Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Chat Thread - For Those That Love Craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭monty46

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭psnihopeful

monty46 wrote: »
    Anyone got the qualifications??

If all else fails I guess that would be an option :P lol!!

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭Suzuka

Nothing quite like throwing your chances away!

PSNI cadet suspended over 'gratuitous video' filmed at Garnerville and posted on YouTube
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/psni-cadet-suspended-over-gratuitous-video-filmed-at-garnerville-and-posted-on-youtube-30982225.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Mop a top

Lol bloody muppet!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭HighburyLad

Suzuka wrote: »
    Nothing quite like throwing your chances away!

PSNI cadet suspended over 'gratuitous video' filmed at Garnerville and posted on YouTube
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/psni-cadet-suspended-over-gratuitous-video-filmed-at-garnerville-and-posted-on-youtube-30982225.html

Just seen this, what a moron, the PSNI needs bad publicity regarding officers let alone a student officer like a hole in the head. We poor sods on here are awaiting fate on budgetary issues and remain hopeful, whilst this prat throws it down the tube.

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭KevBo2015

Does anyone have a link to the youtube video or has it been taken down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭wannabegard

ah they would have taken it down id say

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Perkunas

The Nolan show this morning would be worth listening to again for any prospective police constables looking at the issue of PTSD among retired members of the security forces. Something that might have to be considered in the future . . . hopefully

West Midlands Police (Birmingham Police) will be recruiting later on this month. There are no residency requirements as long as you provide details of where you are living for the last ten years. Register your interest on the website. Dont bother ringing the helpline getting information out of them is like welding a cowsiht to a mushroom....they give ya nothing.

Do you know what i reckon. I have recently bought 10 angus calves. I have to keep them for 2 years and sell them on. I am positive that by the time that i sell them we will still be waiting.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭QueenP

Do you know what i reckon. I have recently bought 10 angus calves. I have to keep them for 2 years and sell them on. I am positive that by the time that i sell them we will still be waiting.

This made me LOL!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Even better, why not bring them in to Garnerville when you get the call?

Some of the staff in there might feel right at home by being surrounded by stupid cows.

*POW*

Burnt.

Anybody see the PSNI are doing a 24 hour tweet? showing all the goings on in 24 hours for the PSNI, I'm assuming this is to show how much the police contend with within one 24 hour day. Neat idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭majgreen

I cant wait to see it, gives a good indication of what the force deals with. A lot of forces have done a similar thing in England with good results.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

Few up there of Student officers ! :)

How's life on the other side DC? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Goonerdee

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/hero-psni-riot-officer-hurt-so-badly-she-couldnt-cuddle-child-31192367.html

Glad the officer is OK. Don't like the news that hundreds of officers are having to go through this training.

Though a bug bear of mine is media having to state what her religion is. All who wear the green bleed the same colour of blood and will stand with each other no matter what church they attend (if any).

Goonerdee wrote: »
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/hero-psni-riot-officer-hurt-so-badly-she-couldnt-cuddle-child-31192367.html

Glad the officer is OK. Don't like the news that hundreds of officers are having to go through this training.

Though a bug bear of mine is media having to state what her religion is. All who wear the green bleed the same colour of blood and will stand with each other no matter what church they attend (if any).

This sickens me too. What has someone's religion got to do with their capabilities of performing in a job. I hate it when people ask what your religion, political view or sexual orientation is. It's nobodies business and it is unimportant. Judge us on who we are, what qualifications, qualities and capabilities we have instead of all the tick box garbage on some silly statistical form.

Just seen the MDP are recruiting if anyone's interested starting salary £21k. Thought they brought PSNI done to £19k to be in line with the rest of the UK :/

Mop a top wrote: »
    Just seen the MDP are recruiting if anyone's interested starting salary £21k. Thought they brought PSNI done to £19k to be in line with the rest of the UK :/

Some forces start on 19k some start on 22k most start on 19k, northumbria etc, west mids for example start on 22k, it is very similar to here were it takes 7 year increments to max out at the top salary, however here still gets the environmental allowance of a couple of grand, 2 or 3 k I think it's at on top, non pensionable but still taxed. MDP are crying out for recruits most are based at Scotland at HMNB Faslane or RNAD Clyde, with some being based in AWE Aldermaston, you are a recruited as an AFO (authorised firearms officer, similar to TSG and ARV here) and can specialise straight away. Not your typical type of policing specialist in the sense the MDP prevent and react to terrorism that encounters atomic weaponery establishments or mod land and facilities. I have a friend who is in the mdp and his first year he took double his pay including overtime, 4 days on 4 days off with many working 5 for the overtime just some info I'm privy to lol :)

I'd be applying if it wasn't for the sprogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭gigity gigity

Mop a top wrote: »
    I'd be applying if it wasn't for the sprogs

What's mdp?

What's mdp?

Ministry of Defence police mate, they're recruiting 300 a year for the next 4 years, small detachment here based across barracks thiepval, aldergrove, ballykinler and palace. Most new recruits are heading to Scotland and England at the atomic weaponery establishments. You can apply along with the PSNI as they recruit through the SEARCH process as all English forces use.

Just a quick enquiry....have many of ye appilied for the Garda and if so where are ye in the process?

• Registered Users Posts: 15 mambono5

psni starting wage is actually 22k on entry to garnerville with the transitional allowance so ahead of the rest of UK

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭MissWillow12

mambono5 wrote: »
    psni starting wage is actually 22k on entry to garnerville with the transitional allowance so ahead of the rest of UK

Not for campaign two, its 19k.

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭KevBo2015

mambono5 wrote: »

Key word there. 19k + 3K allowance = 22K.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Elorfanato

Some forces start on 19k some start on 22k most start on 19k, northumbria etc, west mids for example start on 22k, it is very similar to here were it takes 7 year increments to max out at the top salary, however here still gets the environmental allowance of a couple of grand, 2 or 3 k I think it's at on top, non pensionable but still taxed. MDP are crying out for recruits most are based at Scotland at HMNB Faslane or RNAD Clyde, with some being based in AWE Aldermaston, you are a recruited as an AFO (authorised firearms officer, similar to TSG and ARV here) and can specialise straight away. Not your typical type of policing specialist in the sense the MDP prevent and react to terrorism that encounters atomic weaponery establishments or mod land and facilities. I have a friend who is in the mdp and his first year he took double his pay including overtime, 4 days on 4 days off with many working 5 for the overtime just some info I'm privy to lol :)

This is intriguing to me but I'm trying to picture what the day to day life is like. I would imagine it is very boring. More of a glorified security guard role. The highlight of the month is probably dealing with some protesters. Am I in the wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭WannabePC

Ministry of Defence police mate, they're recruiting 300 a year for the next 4 years, small detachment here based across barracks thiepval, aldergrove, ballykinler and palace. Most new recruits are heading to Scotland and England at the atomic weaponery establishments. You can apply along with the PSNI as they recruit through the SEARCH process as all English forces use.

I emailed recruitment just to see if they take on anyone on to be based across N.I and they said this:

"We have a handful of officers based there, but we are not recruiting for that station, and it is unlikely you would be offered a post there, as they rarely come up and are only a very small station."

I think the N.I.S.G.S do security for those stations mainly but since MI5 and SRR are at Palace maybe they have some MOD coppers there too. I was at Palace and Aldergrove within the last month and it wasn't the MOD Police cap badge on their berets. As far as I know the pay for N.I.S.G.S isn't great either and it's more or less just barrier up and barrier down and carrying an MP5 about all day. I don't think I've ever seen the jobs for it listed anywhere either. If it was decent money, I would go for it just to get out my current place of employment!