Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You've just become a billionaire...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

Primary: Dublin City Centre
    Rural: Brazil near Manaus
    City: Rotterdam
    Lisbon
    Berlin

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Private Island located in the Caribbean and build a decent size house, nothing extreme just a large comfortable type lodge and a few guest houses, like a little village type setup..

Then spend the rest of the time enjoying time with my family and friends with no interruptions.

No other fancy pads required, sure with that money I can stay in any hotel I want and be waited on hand n foot.

I might invest in a decent boat too, but there is no rush for that :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

San Diego - USA primary
    Waterford - city
    Ibiza - countryside Villa
    Shinoukville Cambodia - beach house
    Prague - penthouse

Dan Deigo is one of the most mind numblingly boring cities in America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Seaneh wrote: »
    Dan Deigo is one of the most mind numblingly boring cities in America.

Waterford is on his list too :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Garzard

Primary: Large suburban gaff in LA / Florida.

City: Haven't really thought much about it but probably Helsinki, random but hey, beautiful city & beautiful country!

Rural: Somewhere easily accessible in the Irish Midlands or a large open spot just outside Dublin. IF there was enough cash remaining and planning permission allowed, I'd convert it into a giant airsoft site and would maybe build another one for paintballers. Cheap enough entry + access to everywhere inside it. In it there'd be an urban area with fake estates, towers, forts, high rises, streets, apartment blocks, a shopping centre, a power station...everything a typical town or city would have. I'd also grow a large forested area to replicate the Battle of the Bulge, ''beach'' replicating D-Day, (beside a hypothetical lake) full of pillboxes, tank traps, and airsoft machine gun / artillery emplacements, a small airfield area full of retired and destroyed planes and tower, a dark underground area, and finally if there was enough room, a massive open area to replicate Kursk with trenches, (safe) barbed wire, machine gun posts, tank traps, dug in WW2 tanks, and a minefield full of airsoft mines.

To add realism there would also be fires, smoke screens, old army vehicles and burnt out cars everywhere, especially in the town and Kursk area. (These could be sourced easily from both military and civilian scrapyards) Basically what a war ravaged city and country would look like. Think something like this would be great fun and would attract worldwide airsoft attention, countless tourist players and massive revenue! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Waterford is on his list too :pac:

Hey leave me alone :P I like Zoo's and Blaa's I will have a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭newbie2013

I would get every single note i can with the money and have a big bonefire. Money is the dirtiest thing on this planet and the less of it the better IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Cities: Berlin, London, New York City
    Rural: Lake District, Maine, Co. Wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Primary - Toronto
    City - Budapest
    Rural - Somewhere in Spain
    Then a holiday home in The Bahamas & one other one in Malta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Primary - Galway

City - Galway

Countryside - Galway

4th Inis Oir - all of it, the whole f`cken thing.

5th Next door to Simon Cowell... I wouldn't live there, I'd just have a massive buzzer go off every few minutes. If he moved, I'd sell up this property & move next door to him again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

GobBass wrote: »
    Primary: A Georgian townhouse in Clontarf for a start, this one in particular:

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/prospect-house-the-crescent-clontarf-dublin-3/2659144

However, if I wanted space, its a toss-up between this mansion in Howth surrounded by woodland and sea...

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/windgate-windgate-road-baily-howth-dublin-county/2626891

..or Ashtown Lodge near the Phoenix Park, which was given a brilliant write-up in the Irish Times recently.

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/ashtown-lodge-river-road-castleknock-dublin-15/2521108

____

City: A loft/penthouse in Berlin, preferably in Dahlem or the more central Mitte.

Country: Celbridge Demesne hands down, big ass house with 600 acres less than an hour outside Dublin, not bad. :D

Other: Penthouse in New York. You MUST see this, it is the most stunning property I've ever seen. I've promised myself I would buy it if the Euromillions ever came up.

http://priceypads.com/tribeca-penthouse-24500000/

Do I have too much time on my hands? Perhaps.

But a young lad can dream.

Before I checked my Euromillions last night I had a wee snoop on myhome.ie.

You Sir, have stolen my two Dublin(home base) properties(in fairness broke my heart laughing when I saw them in your link :D)
    But lets not fall out over it, you can have first dibs and I'll take the other one ;)

For my rural retreat I'll have this please

http://www.sifex.co.uk/moreimages.asp?propid=20165

For number three...

http://www.kosamuiproperties.com/property-info.php?ID=101#ad-image-1

Number four

http://www.sothebyshomes.com/nyc/sales/0019167

Number five

http://www.primelocation.com/overseas/details/27596303

I've been thinking about winning the Euromillions a little bit tooooo much :o:D

Dublin
    London
    Amman
    Tuscany
    Hong Kong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Ahhhhh its grand

City: Penthouse apartment in New York.
    Primary: House in Dublin.
    Rural: Largest house I could find in South Africa that was near a game reserve.
    Sun and relaxation: Nice big Villa on Lake Garda.
    Long Haul flight: House on Bora Bora

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Why only 5? If I was a billionaire I'd buy the whole world and could stay where I wanted. I'd also buy the moon and build a tunnel under the Atlantic...Oooh I could do sooooo many things with a billion euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Primary & Rural: Country Estate in Tipperary with a swimming pool and room for a pony.

City1: Prague - Definitely spend a month or two here in winter.

City2: Manchester - Just a small apartment to stay in while going to football...now that I have an executive box I go a lot.

City3: Dublin

Beach House: Not sure, possibly the French River Area :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

An offshore island like one of the Blaskets or somewhere like that
    A fortified castle anywhere in Ireland
    A ranch in Montana
    An apartment in Berlin
    A palazzo in Venice that I would restore to its former glory complete with servants, gondoliers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,719 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

That cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Primary - Bit of Land to build on between Derry and Donegal.

City - San Francisco

Rural - Malibu/Santa Monica

#4 Farmhouse in Italy

#5 I cant even think of a 5th - See how easy pleased I am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I don't want five bloody properties. I'd buy a big-ish farm somewhere in the Golden Vale - probably South Tipp - and a villa near Cannes. What I could see myself doing is developing a proper, international-standard short-circuit motor-racing facility in Munster somewhere, with all bells-and-whistles making it a top-drawer family destination for the day or weekend. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

Czarcasm wrote: »
    So your principal property can't be in the city, and it can't be in the country...

Mars colony here I come!

mars pff... there is good sking in europa this time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I would buy a house in Beverly Hills complete with a C-ment pond:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭GobBass

Great news guys, remember that penthouse I wanted in New York?

Its price has been cut by $7m.

Its only $17.5m now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Ranelagh
    Manhattan
    Montreal
    Lombardy
    Gothenburg Archipelago

I don't care, I'm having 7:
    Vancouver
    New Orleans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

Skerries wrote: »
    and you are going to buy 5 properties, where in the world would you buy?
    one of them must be your primary residence
    one of them must be a city dwelling (excluding your principal property)
    one of them must be a rural property (excluding your principal property)

West Hollywood.

Paris.

London.

South of France rurally maybe.

Dublin.

And since I am a billionaire I would also have a sixth and a seventh Berlin and New York.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Primary: Where I am right now
    City: Toronto, Vancouver, Dublin
    Rural: Somewhere in the schticks in Meath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

I'd also buy an island from a country somewhere and try to have it declared an independent state, then I'd introduce a load of pretty ridiculous laws legalizing just about everything and charge people a fortune to holiday there

Primary: Kensington, London.
    Urban: Manhattan, NYC
    Rural: Somewhere in the countryside just outside of Dublin (as close as possible to the city to still be classified as rural!)
    #4: Shanghai
    #5: Tokyo

And possibly a houseboat in Reykjavik too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Rural - Malibu/Santa Monica

Your understanding of the word rural is a bit, er, flawed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

For my primary I'd probably buy a 5/6 bed (probably old farmhouse) in my home town. Plenty of room for guests and while it's not the greatest town on earth, home is home.

2nd in Manchester. If I had enough billions I'd buy a certain property on Sir Matt Busby way.

3rd in London. I love London.

4th in Adenau. It's a village inside the 'Ring. I'd keep a couple of toys there.

5th in Phuket. While it's cheapness might no longer be the primary draw at that stage, it's beauty and the friendliness of the people would keep bringing me back.

How much is the Euromillions tonight? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 originalstatus

Primary: Toronto
    City: South Dublin City
    Rural: South Monaghan
    Others: Somewhere in Texas (for the guns and BBQs :p), and another in Florida or California!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Primary would still be in Clare I'd build a house to my dream spec
    City would be NYC
    Rural:Southern Poland
    I'd probably buy a house in Dublin just to have a place to stay up there
    And my last would be in the French Riviera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

1 - I'd knock down the current gaff and build a 6,000 Sq Ft on the same land. Swimming pool, treble garage, tennis court, spa, slave quarters.

2 -I'd then buy a home in South Dublin. Merrion Rd or Ballsbridge area along with a similar pad in London.

3 - I'd buy the entirety of Connaught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I would just buy thousands of acres in the midlands, level every building and plant millions of trees and build a massive wall around with a nice cabin in the middle. Maybe airlift a few herds of deer and a pack of wolves into my new forest to make things interesting.

Years later the walls would crumble revealing a beautiful forest - my gift to Ireland from an eccentric billionaire

Would you get planning permission?
    You spend half the billion on red tape and brown envelopes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,088 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I wouldn't need all that much space for myself. I wonder whether Adam Clayton fancies selling Danesmoate House, after all the work he's had done there? :cool:

As for the rest, I'd be tempted to indulge my megalomaniac / paternalistic tendencies, and set up some kind of pilot scheme in a place like Haiti. Buy up a huge chunk of the north coast away from Port-au-Prince, set up a luxury resort combined with a hospital and other social facilities for the locals. It could make a great "medical tourism" destination for slightly-rich people: fly in, get your boobs remodelled or your cardiac arteries reamed out, followed by two weeks on the beach. At the same time, improve the lives of the locals with employment, education, and healthcare.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

zenno wrote: »
    There's many materialistic people here, greedy feckers you lot are.

Its called pretend Zenno