Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Rugby World Cup bid - Castlebar/Westport involvement?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Dudda wrote: »
    Isn't McHale Park now owned by Castlebar Town Council or Mayo County Council and not the GAA or Castlebar Mitchels unlike Pearse Stadium?

Mayo County board from what I understand, unless that has changed in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Dudda

yop wrote: »
    Mayo County board from what I understand, unless that has changed in the last few years.

OK thanks. I know they were in a lot of financial trouble and heard talk it might be sold to the council or something like that. Not sure what happened though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

It is still owned by Mayo GAA. They're up to their eyes in debt in terms of the recent rebuild so I would think they will push hard to get involved in this.

I don't think it is realistic to suggest Castlebar instead of Galway, but enough venues should be required to allow room for both in a submission. That would still only be two stadiums in Connacht whereas Munster and Leinster would likely have more venues than that - probably about four each.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

OK thanks. I know they were in a lot of financial trouble and heard talk it might be sold to the council or something like that. Not sure what happened though.

Naming rights were sold, but I didn't hear anything about McHale park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

And apply that logic to every sector, roads, jobs etc etc etc
    Absolutely USELESS muppets the 2 of them, go to Offally and see what Biffo did there, go to Kerry and see what the chap with the cap did, O'Cuiv what he had done for Galway, and we have dumb and dumber who haven't brought one single good thing to the county or the region in case they offend anyone up there.

Sorry for the rant :o

Not this **** again, so you want us to go down the road of gombeen parish pump politics again do you? Using those two as an example says it all. Thats how you want you want public policy decided in this country? Whoever has the clout gets the money? Kenny is the leader of Govt, his remit is to do what best for the country, not for Mayo.

I despair at times

The concrete blocks wouldn't be accepted as seats

On what criteria are you basing this? Certainly i some European stadia ive been in the seats wee basically plastic seats with no backs bolted to the concrete, so mightn't necessarily be a huge job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Think positive guys - Mayo should go for this, and enlist all local pols in the effort.

Not this **** again, so you want us to go down the road of gombeen parish pump politics again do you? Using those two as an example says it all. Thats how you want you want public policy decided in this country? Whoever has the clout gets the money? Kenny is the leader of Govt, his remit is to do what best for the country, not for Mayo.

I despair at times

Doing what is best for the country does not involve putting everything of use in Dublin though. Dublin is the parish that has benefitted the most from 'parish pump politics' in the last 20 years, not Kerry, Offaly or Mayo. What we need now is genuinely balanced regional development with sensible and appropriate developments being provided in provincial locations with the infrastructure to accommodate them - i.e. not casinos in Tipperary or motorways to every craphole village in Meath. In this stiuation Mayo is quite well set up to recieve its share and do its bit.

Doing what is best for the country does not involve putting everything of use in Dublin though. Dublin is the parish that has benefitted the most from 'parish pump politics' in the last 20 years, not Kerry, Offaly or Mayo.

Dublin is the economic hub of the country and is home to approx 25% of the population, of course it's gong to get huge funding but can you back up your argument with facts and figures? It's too easy to say big bad Dublin gets everything and the poor culchies only get the crumbs.
    What we need now is genuinely balanced regional development with sensible and appropriate developments being provided in provincial locations with the infrastructure to accommodate them - i.e. not casinos in Tipperary or motorways to every craphole village in Meath. In this stiuation Mayo is quite well set up to recieve its share and do its bit.

Thas fair enough and i agree, thats completely different that to what posters seem to want.

I despair at times

Chill out good chap, until today we have had ZERO job announcements in Mayo yet have a look at the past month and tell us the number of jobs in DUBLIN alone.
    Gombeen politics is and will always be part of Irish politics and will never change, if you want to live in the land of fairies and think otherwise then fair enough.

Check out Padraic Flynn, was in a position of power and if it wasn't for him the ring road and the roads into Castlebar would still be stone age.
    Healy-Ray - his deals with FF got Kerry a stream of money.

If you want to leave Kenny out of it, what about our TD Michael Ring? He is our local represenative, Mayo voted him to represent us in the Dail, (Kenny was voted in also to represent us!!), so thats what they are meant to do.

EVERY single TD and Taoiseach have and will continue to look after their own.
    If we want to left in the past then "Ah shure we don't want local politics" bla bla, then bang away, I want to see Mayo get looked after, I don't want to see all the young people pour out of here and my own kids do the same.

On what criteria are you basing this? Certainly i some European stadia ive been in the seats wee basically plastic seats with no backs bolted to the concrete, so mightn't necessarily be a huge job

Who said they needed backs? They are currently concrete, no plastic, they have to buy them and bolt them down.

Can't find the regulations on seating for IRB but for soccer it's pretty strict.

UEFA Stadium Infrastructure
    Regulations (2010 edition) Section 2 Article 15

1 Seats for spectators must be individual, fixed (e.g. to the floor), separated from
    one another, shaped, numbered, made of an unbreakable and non-flammable
    material, and have a backrest of a minimum height of 30cm when measured
    from the seat.
    2 The use of temporary stands is prohibited.
    3 The stadium must be equipped with refreshment and catering facilities for all
    spectators in every sector of the stadium.

Can't find the regulations on seating for IRB but for soccer it's pretty strict.

UEFA Stadium Infrastructure
    Regulations (2010 edition) Section 2 Article 15

1 Seats for spectators must be individual, fixed (e.g. to the floor), separated from
    one another, shaped, numbered, made of an unbreakable and non-flammable
    material, and have a backrest of a minimum height of 30cm when measured
    from the seat.
    2 The use of temporary stands is prohibited.
    3 The stadium must be equipped with refreshment and catering facilities for all
    spectators in every sector of the stadium.

So in summary concrete lumps can't be used as seats and the ones in McHale park have been in situ for the last 40+ years so I am sure they will find that they are not "up to standard" and will need to replaced.

Who ever gets the gig and I hope to hell that McHale park gets it, will need a massive injection of money, I just can't see the "main rugby" centre in Connaught not fighting it, then again maybe they are actually sensible and can see that McHale park is the better option but I doubt it.

We are up against 2 countries where they have better stadia and/or have a bigger rugby community so I honestly can't see us getting it.

Also countries who host large tournaments, like London Olympics and Word cups for rugby, football etc have all ended up with massive debts. Do you think the trioca (sp!) are going to let this happen!

Chill out good chap, until today we have had ZERO job announcements in Mayo yet have a look at the past month and tell us the number of jobs in DUBLIN alone.
    Gombeen politics is and will always be part of Irish politics and will never change, if you want to live in the land of fairies and think otherwise then fair enough.

Of course it will never change if we continue to accept it. By the way how exactly is kenny supposed to have those jobs 'created' in Dublin moved to Mayo?
    Check out Padraic Flynn, was in a position of power and if it wasn't for him the ring road and the roads into Castlebar would still be stone age.
    Healy-Ray - his deals with FF got Kerry a stream of money.

If you want to leave Kenny out of it, what about our TD Michael Ring? He is our local represenative, Mayo voted him to represent us in the Dail, (Kenny was voted in also to represent us!!), so thats what they are meant to do.

Well if you want the likes of Flynn and Helay Rae in potions of power with a major say in how and were public funds are spent, good luck to you.

Ring is a minister, he has responsibility for the whole country and what should he have done that he hasnt done? Should he favour Mayo when it come to public investment etc because if thats the kind of governance you want to see continued in Ireland then we're going to continue to e ****ed

Who said they needed backs? They are currently concrete, no plastic, they have to buy them and bolt them down.

I am well aware of what they are like, it was you tha said they wouldnt be acceptable a the moment, i pointed out that it needn't be a huge job to get them up to required standard

So in summary concrete lumps can't be used as seats and the ones in McHale park have been in situ for the last 40+ years so I am sure they will find that they are not "up to standard" and will need to replaced.

Who ever gets the gig and I hope to hell that McHale park gets it, will need a massive injection of money, I just can't see the "main rugby" centre in Connaught not fighting it, then again maybe they are actually sensible and can see that McHale park is the better option but I doubt it.

We are up against 2 countries where they have better stadia and/or have a bigger rugby community so I honestly can't see us getting it.

Also countries who host large tournaments, like London Olympics and Word cups for rugby, football etc have all ended up with massive debts. Do you think the trioca (sp!) are going to let this happen!

the concrete steps could easily be adapted as i said by having individual numbered seats bolted into them if this was acceptable to the authorities. he regulations quoted are UEFA ones ad the rwc might not be as strict and even so ive been in national soccer stadiums where the seats are basically plastic seats bolted into concrete rows.

Oh and the concrete steps in McHale are not forty years old, more like ten i would say. And you think the troika will sill be running the show when this comes round?

Of course it will never change if we continue to accept it. By the way how exactly is kenny supposed to have those jobs 'created' in Dublin moved to Mayo?

Well if you want the likes of Flynn and Helay Rae in potions of power with a major say in how and were public funds are spent, good luck to you.

Ring is a minister, he has responsibility for the whole country and what should he have done that he hasnt done? Should he favour Mayo when it come to public investment etc because if thats the kind of governance you want to see continued in Ireland then we're going to continue to e ****ed

I am well aware of what they are like, it was you tha said they wouldnt be acceptable a the moment, i pointed out that it needn't be a huge job to get them up to required standard

Well tell us then why Northgate are setting up in Castlebar, is it coincidence that Enda Kenny was lambasted by local politicians for ignoring the county which got him where he is today and now we have a major jobs announcement?
    Its all to do with pull, grants here and concessions there, its part of Irish politics and its part of world politics.
    Its who you know more than what you know.
    I don't understand you line re Flynn and Healy-Rae, but the people of Mayo are very thankful to Flynn, even though he is a pompus ejjit, for what he brought to Mayo, same applies to Healy-Rae. They don't spend public funds, its the depts in charge which do, they just negotiated hard and fought for their constituents.
    Local politics hasn't fukD this country as you say, it was the central bank and regulators, based in Dublin in fact, didn't monitor or probably ignored the going on with the banks.

Re the seats, I did say the wouldn't be acceptable, thats because they aren't and won't. And they will probably need to be removed to adhere to the standards required.

the concrete steps could easily be adapted as i said by having individual numbered seats bolted into them if this was acceptable to the authorities. he regulations quoted are UEFA ones ad the rwc might not be as strict and even so ive been in national soccer stadiums where the seats are basically plastic seats bolted into concrete rows.

Oh and the concrete steps in McHale are not forty years old, more like ten i would say. And you think the troika will sill be running the show when this comes round?

Tell us one stadium which has been used in the last 20 years for any WC finals whether it be soccer, rugby etc where seats were bolted to concrete.
    Which national stadiums have that setup as you mention?

The troika are still running the country, they are still and will continue to review or spending and our budgets and if the gov departments continue to overspend like they have done once again they will continue to remain.

Well tell us then why Northgate are setting up in Castlebar, is it coincidence that Enda Kenny was lambasted by local politicians for ignoring the county which got him where he is today and now we have a major jobs announcement?

I dont get this. So this all Kennys's doing is it? If so is he not proving you wrong?
    I don't understand you line re Flynn and Healy-Rae, but the people of Mayo are very thankful to Flynn, even though he is a pompus ejjit, for what he brought to Mayo, same applies to Healy-Rae. They don't spend public funds, its the depts in charge which do, they just negotiated hard and fought for their constituents.

We can agree on something anyway. Of course TD's should fight and lobby for their constituents but when major public spending is directed to a area simply becuase of political clout, sorry i dont think thats anyway to run a country.
    Local politics hasn't fukD this country as you say, it was the central bank and regulators, based in Dublin in fact, didn't monitor or probably ignored the going on with the banks.

I disagree. The parochial clientelist nature of our political system and electoral system that encourages this parish pump politics has led to a situation where there is virtually no long term regional/spatial planning, leading to the construction boom/ bust we have witnessed and a parliament that is just a talking shop where TD's are mere lobby fodder and the govt is accountable to no one for their term in office

Re the seats, I did say the wouldn't be acceptable, thats because they aren't and won't. And they will probably need to be removed to adhere to the standards required.

But we don't know the standards required

I dont get this. So this all Kennys's doing is it? If so is he not proving you wrong?
    Did you read what I said earlier? "Until today". HOw many years has it taken him to get 150 jobs...

We can agree on something anyway. Of course TD's should fight and lobby for their constituents but when major public spending is directed to a area simply becuase of political clout, sorry i dont think thats anyway to run a country.
    Its not the way to run a Country absolutely, thats why we should have local government with 20 or 30 politicians in the Dail dealing with Country issue and local government dealing with them in promoting their issues and need for funding.
    We may not like the way its run, but that the way it is and its not going to change. And if its not then we should fight for our own corner and not watch it disappear to Canada or Oz

I disagree. The parochial clientelist nature of our political system and electoral system that encourages this parish pump politics has led to a situation where there is virtually no long term regional/spatial planning, leading to the construction boom/ bust we have witnessed and a parliament that is just a talking shop where TD's are mere lobby fodder and the govt is accountable to no one for their term in office

And the banks funded this, while been ignored by the "Central" bank. If the central bank had not turned a blind eye and put a stop to it then the money wouldn't have been handed out to unsustainable projects and we wouldn't have had the planning authorities been able to give their nod to ridiculous estates etc.

But we don't know the standards required
    We don't, but we dont' have large stadiums with concrete and plastic seats either ;)

After further digging on trying to find the seating regulations for a rugby match as opposed to a international soccer match the rugby matches seam to have to follow the DCMS Guide to Safety at Sports Grounds

That doesn't have much info on seating but quotes the European Standard BS EN 13200:2003 Spectator Facilities Part 4: Seats which goes on to quote Layout Viewing for Spectator Area. None of these allow benches and all want individual seats.

I think the main problem is not them complying with these standards as they are more broad covering all levels of sport including standing at local clubs but the problem is complying with disability access standards which from what I can see they won't comply. By sticking a seat on top of a concrete bench the actual seat will be too high.

If the concrete benches were built at a lower height they may be acceptable but by memory they are fairly standard height so the resulting seat would be too high.

I think the concrete benches have to go.

It is worth having a look at what constituted a 'stadium' at a few of the NZ venues two years ago, McHale Park, even in its current form, would be well ahead of what was used for pool games last time out. I would therefore take it that Rugby standards for stadiums are not comparable to football requirements.

Did you read what I said earlier? "Until today". HOw many years has it taken him to get 150 jobs...

Thats nonsesnse, he's been in Govt a few years just, so straight away he should have magicked jobs out of thin air? What jobs did Biffo bring to Offaly during his term?

Its not the way to run a Country absolutely, thats why we should have local government with 20 or 30 politicians in the Dail dealing with Country issue and local government dealing with them in promoting their issues and need for funding.

Agreed
    We may not like the way its run, but that the way it is and its not going to change. And if its not then we should fight for our own corner and not watch it disappear to Canada or Oz

of course it will change if there is the will their to change it, and the mood for that kind of change is growing. And yes of course we should fight for our own interest but sorry whats perceived as good for 'Mayo' isnt automatically good for me and my particular interests. Do you think the interests of large farmers, financial institutions, developers in Mayo are the same as those of the Mayo unemployed, labourers etc just because they are all from the same county???

And the banks funded this, while been ignored by the "Central" bank. If the central bank had not turned a blind eye and put a stop to it then the money wouldn't have been handed out to unsustainable projects and we wouldn't have had the planning authorities been able to give their nod to ridiculous estates etc.

yes they did to an extent, roared on by local authorities (in the pockets of the building sector) who wee creaming it in through development levies etc

Anyway we're going round in circles here. I'll leave it at that, we're not too far apart anyway

Thats nonsesnse, he's been in Govt a few years just, so straight away he should have magicked jobs out of thin air? What jobs did Biffo bring to Offaly during his term?

Agreed

of course it will change if there is the will their to change it, and the mood for that kind of change is growing. And yes of course we should fight for our own interest but sorry whats perceived as good for 'Mayo' isnt automatically good for me and my particular interests. Do you think the interests of large farmers, financial institutions, developers in Mayo are the same as those of the Mayo unemployed, labourers etc just because they are all from the same county???

yes they did to an extent, roared on by local authorities (in the pockets of the building sector) who wee creaming it in through development levies etc

Anyway we're going round in circles here. I'll leave it at that, we're not too far apart anyway

Agreed, I'll have to ban myself at this rate ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

After further digging on trying to find the seating regulations for a rugby match as opposed to a international soccer match the rugby matches seam to have to follow the DCMS Guide to Safety at Sports Grounds

That doesn't have much info on seating but quotes the European Standard BS EN 13200:2003 Spectator Facilities Part 4: Seats which goes on to quote Layout Viewing for Spectator Area. None of these allow benches and all want individual seats.

I think the main problem is not them complying with these standards as they are more broad covering all levels of sport including standing at local clubs but the problem is complying with disability access standards which from what I can see they won't comply. By sticking a seat on top of a concrete bench the actual seat will be too high.

If the concrete benches were built at a lower height they may be acceptable but by memory they are fairly standard height so the resulting seat would be too high.

I think the concrete benches have to go.

The lines of concrete seats would not allow seat to be fixed to them, as stated above the seats would be too also too wide leaving no space for a walkway in front of the seats , most seats in modern stadia are flip up seats allowing easy access, not possible in McHale park as the space between the concrete lines are too narrow.

Don`t think the RWC will come to Ireland unless Wales and Scotland are used.
    New Zealand in 2011 used a dozen stadiums in eleven different locations, England in 2015 will be using thirteen in eleven different cities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

signostic wrote: »

This seems to be the thinking at the moment, more of a Celtic nations world cup. Would still be good for Ireland, but I doubt the West would get a look in.

Thats the way it looks to me, if they use 13 stadia say 4 in Scotland, 4 in Wales and 5 in Ireland it would Croke Park, Aviva, Ravenhill, Thomond and 1 other. The RFU may want to develop a rugby ground in Cork or perhaps the Sportsground in Galway in order to have a legacy for partially hosting the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,531 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Thats the way it looks to me, if they use 13 stadia say 4 in Scotland, 4 in Wales and 5 in Ireland it would Croke Park, Aviva, Ravenhill, Thomond and 1 other. The RFU may want to develop a rugby ground in Cork or perhaps the Sportsground in Galway in order to have a legacy for partially hosting the event.

Connacht are looking to move away from the sportsground. So I don't think that will be a runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

It is worth having a look at what constituted a 'stadium' at a few of the NZ venues two years ago, McHale Park, even in its current form, would be well ahead of what was used for pool games last time out. I would therefore take it that Rugby standards for stadiums are not comparable to football requirements.
    Yes many GAA stadiums would be equivalent to some used in NZ in 2011 but would many be comparable to those used in France during the 2007 world cup or those that will be used in the 2015 and 2019 world cups in England and Japan? They are better tournaments to use as a comparison for us.
    Rugby stadiums do not have the same requirements as Soccer.
    The lines of concrete seats would not allow seat to be fixed to them, as stated above the seats would be too also too wide leaving no space for a walkway in front of the seats , most seats in modern stadia are flip up seats allowing easy access, not possible in McHale park as the space between the concrete lines are too narrow.

New Zealand in 2011 used a dozen stadiums in eleven different locations, England in 2015 will be using thirteen in eleven different cities.
    No reason why Wales/Scotland have to be used. All the talk so far has been of a sole bid. We have enough stadiums and enough facilities. We have enough connections(what ever word you want to use) to pull in the votes required from the top tier nations who decide where a world cup is hosted
    Not really. All talk has been of a solo bid.
    Thats the way it looks to me, if they use 13 stadia say 4 in Scotland, 4 in Wales and 5 in Ireland it would Croke Park, Aviva, Ravenhill, Thomond and 1 other. The IRFU may want to develop a rugby ground in Cork or perhaps the Sportsground in Galway in order to have a legacy for partially hosting the event.
    Where has the talk been of a shared bid? The talk of using GAA stadiums has been because Ireland wants a solo bid.
    IRFU and Munster have Musgrave Park and recently sold a plot of land to fund development work there but even if they do develop Musgrave it will not be big enough for world cup games and will continue just to be used for smaller Munster games
    irishgeo wrote: »
    Connacht are looking to move away from the sportsground. So I don't think that will be a runner.
    They wont move as where else will they go and who would fund new stadium to use?

Yes many GAA stadiums would be equivalent to some used in NZ in 2011 but would many be comparable to those used in France during the 2007 world cup or those that will be used in the 2015 and 2019 world cups in England and Japan? They are better tournaments to use as a comparison for us.
    Rugby stadiums do not have the same requirements as Soccer.

England are using 13 stadiums, 8 of which have a capacity of over 35000, are all seated and all covered. Twickenham, Wembley, Man City, Cardiff, Olympic, St James Park, Elland Rd, Villa Park. Smallest is Gloucester and Exeter with 17000 and 20000 capacity.
    Rugby will look good in all of these stadium and I am sure the IRB will want to present the sport to a world audience in the best possible light in modern up to date stadia. This would not be possible in Ireland with stadiums bar a few that we have already without a major input of tax payers money. Berie Bowls come to mind :(
    No reason why Wales/Scotland have to be used. All the talk so far has been of a sole bid. We have enough stadiums and enough facilities. We have enough connections(what ever word you want to use) to pull in the votes required from the top tier nations who decide where a world cup is hosted
    Not really. All talk has been of a solo bid.

see may reply above. This will be decided on presentation not connections. Well thats the way it should be decided on the best presentation a prospective host makes.

Where has the talk been of a shared bid? The talk of using GAA stadiums has been because Ireland wants a solo bid.
    IRFU and Munster have Musgrave Park and recently sold a plot of land to fund development work there but even if they do develop Musgrave it will not be big enough for world cup games and will continue just to be used for smaller Munster games

Talk of a shared bid has been mooted mainly on the rugby forums as most rugby contributors feel a bid with Scotland and Wales would have a better chance of succeeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

England are using 13 stadiums, 8 of which have a capacity of over 35000, are all seated and all covered. Twickenham, Wembley, Man City, Cardiff, Olympic, St James Park, Elland Rd, Villa Park. Smallest is Gloucester and Exeter with 17000 and 20000 capacity.
    Rugby will look good in all of these stadium and I am sure the IRB will want to present the sport to a world audience in the best possible light in modern up to date stadia. This would not be possible in Ireland with stadiums bar a few that we have already without a major input of tax payers money. Berie Bowls come to mind

see may reply above. This will be decided on presentation not connections. Well thats the way it should be decided on the best presentation a prospective host makes.

Talk of a shared bid has been mooted mainly on the rugby forums as most rugby contributors feel a bid with Scotland and Wales would have a better chance of succeeding.
    While of course presentation is key connections will play a huge role due to how the voting system works in terms of votes like world cup hosts etc work.
    The way it should be decided should be how the presentation is but if that was the case New Zealand would never have hosted the 2011 world cup and Japan would already have held their first world cup and not be waiting 6 more years to host their first world cup
    Shared bid has been discussed but most have been saying their is no reason why we have to have a shared bid and that we have enough favours etc to call in so that we can ensure a solo bid

There will be something in the Mayo News this week regarding Mayo involvement in the RWC bid. Don't know if it is just speculation or based on something more substantial than that.

Perhaps a journo from the Mayo News has been reading this thread ;)

More than just the Mayo News read it ;)

McHale Park has new blue seats in the terrace opposite the new stand. Below the tv Tower . A Section either side of the tunnel.

They have been there a good while now I think.

i have not been in to check.

Fair weather fan.,;)

nothing fair about the weather tonight, it was freezing.

U needed a bigger hat! Great turn out though. Scrappy match but some nice performances. Its a start.

Interesting to see that Philip Browne (IRFU Chief Executive) specifically mentioned Mayo today when asked about potential GAA venues to be used at the RWC bid launch. Hopefully that means that McHale Park is under serious consideration as a possible match venue. Would be huge for the county to be part of the event if the bid was successful.

http://www.thescore.ie/philip-browne-irfu-world-cup-1817242-Dec2014/
    “So we have a good narrative there as well in terms of bringing visitors around to country from Belfast, down through Dublin, Cork, Killarney, Limerick, Galway, why not Mayo? But we haven’t decided all that and that’s where the hard work starts now, digging into the detail.”

A report in the Irish Times today also name checks McHale Park as one of six GAA stadiums that would benefit from funding for improvement works as part of the bid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Interesting to see that Philip Browne (IRFU Chief Executive) specifically mentioned Mayo today when asked about potential GAA venues to be used at the RWC bid launch. Hopefully that means that McHale Park is under serious consideration as a possible match venue. Would be huge for the county to be part of the event if the bid was successful.

http://www.thescore.ie/philip-browne-irfu-world-cup-1817242-Dec2014/

A report in the Irish Times today also name checks McHale Park as one of six GAA stadiums that would benefit from funding for improvement works as part of the bid.

A good opportunity here for our local reps and business leaders to lobby for this as well as the Rugby and GAA fraternity. let's see if it happens

Elvery`s McHale Park could look like this with 4 stands in 2023. :)

PA-8714719.jpg

Elvery`s McHale Park could look like this with 4 stands in 2023. :)

Not a hope IMO. Sure you know well they'll mess it up somehow. That new stand they built in McHale park is one of the few major stands of it’s size built in the last few years that has columns obstructing the views of spectators. It looks like a large cattle shed compared to some of the other modern stands and stadium refurbishments. They also messed up the floodlights and the press area which had huge trouble with planning permission and objections during construction. I think they were built differently to what they got planning permission for and McHale road residents objected.
    While as a stadium it's adequate it's by no means inspiring when it could be.

Currently.......hard sitting!

inpho_00639644.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

I dont know why they didnt turn the stand around, and use the top pitch as the main pitch. For all the work that went on in there it still looks like a stadium from soviet russia during the 70's.

So, McHale Park has made the long-list of venues for the Rugby World Cup bid. Good news, but as it is a long-list it seems that some of the venues may be dropped before the tournament even if Ireland wins the bid to host.

It would be good to see some kind of local initiative to promote the county as a host venue. I'm not sure exactly what form that would take but the potential benefits of being part of the tournament would be huge. Hopefully it is turned onto something that people locally could really get behind.

So, McHale Park has made the long-list of venues for the Rugby World Cup bid. Good news, but as it is a long-list it seems that some of the venues may be dropped before the tournament even if Ireland wins the bid to host.

It would be good to see some kind of local initiative to promote the county as a host venue. I'm not sure exactly what form that would take but the potential benefits of being part of the tournament would be huge. Hopefully it is turned onto something that people locally could really get behind.

the lack of hotels in castlebar could be an issue but im sure westport might cover it.

the ease of access to the place is a plus for castlebar.

considering the nightmare that is salthill to get in and out off.#

but galway has the connacht crowd. hopefully if connacht continue to do well it could be good for the bid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,429 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

the lack of hotels in castlebar could be an issue but im sure westport might cover it.

the ease of access to the place is a plus for castlebar.

considering the nightmare that is salthill to get in and out off.#

but galway has the connacht crowd. hopefully if connacht continue to do well it could be good for the bid.

Galway will always be selected before Castlebar, regardless of the location of the ground, it's a bigger city, more hotel rooms etc.

Galway is also more likely to get a higher profile game than Castlebar, for the simple fact that it's Galway.

A low profile game is not much use to Mayo form a economy POV, it's more that likely to attract a local crowd anyway, the high profile games that will attract the visitors will go to the high profile locations like Dublin, Belfast, Cork, Limerick and Galway.

Places like Castlebar are just there to make up the numbers.

12 stadia named 2 to be dropped...
    Aviva Stadium (Dublin), Thomond Park (Limerick), Ravenhill (Belfast) RDS (Dublin).
    Croke Park (Dublin), Pairc Ui Chaoimh (Cork), Casement Park (Belfast), Fitzgerald Stadium (Kerry), Pearse Stadium (Galway), McHale Park (Mayo), Nowlan Park (Kilkenny) and Celtic Park (Derry)

High on the list to be dropped would be Derry and Castlebar imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Mayo County Council should be asked to lead in putting a fact sheet together on what the county has to offer.

Copies asap to whoever decides

NB What is the present and anticipated broadband situation?