Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí smash travelling gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

gonzo.phd wrote: »
    Fair point allright, however I wonder why it hasn't already been done. The data is already there from the CSO census. I've tried to find data from respondents that have criminal convictions and correlate it to those who identify themselves as travelers.

Fairly standard use of datasets. I wonder why it hasn't already been done by the CSO... but that might be racist would it?

Probably won't find anything from Ireland but here's a report about Irish travellers in prison in the UK -
    The research has identified that 51.7% of the offences committed by Irish Travellers involve the unlawful obtaining of property. This can be compared to a corresponding figure of 30.5% for all prisoners nationwide. Furthermore, burglary accounts for 26.4 % of the offences committed by Irish Travellers, which can be compared to a figure of 9.9% for the entire prison population.

This high proportion of offences involving misappropriated property is typical of a minority group who are socially and economically marginalised in society.
    Voices Unheard - A Study of Irish Travellers in Prison

I believe it's important to not sweep these things under the carpet. Cultural generalisations are OK as long as they are just recognised as such, and that the underlying reasons for such trends are often complex.

In this case, you can begin to see how being disadvantaged due to leaving education early, lower literacy skills etc. can lead to vicious cycles of criminality, which in turn furthers discrimination. The excerpt continues,
    Recent research indicates that income inequality is the most consistent structural correlate of rates for theft and other forms of property crime. All forms of theft tend to occur disproportionately in poor, isolated, socially disadvantaged neighbourhoods. (Miller, 2009)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭bigblackmug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

okedoke wrote: »
    the way the dole and other benefits have been cut by the troika they are probably desperate have no legitimate means of earning a few bob

Ridiculous trolling.

Mod

marshababoon banned.

If you report a post, ignore it, quoting posts which are most likely going to be deleted just makes for more work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Mod
    If you report a post, ignore it, quoting posts which are most likely going to be deleted just makes for more work.
    Sorry:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

They couldn't even keep their pants up on the news getting into the paddywagons :rolleyes: looked like a bunch of overgrown babies. I'm suprised the guards didn't have to pull 'em up for them :rolleyes:

Plenty of sh*tty bums on show, honestly, they can't even dress themselves properly :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

That shouty fella... whatever about the death penalty.. and auld fall down a rake of steps wouldn't go amiss with him.

Watching that yoke roaring on the TV earlier would really put every liberal shred in your body under pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

The indo has that they are being charged with only one count...whats the story there.
    Each has been charged with one count of aggravated burglary at a house at Burnchurch, Killenaule, Co Tipperary, on November 24 last.

So we have breaking and entering home invasion, assault with a deadly weapon, GBH, a shotgun probably not registered and more than likely stolen. Stolen car, driving at high speeds without due care and consideration. driving without insurance.

Anything else that can be added instead of the one count of aggravated burglary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,092 ✭✭✭Hitchens

kupus wrote: »
    The indo has that they are being charged with only one count...whats the story there.

So we have breaking and entering home invasion, assault with a deadly weapon, GBH, a shotgun probably not registered and more than likely stolen. Stolen car, driving at high speeds without due care and consideration. driving without insurance.

Anything else that can be added instead of the one count of aggravated burglary.

malicious damage to the said veh-hee-kell ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

the way the dole and other benefits have been cut by the troika they are probably desperate have no legitimate means of earning a few bob

Laziest trolling ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

They're probably only charging them with that as a preliminary measure.

After the big feckin' hoo-haa Gardai and the media have made of this I'd be amazed if that was the only thing levied against them.. amazed but not entirely shocked, though!

All the 13-2 reg cars gushing into the court on TV earlier was a sight to behold. If these lads aren't sent away for a long time it'll be a while before such a show of strength is portrayed without people rolling their eyes to the heavens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

folan wrote: »
    never congratulate anyone for a job well done, sure isn't money enough.

Don't agree. I have met people in my life who told me that they would prefer to be left twenty euro short in their wages in a week that they were told that they were doing a good job and that their commitment, dedication and loyalty was appreciated.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

3 months in an open prison, more than likely, as the judge says....Next case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

If night time travelling gangs are released on bail, part of the bail conditions should be that each member sign in to Garda station at 5.00am. each morning. A different Garda station for each of them.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Jimmy Conway

In an ideal world the one count of aggravated burglary would be enough to put these scum off the streets for the rest of their days...as stated in the statute books 'A person guilty of aggravated burglary is liable on conviction on indictment to imprisonment for life' http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2001/en/act/pub/0050/sec0013.html

Unfortunately they will probably get some ridiculously short sentence from some out of touch judge. Probably be out in 5 :mad:

Imagine this crowd getting bail after what they done, Judges on their high throne have dealt with very extreme cases, and it seems that when a judge deals with this particular one, they will just say, as per usual, that they all had a very hard up-bringing etc... and will have pity on them all.

I'll say it again and again and again, the justice system in Ireland is fecked. The DPP had to step in many a time to over-rule dumb-ass judges light sentences, will this be another one.

I hope the family recover from their ordeal sometime in the near future.

zenno wrote: »
    Imagine this crowd getting bail after what they done, Judges on their high throne have dealt with very extreme cases, and it seems that when a judge deals with this particular one, they will just say, as per usual, that they all had a very hard up-bringing etc... and will have pity on them all.

I'll say it again and again and again, the justice system in Ireland is fecked. The DPP had to step in many a time to over-rule dumb-ass judges light sentences, will this be another one.

I hope the family recover from their ordeal sometime in the near future.
    The DPP doesn't get to over-rule judges, judges get to over-rule judges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Can I ask a simple question why do scumbags get suspended or very lenient sentanced and Garlic man get the book thrown at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

How much is the "free" legal aid going to cost?

The DPP doesn't get to over-rule judges, judges get to over-rule judges.

What about the recent cases where the DPP examined a few cases that a judge gave too lenient of a sentence ? and then the DPP came to the realisation that a longer sentence was needed of which they forwarded ?. Didn't that over-rule the judges.

Umm... Sentence Reviews under Section 2 of the Criminal Justice Act, 1993

11.5 The Court of Criminal Appeal has held that in relation to sentence reviews the onus lies on the Director to show that the sentence is not merely lenient but unduly so. In such a review, great weight is attached to the trial judge's reasons for imposing the sentence. Since the finding must be one of undue leniency, nothing but a substantial departure from what would be regarded as the appropriate sentence would justify the intervention of the court in order to increase the sentence: Director of Public Prosecutions v. Byrne (1995) 1 ILRM. There must have been an error of principle by the sentencing court to justify altering the sentence: Director of Public Prosecutions v. Redmond, Court of Criminal Appeal, 21 December 2000.

zenno wrote: »
    What about the recent cases where the DPP examined a few cases that a judge gave too lenient of a sentence ? and then the DPP came to the realisation that a longer sentence was needed of which they forwarded ?. Didn't that over-rule the judges.

Umm... Sentence Reviews under Section 2 of the Criminal Justice Act, 1993

11.5 The Court of Criminal Appeal has held that in relation to sentence reviews the onus lies on the Director to show that the sentence is not merely lenient but unduly so. In such a review, great weight is attached to the trial judge's reasons for imposing the sentence. Since the finding must be one of undue leniency, nothing but a substantial departure from what would be regarded as the appropriate sentence would justify the intervention of the court in order to increase the sentence: Director of Public Prosecutions v. Byrne (1995) 1 ILRM. There must have been an error of principle by the sentencing court to justify altering the sentence: Director of Public Prosecutions v. Redmond, Court of Criminal Appeal, 21 December 2000.

The DPP didn't review the sentences, she appealed them to the Court of Criminal Appeal, in other words she asked Judges to review and where they deem it appropriate to over-rule, as you put it, other judges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,379 ✭✭✭emo72

so some of them were travellers?

emo72 wrote: »
    so some of them were travellers?

I don't know, but all of them are utter scumbags!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,379 ✭✭✭emo72

I don't know, but all of them are utter scumbags!
    #

utter scumbags some of them are. who happen to be travellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

By the looks of some of their faces entering courts they may have "resisted arrest". Hopefully.

The DPP didn't review the sentences, she appealed them to the Court of Criminal Appeal, in other words she asked Judges to review and where they deem it appropriate to over-rule, as you put it, other judges.

Got ye, I wasn't fully sure of the workings. Cheers for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

People shouldn't be too quick to judge these fella's, none of them have had an easy life up to now, that's for sure.

How many people can say for sure they wouldn't do these kind of things if they were brought up without an education or any opportunities?
    I don't understand how you could defend these scumbags. They're a complete waste of good oxygen clearly. And how do you know they've had tough lives?

Plenty of people have had tough upbringings anyway and have forced it upon themselves to improve their own lives and those in the communities they come from. These lads have travelled down the country on the motorway, probably more than once, broken into a business-woman's home and terrorised her family. Lock them up and throw away the key I say.

Sadly the justice system is a joke. Only so much the Gardaí can do when inept, out of touch judges impose such soft sentences on scum like this. And don't get me started on concurrent sentences!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭dutopia

Hootanany wrote: »
    Can I ask a simple question why do scumbags get suspended or very lenient sentanced and Garlic man get the book thrown at him

Very simple - garlic man defrauded the state, which would set a dangerous precedent if it wasn't dealt with. Scumbags 'only' affect their victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,759 ✭✭✭degsie

From the Indo...
    These guys are working the system already...
    All seven are unemployed, and free legal aid was granted by Judge Finn in all cases.

The court heard that Mr Gately is supporting his girlfriend and a three-year-old child. Mr Byrne is living with his father.

An application was made on Mr McDonagh's behalf to have him remanded to Cloverhill Prison rather than Limerick Prison. Judge Finn said he would not be making such a recommendation but it was open to Mr McDonagh to apply to the prison services for such a transfer.

Applications were also made on behalf of Mr Flynn and Patrick Joyce but turned down. The court heard Patrick Joyce's wife is expecting their first child and is five months pregnant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

They should leave the runt down in Limerick. Make his family make the journey up and down for the cúnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭madred006

degsie wrote: »
    From the Indo...
    These guys are working the system already...

Hopefully they encounter a non sympathetic governor in the prison who turns down the transfer request . Can see them already playing the priests and nuns in the prison service beggin for this and that and playing the uneducated we got nothing card only the scapula around their necks , lower than vermin the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

In an ideal world the one count of aggravated burglary would be enough to put these scum off the streets for the rest of their days...as stated in the statute books 'A person guilty of aggravated burglary is liable on conviction on indictment to imprisonment for life' http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2001/en/act/pub/0050/sec0013.html

Unfortunately they will probably get some ridiculously short sentence from some out of touch judge. Probably be out in 5 :mad:

One aspect which concerns me in relation to this case,and more particularly on-line commentary is the ever present danger of a Legal Team using posted statements portraying their "Clients" in a negative fashion as some form of appeal mechanism.

Mind you,at least one of those Newspaper Photo's has that incredible iconic power first noted in the Fr Brendan Smyth case...!

http://cdn2.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/article29781516.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/NWS_20131125_NEW_010_29739860_I4.JPG

It should also be noted that the State's primary concern now,is the wellbeing of those in it's direct care,particularly those on remand.

Sadly,under current legislation, same State has little or no direct responsibility or concern for the current,or ongoing welfare of the Corcoran Family.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

sligojoek wrote: »
    How much is the "free" legal aid going to cost?

However deep the taxpayers pockets are.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

From the Indo

Applications were also made on behalf of Mr Flynn and Patrick Joyce but turned down. The court heard Patrick Joyce's wife is expecting their first child and is five months pregnant

They've some cheek to go bringing that up in court. He didn't exactly give much thought to the three little girls in the house, and he expects some sort of leniency or special treatment because he has a kid on the way?

Best thing for that kid would be to keep his scumbag father locked away for as long as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

'Applications were also made on behalf of Mr Flynn and Patrick Joyce but turned down. The court heard Patrick Joyce's wife is expecting their first child and is five months pregnant'

oh boo-fcuking-hoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭madred006

They've some cheek to go bringing that up in court. He didn't exactly give much thought to the three little girls in the house, and he expects some sort of leniency or special treatment because he has a kid on the way?

Best thing for that kid would be to keep his scumbag father locked away for as long as possible.

That's the tug at the heart strings card in the hope that a bit of pity will come their way . Sickening thing about it is that it will work about 50% of the time .Prison while it is a stumbling block to them is not a deterrent and more strenuous investigations by CAB for example wouldn't go amiss . Only way to hurt them is hit their pockets .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭deandean

I saw over the weekend that someone's caravan at the Belcamp site got smashed to bits and thrown out over the fence. I wonder was it owned by one of the perp's? Perhaps his neighbours are a bit unhappy with him over what he's been up to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I wonder where his pregnant wife thought he was disappearing to at night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

She was probably one of the gang outside the court applauding and waving at the animals as they were brought into court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

I heard tonight that 2 of them are/were involved in a spate of burglaries in my area. They were breaking in in broad daylight.

As a father myself, I don't know what I'd do if I was confronted with a situation like that family in Tipperary

I see the girlfriend of that Donal O'Hara scummer has posted up a picture of herself and her fella, no doubt in support of his actions and standing by him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

flanzer wrote: »
    I heard tonight that 2 of them are/were involved in a spate of burglaries in my area. They were breaking in in broad daylight.

As a father myself, I don't know what I'd do if I was confronted with a situation like that family in Tipperary

I see the girlfriend of that Donal O'Hara scummer has posted up a picture of herself and her fella, no doubt in support of his actions and standing by him
    Imagine, 7 absolute scummers in your own home, armed and terrorising your whole family. Stealing money, jewellery and your car. What a bunch of absolute knackers. Robbery has to be the scummiest thing one can do. Taking things that are not rightfully theirs. And of course they're all unemployed (career dole trotters no doubt) and have now gotten legal aid. What an absolute joke.

If only they were locked up for life, if only. And those scummers cheering them outside the court. Jesus. It's times like this that you wonder how people don't go all out for revenge against people like these. They offer nothing to society, complete leeches. Complete and utter leeches, and the tax-paying citizens paying for their defence challenge now. It really would sicken ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,759 ✭✭✭degsie

flanzer wrote: »

Fancy chatting with the scroat?

http://badoo.com/en-ie/0199549498/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭The Rad Runner

Fancy chatting with the scroat?

http://badoo.com/en-ie/0199549498/

Lol "Where is Donal now?"

He's sending texts banging on pipes to get smokes :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

bohsboy wrote: »
    She was probably one of the gang outside the court applauding and waving at the animals as they were brought into court.

If she was, the child should be removed from their 'care' at birth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Badoo.. never heard of before, is it a site for bad people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

deandean wrote: »
    I saw over the weekend that someone's caravan at the Belcamp site got smashed to bits and thrown out over the fence. I wonder was it owned by one of the perp's? Perhaps his neighbours are a bit unhappy with him over what he's been up to?

Or maybe his kin-folk are just angry he actually got caught.!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

washman3 wrote: »
    Or maybe his kin-folk are just angry he actually got caught.!!

Probably just making room for a bigger more flash caravan with the proceeds from this robbery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

joe stodge wrote: »
    Probably just making room for a bigger more flash caravan with the proceeds from this robbery.

And it's not like they are going to pay to clean up the mess they created...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

And it's not like they are going to pay to clean up the mess they created...

Why should they? when the taxpayer will do it for them...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

anncoates wrote: »
    Watching that yoke roaring on the TV earlier would really put every liberal shred in your body under pressure.

Shades of Nidge about him! :(