Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

West Ham v Chelsea, 5:30pm k/o, Sky Sports

• 23-11-2013 5:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭

West Ham :
    Jaaskelainen, Nolan, Tomkins, Collison, Morrison, Noble, O'Brien, Collins, Demel, Downing, J.Cole
    McCartney, Jarvis, Maiga, Adrian, Taylor, Diame, C.Cole

Chelsea team is
    team vs West Ham: Cech; Ivanovic, Cahill, Terry (c), Azpilicueta; Mikel, Lampard; Ramires, Oscar, Hazard; Eto'o.
    Schwarzer, Cole, Essien, Mata, Willian, Schurrle and Ba

Chelsea starting with Lampard again is a very bad call and even worse is playing Ramires on the wing as it seems like a 4-2-3-1.

Tough to call given the team Chelsea have selected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

it's been said in the Megathread, and I'm reluctantly going to agree, Mata will be gone in the summer by the looks of things.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Could even be January at this rate given himself and De Bruyne both want to make the WC although De BRuyne will at least make the squad, Mata may miss out if he isnt played.

Luiz not on the bench is stupid too.

Starting Ramires wide right, which will probably happen is a waste of the talent of Mata willian and Schurrle on the bench while Lpassenger Lamps gets to play against the Hammers.

Only good point is Diame isnt starting, he wasa huge difference when we played the last time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Still enough talent in this team to win, I'm not as suprised as ye lads about the omissions.

We are just after an international break, and there is Champions League next week isn't there?

Still enough talent in this team to win, I'm not as suprised as ye lads about the omissions.

We are just after an international break, and there is Champions League next week isn't there?

At the moment we're 7 behind Arsenal in the leagu, if they win, in the UCL we're all but through, I'd be starting with the best team today and that XI has about 2 or 3 that I wouldnt have in there and Lamps is the biggest offender.

Maybe hes looking at the fact that Frank didnt play in England's second game against Germany? Fresher after the break than Willian and Mata, who it seems have been omitted to fit Frank in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Lampard for Willian (and Ramires dropped back) would be my only change to the team, I can only think it's Mourinho trying to shore us up a bit more and acknowledging that West Ham are fairly physical too?

Would really like to hear the reasoning too though

Lampard will have a field day that a CM is starting on the wing in place of Mata.

The only way to counter the physical threat is to play football around them and by adding physical players into the mix that evens it up a bit, a CM of Ramires and Mikel would have been perfect.

Ramires on the wing is harping back to RDM days of shoe horning him into a position.

We've an abundance of wide men yet we start with a CM out on the right, its bloody baffling.

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Lampard will have a field day that a CM is starting on the wing in place of Mata.

The only way to counter the physical threat is to play football around them and by adding physical players into the mix that evens it up a bit, a CM of Ramires and Mikel would have been perfect.

Ramires on the wing is harping back to RDM days of shoe horning him into a position.

We've an abundance of wide men yet we start with a CM out on the right, its bloody baffling.

It seems that its just a cautious approach really isn't it?

Arsenal won and Liverpool drew, we've to win at all costs now to keep up with the gunners and catch Liverpool while putting distance between both Manchester clubs, City play Spurs and Utd have Cardiff away tomorrow.

It seems that its just a cautious approach really isn't it?

There's no need for it, West Ham dont even have a CF on the pitch ffs.

There will never be a better time to go and play them and go for the jugular, I can see 60 mins of frustration here, hope I'm wrong.

Dortmund playing Bayern at 5.30 too

No interest in that mickey mouse game :pac:

Lads, my link for this game is showing American Football at the minute, getting worried, anyone got that problem too? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Lads, my link for this game is showing American Football at the minute, getting worried, anyone got that problem too? :p

Quite enjoying the intro to the game :D , try another channel in 5 mins I'd say!

Yup...... its on sky, bound to be links around

PM if you get one please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Pm'd you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,653 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

**** it, its Niall Quinn again

MUTE BUTTON activate

Pm#s sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQvJNHpKlgRfP1NsXSGE_ieAaE-Pr5ShQRcVzwNOhDsqZ1S7yho

Headshot wrote: »
    **** it, its Niall Quinn again

MUTE BUTTON activate

ffs

Great ball by Hazard there.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Can't see past a Chelsea win, way too negative by West Ham :(

Thats the good part of Ivans play its going the other way hes useless

Oh Niall...

Good start, Eto'o very close to getting in at one stage, Hazard looking sharp

no lampard so far

Panthro wrote: »
    no lampard so far
    Think hes had a very good start, very tidy in possession always playing forward

Panthro wrote: »
    no lampard so far

For a change?

GavRedKing wrote: »
    For a change?

its disappointing, you want to see him get stuck in like Lamps of old but it's just not happening sadly IMO.

Has Oscar touched the ball?

Oh wait there he is!

Half a chance, we're still very slow in everything we do

Nolan is some wind up merchant :pac:

Thats very lucky defending

Teice now Jassaklinen (sp) has called and missed it...PENO

Lamps??

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Stupid backpass by Demel, penalty Chelsea.

YES

Frank to score against the Hammers again?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Awful passback.

Frankie...and i said he did nout

Yaaaay.

Carry on now ffs

Get in!! Super Frank. :)

Soft peno, as in the defending was horrific.

Did Jussi get booked or anything??

Another half a chance from Lamps

Brilliant pressing by Oscar.

niall hasn't a clue. "good closing down from Oscar above all people"...
    Umm....he's been doing it all season Niallo.