Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best way to get from Glen Dara to Dublin Rd in Friday traffic

• 22-11-2013 11:08am
    Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭

New to Galway so not sure, and theres been loads of traffic threads lately so thought best to ask ye!

I have to get to from Glen Dara to Dublin Rd today for an apt at 4.

Whats traffic like then on a Friday?

Would I be better driving or walking or using bus?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Should be pretty ok as it's just before everyone finishes work and the exiting roads block up.
    For bus you'd have to change in Eyre Square.
    Driving 10 mins (best make it 20 in case), walking 1 hour?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

bike_cartoon-kids1.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭irisheddie85

At that time traffic should be easy enough. Driving would be fine. Give yourself 20 mins and you will probably be there early but it's long enough of there are any unexpected delays

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

snubbleste wrote: »
    bike_cartoon-kids1.gif

that did not take long

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭what_traffic

New to Galway so not sure, and theres been loads of traffic threads lately so thought best to ask ye!

I have to get to from Glen Dara to Dublin Rd today for an apt at 4.

Whats traffic like then on a Friday?

Would I be better driving or walking or using bus?

Where on the Dublin Road - near the G Hotel, GMIT or Galway Crystal?
    If its G Hotel - walking would only take about 40 minutes (via Quincentenary Bridge) Not a very nice walk though even on a glorious day like today.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭TheKaiserChief

Thanks everyone for their answers.

So its possible to drive and make it over withit too much traffic.

Should I avoid that big new junction at the cinema? What other way should I go
    bike_cartoon-kids1.gif

I don't have a bike. Otherwise I wudda said cycle was an option in my post

Just go the regular way. Over the bridge, across the new junction and Bohermore RB to Wellpark lights.

that did not take long
    See, as fast as a car :cool:

Give us a blow-by-blow travelogue OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

See, as fast as a car :cool:

Along this route during the afternoon, there is no chance that a bike would be as fast as a car. That's assuming of course that by bike one would obey the same red lights applicable to the car, which is a big assumption of course based on normal behaviour along this route ;)

Jaysus, stop with the bikes already
    OP doesn't have a bike, let's stick with the topic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Notch000

west side cycles sells really cheap ones

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

This thread is not about bicycles

/end

OP has not responded for a while, maybe he is stuck in traffic?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

I did that route both ways via a car this afternoon. Traffic was much heavier going west to east. Going east to west was grand no major delays.

Aye, I passed over the bridge towards new junction at 5pm.
    Left lane was backed up to mid-bridge (everyone turning left towards Menlo). Fortunately I was going right :)

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭TheKaiserChief

So I left my house at 3.05, driving.......

I made it to my apt in the Connaught Hotel at 3-50.

Traffic was heavy, ESP by huntsman bar.

Thanks for the help, I just got in the door in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

That's an average speed of 6 km/h. Not bad for a Friday afternoon, OP. :)

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    That's an average speed of 6 km/h. Not bad for a Friday afternoon, OP. :)

That is pretty slow alright, but standard for a Friday afternoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

it should be fine on a Friday at that time.

believe it or not, I find the worst day for traffic in Galway is a Thursday.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

it should be fine on a Friday at that time.

believe it or not, I find the worst day for traffic in Galway is a Thursday.

Agreed, it seems everyone wants to head into town on a Thursday for a bit of shopping or whatever. Still the journey was exceptionally bad for the OP. I can guess that he might have got caught in the backed up left lane on the bridge when he should have stayed right to go straight on.

That is pretty slow alright, but standard for a Friday afternoon.
    :confused::confused:
    Other posters stated ten minutes - maximum twenty minutes and that it would not be quicker by bicycle.

:confused::confused:
    Other posters stated ten minutes - maximum twenty minutes and that it would not be quicker by bicycle.

Well they were wrong and you were right, dont believe OP had access to a bike anyhow.
    OP was travelling just above walking speed in the car at that specific time if travelling at 6kmph based on IWH calculation. 5kmph is standard walking speed for a fit adult.

zarquon wrote: »
    he might have got caught in the backed up left lane on the bridge when he should have stayed right to go straight on.

Slightly OT, but does that happen in the morning, by any chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Unreal all the rubbish posted here, guy asks a very simple question and it turns into bike v car v walking, im not surprised he has not come back, he is more than likely lost somewhere.

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Unreal all the rubbish posted here, guy asks a very simple question and it turns into bike v car v walking, im not surprised he has not come back, he is more than likely lost somewhere.
    He did come back, that's how we know it took him forty five minutes
    The query was Best way to get from Glen Dara to Dublin Rd in Friday traffic :cool:

Storm 10 wrote: »

No, the OP got to the destination in time, and duly reported back as requested:

Traffic was heavy, ESP by huntsman bar.

Thanks for the help, I just got in the door in time.

OP's question answered.
    Yup.