Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feel as if being managed out.

Options
  • 14-11-2013 11:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi,

Sorry about long post but I'm seriously stressed and would appreciate some advice.

I work as a sales account manager for a large multi-national computer maker. I look after a portfolio of accounts and would have a seven figure quarterly sales target.

I've been there nearly ten years and general conditions and morale have been getting worse over the last 3 - 4 years and it's become more and more stressful and difficult to hit targets.

I've suffered from depression for a number of years (took 3 weeks off work about 4 years) but generally everything is OK with medication. I've always been a hard worker - putting in extra hours, logging on from home in the evenings, etc - and the depression never really gets in the way. Worst I ever get is a need to work from home occasionally as somedays I just need to be alone. Doesn't really affect work as it's phone based.

Anyway, about 3 months ago, the stress of work hit me like a train and I had a serious stress / depressive episode. My doctor was very concerned and due to the level of medication he had to put me on considered hospitalisation.

I ended up taking 3 months sick leave and returned to work today.

HR have "invited" me to an investigation meeting with my manager and a rep from HR. The invite included a copy of the Disciplinary Procedure and the Sick Leave Policy. They've said I can bring a colleague with me if I want.