Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know anyone here :S

• 16-11-2013 1:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭

I've been living here since the end of August and I don't know anybody!

How do people make friends here? I'll have to move back home because I'm starting to crack up with no one to hang out or get a pint with.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

How do people make friends here? I'll have to move back home because I'm starting to crack up with no one to hang out or get a pint with.

Ya its tough. I've got lots of aquaintences but not many friends, luckily I know some people here from back home.

Where in London are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

Meetup.com. Loads of people in the same boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Try hanging around Kilburn there? Certainly there are (maybe no as distinct as back home) Irish accents to be heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭biZrb

There are plenty of ways to meet people in this forum for a start.

You could come to the next forum Beers, its always good craic and a good way to meet other Irish people. A few people from this forum go to a pub quiz every week, that's something you could go to. There is also a Events and Gig buddies thread and Cinema thread that people post in when they want to organise an outing to a gig or the cinema.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

OP, where are you living in London? You're definitely welcome to come along to the quiz if you like, it varies which pub and which day we go but it's usually somewhere around Kilburn/West Hampstead - check the quiz thread if you'd be interested

• Registered Users Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

join a GAA club. it's a great outlet to meet people in the same boat as yourself. as brokenarrows said, you'll have way more acquaintances than friends going about your daily life but you'll need to work on getting to know people.
    find out which one is nearest and you can contact someone through their website. you don't even have to play any game. i joined a hurling club here having never played the game in my life. we won the league that year. just saying.

with london being so vast, hanging out isn't an easy option for everyone. things like that have to be organised in advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭brónaim cád??

I live in the SE near Woolwich, not the most happening place. Where are the pub quizs on?

you're a stones throw from greenwich. that's a fairly decent spot to start.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I live in the SE near Woolwich, not the most happening place. Where are the pub quizs on?

There's a Greenwich Friends group on meetup.com started by someone else in the same boat as you, so I'd say give that a go to begin with.

There's also the Community section on Gumtree London, as well as the Events listing there which can give you an idea of events coming up.

London can be a really tough place if you don't know anyone here, but fortunately there are a lot of ways you can meet like-minded folks and make some friends. I found a group posted on Gumtree not long after moving here and met a good few friends through there; helpfully the group was organising regular pub outings with newcomers welcome, which made it much easier to get to know folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Are you interested in joining any sports teams? If so a few of us are playing Sunday League football with a team that was started this year by a boardsie. The team is a mixture of Irish and English lads, and even the odd Italian! It's a good way of meeting up once a week for a bit of fitness and craic. Most of the lads live fairly central in London so always an opportunity for striking up a friendship. We'll be having a Christmas night out too soon.

More details here if you're interested. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=85544705

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭fluke

Sure why didn't ye say so earlier? I'm always up for a pint, especially spontaneous, and often a lot of people here are too.

When I was travelling around hostels in Canada I found being pro-active was the best approach.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Make full use of the beers thread, cinema thread and gig buddies/events threads here as a starting point to meet people. Just invite yourself along - it's a public forum so nothing here is exclusive and it's not cliquey. :)

I wouldn't be into joining any GAA clubs, handy way to meet people but not for me. I didn't know about the beers, sounds good. What age are the people that go?

Where is the quiz on?

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭biZrb

What about going another sports club? It doesn't have to be GAA, I joined a rowing a few months ago, I've met loads of people through that, been out a few times with people from the club and I'm also a bit fitter from it!

There is a vote on at the moment about what night to hold the Christmas beers:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057084470

I don't know everyones age but at a guess it would be mid 20s to mid 30s.

I think the quiz is on at some pub in Kilburn (I don't go myself), best check the thread as there are a few places they tend to go:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056344385

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Where is the quiz on?

It varies from week to week: keep an eye on the thread here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭fluke

I wouldn't be into joining any GAA clubs, handy way to meet people but not for me. I didn't know about the beers, sounds good. What age are the people that go?

20's to 30's (so far)

i'd say most of the junior hurling teams in london have little interest in hurling and just go for the social aspect. it's just another avenue to meet people.
    don't do rowing though, especially if the club trains on sunday mornings and you'd have to leave a boards meet up on the saturday night early. people will only start talking about you then.. :pac:

there are 2 nights out organised by fysh, egged on by the rest of us. you can't complain. you will have to go through the usual initiation phase of chips for everyone and the first 2 rounds though*.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057084470

* - may or may not be true.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭afatbollix

I was ready to move back November 2010 I knew no one in London and was fed up with the place.

I'm into motorsport so joined my local club in south London. We meet weekly and have made some good friends out of it.

I was made Chairman & Director of the club last month.

The aim of my story is that there is so many clubs out there that you can pick any hobby you would like to have and you should be able to find some club that you can meet people with. You never know you might be running the place in a couple of years.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Chalk it down. I was boxing at Islington in Finsbury Park before I got injured and I was the only (settled!) Irish person there. I had the opportunity to meet people from all cultures and walks of life and make a few friends who are actually from the locality.

The GAA is great like, I was up in Ruislip on Sunday for an intermediate hurling match and the craic was 90. However, it isn't the be all and end all of social scenes either. Find a sport or activity and give it a bash, you won't look back!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

In fairness OP you've has been given five or six good suggestions by helpful people on how to try to socialise and have not made any attempt to thank the posters or follow up any suggestions (only going on the stated facts of course...) Is it any wonder making friends is difficult OP, it also takes some effort from your side!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

Let's keep it civil please. Constructive feedback is appreciated, berating the OP is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

FTA69 wrote: »
    Chalk it down. I was boxing at Islington in Finsbury Park before I got injured and I was the only (settled!) Irish person there. I had the opportunity to meet people from all cultures and walks of life and make a few friends who are actually from the locality.

Are there any over 35s boxing sessions you know of? I know lads playing in over 35s 5 a side leagues etc, but plan on the move next year, and boxing would be a great way to keep fit....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

seachto7 wrote: »
    Are there any over 35s boxing sessions you know of? I know lads playing in over 35s 5 a side leagues etc, but plan on the move next year, and boxing would be a great way to keep fit....

Islington Boxing Club in Finsbury Park lad, takes all ages and all comers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

nice one!

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nika Bolokov

If its boxing your after:

www.totalboxer.com

Ive been going here for about 3 months, never boxed in my life. Really enjoy it, you can take the boxing as far as you like. Found normal gyms dull and no craic.

Really friendly owner, nice people there.