Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting my running mojo back

• Registered Users Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Average pace 7.18 Average heart rate 148 Cadence 168 Vert Osc 9.3cm GCT:253MS

Cadence is number of striders per minute ?

Vert Osc is how much you bounce up and down ? Is there a target measurement for this ? I would think that the lower the number the better, but is there a recognized optimum ?

GCT - no idea what that is and what it measures :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

PaulieC wrote: »
    GCT - no idea what that is and what it measures :pac:
    Ground contact time, I'd imagine. Probably a product of cadence and vertical oscillation. Not sure how useful it is. Can you imagine trying to adapt your ground contact time while running?!

Good to see you back running steadily Thirstywork. What pace were the last 5 miles of your 16 mile run? Think they caused the knee issue, or was it the club session (or both)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

tonight:ran 10miles easy
    Monday:8.5miles steady
    Sunday:long run on my own after work of 16 miles average pace 7.08
    Saturday:8miles
    Friday:rest
    Thursday:10miles
    That was my week in reverse :)

regards the readings on the Garmin im still trying to figure out myself.
    decided only to wear it 2-3 times per week.

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭thewolf_ie

tonight:ran 10miles easy
    Monday:8.5miles steady
    Sunday:long run on my own after work of 16 miles average pace 7.08
    Saturday:8miles
    Friday:rest
    Thursday:10miles
    That was my week in reverse :)

regards the readings on the Garmin im still trying to figure out myself.
    decided only to wear it 2-3 times per week.

If you want a techie to try the watch out posted it my way! ;p

More than welcome to try it out.I can't even figure out how to download the bloody thing :eek:

5miles easy run into work today.33 today :eek:

14miles today started running 8minute miles and slowly got faster for an average of 7.28 per mile.

Trip to THE OSTEOPATH AND WELL WORTH IT,GOT HIPS ALIGNED AND NECK ECT.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Trip to THE OSTEOPATH AND WELL WORTH IT,GOT HIPS ALIGNED AND NECK ECT.

Any further info about this TW?
    I know I was previously diagnosed with an issue around a tilted pelvis which leads to back pain but found the stretches given by physio to be useless at helping this.

belcarra wrote: »
    Any further info about this TW?
    I know I was previously diagnosed with an issue around a tilted pelvis which leads to back pain but found the stretches given by physio to be useless at helping this.

Mark is excellent,he did a postural assessment and begun to work hands on into my lower back.Was very tender(slight bruising today in ql's)
    Then came the crack and crunch on hips followed by neck and upper back.
    Booked in with him again next week and working on some stretches he gave me.

Training today was 9miles easy @7.45 pace.
    Good chat with the coach and easy enough week next leading to Enniscorthy 10k.A sub 35 would be a solid start but im not going to worry about time but just get a marker and whatever it is I know that getting the base in is vital along with being in one piece for a change.
    Charleville half will be my first big test and a good indicator as to what time I will aim for in Dublin.

5miles am with run group easy in that lovely weather.
    Ran 4 miles easy after work @ 8min miles.

Still can't shake tightness in hip flexors.
    Plan is 16-18 miles tomorrow and then an easy week next week before a run out in the 10k race.

Get this yoga pose into. 3 x 30 sec on each side.

http://kristinmcgee.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Crescent-Lunge.jpg

18 miles today,turned up and lads where all racing in Athlone so first 8miles on my own and bumped into a few lads in the club which was great.
    Average pave 7.02 per mile.

4miles easy today and feeling better than most Monday's.

Hoping to get a rub this week and trip to Osteopath on Thursday.
    Thinking about Sunday too much,never gone into a race so under prepared and unfit but it will be good to be racing again.
    Usually you have some sort or workout/tempo to go off but I don't have a clue.

Im thinking of starting a core workout after work twice a week if anyone wants to join me.Plan is 30-40minutes from the shop.
    Mileage this week low but going to enjoy being fresh :)

5miles easy yesterday with run group.Twinge in my left knee,8 miles later so will see how it feels.

1mile warmup and stretching followed by 8.5 miles easy.
    Little bit of a sore throat but knee felt so so.
    Few days winding down now :)

You going out to Enniscorthy 10k? Might see you out there. Want to get an idea of where I stand at the moment, so will be aiming for a similar target (sub 35).

Yes 35 seems realistic for myself,be good to have someone to pace off ;)

You mean out-kick? :)

Would I do that haha,I just want a good hard blow out so will be sharing the pace if body feels up to it ;)

Easy 6 miles yesterday followed by 6 x 100m strides.
    Rest day today and 20-30 minutes tomorrow morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

You going out to Enniscorthy 10k? Might see you out there. Want to get an idea of where I stand at the moment, so will be aiming for a similar target (sub 35).
    Would I do that haha,I just want a good hard blow out so will be sharing the pace if body feels up to it ;)

Lads Dublin county council have been on. Due to adverse storm conditions they want their sandbags back ;)

292905.jpg

Called it!

How you do?

Sorry seen results! Looks like a great race!

Have to say top race today and will 100% be back again next year.

Arrived down today and wasn't one bit nervous which was very strange.
    Having done no sessions and no real target(minimum was under 35mins)
    Warmed up with few of the Wicklow lads and knee was at me but knew best to stay positive and race adrenaline would take care of it.

After being put to the sword by TTR last year in Paddys day 5k I was in no mood to be beaten by Krusty today.
    Race went of and relaxed into a nice steady pace.krusty was just ahead and I tucked in behind,we where back in the early 30's id say after 400-500m.
    After the first 1k and the hill everyone talking about Krusty turned to me and said ''that wasn't so bad''.
    After 2k I decided to move up and take a few places but the gap between the next runners I would have to gradually pull them back by myself.
    An Sbr runner & Rathfarnam runner I tucked in behind.My first big mistake was during the 2-3k split where I ran a 3.17 split,I was passing a guy who I train with from Dunboyne AC and wanted to just make a point.
    I suffered abit from 5-7km and got dropped on the hill at 7k marker and was on my own from here.
    After 8k I noticed Krusty was now flying and eating into my lead on him.
    He caught me around the 8.5-9km mark (not 100% sure)
    I tucked in behind but felt guilty doing this and decided to help out and took the lead,as we hit the last downhill he unleashed a really good kick(for an over 40) :) and I had to respond fast so just nailed it as hard as I could and ran through the line.Wasn't sure of my time as the watch was all over the place.

Finished up with (chip time) 34.09 so a nice opener.
    Knee a little tender after but managed 4miles with the Raheny crew.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Savage first race back, fair play!

After being put to the sword by TTR last year in Paddys day 5k

you ahould be safe this year, I don't think I'm running it ;)

TRR wrote: »
    you ahould be safe this year, I don't think I'm running it ;)

Im sure I will find another race soon to get my revenge.
    Don't know which upset me more 1.getting chicked by Linda Byrne or 2.You beating me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Super result. Nicely done.

Im sure I will find another race soon to get my revenge.
    Don't know which upset me more 1.getting chicked by Linda Byrne or 2.You beating me.

I don't know what made me happier
    1) not getting chicked by LB or
    2) beating you ;)

4miles easy today,quads in ribbons.Easy few days and have 2 x 2mile tempo on Thur or Fri if anyone wants to join me?