Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frankfurt Marathon - 26th October 2014

• Registered Users Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

yaboya1 wrote: »
    DQ home in 2:43:34
    Big pb
    Great running!

Any word on dukeraoul or Billy Mills???

Well done Andy - great run.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Great updates lads, am sweating here on the train reading them...
    Savage running by all our representatives :-)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Well done lads, very inspirational.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

TPP 2:49:00

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Just noticed Hibernian Runner is on target through 30k for around 3:35 in his debut marathon, having set out to run 3:54.
    Brilliant!

Emer also still on course to hit her target of 3:58 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

No pressure on the runners tomorrow in Dublin! Bloody hell. It'll be hard to compete with today's results. Great running by all.

2:46:00 for opus through 40k

opus finished in 2:55:44

• Registered Users Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Brilliant running!!

Delighted for the lads

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Great stuff, delighted to see all the training and dedication pay off.
    Thanks for all the updates too folks- couldn't track on the phone.

Emer is steady pacing through 30k and still on for a PB

Still no split for Itziger through 40k.
    Something must be amiss :(

Edit: 3:01:07

Thoroughly enjoyed tracking everyone this morning.
    Well done to all.
    I better head to the RDS now and pick up my own number for tomorrow.
    I feel inspired! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Massive runs all around. Well done guys.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Still no split for Itziger through 40k.
    Something must be amiss :(

Edit: 3:01:07

Finished in 3:13
    I suspect he must have gotten the dreaded cramps again.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Cracking running by everyone. Huge effort by KC. Taking 3-4 mins off a marathon time when at that level is pretty massive. A pity he missed out on the 2:34 by such a small margin. A bit of congestion at the start could have cost him?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Cracking running by everyone. Huge effort by KC. Taking 3-4 mins off a marathon time when at that level is pretty massive. A pity he missed out on the 2:34 by such a small margin. A bit of congestion at the start could have cost him?

The first 8k through the city centre are very twisty with lots of corners so I imagine they may have cost at least 4 seconds...

menoscemo wrote: »
    Emer is steady pacing through 30k and still on for a PB

Slowing a touch through 35k, now outside 4hrs :o

• Registered Users Posts: 10,454 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

4 secs over 8k. That's a very precise calculation, J. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Abhainn

David O'Connnor from Celbridge 2:37:42

He had similiar race to Gary with a super fast last 7k also. Great running

Hibernian Runner finished in 3:35, 20 minutes faster than predicted (sandbagger? :p)

Super debut time.

Slowing a touch through 35k, now outside 4hrs :o

Emer picked up the pace again to previous levels thru 40k, must have a had a loo break from 30-35k, sadly with the 3 minutes she lost the predictor still has her just outside a 4hr finish :o

Edit: a Krustyesque finish to run her fastest split from 40k to the finish.
    4:01:26, she was on for 4:02:xx at 40k :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭GoTheDistance

Murph_D wrote: »
    4 secs over 8k. That's a very precise calculation, J. :)
    i agree it must be nearly impossible to have that level of pace control over 8k. it is a remarkable run. Superb negative split. Couldnt ask for anything more. One of our North Cork lads had a really hard day there. The tracker seems to have stopped so he must have called it a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Great running on here. Well done to all!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

i agree it must be nearly impossible to have that level of pace control over 8k. it is a remarkable run. Superb negative split. Couldnt ask for anything more. One of our North Cork lads had a really hard day there. The tracker seems to have stopped so he must have called it a day.

Yeah was tracking him also. Krusty passed him at 30-35k. He was going well till then. He said that he wore the lightest racing flats he had on FB and it effected him. At least not an injury.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭GoTheDistance

rom wrote: »
    Yeah was tracking him also. Krusty passed him at 30-35k. He was going well till then. He said that he wore the lightest racing flats he had on FB and it effected him. At least not an injury.

Delighted it wasnt an injury. Its a pity that footwear caused the issue. Looked like he was on for sub 2:30 at one stage. Knowing the man he'll come back stronger as result of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Fantastic running lads.Some unreal results today.Fair play to ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Finished in 3:13
    I suspect he must have gotten the dreaded cramps again.

You got that one spot on Meno!!

Disaster. On the 'positive' side, I am still alive and I did finish. DNF looked on for a while and putting a bullet through my head was an option too. (OK, I don't have a gun)

What's not to love about Half Marathons, eh!

Great running from the lads and a great bunch too. Lifted my spirits when I met em afterwards and me moping about feeling sorry for myself. A Pied Piper even tried to teach me a bit of the Gaelgie. (Sp?)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Cheers lads for the support today, we gave it a good bash today, couple of the runners messed the pacing up a bit, but myself , opus and michael dug in hard over the last two hours to keep hydration levels on maximum

The beer stations were poorly positioned in the 2k near the finish line and we all suffered badly as a result. However, am aggressive strategy sW everyone well fuelled and happy. Well deserved

• Registered Users Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

Emer picked up the pace again to previous levels thru 40k, must have a had a loo break from 30-35k, sadly with the 3 minutes she lost the predictor still has her just outside a 4hr finish :o

Edit: a Krustyesque finish to run her fastest split from 40k to the finish.
    4:01:26, she was on for 4:02:xx at 40k :eek:

Was there a camera on me or are you a bit of a mystic?! ;)

Yea, the unscheduled stop around the 30k mark was a bit too much for me to chase back, but pretty happy with the run other than that. :D