Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

YbFocus wrote: »
    Don't talk to me lads, looking at the bloody car with no way into it :rolleyes:
    If the key doesn't fix the problem there'll have to be a window go in!

Windscreen cover?

Is that what your beeping noise was all about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Such as?

325i's to Minis!!!! :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Vectra is taxed until the end of January. I've got some breathing space for a new car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

dgt wrote: »

At least they are being loyal to the manufacturer :D
    ba_barabus wrote: »
    Vectra is taxed until the end of January. I've got some breathing space for a new car.

It's a wonder that owning a vectra hasn't choked the life out of car ownership for you and removed the will to ever live or drive again :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Changed from junior executives to hairdressers I see.:P

At least they are being loyal to the manufacturer :D

FWD though...!

Windows has crapped itself, back to Ubuntu! All I hope is it hasn't taken all my work with it :mad: I may see about extracting my bookmarks afterwards, valuable links the are....

FWD though...!

Windows has crapped itself, back to Ubuntu! All I hope is it hasn't taken all my work with it :mad: I may see about extracting my bookmarks afterwards, valuable links the are....
    Quality porn is that hard to find, eh? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

It's a wonder that owning a vectra hasn't choked the life out of car ownership for you and removed the will to ever live or drive again :eek:

I think there might be some consensus that Opels in general will do that. :D

Quality porn is that hard to find, eh? :P

I don't find it I make it :pac::pac::pac:

Nah bookmarks on compounding, various build projects etc.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

pajor wrote: »
    I think there might be some consensus that Opels in general will do that. :D

Not the OPC/VXRs ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Interslice wrote: »
    Windscreen cover?

Is that what your beeping noise was all about?

Ha ha I wish, now that's still beeping when I unlock the boot :rolleyes:
    New key tomorrow so I'm passing that works. I have windscreen cover alright but it's not at home so is have to wait about for ages.
    That's the next port of call!

My partner was at home for the weekend. We were at a wedding. She refused to drive it after a quick spin around a car park, made me park it behind the hotel and declared it the worst car I've ever owned.

She literally couldn't understand why I bought it. That's never happened before :D

It's a find bangernomics car. The price forgives all.

My partner was at home for the weekend. We were at a wedding. She refused to drive it after a quick spin around a car park, made me park it behind the hotel and declared it the worst car I've ever owned.

She literally couldn't understand why I bought it. That's never happened before :D

It's a find bangernomics car. The price forgives all.

Sounds like she doesn't though. :D

pajor wrote: »
    Sounds like she doesn't though. :D

Not where the Vectra is concerned :D

In fact I give up, I've it advertised in my sig if anyone wants it.

Not much point having a car she point blank refuses to drive

In fact I give up, I've it advertised in my sig if anyone wants it.

Not much point having a car she point blank refuses to drive
    Whipped? :D

Not where the Vectra is concerned :D

Exactly. :D

I'm happy she didn't like it. She has taste :P

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm happy she didn't like it. She has taste :P

Does she really drive it that much that you are selling it for that reason?

The amount of cars driving without lights/broken lights this evening was shocking :(

Stheno wrote: »
    Does she really drive it that much that you are selling it for that reason?
    Not really I suppose. I've thrown it into my sig but not on dd. I'll hold off on that. If someone here wants it then I'd let it go. If not, no harm done.
    The amount of cars driving without lights/broken lights this evening was shocking :(
    Last night driving from Bansha to Dublin was crazy. No lights, heavy rain and wind, lots driving with their headlights on full beams and foglights on. I was blinded and happy to reach Dublin when I did.

8 months sitting up and the passat goes with the first turn of the key :)
    Great machines :)
    I'd sell it but I'd make that little I might as well keep it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

It unbelievable there was a qashqai passed me Saturday night in town. Passenger dipped light working and drivers foglight that was it. So both parking lights foglight and dipped light blown. As bad as that was at least there was some form of light on each corner.

As on Friday night on my bad bendy country road where I live there was a good few motorcycles passed me grand. The road is just about wide enough for two cars to pass and theres not much space to spare and the road is really bendy with few straight typical country road. Anyway came around a corner and just seen one strong light other driver wouldn't dip considering motorcycles just passed me I thought this was the same. But I slowed down kept in tight but the headlight was quiet strong. Just as it passes me to my shock a mercedes sprinter with one passenger light working. So no driver parking dip or headlight it was unreal. You think the other driver could have but on his hazard or something so you could see a rough outline of the vehicle. Anyway all you can do is ensure your own lights work if everyone done this we wouldn't have this problem.

I've noticed this of late also, it's getting to ridiculous levels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Not the OPC/VXRs ;)

No they are just Opels that are plotting to kill you while you sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Up at 5am for my flight with Aer Lingus the robbing bastards, fingers crossed the car is as bulletproof as your man says, always enjoy the drive to Holyhead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Speaking of 5am, I was in the new BBQ place on Georges street last night, aside from having amazing food they also have 5am Saint and loads of other delicious beers. Absolute quality! :D

Very off topic but people should know. :p

No they are just Opels that are plotting to kill you while you sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

CianRyan wrote: »
    Speaking of 5am, I was in the new BBQ place on Georges street last night, aside from having amazing food they also have 5am Saint and loads of other delicious beers. Absolute quality! :D

Very off topic but people should know. :p

Is that an aussie place? I saw a facebook friend put up some shots, food looked good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

whippedcream2-300x199.jpg

Is that an aussie place? I saw a facebook friend put up some shots, food looked good.

Aussie BBQ is on Richmond Row, the new spot is on George Street, called Pit Bro's.
    I love Aussie BBQ but I think Pit Bro's is my new favorite. :F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Aussie BBQ is on Richmond Row, the new spot is on George Street, called Pit Bro's.
    I love Aussie BBQ but I think Pit Bro's is my new favorite. :F

If you like Pitt bros, check out bison.

Scortho wrote: »

Off topic on the off topic thread.. nice.

The Bison Bar has the best bbq sauce in Ireland. FACT. :D

Woop! Back on chrome :D have me dropbox, youtube working.... Just my bookmarks left (I'll figure out how to export that after a while)

Windows no more, next laptop will prob get the real Linux treatment :cool:

On topic, trying to parallel park with no power steering is great crack, especially when a Range Rover is up your arse..... Suddenly wasn't so brave when I reversed at him at full speed though ;)

Same owners right? I only heard of it last night, must give it a go. :)

Woop! Back on chrome :D have me dropbox, youtube working.... Just my bookmarks left (I'll figure out how to export that after a while)

On topic, trying to parallel park with no power steering is great crack, especially when a Range Rover is up your arse..... Suddenly wasn't so brave when I reversed at him at full speed though ;)

Man up or you'll never get to dive my Roadster. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I used to work in a place with a 90s transit that didn't have power steering. It was no craic driving it round the yard. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

hehehe. diving. heheh :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

BX 19 wrote: »
    hehehe. diving. heheh :pac:

lolol

Muff dive? :pac:

Is this the fastest new chat thread yet?
    The other one was opened back in may!

Muff dive? :pac:

You've as much chance, put it that way. :p

When I was driving home from college on Friday going through clonmel I noticed vans boom lift outside the old Renault garage near tesco closed about 3 years it was a mordant garage. As I was driving to college this morning all the signs were up and about 30 cars outside it I was shocked mordant signs up. I hope it works out its so nice to see an empty wasted car garage come alive again hopefully this will happen to more idle garages.

Bpmull wrote: »
    When I was driving home from college on Friday going through clonmel I noticed vans boom lift outside the old Renault garage near tesco closed about 3 years it was a mordant garage. As I was driving to college this morning all the signs were up and about 30 cars outside it I was shocked mordant signs up. I hope it works out its so nice to see an empty wasted car garage come alive again hopefully this will happen to more idle garages.

Is that yer man who wrote a book last year?

The author? :pac:

No the garage owner, I seem to remember that name Mordant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They were reglazing it on Wednesday. Was there a fire out the back?

Not sure tbh. Mordant group had a lot of garages and dealership in clonmel. But were down to one garage until they reopened this one. I must go past the other one on Friday to see if that one is still open but I'd assume there back to 2 now. I don't think they have any franchises though maybe one.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They were reglazing it on Wednesday. Was there a fire out the back?

I didn't think so although if it was around the back I wouldn't have seen it. Looked like they were just doing a basic tidy up and maintenance before they reopened it. As it was a relatively new garage when it closed and they lost the Renault dealership. It always looked like such a waste when it was empty.

Not sure tbh. Mordant group had a lot of garages and dealership in clonmel. But were down to one garage until they reopened this one. I must go past the other one on Friday to see if that one is still open but I'd assume there back to 2 now. I don't think they have any franchises though maybe one.

Twas George Mordant I was thinking about

That's probably him I don't think there is that many different mordaunts in clonmel my phone was just spelling it wrong.