Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Saddle Soreness.

• 18-11-2013 5:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 24

This is not a medical question.

I am still frantically searching for solution to my butt problems.
    I paid for a new saddle, a bike fit, new chamois, giving it time etc.
    Lately, I have come across the idea of Assos gear. It's expensive but I would gladly pay if it sorted out the problem .

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance,
    M.S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Surprised the bike fit didn't solve it. Have you tried ass Chamois cream?

Although Assos shorts are probably the best out there, plenty of mid-priced shorts are good enough for most people. What shorts are you using now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭codie

Lately, I have come across the idea of Assos gear. It's expensive but I would gladly pay if it sorted out the problem .

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance,
    M.S.
    Maybe try one of these,excellent saddle for same complaint.
    http://ebike.hu/products/saddle-seatpost/saddle/102341_kellys-cognithor/
    if you can pick one up.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 mariussulla

Hi darkglasses,
    yes; I do use cream. The shorts I have are specialised.
    Trust me: I have tried everything. It's really frustrating; I usualky come bzck fron a spun wuth energy left but in agonising pain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Agonising pain would suggest the saddle is all wrong for you and no amount of padding or cream is going to solve it.

What ones have you tried? Do you have the make and model and width? or even a picture of your previous saddles?

Different styles suit different people. A saddle shaped like the one in codie's post would be a disaster for me. It's a very individual thing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

codie wrote: »
    Maybe try one of these,excellent saddle for same complaint.
    http://ebike.hu/products/saddle-seatpost/saddle/102341_kellys-cognithor/
    if you can pick one up.

I've actually got one of these sitting on the shelf for the last couple of years after taking it off my Kellys Neos. You're more than welcome to borrow it mariussulla, as it wasn't for me. Goes to show how personal saddles are. It got replaced with a Brooks Flyer, which is about as ass friendly as they get though neither light nor aesthetic on a road bike. I've a B17 on my road bike which I also find very comfy on long bumpy spins, though still a bit heavy and retro.

I'd suggest trying a bunch of different saddles until you find the magic one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

If it's not skin soreness, it's the saddle. Specialized dealers will let you try different saddles before you commit to one, as do Selle Italia and Prologo from certain dealers. I have gone back to Specialized saddles; have 1 women's, 1 men's on my bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Yeah must be the saddle then. We should kick-off the saddle swap-shop again, I thought that was a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Where is the pain? Your sit bones? Perenium? Pubic bone?

What saddles have you tried? I'm on my 6th saddle in 2 years. I actually have two different saddles on my two bikes, both prologo and I'm trying to figure out which I prefer but in this weather it's difficult to get out for long spins as both are fine on shorter 1.5 - 2hr spins and don't really cause me any discomfort.

Also try Altura ProGel bib-shorts, they're around €58 on wiggle and have a very comfortable pad/chamois.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

CJC999 wrote: »
    Where is the pain? Your sit bones? Perenium? Pubic bone?

I'd agree those are the important questions. If you are in agony rather than discomfort imo it is unlikely that shorts are the problem.

There are two bone protruding either side of the base of your spine "sit bones". If you are supporting your weight between these bones you are sitting on soft tissue and restricting blood flow down below - not advisable.If you can measure the distance between these bones you will know the width of the saddle best suited to you. If you sit on a folded towel or soft covered chair you should see two indentations. Try and lean forward to replicate aprx position you ride in - if you sit straight up they will be too wide.Measure these centre to centre. I used playdough between two sheets of paper to do this accurately for a dew people experiencing problems. Now, try and figure out what shape you like (what do you dislike about the saddle you currently use?) Some like a flat saddle, some like a rounded nose and some like a "hammock". This shape is highly important. If you can get your measurements and shape figured out you are on your way. Buying 2nd hand off ebay is a great way to go as you can sell them on at little loss if you get it wrong. When you get your saddle your next step is setting it up right

• Registered Users Posts: 31 givusapush

Cycleways parnell st have one of those pads that you sit on to measure your sits bones if your dublin area.tryed it out myself.looked a right knob though sitting there on it with feet up.trying a new saddle myself with da measurement.ok so far.can return da saddle if not happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭death1234567

One short term tip that *might* help. Buy a pair of BIB shorts that are a size too big for you and then wear both your current BIB's and new ones over them.

Then you have two large pads between your legs and too much material can chafe the inner thighs and man region.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Lawr

Are you giving yourself enough time between cycles to heal? When I begin to feel pain on the saddle, I try to give myself a couple of days to heal a bit. If I cycle regularly, eventually, by letting myself heal when I've pain, I build up a sort of callous or something. It's when I only cycle once a week or less that the one long cycle leads to soreness. I need to break my butt in so to speak. Cycling to work every day helps keep the arse fit, I think. It's a short enough spin and keeps my end in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Briando

Its really about finding the right saddle. I can cycle for hours without padding in my shorts or chamois creme because I'm on a saddle that works for me.

I used to get a lot of perineum pain until i got on a split nosed saddle. (Ism Adamo).

In addition to the saddle, a bit of core strength also helps. I find these days if I'm hitting a long stretch of bumpy Wicklow or Wexford pavé I carry most of my legs in my feet and arms to save my ass and back. I also change position on the bars much more than I used to, and move around the saddle a fair bit, whereas I used to be far more static.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Briando wrote: »
    Its really about finding the right saddle. I can cycle for hours without padding in my shorts or chamois creme because I'm on a saddle that works for me.

I used to get a lot of perineum pain until i got on a split nosed saddle. (Ism Adamo).

Would agree here, its all about the saddle. If you don't have the right saddle you will never get rid of the soreness, no matter what shorts you buy. What saddle are you using at the moment? Also, what height and weight are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

Here's a link to Sheldon article on saddles. I have settled on one with a cut one that I find very comfortable having tried many different ones in the past. I also recommend plenty of cream that helps avoid chaffing through better lubrication. I use a cocoa butter based one which is great.

http://sheldonbrown.com/saddles.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Rua_ri

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

There's enough of these threads. There's loads if members on here, presumably with a huge variety of saddles between them. How about some sort of saddleswop scheme, so people can try before they buy? Ride over to somebody's gaff, swop out a saddle and stem, take it for a spin, and drop it back. Might be a nice way for people to put faces to the user names?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Briando wrote: »

Resurrecting this thread instead of starting another one.
    I also have issues with saddle soreness, hitting a bump near the end of a ride is very uncomfortable. I wear a Dare2B bib shorts from Elverys.
    Funny as I can cycle on a hybrid bike with no bib shorts for hours and still feel fairly ok.
    So I reckon the nose of my saddle is too narrow.
    May have to purchase something new. I have a Carrerea TDK LTD, one of those black yellow bikes from Halfords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Is it possible that your saddle is adjusted too far rearward and you're sitting on the nose too much? Have you tried adjust it forward a bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭inc21

specialized dealers have thing called "ass-o-meter" to measure your behind and recommend saddle to suit

crosstownk wrote: »
    Is it possible that your saddle is adjusted too far rearward and you're sitting on the nose too much? Have you tried adjust it forward a bit?

Do you mean move the saddle forward?
    I do find myself sitting on the nose and having to push my ass back to get further back on the saddle. The saddle seems flat when I looked at it so should I perhaps just move it forward a bit?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Resurrecting this thread instead of starting another one.
    I also have issues with saddle soreness, hitting a bump near the end of a ride is very uncomfortable. I wear a Dare2B bib shorts from Elverys.
    Funny as I can cycle on a hybrid bike with no bib shorts for hours and still feel fairly ok.
    May have to purchase something new. I have a Carrerea TDK LTD, one of those black yellow bikes from Halfords.

Your bike fit isn't right or you're not sitting on your saddle right.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

I can't be sure about the bike fit. The guy in Halfords sorted me out and he cycles himself. In general I am very comfortable on the bike except the saddle. Arms are slightly bent when on handlebars. I have done upto 70km and at the end the ass is giving out. The hybrid saddle being wider seems to give more support. It would also be softer absorbing shocks etc.

I wonder do other people with the Carrera TDK Ltd have similar issues with the saddle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭minterno

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance,
    M.S.
    hi,Im in the same boat,Im on my fifth year on a road bike now and am still having issues with finding any comfort once I go above 30kms,i could do 30kms every second day no bother but every time I try to up the miles I suffer fairly bad,im about 2+ stone over weight and that's adding to the problem,I have the assos s5 mille bibs which are about the best I have come across,I have spent a lot on saddles and have a lot of them in the shed gathering dust,the best I have found for me has been either the brooks b17 or the fizik aliante( I have two aliantes which are slightly different versions),as suggested by the previous posters I think a fitting is the next step,best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭martyc5674

minterno wrote: »
    hi,Im in the same boat,Im on my fifth year on a road bike now and am still having issues with finding any comfort once I go above 30kms,i could do 30kms every second day no bother but every time I try to up the miles I suffer fairly bad,im about 2+ stone over weight and that's adding to the problem,I have the assos s5 mille bibs which are about the best I have come across,I have spent a lot on saddles and have a lot of them in the shed gathering dust,the best I have found for me has been either the brooks b17 or the fizik aliante( I have two aliantes which are slightly different versions),as suggested by the previous posters I think a fitting is the next step,best of luck

Yes you should have a fit done.
    I'm looking for a saddle too at the minute.
    What have you gathering dust??.. If you've anything around 135mm I might be interested.
    Marty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

mariussulla,
    How long have you been cycling? Sometimes, it just take time to toughen up the old under-carraige!:)
    It might, but then again, it might not.
    Any thoughts?

Assuming that you have the correct saddle: height, pitch, and yaw, Here's what I do.

Buy a good saddle. I like the Selle Italia Flite for road and mtb.

Buy a good pair of shorts with padding.

I like padding on the shorts, not the saddle. Pick one or the other, just not both. Too much padding or padding on both can cause problems too.

Next, get some Assos Chamois Creme and apply liberally.

Again, you will need time. The auld under-carriage can be a delicate area and will require time to get settled in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

I can't be sure about the bike fit. The guy in Halfords sorted me out and he cycles himself. In general I am very comfortable on the bike except the saddle. Arms are slightly bent when on handlebars. I have done upto 70km and at the end the ass is giving out. The hybrid saddle being wider seems to give more support. It would also be softer absorbing shocks etc.

In fairness it probably has more to do with the quality of the saddle then anything else..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭minterno

martyc5674 wrote: »
    Yes you should have a fit done.
    I'm looking for a saddle too at the minute.
    What have you gathering dust??.. If you've anything around 135mm I might be interested.
    Marty.
    id be afraid to get rid of most of them as im still swapping them about but if your in the cork area you could borrow them to see if they would suit,I have a 1 fizik arione wing flex 133mm,2 fizik alliente 135mm,3 sprung brooks b66s,4 brooks b17 175mm,5 giant stock saddle 135mm,6 charge spoon 140mm,7 selle smp trk 160mm,8 concor super corsa 135mm, and some cheap saddles from here and there

Take the saddle from your hybrid and put it on the road bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

I had the same problem, got a bike fit and changed from a Sella Italia Flite to a bontranger paradigm (some relief but not fixed) back to a max Flite (nearly there) assos chamois cream and a bontranger affinity combined with castelli progetto 2 chamois. Lots of variables so keep trying

not yet wrote: »
    In fairness it probably has more to do with the quality of the saddle then anything else..

I doubt it. Give that the fit
    Was done by a guy in Halfords, I'm 99% sure it's the bike fit.

The best saddle it the world is no good unless the bike fit is done right.

they/them/theirs

Take the saddle from your hybrid and put it on the road bike.

I am tempted to do that but I would say the stem of the hybrid may be wider.

Brian? wrote: »
    I doubt it. Give that the fit
    Was done by a guy in Halfords, I'm 99% sure it's the bike fit.

The best saddle it the world is no good unless the bike fit is done right.

It could be the bike fit. I saw a cyclist pass me recently. Big tall guy and his saddle was clearly too low. His kness were still well bent at the bottom of the pedal rotation.
    I see very tall guys with their saddles way above the height of their handlebars. Should the top of the saddle be much higher than the top of the handlebars?

minterno wrote: »
    id be afraid to get rid of most of them as im still swapping them about but if your in the cork area you could borrow them to see if they would suit,I have a 1 fizik arione wing flex 133mm,2 fizik alliente 135mm,3 sprung brooks b66s,4 brooks b17 175mm,5 giant stock saddle 135mm,6 charge spoon 140mm,7 selle smp trk 160mm,8 concor super corsa 135mm, and some cheap saddles from here and there

Appreciate the offer but im up in Limerick im afraid.
    If you think you might want to sell the corsa or either of the fiziks i might be interested(if they are white)
    Pm me sure if you are!
    Thanks,
    MArty.

Should the top of the saddle be much higher than the top of the handlebars?

My understanding having had a bike fit done recently is 5-8 cm roughly for the regular joe/sportive rider (me!)

Guys racing would want the bars even lower for better aerodynamics... i think the fitter said about 10cm but im open to corretion.

Mine is about 7cm and its good for what i do.
    Marty

I am tempted to do that but I would say the stem of the hybrid may be wider.

Its the width of the rails under the saddle that are important here, not the seat post, which are likely the same for your hybrid and road bike. All the saddles I've had are fine on either road bike or hybrid. Worth marking their current positions (i.e. forward/back, tilt) prior to moving them. Easy enough done with a dab of tippex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Hi Ho

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance,
    M.S.

Have you said what the problem is, or have I missed it? I found a resolution to my problem but I wouldn't give any suggestions without knowing what the problem is.

It could be the bike fit. I saw a cyclist pass me recently. Big tall guy and his saddle was clearly too low. His kness were still well bent at the bottom of the pedal rotation.
    I see very tall guys with their saddles way above the height of their handlebars. Should the top of the saddle be much higher than the top of the handlebars?

Yes, your saddle should be higher than your bars. But that's secondary to having saddle the right height in the first place.

YouTube GCN saddle height. They've a good guide on setting it up.

they/them/theirs

smacl wrote: »
    Its the width of the rails under the saddle that are important here, not the seat post, which are likely the same for your hybrid and road bike. All the saddles I've had are fine on either road bike or hybrid. Worth marking their current positions (i.e. forward/back, tilt) prior to moving them. Easy enough done with a dab of tippex.

I'm shocked at all the recommendations to change/swap saddles when the lad has acknowledged he has no idea if his bike fit is right.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Most of the time yes on a road bike, the general rule of thumb is you should have a slight bend in your knee at the bottom of pedal stroke approx 25% angle..

I'm shocked at all the recommendations to change/swap saddles when the lad has acknowledged he has no idea if his bike fit is right.

I don't think bike fit is the complete solution. Lots of people seem to have this issue and the saddle may well be the problem. I have cycled on the hybrid bike saddle for hours and had no issue. I may look at swapping the saddles and report back. I have never changed a saddle so will have to have a look and report back.

I'm not saying bike fit is the answer 100% of the time. But you need to sort yours out as a priority, a sore arse will be the least of your worries if you don't.

I've contributed to at least 3 relieved hoops by annoying people until they got their bike fit right. In one case it was after multiple saddle swaps.

they/them/theirs

Swapping the saddles is eliminating one possible cause of the problem, which he can do himself at no cost. If it doesn't solve the issue, fair chance its not just the saddle. If it does, he's saved himself the cost and time of an unnecessary bike fit. When dealing with any problem, I tend to go for the quick and free options before investing money and time that may not be required. YMMV.

smacl wrote: »
    Swapping the saddles is eliminating one possible cause of the problem, which he can do himself at no cost. If it doesn't solve the issue, fair chance its not just the saddle. If it does, he's saved himself the cost and time of an unnecessary bike fit. When dealing with any problem, I tend to go for the quick and free options before investing money and time that may not be required. YMMV.

I'm not suggesting he pays for a fit. There are plenty of online calculators that'll get him almost there. That's free.

they/them/theirs