Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeds issue not ISP related, frustrating problem

• 17-11-2013 4:43pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I'm going to post this in here, on the basis that it might make a few people aware of issues that are happening, but finding out why, and resolving them may be problematic.

My broadband is Wimax, which is not a wired service, but I have been using it for close on 2 years, and most of the time, the performance is as good as or slightly better than I used to be able to get from wired broadband, and it has a few package advantages that are not available from other suppliers, so I've stuck with it.

Most of the time, I get a ping of between 55 and 75 ms, download of around 7.5 to 8, Mb/s and upload that's clearly capped to the speed they offer of .5, as the test will run at anything up to 2 Mb, and then slow down in the later stages of the test, which I can live with.

Anyway, to the issue. Due to the size of the house and the other equipment I have here, the Ethernet connection from the Wimax Motorola device goes to a 100Mb 8 port switch in the office, and then there is a wired connection to a Linksys device that's downstairs, and that provides a second WiFi device to improve the performance of WiFi on the ground floor, and most of the time, this has worked well, and at reasonable speeds. DHCP is dealt with by the Wimax Motorola device, and there are a couple of things (printers) attached that are on fixed IP addresses outside of the DHCP scan range.