Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brewing Temperature

Options
  • 21-11-2013 10:51am
    Registered Users Posts: 7

Hey all,

I'm completely new to Home Brewing and just started wine making 2 days ago. I'm using a kit I purchased from thehomebrewcompany.ie, its a simple 6 bottle kit. The only problem I have run in to is the temperature, the instructions recommends a constant temp of 20 - 25 degrees!

The only problem is our house is 140 years old and with the current weather it tends to be quite cold! Me and my girlfriend are at work all day so no heating until we get home, from 6 onwards.

I've placed the batch in the warmest possible cupboard in the house but at most its around 16 - 18 degrees throughout the day. Will this hinder the wine from fermenting? I'm going to go down the route of brewing beer soon enough and as far as I know brewing temperature is a major concern.

So with all that in mind :) does anyone have a few tips on how to battle the cold Irish winter and keep fermenting on track? Any help is much appreciated!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Wrap a few towels or something around it to keep the temperature constant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

16 - 18 degrees is grand, Nottingham and US-05 are dry that can handle lower temps than other yeast

• Registered Users Posts: 7 acott