Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Celtic v Milan TV3

• 26-11-2013 9:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭

Celtic team to play AC Milan: Forster, Lustig, Ambrose, Van Dijk, Izaguirre, Forrest, Kayal, Mulgrew, Boerrigter, Commons, Samaras

Milan: Abbiati; Abate, Zapata, Bonera, Emanuelson; De Jong, Montolivo, Poli, Birsa, Káka; Balotelli.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Horrendous defending from Celtic for the goal. Kaka with a free header about 4 yards out.

Corner was well hit though and Kaka tucked it away nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

Shocking like

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Meh, poor from Celtic for the goal. For some reason, I'm still confident we can salvage it. Dunno why I think that though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Crossing by Celtic needs to be better

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭RoryMac

The tackle by Samaras seems to have put a bit of fight back in Celtic, if we can keep this level of performance up we'll get back into the game

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Kaka looks to have found some form again.its been years since I seen him put in a shift like this.

Milan should have at least another goal by now.

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Kaka looks to have found some form again.its been years since I seen him put in a shift like this.

He's been playing like this for the last few weeks.

A delight to see kaka coasting around the field like this

Should have buried that

Commons again not doing enough for me, first touch very poor and doesn't work hard enough off the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Ballotelli was just barely offside . Celtic are very lucky not to be down 2 - 0 !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Boerrigter looks capable of beating his man, just not match sharp with his crosses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Mr Cumulonimbus

Ajax 2 up in the other match. Celtic heading out of Europe altogether on current scores.:(.

Did barca even show up ? I would say it's a case of they put out a fairly weak team if that's the score line

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Lennonist wrote: »
    Boerrigter looks capable of beating his man, just not match sharp with his crosses.

Always amazes me how professional footballers cant cross a ball in from open play most of the time, between Forrest and himself they have had about 10 crosses and 2 or 3 max were good balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

That's some tash!

He needs to do something radical. Celtic are heading out of Europe completely for the season here, easy for Brian Kerr to say they're doing allright bar the goal. Get Balde and Stokes on. Balde might give them something that they aren't used to dealing with. Stokes can up his game when the pressure is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭Ardent

Celtic fans sing a far superior YNWA to that of the scousers

That should have been the equaliser .

What a miss!

Big Dijk should've buried that

Jaysus!

That was terrible marking from a set piece again .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,539 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Diabolical defending again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Why are they blaming zonal marking again and not the defenders.

Lennon's use of zonal marking has backfired spectacularly.

Still, Celtic had enough good chances to be winning this match

Nothing to lose now. Make a few changes. Put on stokes and Balde.

Oh Commons, your head isnt in the game at all

Dempsey wrote: »

Ah now. Milan could have had a bag full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,314 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Zonal marking is the pits and for the life of me I cannot understand the popularity of it with Celtic managers

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Seaneh wrote: »
    Ah now. Milan could have had a bag full.

Half an hour to go, give them time.

Super Mario sets them on the way :)

Dempsey wrote: »

As the post above you said it's not the zonal marking at fault just bad defending. The big rule of zonal marking is anything that comes into your area is cleared, Celtic defenders didn't do that.

Good goal there, this whole CL campaign has been a disaster. Not one decent performance

FFS

Well deserved goal for Super Mario.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Over and out. Celtic this season in Europe have not taken the chance they have had. It's down to a piss poor league, nothing else. No domestic competition has had this team fester. They are better individual players than this.

Best to bow out at this stage, because this team wouldn't even make an impact in the Europa League.

Hits the post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

A cowards tackle from Izaguirre there and I don't say that lightly. Could've been a red

The Celtic players need to calm down, one of them will be off soon

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Gutless stuff from too many of our players tonight.this is a terrible Milan side who would have been blown of the park by us 12 months ago instead they are cruising on our patch without doing a tap.

RoryMac wrote: »
    As the post above you said it's not the zonal marking at fault just bad defending. The big rule of zonal marking is anything that comes into your area is cleared, Celtic defenders didn't do that.

Good goal there, this whole CL campaign has been a disaster. Not one decent performance

A zonal marking system at set pieces is flawed and invariably concedes goals like that because there is little attempt by the defending team to stop players getting a run at the space they want to get into.

Conceding after creating good chances ourselves has been the highlight of the campaign.

PauloMN wrote: »
    Over and out. Celtic this season in Europe have not taken the chance they have had. It's down to a piss poor league, nothing else. No domestic competition has had this team fester. They are better individual players than this.

Best to bow out at this stage, because this team wouldn't even make an impact in the Europa League.

The league obviously we play obviously has a massive impact on our performances but Lennon has to take some of the blame for failing to pick the right team for these games. The insistence on playing Mulgrew over Ledley and sticking with Commons for every game when he makes no impact.

A decent striker would help too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Score lads ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

3-0 Milan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

I know Celtic aren't great but they should be doing much better than this. That is an awful Milan team. Awful stuff. Celtic should be beating teams of this quality at home if they want to have any chance.

Buying a development player & a squad player when we needed a direct replacement for Hooper was/is the biggest problem.

Selling before buying was another mistake by the board.

Tactical decisions like Commons in the hole doing very little when we dont have the ball got found out at this level.

Red Crow wrote: »
    I know Celtic aren't great but they should be doing much better than this. That is an awful Milan team. Awful stuff. Celtic should be beating teams of this quality at home if they want to have any chance.

As bad as Milan are, there isn't an outfield milan player on the pitch tonight who wouldn't improve Celtic's team. Only Forseter is better than the Milan player in his position.

Milan aren't great by Milan's standards, but Celtic aren't on their level, at all.

RoryMac wrote: »
    The league obviously we play obviously has a massive impact on our performances but Lennon has to take some of the blame for failing to pick the right team for these games. The insistence on playing Mulgrew over Ledley and sticking with Commons for every game when he makes no impact.

A decent striker would help too

Maybe so Rory, but there's no passion in this side at all. Celtic Park is often referred to as a fortress in Europe, that's not down to what team is picked, that's down to pure guts and determination - not the heartless crap being served up tonight.

When you can coast to league titles by really not doing very much, what you are seeing here tonight is the result of that.

Other than a bit of style from Balotelli, Milan have not been up to much and are still cruising 3 nil.

Celtic have always played in a piss poor league, for the last 30 years anyway. No striker has been the main problem, and has been the main problem since the summer. If Celtic are planning to play in the CL, they should have a striker to play when needed. To say they would make no impact in the Europa League is a bit overly negative, it's a different standard competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Seaneh wrote: »
    As bad as Milan are, there isn't an outfield milan player on the pitch tonight who wouldn't improve Celtic's team. Only Forseter is better than the Milan player in his position.

Milan aren't great by Milan's standards, but Celtic aren't on their level, at all.

All marginal calls bar super Mario and kaka if you ask me,this 3-0 lead is due to our utterly spineless display.nothing else