Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete newbie - advice

• 23-11-2013 3:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 37

Hi all,

Myself and my partner have just purchased a house and are very lucky as it came with a very large and beautiful mature garden, that we are anxious to not kill off!
    The main issue is we don't have a clue what we have or don't have, what needs pruning/getting rid of, any special care etc.
    For now, given the time of the year, I'm just wondering where to start, or if I'm better off just leaving it completely as it is until I see what I have in Spring?
    There are some large raspberry bushes that currently have yellow berries on them? I heard that it's best to cut this right down to the ground to encourage new growth next year?
    I'm sorry in advance for stupid questions, as I say, I haven't the foggiest notion where to begin as I've never had a garden before but I'm eager to begin!

Thanks so much for any input.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭monkeynuz

Hi Christine,

Welcome to the exciting, frustrating and rewarding world of gardening!

If we knew more about what you have in the garden (pics) then we might be able to advise more, there isn't a one size fits all hard and fast rule.

It basically depends on what you have that decides what needs doing.

Do you have Apple/fruit trees?

All the best and don't be afraid to ask anything no matter how trivial it seems, everyone has to start somewhere.

Also, don't be afraid to experiment too plants are quite tough so don't be afraid of them!