Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teachers and unrurly pupils.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

chopper6 wrote: »
    And for that you can blame the Govt for the moratorium on public sector recruitment.

the same goes for nurses,anybody qualifying in the next few years will be buggering off to Saudi or the middle east.
    even if there wasn't we'd still have surplus. Did these people train as teachers to get a trip from the government to Saudi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Boombastic wrote: »
    It was the averaging of the hours side of the equation that didn't include holidays, nothing to do with pay.

I used to do shift work 12-hours on, 3 or 4 days a week, and holiday pay was calculated using hours, not days.

If you want to calculate teachers' holidays based on hours worked, then you're really opening a can of worms.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

gramar wrote: »
    I was in technical drawing one day and we had to draw circles and the like. While everyone else had one of those fancy compasses with the wheel in the middle to adjust the diameter I had one of those ****ty basic ones that was really loose so drawing a perfect circle was nearly impossible as it slid all over the place. The teacher (may he rest in peace) saw my dreadful effort picked up my ****ty compass and drew a perfect circle and then jabbed me in the hand with it before leaving it on the desk and heading off for a fag. He drew blood and all!

I had two secondary school teachers that would get locked and mark exams together. You'd always get the exact same mark for both history and geography because of this.

They were also the teachers that specialised on corporal punishment. You'd get a slap, a ruler on the knuckles or a wigging depending upon your answer in class.
    Crazy thing is, when i look back, they weren't the worst teachers I had.

Trained? "Trained"...? Who give a **** about training...? Day one, how to open a door. Day two, get the **** in there or you lose your benefit.

Seriously - everyone wins! Well, apart from the kids, yeah, but I guarantee there's be no problem now or at any point in the next twenty to thirt years or so.

yes. most of the unemployed can not open a door and this necessitates door opening training.

Gerry T wrote: »
    I'm not getting at teachers/lecturers, I think the Job is hard. €40 to €50k sounds fair for a teacher and possibly up to €70k for a good lecturer is fair. Yes the €90k posts are probably shutting down, I know 3 at that level. One lecturer in UCD and two in DIT, all lecturing at degree level. Two got PHD's late in life, the other is still at degree education himself. Not that any of that really affects their teaching abilities. I wouldn't disregard a lecturer with only a degree himself. If they can at minimum know the course material & have an ability to explain & impart knowledge. Maybe foster a self learning & questioning attitude IMO they don't need a PHD.
    As for unruly pupils, is it really a teacher/lecturers job to deal with these kids. Is it not more the parents responsibility ? why should a teacher spend time trying to deal with this, the other students in the class suffer. Should parents be brought more into the solution to change children's/pupils behaviour. Should we expect teachers to be "teachers" and also managing the group dynamics. Parents I think should br brought more into the solution for unruly children.

I mentioned earlier, I don't think that a teacher should, or is qualified, to deal with a particularly bad student. Some of these kids are really messed up and a 1 year postgrad in education isn't enough. Those kids need people who are specialised at dealing with troublesome kids.

I think a starting wage of 25-30k is a good start for a teacher. It's in line with the starting level in other professions. They should be paid per hour and this includes extra time that they have to spend. So if they have to spend 5 hours one night correcting stuff, they should get paid for those 5 hours. But they should also be able to account for that time. Paying extra because we assume they might have to do this is just silly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Did these people train as teachers to get a trip from the government to Saudi?

No they trained so they'd have jobs to work at when they finished.

And the Govt doesn't pay anybody to go to Saudi so i'm not sure what your point is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

yes. most of the unemployed can not open a door and this necessitates door opening training.

Here, come on - we need to make sure. We can't just take on anybody.

(Or can we? That was, effectively, your point, wasn't it....)

chopper6 wrote: »
    No they trained so they'd have jobs to work at when they finished.

And the Govt doesn't pay anybody to go to Saudi so i'm not sure what your point is?

but there is an oversupply of teachers of not enough jobs, an has been for a while

@ princess- my point is there are thousands unempoyed teachers in the country and if you where to pick thousands of people randomly off the dole as you suggested, many would be trained teachers.
    tell us more about the unemployed being incapable of opening doors?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Grayson wrote: »
    If that's the case, they should be going into work. They should clock in and be able to account for their time. The same goes for after class work. If they need to do it, they should stay in work. they should account for their time.
    Seriously?

Sounds very counterproductive to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Surely the "all kids are bastards" law should apply to teaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

It's not as much fun to be a teacher now as it was 25+ years ago. For one thing, you're no longer allowed to punch the students that annoy you. And it's more about being a psychologist nowdays.

but there is an oversupply of teachers of not enough jobs, an has been for a while

@ princess- my point is there are thousands unempoyed teachers in the country and if you where to pick thousands of people randomly off the dole as you suggested, many would be trained teachers.
    tell us more about the unemployed being incapable of opening doors?

My apologies, I thought it was self-evident that the door-opening thing was tongue in cheek and not intended to be taken literally. Apparently I was mistaken.

Now. Back to the issue, without the sidestepping: if it's that easy and that overpaid, then why do we not just give the jobs to anyone?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Due to the Govt moratorium on recruitment,increased classroom sizes and the closing of schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Not a teacher but I completely agree with the action taken in the following situation.

My aunt owns a montessori school and they had an unruly pupil who could not be controlled. Parents of the other kids complained and after 3 instances, the child was sent home and asked not to return.

I realise schools have the ability to suspend/expel students but sometimes evidence can be hard to provide so I would be of the opinion that audio/video in classrooms be monitored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Gerry T

Caliden wrote: »
    Not a teacher but I completely agree with the action taken in the following situation.

My aunt owns a montessori school and they had an unruly pupil who could not be controlled. Parents of the other kids complained and after 3 instances, the child was sent home and asked not to return.

I realise schools have the ability to suspend/expel students but sometimes evidence can be hard to provide so I would be of the opinion that audio/video in classrooms be monitored.
    I mentioned earlier, I don't think that a teacher should, or is qualified, to deal with a particularly bad student. Some of these kids are really messed up and a 1 year postgrad in education isn't enough. Those kids need people who are specialised at dealing with troublesome kids.

I think a starting wage of 25-30k is a good start for a teacher. It's in line with the starting level in other professions. They should be paid per hour and this includes extra time that they have to spend. So if they have to spend 5 hours one night correcting stuff, they should get paid for those 5 hours. But they should also be able to account for that time. Paying extra because we assume they might have to do this is just silly.

Fair enough, I can't disagree with any of that.

I would suggest that there is nothing wrong with teachers and more importantly lecturers doing a 9-5 mon-fri. For lecturers with say 16hr's contact a week that gives them 24hr's a week to do corrections planning etc... they shouldn't have the option to work at home. The advantage here is they are available for any student to wander in and ask questions.

I would also add rather than taking the summer months off they could come in and do their 9-5 and research new developments in their industry. Write a paper, update their notes and TAKE CALLS from any students that want to (doubt that would happen, but...).

But in their defence a unruly student should have their parents brought in each day and have them deal with the issue. You would quickly see parents getting on top of their kids behaviour. Sure with lecturers/teachers doing a 9-5 they would have plenty of time to drag parents in !!

It's not as much fun to be a teacher now as it was 25+ years ago. For one thing, you're no longer allowed to punch the students that annoy you. And it's more about being a psychologist nowdays.

In my day in primary ('70's) :( it was very common to get a punch or even a kick under the table, didn't harm me, anyone disagrees and I'll burst ya :)

No Pants wrote: »
    Seriously?

Sounds very counterproductive to me.

How so? the idea is that they just have to account for their work. they clock in and out. they log the work they do. "4-5pm corrected x amount of assignments from class 4b"

Starting to see the Irish issues with trust creeping in now. Make sure people are present, as if it's anywhere near as important as their actual planned work and to hell with a productive schedule that suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I have great respect for our teachers, I don't think it's a job I could do in a million years. I try and control a bunch of 30 kids or so for an hour and a half a week for an extra curricular activity and at times it leaves me totally beaten. To be fair, sometimes it's absolutely fantastic and they're all brilliant, and at times you want to strangle half of them. And my 30 kids are from families who really want them to do well, not from homes where the child isn't getting support or is let run riot. Dealing with a bad egg intent on wrecking the classroom for everyone else must be absolutely exhausting and energy sapping. I imagine it's totally draining and frustrating, as well as potentially dangerous. Fair play to anyone who does it.

G'wan our teachers.

How so? the idea is that they just have to account for their work. they clock in and out. they log the work they do. "4-5pm corrected x amount of assignments from class 4b"
    Sounds like overprocessing and therefore inefficient to me. Also a costly exercise with no benefit and some cost in terms of time and, more importantly, trust and morale.

Starting to see the Irish issues with trust creeping in now. Make sure people are present, as if it's anywhere near as important as their actual planned work and to hell with a productive schedule that suits.

If teachers are putting in the hours, all be it at home. Then why should they object to doing it at work. I appreciate they have lives and the flexibility means they can pick up kids etc.. and work later that evening but there are far more benefits to having teachers in the class room than not.
    Most jobs are now closely measured and appraised, teachers should be also its not rocket science. Teachers not making the grade can be re-trained (at their own cost & time) and brought up to the minimum required level. Those above it and doing the hrs have nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭roadrunner16

But what about 3rd level lecturers ? can't they earn up to 90k a yr, have max 16 hrs contact a week, some as little as 4hrs a week with "research" taking up alot of time ? that to me is 2 much for that type of job.

just taking that point. you are way off, yes they may actually only be teaching for a certain number of hours a week. but there a lot of "work behind the scenes" , for example I had to hand up a first draft thesis last monday to a lecturer. He has four students to supervise that's about 50,000 words he has to go through, looking up every point and reference. I know he will be at it every chance he gets and he wont have it back for at least the next 3 weeks. and thats only the first draft , as well as that being one module for one of four years he teaches , and I will probably have at least one more draft for him to correct. . 3rd level lectures in my experience work way harder than teachers.

there are far more benefits to having teachers in the class room than not.
    Can you please do me a favour and list them here?

All I've seen so far in this thread is that they may be available to answer questions if a student wanders by. That's not efficient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I overheard a conversation between 2 teenage lads a few weeks ago. The general gist of it was that a teacher had lost her temper with a pupil and had thrown her pen at him. When the other lad asked what the student had done when she threw it at him, the response was ' he fcuked it back at her'.

Jaysus, things have changed since my day. We wouldn't have dared to do something like that, if we had we'd probably have been suspended and your parents would have gone mental about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Surely the "all kids are bastards" law should apply to teaching

I knew there was a law to substantiate my sentiments.

Every other profession has to do it.

All I've seen so far in this thread is that they may be available to answer questions if a student wanders by. That's not efficient.
    we had the sob story about correcting papers till 1 am, its not the height the efficiency there at the moment

Every other profession has to do it.
    Eh, no they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Gold plated pensions? well, final salary pensions. like a load of other jobs.
    Don't know of anyone outside the public service who gets a final salary pension. Even a defined benefit average salary pension is a luxury these days.
    High rates of pay? OK, not TOO bad, 40k for a 60 hour week graduate. better than some, but a lot less than others.
    There's no way a teacher's working week is 60 hours even when you take into account correcting tests and class preparations etc. I live with a teacher too. Okay, there have been occasions when she's been up late correcting tests but that's usually been down to procrastinating and deciding to do other things like having "power naps" or trips out during her free time during the day as opposed to not having the time within a 40 hour week to do them. And €40k for a graduate is very very very good. Most graduate jobs pay around €25k for a 12 month working year.

Eh, no they don't.

Yes they do. With the exception of the self employed and higher level positions most people in any institution/business have to clock in and clock out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭Bananatop

When I saw the thread title, I was worried. I thought it was just going to be about teachers and whether or not they have it hard with unruly pupils.

Thank god somebody saw the light and mentioned pay and holidays, otherwise it would've gone completely off topic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

The usage of yellow, red cards in sports is supposed to instill discipline during a game.
    To allow the referee to control the players behaviour and to prevent players discipline from getting worse.

That's the key. Maintaining discipline.

The teacher would simply give a pupil a warning if their behaviour is unruly.
    If the misconduct continues and is consistent then the teacher can issue a yellow card and the parents get a €20 fine.
    If there is gross misconduct (language, violence etc) then they get a red card and a €50+ fine.
    Any money collected from fines could contribute to the School itself.

Now any parent who has a child coming home with fines every week will be damn sure to correct their behaviour in future.

You don't have to have corporal punishment to maintain discpline in the classroom.
    Simply hit parents where it truly hurts. In their pockets.

Yes they do. With the exception of the self employed and higher level positions most people in any institution/business have to clock in and clock out.
    I'll have to defer to you on that. I've worked for 4 companies across 4 countries in the past 16 years and I've never had to clock in or clock out. I'm not self employed and I'm not at the higher level.

I did work in a poultry factory in my teens. I had to clock in and out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

that's original.

and far from accurate.

schools vary hugely. and all have their own stresses. Some have a load of evil scrotes whose parents think the sun sines out of them and they can do no wrong. they leave school with nothing but anger and hatred.

some have loads of highly motivated hard working students whose parents come down on the teacher like a ton of bricks because there isn't enough 2 hour homeworks being set.

addressing your points.....

short working week does not include the preparation and marking. My Mrs was marking til 1am this morning. that's not a short week in anyones book

High rates of pay? OK, not TOO bad, 40k for a 60 hour week graduate. better than some, but a lot less than others.

Job for life? utter crap. in my area the population is falling and there are fewer kids in the system. guess what, they need fewer teachers. the school I taught in had 8 redundancies in the last 5 years.

Gold plated pensions? well, final salary pensions. like a load of other jobs.

3 months holidays.

OOOOOOHHH yes!!
    I'll always defend teachers, but are we talking an entry level salary here? Because 40k sounds more than okay to me, regardless of extra hours put into marking and preparing for classes.

I'm sure the job your Mrs. is doing is worth every penny she's making, I just wouldn't be baulking at that figure is all.

But on topic, when I finished a few years ago things were getting quite bad. 1st years not even up to your shoulder squaring up to senior teachers, who even 6th years feared and respected greatly. If you were a new teacher coming in then god help you so I absolutely respect the job teachers, especially new ones, are facing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

Teachers should be given a lot more power to deal with unruly pupils, but they should then be obliged to use it. The number of times when I was in school, I saw students hurling all kinds of abuse at other students and teachers listening, but sitting back not wanting to get involved less they would make themselves unpopular with the culprits and draw the little thugs on themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

I work as a teacher in a primary school and just want to offer my insight into why there may be more issues when children reach secondary school.

In our school, the vulnerable children are identified and targetted. We have a social skills programme and a life skills programme, where children are helped with life skills, such as keeping clean, tying laces, making themselves a snack etc. Things that are definitely not happening at home. My colleagues and I received no training in this programme, but we all do our best for the children in our care.

When the children enter secondary school, there is little time for this to be continued, as there isn't the same support offered to secondary schools.
    Some children become frustrated and lost within the system - this can lead to behaviour that's unruly and distruptive.

There should be more support available for schools, but unfortunately that's not always the case.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

When i was in 1st class c.1988 we had a sub for a few months. A big heavy culchie fella he was. Had no control on the class. We would make forts out of the tables and play all day and he could do nothing to stop us. I think he had a nervous breakdown!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

But what about 3rd level lecturers ? can't they earn up to 90k a yr, have max 16 hrs contact a week, some as little as 4hrs a week with "research" taking up alot of time ? that to me is 2 much for that type of job.

I actually work in a research facility with several 3rd level lecturers who rotate between lecturing and their research (usually while overseeing multiple phd students with their theses at the same).

Many of them develop patented technology and spin off companies that make use of the research, leading to greater employment and stimulus for the economy, not to mention the overall benefits to society that improvements in technology bring.

90k?

Yeah that's not fair at all!

nc19 wrote: »
    When i was in 1st class c.1988 we had a sub for a few months. A big heavy culchie fella he was. Had no control on the class. We would make forts out of the tables and play all day and he could do nothing to stop us. I think he had a nervous breakdown!

I think he went into politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

My wife is a teacher and some of the stories she has told me are shocking.

She had a kid in her class winding her up no end and then hiding his phone recording her so that his parents could come and try and instigate a law suit.

The kids have absolutely no fear of teachers, she has been told to f*** off by 6 year olds.

She got a threatening note from a father of one of the kids and I only got told a few months later as she was worried that I would go after him, which I will when I get his name. Scumbag.

One ten year old brought a needle and bag of flour into school and told the other kids that it was his drugs.

Any unruly or disruptive behaviour is because they have 'ADHD' and not because they are toerags with excuses for parents.

She caught students nicking from her bag and was told to f*** off and mind her own business.

She had to take a child out of class because he was threatening another student and as soon as she walked out the door he collapsed in a heap saying she hit him.

She has been told on many occasions by students that 'she can't do anything or they'll sue'

She is in a bad school but the parents are the culprits. I used to mess when I was in school but I always respected the teachers and my mother used to tell them to give me a belt if I was acting up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

RoboRat wrote: »

She had a kid in her class winding her up no end and then hiding his phone recording her so that his parents could come and try and instigate a law suit.

The kids have absolutely no fear of teachers, she has been told to f*** off by 6 year olds.

She got a threatening note from a father of one of the kids and I only got told a few months later as she was worried that I would go after him, which I will when I get his name. Scumbag.

One ten year old brought a needle and bag of flour into school and told the other kids that it was his drugs.

Any unruly or disruptive behaviour is because they have 'ADHD' and not because they are toerags with excuses for parents.

She caught students nicking from her bag and was told to f*** off and mind her own business.

She had to take a child out of class because he was threatening another student and as soon as she walked out the door he collapsed in a heap saying she hit him.

She has been told on many occasions by students that 'she can't do anything or they'll sue'

She is in a bad school but the parents are the culprits. I used to mess when I was in school but I always respected the teachers and my mother used to tell them to give me a belt if I was acting up.
    This is exactly why I started the thread.

No human should have to go through this no matter what.

Cameras in the classroom, 3 strikes and their out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Because that's how rates of pay should be calculated people.

How much it would cost me to get someone else to do a job is a major factor in my working out whether or not someone is overcharging me... how do you work it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

No human should have to go through this no matter what.

She is an excellent teacher and she has really preformed wonders with some of her students but its easy to say that unruly and downright dangerous students should be expelled, its not the case when you are on the bottom rung, ie a Deis school. Children have a right to an education and they have to go somewhere, more often than not they are lumped into the same school.

My wife hates going down town for fear she will meet her students, she won't go to the local pool for the same reason. She goes into the shopping centre and these little scrotes are hanging around. There is a lot more to teaching than short working days and long holidays.

When I was in school if the teacher said you did something that was it. Nowadays its like court, you have to prove it and that is a lot harder as they know their legal rights better than most solicitors.

just taking that point. you are way off, yes they may actually only be teaching for a certain number of hours a week. but there a lot of "work behind the scenes" , for example I had to hand up a first draft thesis last monday to a lecturer. He has four students to supervise that's about 50,000 words he has to go through, looking up every point and reference. I know he will be at it every chance he gets and he wont have it back for at least the next 3 weeks. and thats only the first draft , as well as that being one module for one of four years he teaches , and I will probably have at least one more draft for him to correct. . 3rd level lectures in my experience work way harder than teachers.

I'm not doubting that some or most 3rd level work harder than teachers. And I do agree that lecturers/teachers work, and its not all contact hrs. I would hazard a guess that the reviewing of papers etc could be done within say a 9-5 period along with contact hr's, but i'm open to correction from any lecturer's on here.
    At some times, say exam time they may put in a longer shift but that's very limited. That's nothing compared to people working in the private sector though, catching flights on sundays for monday meetings, travelling at 6am and getting home at 10pm, this things been the norm and a 60 to 70 hr week is common place. But I'm not trying to suggest that teachers or lecturers should do more work, just that they do it on the premises -- what's wrong with that, it has to be done anyway.

It is efficient for the students, they should be there and if they are not correcting/lecturing they should be doing some research. Not that they should have to do any more than a 40hr week for 45 weeks of the year. I think that's reasonable and the salaries they have are sufficient for that.

I actually work in a research facility with several 3rd level lecturers who rotate between lecturing and their research (usually while overseeing multiple phd students with their theses at the same).

Many of them develop patented technology and spin off companies that make use of the research, leading to greater employment and stimulus for the economy, not to mention the overall benefits to society that improvements in technology bring.

90k?

Yeah that's not fair at all!

I appreciate what some universities etc do, UCD is a glowing example where many a campus company has and continues to employ. Not to mention the great work. I work for a large multinational company which is developing products all the time (not me hasten to add) and I can tell you that if any developers were earning 90k they would be happy, most would be lucky to earn 50k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Yeah.
    The short working week.
    High rates of pay.
    Job for life
    Gold-plated pensions.
    3 months holidays.

My heart bleeds.

the anti teacher brigade is out again :rolleyes: Would love to see you work in a school with way over the pupil per class limit, mainstream classes with children who have severe learning support difficulties included, and teenagers with severe behavioural issues, and thats before the joy of exam setting, correcting and teaching even begins.

Get your facts straight, the pay is not high. Or pay for your kids to go one to one private tuition all year around if the system really bugs you :rolleyes:

I'm not doubting that some or most 3rd level work harder than teachers. And I do agree that lecturers/teachers work, and its not all contact hrs. I would hazard a guess that the reviewing of papers etc could be done within say a 9-5 period along with contact hr's, but i'm open to correction from any lecturer's on here.
    At some times, say exam time they may put in a longer shift but that's very limited. That's nothing compared to people working in the private sector though, catching flights on sundays for monday meetings, travelling at 6am and getting home at 10pm, this things been the norm and a 60 to 70 hr week is common place. But I'm not trying to suggest that teachers or lecturers should do more work, just that they do it on the premises -- what's wrong with that, it has to be done anyway.

You can't compare the two, the amount of work you put into a class as a teacher really depends on what you are dealing with. I spend easily a couple of extra hours a night till midnight doing out special worksheets for a kid with a severe disability in my class in order to make their learning far more beneficial for them. And this just for one class group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

foxyboxer wrote: »
    The usage of yellow, red cards in sports is supposed to instill discipline during a game.
    To allow the referee to control the players behaviour and to prevent players discipline from getting worse.

That's the key. Maintaining discipline.

The teacher would simply give a pupil a warning if their behaviour is unruly.
    If the misconduct continues and is consistent then the teacher can issue a yellow card and the parents get a €20 fine.
    If there is gross misconduct (language, violence etc) then they get a red card and a €50+ fine.
    Any money collected from fines could contribute to the School itself.

Now any parent who has a child coming home with fines every week will be damn sure to correct their behaviour in future.
    or maybe they just won't bother and just won't pay, theirs nothing the school can do about it, fines introduced by schools don't have to be payed, no obligation what so ever and rightly so, its just a lazy way out and an excuse not to make sure their teachers can control the class.
    foxyboxer wrote: »
    You don't have to have corporal punishment to maintain discpline in the classroom.
    Simply hit parents where it truly hurts. In their pockets.
    the usual "hit them in the pocket" ****, hiting people in the pockets doesn't work and is a lazy way of doing things

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

RoboRat wrote: »

plus one to this, also, I find if you have to reprimand students, do it out in the hallway with the door wide open. I never stay alone in the classroom with the door shut no matter who the student is. too risky these days.