Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland V Poland

• 19-11-2013 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭

Hi Guys,

Does anyone have any recommendation on where to watch this match in Dublin city centre?

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,114 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Sinnotts. Big Screens. Good Picture.

Cant go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

listermint wrote: »
    Sinnotts. Big Screens. Good Picture.

Cant go wrong.

best place to watch football in town is the living room.....Sinnots is a pub, that only looks after the football crowd, if there is nothing else on.

tonight should be fine, but if it was to clash with any rugby game (not even involving Irish teams), then its likely that the football wont be shown.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

What station(s) is this game on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What station(s) is this game on?

Setanta

best place to watch football in town is the living room.....Sinnots is a pub, that only looks after the football crowd, if there is nothing else on.

tonight should be fine, but if it was to clash with any rugby game (not even involving Irish teams), then its likely that the football wont be shown.

Oh i didnt realise there was a rugby game on....

Setanta

Setanta Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭git_ireland

Fair play for the suggestions lads, I had completely forgot about the Living Room. It has to be on one of their big screens! Cheers homerjay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

So... Is this a match thread or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Starting xi
    Forde, Kelly, St Ledger, Wilson, Ward, Walters (c), McCarthy, Green, McGeady, Stokes, Long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

yabadabado wrote: »
    Starting xi
    Forde, Kelly, St Ledger, Wilson, Ward, Walters (c), McCarthy, Green, McGeady, Stokes, Long

Green Still starting games for ireland :'(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

He was always going to go with a second string, but Paul Green?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

This game not been on sky or rte is bollix!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

He was always going to go with a second string, but Paul Green?!

I actually see no difference anymore between what Green brings to the team and what Whelan brings to the team. Like for like. Brutal for brutal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

So... Is this a match thread or what?

Yeah, why not. I think this will be a 0-0 draw..... zzzzzzz

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

population wrote: »
    I actually see no difference anymore between what Green brings to the team and what Whelan brings to the team. Like for like. Brutal for brutal

I'd rate Whelan much higher than Green. I honestly thought we'd seen the last of Green after Trap. I figured he was one of those players who, rather than actually being one of the 23 best, was just there because he suited a particular managers style at the time. I'll be interested to see if O'Neill persists with him next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

Green is cat. Cant believe hes still in the squad. Puts in great effort but doesnt have an ounce of quality in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

keith16 wrote: »
    Yeah, why not. I think this will be a 0-0 draw..... zzzzzzz

Could well be just that. Have money on 0-0 at 7/1 as a consolation for watching 90 boring mins in case it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Whatever about Green, how is Ward playing again? He was the worst player in the team on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I think Green is only playing because O'Neill said he'd give all the players called up a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,813 ✭✭✭lertsnim

MrMac84 wrote: »
    This game not been on sky or rte is bollix!

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

If Lewandowski and Kuba are in any way up for it tonight that defence could struggle. That being said Poland were beaten 0-2 by Slovakia on Friday. I'd imagine the gauntlet is being thrown to those players tonight to prove they are good enough to be part of this squad.

It seems a very strange decision to play such a weakened side in this game. I understand wanting to see lots of players but why such a strong side for 65 minute against a team as poor as Latvia to play this side tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭yohan the great

Green Still starting games for ireland :'(
    Probably because the last time he played for Ireland he was our best player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I remember a highlights clip on one of the RTE programs highlighting his good play. Every single clip they found, all he was doing was running around closing lads down. He's not good enough for international football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Who's the presenter on Setanta lads?

PropJoe10 wrote: »
    I remember a highlights clip on one of the RTE programs highlighting his good play. Every single clip they found, all he was doing was running around closing lads down. He's not good enough for international football
    I'm not saying he is a good player because I don't watch him enough to base an opinion on him but I thought he was good against Austria. He is unfairly made a scapegoat in my opinion

Who's the presenter on Setanta lads?

His name came up atbthe start as something Morris. Maybe Chris?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,245 ✭✭✭✭briany

Lemlin wrote: »
    I think Green is only playing because O'Neill said he'd give all the players called up a chance.

That attitude is a sea change in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Very strange team indeed, would have liked to see Hoolahan get another chance. Ward is one of the worst players to ever play for Ireland, he cannot defend and has the ball control of a lesbian.

It will be interesting to see how well Stokes and Long work together up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Kelly is poison how on earth did he ever make the grade in professional football. Very disappointed with that team to be brutally honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Polish fans clapping during our anthem.

Haven't seen that done before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Keep an eye on Sobota as well. My Polish friends rate him highly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Haha :D

Keep an eye on Sobota as well. My Polish friends rate him highly.

Is he anything to that guy from season 2 of "The Wire"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Curtis Fleming on Setanta talking about Green 'He's one of those lads that keeps himself fit'.

Would have thought that was a prerequisite for a pro footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭tigger123

Did the commentator just say that it's Poland's third manager since 2012?!

Haha :D

??? He was Irelands best player in the last game he played

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

It is absolute torture trying to watch a stream of a Setanta match. It's **** on TV, so it is even ****ter on a stream :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

keith16 wrote: »
    Is he anything to that guy from season 2 of "The Wire"?

Ya he's Franks nephew and Ziggys brother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Ya he's Franks nephew and Ziggys brother.

But Frank is Ziggys dad, that doesn't make sense, think he may have been pulling your leg mate

Chance! May have only seen it late in fairness to him....maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Kelly should have buried that

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

sh*t that was close

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Ireland don't look half bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

54% possession so far, though this is a very unusual polish team. am watching it on polish tv and alot of the players are not that well known.

in saying that, our team could be alot better also, we have 3 or 4 passengers who should be nowhere near the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

This doesn't make me want to claw my own eyes out at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

elefant wrote: »
    Ireland don't look half bad

Had a nice bit of possession there,played the ball around.

Sledge off now.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

Why didnt he just volley that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Not bad, but think Forde should be hoofing it long less often. Westwood used the full back to start attacks on Friday. Forde has proved to be quality, but kicks it long far too much.