here, I'm no good at eastern block stuff. Haha
    Alfasud?
    Edit: thought they were done in Poland, wiki says no...

Double edit... Just realised what an utter fail that was. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Alfa 6. :pac:

West? Ah here, I'm no good at eastern block stuff. Haha
    Alfasud?

Alfasud? I need it to actually start in the morning :P

Okay okay. Old engine design, modern car. Not french. Or german. Or Italian.

Has to be a Seat?
    Toledo?

OSI wrote: »
    Rover 75?

Close. Right country. Not a rover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Close. Right country. Not a rover.

Jaaaaaaaaaaaaag

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Jaaaaaaaaaaaaag

I wish. :(

(ie. no displacement at all, and not fast)

I wish. :(

(ie. no displacement at all, and not fast)

give us more clues! Is it just made in GB or was it designed there

1.8 daysul sierra engine ?

give us more clues! Is it just made in GB or was it designed there

Both.
    1.8 daysul sierra engine ?

Closer. Right manufacturer. Probably the same power, though less displacement. And probably not much quieter. :pac:

Both.

Closer. Right manufacturer. Probably the same power, though less displacement. And probably not much quieter. :pac:

Well if the engine is old it must be a Kent. I'm guessing a fiesta or a Ka or an escort

The Ka. Borrowed car until after christmas when I can pop the C5 back on the road.

It's made even less masculine by having flower stickers on the rear quarter panel. And a flower atop of the aeriel. :pac:

The Ka. Borrowed car until after christmas when I can pop the C5 back on the road.

It's made even less masculine by having flower stickers on the rear quarter panel. And a flower atop of the aeriel. :pac:

That was a lot of guessing :P

Not the hight of manliness but good fun little cars :)

They're like go karts I think. Good fun chucking them about in corners.

I think it's nice to drive a tiny car every once in a while, makes a change from a plodding big saloon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

A little hello from Holland, Hope ye are all keeping well, have been drooling over some of the cars here, the Dutch seem to love their cars, must try and get some photos but they drive by so fast, a ferrarri F60 passed me today and the sound from it was Amazing!!! Miss driving now but i don't think id like to drive here, they are pure crazy and I thought the Germans were bad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Since I know there is one or two BMW owners on here, does anyone know the best way of connecting an Ipod? One that can be controlled via the steering wheel controls preferably? I know BMW have there own one but is it any use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Well today's gona be interesting!

So far I've had one butthurt audi driver block me in because i went to change lanes in front of him and to the lovely driver of the red asshat VW, Don't come that close again :pac: I'd say I was a better wake up call for them than any alarm :P

Who knows whats gona happen next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Since I know there is one or two BMW owners on here, does anyone know the best way of connecting an Ipod? One that can be controlled via the steering wheel controls preferably? I know BMW have there own one but is it any use?

I use the Aux-In in mine but you can't control it from the wheel. Just put it on shuffle, be grand :D

Peasant.

Peasant.

I have my engine to listen to ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

BURN ! :)

Muffled by turbos... Which I wish I had. :'(

I don't know where this whole "muffled by turbos" thing comes from. I compared mine to a 330i and mine sounded even louder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

You're like children. 'My car is louder than youuuurs. :P'

Would yours have a better exhaust on it?
    They do act as a silencer of sorts.

pajor wrote: »
    You're like children. 'My car is louder than youuuurs. :P'

Mine will be! Obnoxiously loud! :D

Mine does have an OEM sports exhaust on it but I'm talking about engine noise only. It was much throatier.

Sure **** it, we don't need to understand it, just enjoy it. :D

Just had an interview for an apprenticeship with Windsor Dundrum... Jesus I hope I get it!
    I started talking about L series engines and I don't think your man knew what I was on about. :o

Managed to order my new exhaust system for 100 quid less that I was about to pay yesterday.

Happy out. Now to spend the next week waiting for the postman !

Managed to order my new exhaust system for 100 quid less that I was about to pay yesterday.

The one thing I HATE about ordering stuff is the wait. I put in another order with Gtechniq on Sunday and I'm waiting on that along with a new squash racket, both of which are coming from the UK.

The worst though is when you order something on a Wednesday/Thursday or Friday from abroad. Then you have Saturday and Sunday when your order is just sitting somewhere and not moving :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Yea have mine that way to and plugged into a USB via the cigarette lighter port but bit distracting when you want to change a song and you have to lift up the armrest to do so.

Maybe I should just delete all the shiite of my ipod problem solved :).

Now you can afford some little shinies too :D

Yea have mine that way to and plugged into a USB via the cigarette lighter port but bit distracting when you want to change a song and you have to lift up the armrest to do so.

Maybe I should just delete all the shiite of my ipod problem solved :).

Exactly :D

I go through my iTunes every so often and delete stuff I'm sick of and put on new stuff instead. Much safer than trying to change the track. With that said though, I normally make CDs instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Exactly :D

I go through my iTunes every so often and delete stuff I'm sick of and put on new stuff instead. Much safer than trying to change the track. With that said though, I normally make CDs instead.
    Same here, the only part of life that I still use CDs for is in the car(s)

The one thing I HATE about ordering stuff is the wait. I put in another order with Gtechniq on Sunday and I'm waiting on that along with a new squash racket, both of which are coming from the UK.

The worst though is when you order something on a Wednesday/Thursday or Friday from abroad. Then you have Saturday and Sunday when your order is just sitting somewhere and not moving :pac:

Indeed. Even though I got a great price the 60 sterling postage is hard to swallow.

The wait not so much as I'm working away trying to get full time at work and have a few day jobs to tackle on the car anyway. (Paint some trim/dewiper the rear etc)

Do you know of a good sealant for exhaust tips I could use like the gtecniq one for wheels ?

Also @ ded yup treating myself to some processed cow anuses (McDonalds) later :p

Do you know of a good sealant for exhaust tips I could use like the gtecniq one for wheels ?

What I did with my exhaust tips was polish them with Meguiars metal polish until no more black transferred onto the cotton pad, smothered them in Gtechniq panel wipe (IPA) and then applied 2 coats of Gtechniq EXO.

They've been shiny ever since and won't require polishing until the EXO wears off (almost 2 years time) :D

What I did with my exhaust tips was polish them with Meguiars metal polish until no more black transferred onto the cotton pad, smothered them in Gtechniq panel wipe (IPA) and then applied 2 coats of Gtechniq EXO.

They've been shiny ever since and won't require polishing until the EXO wears off (almost 2 years time) :D

Sounds good. Where do you recommend I buy them and the wheel sealant ?

Just want to get them sorted out before they get fitted/coked up