Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

CianRyan wrote: »
    Chevy small block afaik.

Yup.
    Ive seen it listed as either 220 or 240 bhp, but like I said it is more the sound and effortless torque that matters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Sure some massive cams and a super charger wouldn't hurt at all...

Certainly wouldn't!
    Once I have sold the BMW I will be using some of the proceeds to buy another classic, to "uprate" the truck, and then to clear the carloan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Mmm Cams.....

drool.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Damn, endless possibilities if she was an ls series :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Damn, endless possibilities if she was an ls series :)

Excuse my ignorance but what's the significance?

Bit like having an SR20, endless aftermarket parts and cheap enough.

Unfortunately, you'd have to sacrifice power if you want to run an LS. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Unfortunately, you'd have to sacrifice power if you want to run an LS. :pac:
    What do you mean? The LS is the performance engine, the Vortec is the workhorse.

But apparently there is little difference between them:
    http://lsspeedshop.com/lsandlsinspiredvortecfaqfrequentlyaskedquestions.aspx
    Are LS and Vortecs the same?
    A) Sorta. All LS series engines to date have aluminum blocks with aluminum heads. The Vortec 4.8 5.3 6.0 6.2 all use aluminum heads (except some early 99-01 6.0L) and most Vortecs have the same block design as a LS, but made in cast iron. There are even some aluminum block versions of the Vortec used.
    Basically, the LS-inspired Vortecs have the same architecture as the LS Family of engines. Be aware that there were some GM truck engines that have the “Vortec” name, but are of a different engine family. Vortec 7.4 and 8.1 are the same design as the old Big Block Chevy. Vortec 5.7 are more similar to the Gen I small block Chevy.
    For the purposes of this website, references to “LS-inspired Vortecs” and “Vortec engines” will refer to the Gen III/Gen IV 4.8, 5.3, 6.0, 6.2 engines only.

CHP (too long name Max!) - what exact engine is in it:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GMC_Sierra#Engines
    They dont list a 5.7, but do list a 5.3 and 6.0.

Excuse my ignorance but what's the significance?

Hugely popular v8, mass of tuning options and some pushing ridiculous figures.
    Really have broke into the drift world because they are an aluminium block, so you get a real light v8. That equals massive reliability with power and good low end pull.
    They're in all the corvettes etc :)
    If you want to upgrade the truck order a crate one straight off the floor :)

Matt Simis wrote: »

CHP (too long name Max!) - what exact engine is in it:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GMC_Sierra#Engines
    They dont list a 5.7, but do list a 5.3 and 6.0.

From here
    Available Engines:
    255-hp, 5.7-liter V-8 (regular gas)

Seems like the Silverado didn't get this engine, only the GMC Sierra, from what I read.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    What do you mean? The LS is the performance engine, the Vortec is the workhorse.

It was a joke, implying an SR20 is more powerfull than an LS. :p

Cian, I read about an ls engined mx5 before. . just saying :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Don't you be giving him ideas! :p

On an unrelated note.... :pac:

dgt wrote: »

On an unrelated note....

Brilliant :D

I've heard about them too and I'll hear no more about them.
    Gotta keep it in the country!

I've heard about them too and I'll hear no more about them.
    Gotta keep it in the country!

time to step up Cian :)

Here's the engine in a crate to your door :)

http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive_new/mc/crate_engines/ls-416_supercharged.shtml

And conversion mounts and instructions for a drop in!!
    http://www.flyinmiata.com/V8/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

dgt wrote: »

On an unrelated note.... :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

NCT tomorrow for the gtv

Any odds on it passing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Stheno wrote: »
    NCT tomorrow for the gtv

Any odds on it passing?

It's well looked after so why not!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I was only asking because I have a headgasket for an ls1 lol

Gary ITR wrote: »
    I was only asking because I have a headgasket for an ls1 lol

Ha ha that got out of hand so, especially with Cian having ordered an ls7 :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    It's well looked after so why not!:)

it's never yet passed on the first go! That said it's felt fierce solid recently, did over 2k miles this past month.

Ha ha that got out of hand so, especially with Cian having ordered an ls7 :)

No! Nope! Never!
    If there's anything I hate more than the term jap scrap, it's people that put American engines in Japanese cars. :p

I'll take my turbo our banger any day, thank you very much!
    Or an RB... Or a 13b...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

13B renesis?? ;)

No! Nope! Never!
    If there's anything I hate more than the term jap scrap, it's people that put American engines in Japanese cars. :p

I'll take my turbo our banger any day, thank you very much!
    Or an RB... Or a 13b...

Anything but an RB, it'll break your heart!

What about a 26B :D

Anything but an RB, it'll break your heart!

What about a 26B :D

Jesus, if it was possible to get one! :p

And RB's are grand, a nice 25 might slip right in... With a few major mods. :pac:
    13B renesis?? ;)

Revved out to 10k and slap a turbo on it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Nearly forgot about this I've been so busy. This happened

Fha0EMH.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

FAIL!!!! :pac::pac::pac::pac:

535992_452724831432861_370108479_n.jpg

Crazy egr setup :)

OSI wrote: »
    P0300 - Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected.

Love it.

On a completely unrelated note, I've been looking at early 00's 911s this morning. Seriously tempting.

Get a 964 or a 993!

Jesus, if it was possible to get one! :p

Build your own :)

Gerry two 13b's seperate the 4 rotors and get a custom crank built up :)
    Slap the two ends on and your getting there :)

Have you never seen mike whidett's car?

It'd probably be a 996 tbh. It'd have to be a daily driver, so I'd want it to be relatively modern. Plus, I reckon anything earlier than a 996 would end up arseways up the side of a tree.

Gt3 rs for the win :)
    You must now attend the next meet If this goes ahead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Not the biggest Porsche fan but I would like a 993. Still fetching big bucks though.

I'm driven demented installing Adobe Acrobat :(

Car is off at the mechanics to fix the broken bonnet hinge, wonder will it be much quieter when its done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

I'm driven demented installing Adobe Acrobat :(

Car is off at the mechanics to fix the broken bonnet hinge, wonder will it be much quieter when its done?

I use SumatraPDF, much simpler.

pajor wrote: »
    I use SumatraPDF, much simpler.

I need something that will allow me to convert pdfs all the time, and to edit pdfs?

Fecking technology *mutter, mutter*

I need something that will allow me to convert pdfs all the time, and to edit pdfs?

Eh no.. just to view them. It's all I need. Convert pdfs to what?

Word usually, the pdfs are not just text though, so using free converter programs doesn't work as it doesn't retain the formatting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I have a printer that converts them to sheets of paper if you want to borrow it missus :p

Lolol :D I need to take eighty 20 page pdfs, convert them to word, and change the order the pages are in :D

I discovered my missing fags in the fridge half an hour ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭thecomedian

I went to see this S60R earlier.
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/S60/R-/36313842613447230/advert?channel=CARS

Quiet clean, a few little marks on the passenger rear wing. The inside is clean also. Sat nav not reading disc properly. The steering wheel controls for the radio weren't working.
    Not sure if the AWD was working properly, there was a little bit of wheel spin when I took off??

Im still not sure to go for it or not. Different drive than the 330, steering isnt as good, it felt a bit light or not as tight. Not as much noise off it either. But it is quick and such a sleeper, a silver Volvo.
    Oh decisions, decisions...

I went to see this S60R earlier.
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/S60/R-/36313842613447230/advert?channel=CARS

Quiet clean, a few little marks on the passenger rear wing. The inside is clean also. Sat nav not reading disc properly. The steering wheel controls for the radio weren't working.
    Not sure if the AWD was working properly, there was a little bit of wheel spin when I took off??

Im still not sure to go for it or not. Different drive than the 330, steering isnt as good, it felt a bit light or not as tight. Not as much noise off it either. But it is quick and such a sleeper, a sliver Volvo.
    Oh decisions, decisions...

So the interior didn't blind you? :D

No :)
    It's actually not as bad. Different alright, but it wouldn't be the reason to put me off it.

Did you try the different set up buttons? ie comfort, sport, race etc?

Yea. Race does make it a bumpy ride and makes it tighter but I thought it would be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Yea. Race does make it a bumpy ride and makes it tighter but I thought it would be different.

Last stamp in this history is 2007 in the UK??

Any evidence that it's been looked after properly since?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Last stamp in this history is 2007 in the UK??

Any evidence that it's been looked after properly since?

There are a few more on the next page, last one was 2010 though. So still a bit unknown.

Not bad but it would make me hesitant to go from a well cared for 330i to an R as they are such an unknown car here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Just FYI anyone thats around galway at any stage, this exit off kirwan roundabout is bumpy enough to kick the arse out, particularly if its wet. Be a right surprise if you weren't expecting it...

Were you not expecting it :D

If your pushing it out of a roundabout you have to be ready for the inevitable :)