Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Chat Thread - For Those That Love Craic

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭valor rorghulis

I was a bit disappointed with the last episode of the fall. It would have been better if the UVF nut caused a standoff toward the end, just seemed a bit anti-climatic the way they did it. Also Stella riding the new cop seemed a bit predictable

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭HighburyLad

Anybody else on here watching news updates like a hawk for a deal being struck with the parties? Lol I'm hoping not just for our sakes but for everybody, selfishly more so ours though lol

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Razer33

Anybody else on here watching news updates like a hawk for a deal being struck with the parties? Lol I'm hoping not just for our sakes but for everybody, selfishly more so ours though lol

The current state of NI politics exacerbates me more each day, not that it ever hasn't done so. Im just hoping for a favourable outcome to it all, and my motivations are almost entirely selfish haha

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭0O0

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-30581103

This is the harrowing situation in NI at present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Goonerdee

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭pb82

Goonerdee wrote: »

Bit of sensationalism in that report

Police staff getting paid £30 an hour when in double time (how often does that happen)

Then further down stating in certain cases there are 2 staff required where it is normally a civilian and an armed police officer...going on to state that 2 police would be taken from their ordinary duties, simply that's not true as the armed police officer was always going to be detailed thar post so it is again only one officer required to cover

Hate inaccuracies in the press

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Sthm

There's a deal struck at Stormont. Only link I could find at the moment:

http://m.rte.ie/news/2014/1223/668597-ni-talks/

• Registered Users Posts: 35 SolidSnake44

Sthm wrote: »
    I'm still in campaign one with a low 60. Without divulging the exact score, it's a couple or so below 64. Completed all the last stages this month.

Chances all depend on rates of attrition (non-attendance, withdrawl or fail) of those in front of you through the final stages. The attrition rate in campaign one was apparently around 50% - that was a figure from someone in HR and not just speculation. Batches are phased through the final stages until the maximum number of appointments have been made. Therefore, it depends on the candidates in front of you as to whether you'll fall into the appointable band.

Trying to be tactful with the above. All I can say is that I've been there and still am, so don't feel too disheartened. I received AC results last campaign in March and only received vetting forms in September. It can take some time if you're further down the list, but youll get used to it in this process!

I am in exactly the same boat! Still waiting to hear back from the medical, although I have a pre-existing which may or may not be holding it up.

The wait is rough.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭.S.

Suitably vague and general, that report. A lot of words without saying anything at all really

.S. wrote: »

Anything brokered is better than before I'm hoping these fines are wavered.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭fish2690

Can someone explain to me wher exactly this £2bn is going?

fish2690 wrote: »
    Can someone explain to me wher exactly this £2bn is going?

Probably everywhere lol this country is on its knees I'm glad the parties put differences aside to blast this deal out, time will tell the effect it will have on the PSNI but I would say it would only be positive, touch wood, but with this deal I believe we're all in a better position than before.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭fish2690

Probably everywhere lol this country is on its knees I'm glad the parties put differences aside to blast this deal out, time will tell the effect it will have on the PSNI but I would say it would only be positive, touch wood, but with this deal I believe we're all in a better position than before.

Well hopefully it is a positive to everyone. But you know our politicians and they would probably blow the £2bn on flags and still not agree....

My thoughts exactly. Perhaps a little cynical but I can see it disappearing into the ether and cuts everywhere still being necessary

• Registered Users Posts: 28 200WattWarlock

Those ladders are expensive as well, not to mention the cost of cable ties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Sthm

Just to add a bit more optimism:

jxP67TX.png

Stormont Agreement Doc

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Youdontknowme6

Be good news if they protect the budgets for the police, would that mean they take on the full 370 planned for this year pre cuts?? Maybe even start the Jan campaign again...?

Just want to wish everyone a Merry Christmas on the boards, its looking better for us now with the new stormont agreement, take each stage as it comes and prepare, if you feel what's the point your already done, all the news and even the email we received was all positive regarding recruitment, so focus rather than fretting over will we, won't we. Enjoy the holiday folks, I know I will be :)

Merry Christmas everybody.

http://vimeo.com/90147444

I hope this link works, its a good wee video from the Met Police (I know wrong organisation), but for those waiting to do the job I think it is a worthwhile watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭.S.

Merry Christmas folks, enjoy xo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭wannabegard

guys i know this is a bit off topic but im just curious to know has anyone on this forum considered applying for the british armed forces? I particular i am interested to hear from someone who is living in the republic. I am particularly interested in the role of military police or i might even consider applying for a cadetship either with the irish or british armies. I have recently completed a masters in criminal justice and have not been successful in my application for either the garda or the psni. But this is also something that i have been considering for a while because right now im pretty much up siht creek without a paddle in terms of a career and i cant apply for uk forces because im living in the south. I was in the north a few weeks ago and went to call into a recruitment centre but unfortunatly it was closed. If anyone has any advice on this matter i would appricate it if u could get back to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Cromlech

guys i know this is a bit off topic but im just curious to know has anyone on this forum considered applying for the british armed forces? I particular i am interested to hear from someone who is living in the republic. I am particularly interested in the role of military police or i might even consider applying for a cadetship either with the irish or british armies. I have recently completed a masters in criminal justice and have not been successful in my application for either the garda or the psni. But this is also something that i have been considering for a while because right now im pretty much up siht creek without a paddle in terms of a career and i cant apply for uk forces because im living in the south. I was in the north a few weeks ago and went to call into a recruitment centre but unfortunatly it was closed. If anyone has any advice on this matter i would appricate it if u could get back to me.

You can apply when living in the south, I went through the process with guys from Dublin, you would just need to attend and ACO in the north for initial interview, personal development activity and selection.

The RMP aren't seen in a fantastic light by other members of the armed forces and are regarded by most a glorified security guards. However they do cover some civilian law, military law and arrest and restraint but only to a certain degree. You can sub specialise in close protection or Sib (CID) and you can apply for entry as an officer with a degree but it depends on your age.

Recruitment for the Army is carried out externally through Capita who are for the most part useless and the process can take well over a year to complete.

Other options would be RAF police. The Navy have Regulators as a specialist trade after you complete your basic and initial trade training.

If it is investigative type work you are wanting and with your level of education I'd suggest Intelligence corps, from what I remember they do take Irish citizens but you would be limited in your promotion prospects due to the nature of that role.

Take a look at this forum www.arrse.co.uk and the offical websites of the 3 arms of the british military.

Thank you. I was actually thinking intelligence corps myself. I will have to travel up again and speak to a recruiter very soon in the future. Just found out that there are aptitude tests that need to be done for officer....uugghh. Ah sur ill get through it. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Dekkers

Hi all. Just thought id post just to show that the hotel hasn't killed me. Yet.

I do apologise for the absense. It's insanely difficult to get time to post in first couple of weeks. Also blocked on the college wifi. Along with everything useful, ever. Also, people know me by now so probably not the best idea to be posting often ha. This site does come up. They don't seem to mind it really but you get the idea that using it is to be discouraged, along with any use of social media, really.

Anyway going good enough thus far. Like anything else really, some things I struggle but its mostly enjoyable. It is a challenge, mentally and physically. Pressure and expectations are high at times.

Exams looming so eyes trained on online learning. Not out on boxing night for first time in years ha. I'll keep an eye on boards over the weekend if anyone has an specific questions or concerns feel free to ask or give me a pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Homer01

Good to hear you're doing well Dekkers :D

Hope you have a great 2015!!

Was there any figures released about campaign 1 concerning number of candidates that passed AC or stages further? Just trying to get some odds of success here. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Cromlech

Goonerdee wrote: »
    Was there any figures released about campaign 1 concerning number of candidates that passed AC or stages further? Just trying to get some odds of success here. :(

They only released the number that passed AC as far as I'm aware, it would be nice to find out the number with all stages complete.

Could we found out how many people took the test? Then we could put 2 and 2 together?